We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn at Rockaway

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (57)
Room & Suite (23)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 2 motels in Pacifica
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
See why so many travelers make Inn at Rockaway their boutique hotel of choice when visiting Pacifica, CA off the famous Hwy 1. Offering a coastal friendly setting. The Inn is less than a 2-minute walk to Rockaway Beach. The guestrooms offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, air conditioning, and free Wi-Fi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease. Inn at Rockaway features a 24-hour front desk. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to parking for $10.00 per day, as well as complimentary street parking. A well-known popular surfing destination. Surfers and families often visit the Beach. Rockaway Beach is also a popular place to hike, with many trails that wind along the beaches and bluffs, including Mori Point, San Pedro Valley County Park. Take in the breathtaking vistas, rocky bluffs and miles of sandy beaches. Pacifica offers visitors a wide range of recreational opportunities from surfing, kayaking, paddle boarding, crabbing, whale watching to hiking, golfing and cycling. While visiting Pacifica, you may want to try some shrimp at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Nick's Rockaway, Moonraker. At Inn at Rockaway, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and we look forward to welcoming you with a great smile and amazing hospitality.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Fishing
Taxi service
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

200 Rockaway Beach Ave, Pacifica, CA 94044
Inn at Rockaway
74Reviews4Q+A18Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 39
  • 17
  • 5
  • 5
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
smilingcarolyn wrote a review Feb 2024
San Francisco, California105 contributions60 helpful votes
Floors are thin. The man above me walked around a small room for over two hours (kept me awake). In the evening he continued walking nonstop & banging on the floor, so I asked the front desk to contact him. They did – twice! Then he thumped and stomped hard on the floor continuously for over an hour before I asked to move to any available room. They downgraded the room and stated they would adjust the price accordingly. I got the bill today and they actually charged more than what I paid through Booking.com. The man at the desk stated that if they change my room for any reason, then it negated the Booking.com contract - they failed to tell me this! He stated that he could not change it. I honestly would have moved to one of the 3 other hotels within a block for less money. So I paid more for a cheaper room with a broken toilet paper holder and I faced the street (noise). This is the second night where hall lights are not on - this is not safe. Rugs in the halls are really dirty, and the elevator rug is filthy and smelled of beer. Parking can be really challenging, and they charge $10 a day for it. Many of the spaces are too narrow.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Location
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Thin floors, challenging parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Inn at Rockaway
Responded Mar 11, 2024
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Upon reviewing your booking, we can confirm that no additional or extra charges are reflected in our system. Regarding the noise disturbance from the neighboring room, we apologize for the disruption to your sleep and any inconvenience caused. Our team strives to ensure a peaceful environment for all guests, and we regret that this was not the case during your stay. We apologize for any confusion regarding the room change and the associated charges. Our team always aims to provide transparent and accurate information to our guests, and we regret any miscommunication that may have occurred. Additionally, we appreciate your feedback regarding the cleanliness of the hallways and elevator rug. We have shared your concerns with our housekeeping team to address these issues promptly. Regarding parking, we understand your frustration and will take your feedback into consideration as we strive to improve our services. We appreciate your understanding and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more pleasant experience in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
david a wrote a review Feb 2024
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
+1
DIRTY, BED BUGS, BAD MANAGEMENT, STAY AWAY! Look closely at the reviews, the ratings of this hotel are deceiving, you will see many similar reviews to this. While the hotel staff was nice and the hotel looked good from pictures and at first glance, this place is disgusting and the manager, Deep Patel, has not returned our calls asking for a reimbursement despite multiple attempts to contact him. The towels were damp, the carpet on the floors is disgusting, the linen on the bed sheets are dirty, hairs on the linen, and when we pulled back the bed sheets, there was evidence of BED BUGS in the mattresses (and other guests have reported feeling itchy and having bites after staying here). We booked 3 rooms for 2 nights and all had the same issues. We left within 15 minutes of checking in because the conditions were so appalling. I have emailed Deep Patel, called at least 5 times, and the staff is nice but says that Deep is never in, that he will give me a call back, but they have not returned my calls or processed our refund.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: do not stay here!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Inn at Rockaway
