We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3110
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Stay Longer and Save!
Booking.com
$244
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/13/22
Expedia.com
$244
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/13/22
$244
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Site
Hotels.com$244
Trip.com$268
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (440)
360
Panoramas (98)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 15/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Updated 15/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#20 of 57 hotels in Monterey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Enjoy Spanish inspired cuisine offering indoor, patio and To-Go dining at award-winning, Esteban Restaurant. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bowling offsite
Highchairs available
Paid private parking on-site
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hand massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay Longer and Save!
1699Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 649
  • 603
  • 260
  • 114
  • 73
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
krisvmvpt wrote a review Sep 2022
13 contributions
A lovely hotel in the heart of old Monterey. Close to shopping, restaurants, 8/10 mile to walk to fisherman's wharf. Room was comfy, beds were very comfortable, well supplied with all amenities. Very quiet. The hotel was set up as a motel with separate buildings. But, no elevator to second floor. Dinner on site but no breakfast was included and not available at the time. They have a happy hour (at least on Thursday when we arrived). Gracious front desk staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is extra, not included in room rate.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Trek505112 wrote a review Aug 2022
44 contributions60 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We recently stayed here just one night and were sad to leave. The hotel is set in pretty grounds, not far from the local shops, bars and restaurants. On arrival the staff were super friendly and helpful and recommended somewhere for a quick breakfast the next day on our way to an early whale watching trip. The pool area was well maintained and was not too busy. We were able to park outside our room and the room itself was clean and comfortable. Monterey itself is worth a visit and we were sad to stay only one night. We didn’t eat at the restaurant but it looked good. We did try the bar and sat by the fire in the lobby with drinks. All in all a really nice stay on our way to Santa Barbara. Would recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Hi Trek, Thank you for the wonderful 5-star eview and comments. We're so glad to hear our staff was very friendly and that you had a lovely time staying with us and enjoyed our location and the drinks at the bar. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Monterey. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jorgus50 wrote a review Sep 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom2 contributions
Stayed 3 nights as part of a driving holiday on CA 1. Check in was good, very nice staff on reception. The room was smaller that it looked on line, the bed was very comfortable. shower pressure low - but I think that's a California thing to save water. The room was clean. But they allow pets and I think they use a 'Shake n Vac' type product to try to neutralise pet smells. I did not like the smell and found it quite unpleasant. Maybe they should have pet free rooms? No housekeeping due to Covid, you have to ask for housekeeping, but we did not get chance to ask! The lack of housekeeping happened at many of the hotels we stayed at and I think this is unacceptable. This hotel was expensive and housekeeping should have been routine. There is on site parking, but you have to pay for it, it is charged per night - this added to the California tourist tax and some other taxes inflates the room price.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Christina A wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
+1
My Daughter And I checked in from driving up from Southern California. We had the absolute best experience with Our check in Host Carissa. She drew us a map how to get to Our room, she gave us restaurant recommendations for Dinner and Breakfast. She also gave us recommendations on souvenir shopping at the fisherman’s wharf. We accepted all of her recommendations and were greatly pleased. Excellent Customer Service going way beyond any of Our past Hotel experiences. We appreciate Her so much!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ricefluff wrote a review Sep 2022
Malibu, California30 contributions47 helpful votes
Let's be honest - Monterey Bay is expensive. I want the most bang for my buck and I feel that I get it at Casa Munras. It is definitely my favorite hotel on the peninsula - and I have stayed at many of them, worked at many of them, and lived in all my favorite cities here. Monterey, Carmel, Pacific Grove - this hotel is my favorite one that I can also afford on the regular. I love the Spanish style décor. I absolutely love their beds and pillows - I sleep so good here, and the best part is the location. You can walk out of the hotel, down the street, and you're in downtown, walk a little further and you're on fisherman's wharf. Go up the street and you're at the mall. Go a little further up the street and you have the freeway right there to take you to Carmel or PG or wherever you want to go. However, there are a few negatives to this property: 1. The internet is not fast (especially depending on the building you stay in) and they do not give you the option to pay for upgraded internet. 2. You have to pay for parking - which I believe is $17/night, but I just factor that into the cost of the room when I book. 3. Not all rooms offer a mini fridge, you have to pay for an upgrade to get a room with a fridge. What's that about? All rooms should have this! Everywhere!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Marion H wrote a review Aug 2022
19 contributions1 helpful vote