Responded Mar 11, 2024
We apologize for the distressing experience you encountered during your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is deeply concerning, and we take such matters very seriously. Upon investigation, we found discrepancies in your review. As the manager, I was on leave during the time period you mentioned, and upon checking our records, I do not see any correspondence from you regarding this matter. Nonetheless, we understand the importance of addressing your concerns promptly and ensuring the comfort and satisfaction of our guests. We are committed to upholding the highest standards of cleanliness and hygiene throughout our property. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused, and we assure you that we will investigate this matter further to prevent any recurrence. If you could kindly provide us with more details, such as your booking information, we would appreciate the opportunity to follow up with you directly and address your concerns. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to restore your trust in our hotel in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Travel64482023982 wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
The hotel is filthy, loud, and linens/towels are very low quality. Here's the deal for a almost $300/night a hotel, the value ratio of price to quality is like a 1 star. There's no carpet in the rooms so you hear everyone walking or stomping above you all night. Now if the rate was like $125, I'd say the same things but sadly expect these attributes. Now way is that hotel worth those dollars. Please clean the carpets in the elevators, the walkways, etc. at least! Sorry, they were so filthy and ripped up. They won't be able to compete w the new Marriott opening next door at those pricepoints.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Unless you can get this room for a bit over $100, look for something else. But at this exact...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deep Patel, General Manager at Inn at Rockaway
Responded Oct 16, 2023
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We take all comments seriously, and we apologize for the aspects of your stay that didn't meet your expectations. We're continuously working to improve the guest experience, including maintenance and cleanliness. We understand your concerns and appreciate your suggestions. Your feedback helps us focus on areas that need attention. We hope you might consider giving us another chance in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amie Q wrote a review Aug 2023
5 contributions3 helpful votes
DO NOT STAY HERE. I never write reviews, but this warranted one. The sheets were stained, holes in the wall, floors were filthy. I walked in, and immediately turned around and left. I was traveling with my 1.5 year old daughter, and I did not feel this hotel was safe, clean, or even remotely close to hygienic. I grew up in Pacifica; this is my hometown. I didn't expect 5 star luxury, but I expected a lot more than this. I literally walked over to the hotel next door and asked if they had room, despite not receiving a refund for this atrocious excuse for a room at Inn at Rockaway, because I could not envision staying there one second longer. It feels like a dingy, run down, motel on the side of the road somewhere. DO NOT STAY. Pay the extra $100 and stay at the Marriot next door.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deep Patel, General Manager at Inn at Rockaway
Responded Sep 1, 2023
We sincerely apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. However, we must clarify that your description of our property does not align with the experience of the majority of our guests. We take great pride in maintaining clean and comfortable accommodations, and we have many satisfied guests who appreciate our services. Nonetheless, we understand that each guest has their own expectations and preferences, and we're sorry that we did not meet yours on this occasion. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to continue improving our services. We hope you had a pleasant stay at the alternative hotel and thank you for considering us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
matthew b wrote a review Jul 2023
Los Angeles, California149 contributions150 helpful votes
Ashley at the front desk is A+ - Had a 3 hour drive ahead of us so I called to request an early check in - Ashley arranged it so my room and the kids room would be available super early and on the same floor. Even hooked me up with an ocean front room! Clean, with fridge and microwave and most importantly a Keurig machine! What a bargain compared to SF and no smashed windshields! Kids had the big sized double queen room and it was VERY spacious. One note not related: Stay away from eating at Rock and Robs, unless you're constipated. My toilet was begging for mercy.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deep Patel, General Manager at Inn at Rockaway
Responded Jul 15, 2023
Thank you for your positive feedback and for highlighting the excellent service provided by Ashley at the front desk. We're delighted to hear that she went above and beyond to accommodate your early check-in request and ensure that your rooms were on the same floor. It's great that you enjoyed your oceanfront room and appreciated the amenities such as the fridge, microwave, and Keurig machine. We apologize for the experience you had at the nearby restaurant and appreciate your note of caution. We're glad that overall, you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope to welcome you and your family back again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenni P wrote a review Jun 2023