Comfortable beds and spacious rooms. Walking distance to the water and center of town. Giving 4 stars because the card machine was down the entire time (Friday-Sunday), which was inconvenient. We only had 1 room card for the group. Staff were friendly even when they had to bring us to our rooms and let us in.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Hi Marion, Thank you for the review and comments. We are glad to hear you had an overall comfortable time staying with us and enjoyed our location. We apologize for the issues you experienced with the guestroom keys during your stay. Our team looked into the problem, and it has been resolved. We hope this does not deter you from staying with us in the future, and we have the opportunity to welcome you back during your next visit to Monterey. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rupes_Bath wrote a review Aug 2022
Bath, United Kingdom345 contributions152 helpful votes
Perfectly fine hotel. A good location, near historic city centre, and a ten minute walk to the harbour. Clean & efficient. Why not 5*? No breakfast (though these are a couple of cafes nearby); the restaurant & bar close very early. We would have liked to sit outside with a drink but it closed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback regarding our restaurant, and we will share this with our team, as it helps us evaluate our services offered to enhance the guests' experience. We are glad to hear you had an overall perfect and good time staying with us and enjoyed our location. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back during your next visit to Monterey to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with a more enjoyable stay. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Camilla N wrote a review Aug 2022
Savona, Italy14 contributions2 helpful votes
Is enjoyed my night at Casa Munras. The room was nice and big and also had a microwave and kettle. The place was pretty clean. The hotel provides free parking. The location is perfect to visit Monterey’s centre. There is a spanish restaurant and a spa but i haven’t tried them. Would recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Hi Camillan, Thank you for the wonderful review and comments. We're so glad to hear you had a nice time staying with us and enjoyed our location. We hope during your next visit to Monterey, you will be able to try our spa and restaurant, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
325duncans wrote a review Aug 2022
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom38 contributions46 helpful votes
Casa Munras has a lovely feel about it, with the rooms spread out across in a number of 2-storey blocks across the well maintained grounds. The deluxe king rooms had plenty of space - and being on the upper floor we had a balcony although the view onto an external car park didn't see us use it ! Bathroom good - shower perfectly fine, and plenty of space; Keurig coffee machine was also in the bathroom. We slept well (no noise from any rooms around us) - although that may have been different if it had been warmer as the AC was not quiet ! - and we found having our room cleaned every second day to be perfectly acceptable (you need to request this but that's no big deal). It was nice to be able to park the car close to the room - but given the room rate it felt a little rich to also be charged for daily car parking... The pool area was good - although a few sun shades/umbrellas would have been appreciated - and it was plenty big enough for those who wanted some water fun. There was no breakfast provided on site - but the Wild Plum café just over the road was excellent; and there's always Dennys too which was also right outside along with a couple of petrol stations. The Hotel was a pleasant short walk to the main street and on down to Fisherman's Wharf. It certainly wasn't a cheap stay - although I did save around $400 for our 2 rooms (for four nights) by cancelling and rebooking on booking.com when I checked the rates a few days out - makes a bit of a mockery of booking early. All in all, no reason not to return - a pleasant stay in a hotel that provided what we needed for our visit to Monterey.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Hi Duncan, Thank you for the review and comments. We appreciate your feedback and will share this with our team. We looked into your reservations and saw both reservations were made through booking.com. We are happy to hear you had an overall lovely time staying with us. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again during your next visit to Monterey. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Si M wrote a review Aug 2022
Altrincham, United Kingdom9 contributions5 helpful votes
The hotel is in a good location, staff are friendly & the rooms are clean, parking is available for around $17 dollars per night. The major issue with our stay (through Expedia) is that the room had 2 very small double beds, and the room was booked for 5 of us. The hotel blamed Expedia, called them sneaky, Expedia refused to refund, said the payment was direct with the hotel, so I was piggy in the middle, hotel provided a very small roll away bed, but we were crammed in like sardines, not acceptable for the cost, over $400 per night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Hello, We appreciate you taking the time to write this review, and we will share this with our Management Team. We were all disappointed to hear your most recent visit was not what you had expected, and we apologize for the issues you experienced. We do our best to help in situations like this. We are glad to know you enjoyed our location, and we truly hope you allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with a more enjoyable stay. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$144 - US$308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
larkspur collection casa munras, larkspur collection monterey, casa munras garden hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include San Carlos Cathedral (0.2 km), Colton Hall Museum (0.5 km), and Monterey Museum of Art (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paris Bakery Cafe, Estéban Restaurant, and Old Monterey Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Monterey.
Are any cleaning services offered at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.