2 contributions
Really cute little place. Spent the night just to experience the Pacific Ocean. We enjoyed walking up the trail and seeing the beautiful wildflowers. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff were what makes this place special though. Really sweet and accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deep Patel, General Manager at Inn at Rockaway
Responded Jun 8, 2023
We're delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our cute little place. It's wonderful that you took the opportunity to experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean and enjoyed the nearby trail with its lovely wildflowers. We're glad that your room was comfortable and clean, ensuring a relaxing stay. Most importantly, we're thrilled to hear that our staff made your experience special with their sweet and accommodating service. Providing excellent customer service is a top priority for us, and we're glad to have exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NorthStar48777216930 wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
A very clean room, comfortable bed, great hot shower and a view of the Pacific Ocean out our window! Nick's and Moonraker restaurants are both a short walking distance away and the San Francisco airport is a 16 minute drive. A lovely stay in April, 2023.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debby Santiago, General Manager at Inn at Rockaway
Responded Apr 14, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the Inn at Rockaway. We are delighted to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. It's great to know that you found your room to be very clean and the bed comfortable, allowing you to relax and have a good night's sleep. We're also happy to hear that you enjoyed the hot shower and the beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean from your window. We're pleased to be located near popular restaurants like Nick's and Moonraker, making it easy for our guests to explore and dine out during their stay. And we're glad that our proximity to the San Francisco airport was convenient for you. Thank you for choosing the Inn at Rockaway for your stay in April 2023. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Teemu Sallinen wrote a review Mar 2023
Helsinki, Finland17 contributions
Wonderful small hotel in a small village by the sea. Rooms were on par with the price. Breakfast restaurant on the other side of the road and live music during the weekend in the next house. All just worked very well. Staff was friendly, lots of parking space and no extra fee for the car park. Good connections, easy to access. Also checking during the night.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Good place to stop if a few nights needed, especially during the weekend.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deep Patel, General Manager at Inn at Rockaway
Responded Apr 14, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Inn at Rockaway. We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that everything worked out so well for you. We're glad to know that you found our rooms to be reasonably priced and that you enjoyed the breakfast restaurant and live music nearby. We're pleased that our staff was friendly and that you had ample parking space without any extra fees. It's great to hear that our location was convenient and easy to access, with good connections. We're also happy to know that our staff checked in with you during the night to ensure that everything was okay. Thank you again for choosing the Inn at Rockaway for your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable experience. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Linda Watson wrote a review Feb 2023
Vacaville, California5 contributions
The Inn at Rockaway is a very nice and clean place to stay In Pacifica. This hotel is walking distance to the beach, famous Nick’s restaurant and Moonraker Restaurant. The Inn at Rockaway is good for a quick get away for two or a family get away. It’s close to San Francisco and close to Half Moon Bay .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debby Santiago, General Manager at Inn at Rockaway
Responded Feb 27, 2023
Hello 242lindaw, Thank you so much for the kind comments and scoring. We are pleased you have the best time. We hope to see you again - who does not need a sunset? Front Desk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Frisco_Roadrunner wrote a review Feb 2023
San Francisco, California24426 contributions169 helpful votes
I’ve stayed at the Inn at Rockaway as a retreat from urban life many times over the years, even when it had another name years ago with owners who had a parrot in the lobby. With new owners, it was fully redone over a couple of years. It’s a comfortable, clean, affordable place for a staycation by the beach with no real need to get in the car. Rockaway Beach is a great little refuge 15-20 minutes from home in San Francisco and feels like a different planet! My last stay was in November and I meant to review it while it was fresh in my mind and I had promised one of the clerks a shout-out for good service. Then the holidays happened, and a positive test for the crud and full recovery from that, and waiting on a home repair… and so here we are. On the last stay, Nina was super helpful. I was originally placed on the south side with a window facing the wall of the Fairfield Inn maybe 3 feet away, with no light coming from anywhere. it was like a cave – not ideal for a couple of days when I planned to spend some time inside working. With little added cost, Nina moved me to the west side facing the ocean, and since I planned some work, she put me on the top floor where no one would be walking on me. She also reminded me that the lobby always had fruit juice and offered me a bigger cup than the ones that were set out. She cheerfully declined a gratuity, saying she preferred good reviews. I hope her manager sees this. Rooms are available for up to 4-5 people. West side rooms face the ocean over the nearby Seabreeze Motel; northern rooms overlook the street with small businesses and foot traffic (not an unpleasant view, rarely noisy, with slivers of ocean as all rooms have bay windows); and the south side as mentioned has a panorama of the bare wall next door. Rooms have microwave and mini-fridge, plus iron, board, and hairdryer for those needing to look their best. The building is a square with parking inside, rooms on three sides, room doors on the inside of the square (any guest can step outside and see every inch of the lot, which might help some feel more secure), and all room windows facing out as described above. The office is tiny with no real lobby, and the second and third floors have seating that I have never seen in use (inside, no view, almost no natural light). The renovation brought some odd changes. The wraparound walkway inside the square had been open but was closed in with sliding windows. They don’t seem useful, since the inner square is not that exposed. I like fresh air and usually open those near me. In the rooms, the closet and microwave/fridge locations were switched. The closet had been near the entry door by the bathroom – logical as most folks like their coats by the door and clothes by the bathroom. The microwave and fridge were near the desk where we usually eat or drink. These were swapped, so now microwave and fridge are just inside the entry, by the bathroom door with no table near; and clothes and ironing board are between the desk and window, across the entire room from the bath. I have no idea how this made sense to anyone. The desk faces the wall but has no lighting or table lamp, so it's good for nothing but storage. Some rooms have tiny moveable tables; otherwise, the luggage stands are good quality and can make do. The bathroom vanities and faucets are a poor match; the faucet is set back so far that water flows literally 1-2 inches from the vanity top, leaving little space for handwashing or filling a cup without splashing all over the counter. Vanities are carved in stone once installed, but a faucet with a longer spout is an easy fix. These things are a nuisance but not a deal-breaker. For the location, overall comfort, and price, I can live with them. But they are things the owners could have given more thought to before finalizing them. The location is ideal for relaxation or recreation. Within a few hundred yards are restaurants, shops; massage, hair, nail, and skin spas; a martial arts studio; visitor info center; and most important, the beach for surfing, paddling, or fishing, and trails to walk or hike. The Coastside Farmers’ Market comes on Wednesday, spring to winter. A short to moderate walk or a 2-minute drive away are more dining, shopping, a bowling center, and THAT beachfront Taco Bell. Devil’s Slide Trail, Sanchez Adobe, and San Pedro Valley County Park are within 10 minutes, and the city’s Frontierland Park has Fitness Court by the National Fitness Campaign, which you can google. I’m going again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debby Santiago, General Manager at Inn at Rockaway
Responded Feb 9, 2023
Well hello. What an awesome review. We cannot thank you enough. Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We strive to make our guests very comfortable. See you when you come back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pacifica area.
PRICE RANGE
₱7,020 - ₱11,450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pacifica motor hotel pacifica
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Pacifica Motor Inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaPacifica
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INN AT ROCKAWAY - UPDATED 2024 Motel Reviews & Price Comparison (Pacifica, CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Inn at Rockaway
Which popular attractions are close to Inn at Rockaway?
Nearby attractions include Rockaway Beach (0.1 km), Shelldance Orchid Gardens (1.0 km), and Sea Bowl (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn at Rockaway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Inn at Rockaway?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Inn at Rockaway?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn at Rockaway?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn at Rockaway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Breakers, Nick's Rockaway, and Puerto 27.
Are pets allowed at Inn at Rockaway?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Inn at Rockaway?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Inn at Rockaway?
Many travellers enjoy visiting First Public School (12.7 km).
Does Inn at Rockaway have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Inn at Rockaway accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.