We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
300 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2418
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/01/22
Hotels.com
$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/01/22
ZenHotels.com
$133
View deal
Expedia.com$149
Official Hotel$149
travelup.com$194
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (331)
360
Panoramas (56)
Room & Suite (256)

About

#28 of 57 hotels in Monterey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Pacific is a boutique hotel conveniently located in downtown Monterey, California just steps away from the Monterey Conference Center and walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and other top area attractions. Hotel Pacific offers luxury all-suite accommodations with fireplaces, free wireless internet access, patios and balconies, microwave ovens, refrigerators, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments, luxurious feather bedding and unique vacation packages, Hotel Pacific is the perfect hotel choice for your next romantic weekend getaway, vacation or business trip to the Monterey Bay area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Windsurfing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking garage
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Fishing
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Green
Languages Spoken
English
1349Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 579
  • 425
  • 198
  • 96
  • 51
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
knub wrote a review 24 Nov
San Francisco, California38 contributions81 helpful votes
Overall this is a cute, nice looking hotel. We stayed here to visit family for Thanksgiving. We come down from San Francisco every year and have stayed at a few different hotels over the years. This one is NOISY. The person above us fell down? in the night. Walked around with boots on? Seemed like it. Thanksgiving morning it’s my tradition to watch the parade and the dog show, but NOPE! The cable is out. I tried re-setting the box to no avail. Called the front desk, he said he would call XFinity but we’ll be gone by the time they ever show up. No tv! They had no idea if it was just our room or the whole hotel. The free breakfast was decent. Lots of fruit, bagels, muffins, yogurt, bacon, sausage. We chose this because supposedly there was a partition between the living area and the bed and our teen is of the age where he wants privacy so we put him on the sofa bed. He’s not quite old enough for his own room yet and we thought this would work. There is no separation however. Zero. Not sure we would stay here again with that and the noise factor, plus the fact they did absolutely nothing for us for the lack of tv. Kind of ruined my traditional Thanksgiving morning. :(
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , General Manager at Hotel Pacific
Responded yesterday
I would like to personally apologize for the condition of your room during your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to complete this survey. Your feedback is most definitely appreciated. If possible for you, I would like to speak with you directly about your experience. Please contact me directly at the hotel at your earliest convenience, we would like the opportunity to obtain further details of the issues encountered, as well as to make it right with you. Thank you again for your time and feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jamie K wrote a review 11 Nov
1 contribution
From the phone inquiry before our booking, directing us how best to utilize the website, to our check-in, making us feel welcomed as if we were returning home to family, to the conversation after we had gone for a late night walk, which transcended the business of the day into a heartfelt exchange. We would consider staying at a property simply because he worked there. Thank you for hiring him, and giving us the experience of meeting him
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , General Manager at Hotel Pacific
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your excellent review. We really do strive to ensure each guest has a positive stay and it is always great when we receive notification from our guests that we have succeeded. Thank you for your business with us. Have a wonderful day and we hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adventure31957908262 wrote a review Oct 2022
1 helpful vote
I stayed in this hotel 20 years ago. It was sad to stay in a hotel that has not been kept up over the years. Couple notes: pluses; large rooms, nice working fireplace, nice staff, convenient location, decent breakfast. Minuses: no air conditioning, long complicated walk to the room, a lot of the rooms are right on the street. The first room had wet carpets and a white wall view (like being in a basement). The worst part and I’m still in shock from Murphy the managers response… story; we had a late check out (1hr) and had our valuable bags in the room. While at a medical appointment on the last day they went in the room 1 hour before checkout. When e returned well before our granted checkout time we discovered that they threw out my flower vase and the new flowers and dumped my dogs food which had his heart medication in it. When I wrote Murphy about the story and asking him to email me a consolidate bill for the 12 days and to ask the laundry if they found my pants. He wrote back days later saying he was sincerely sorry and he would talk to the staff. I don’t know what he means by sincerity… it seemed he didn’t really read the note because he didn’t send the bill or respond about the pants. Not to mention they didn’t replace the flowers or offer anything to make up for this fiasco. I yet have received notice that they didn’t find the pants. I had to request the bill again and received it. Not one ounce more. I waited 3 weeks to hear something - nothing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 16 Oct 2022
Thank you for your honest review. Not only did I apologize I also expressed "If you need further assistance regarding this matter, do not hesitate to contact me directly." I Also included my contact information. The offer still stands to personally contact me to converse about this issue further. I look forward to the conversation . Murphy Anderson III
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dream38612879114 wrote a review Oct 2022
I cannot say enough about my 5 night stay at the charming Hotel Pacific. My room was hand selected by Murphy, the Assistant General Manager. I had a 4th floor Luxury King suite that was a corner unit. The room was quiet, spacious and lovely. I utilized the beautiful fireplace every day. The grounds are impeccably kept and the location is convenient. The wharf, beach and downtown Monterey are steps away. I look forward to visiting again, very soon!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Monterey can get a little chilly. Bring a jacket or a sweater.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 14 Oct 2022
Thank you for your excellent review. We really do strive to ensure each guest has a positive stay and it is always great when we receive notification from our guests that we have succeeded. Thank you for your business with us. Have a wonderful day and we hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarahwivak wrote a review Oct 2022
Northampton, United Kingdom341 contributions119 helpful votes
Monterey hotel shabby, odd smell to the room that I couldn’t put my finger on maybe damp? No air con but they did provide a large fan after I asked. The room was hard to find elevator not in ideal place for a solo traveler walking through a creepy car park in the dark. Nice big room but seems to have subsidence in the floor near bathroom? Probably from the water flooding underneath from the wet room when you use the shower. Sofa and dining area nice large patio, small sink and microwave too. Didn’t see a pool but there might be one somewhere? An ok stay but wouldn’t rush back to this area, it’s around a ten minute walk to fisherman’s wharf and ample shops/restaurants etc..there’s also a fabulous aquarium further down the coast at cannery row.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 13 Oct 2022
I would like to thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel, and for bringing these matters to our attention. They will be investigated and corrected as soon as possible. I would like to apologize as well for the unsatisfactory condition of your room. What you described is certainly well below our standards, so it is always very important for us to receive such feedback. I would hope that if you are in the area at some point in the future, that you will consider giving us another opportunity to offer you the great hotel experience we are truly capable of.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
davewilliams2022 wrote a review Oct 2022
Rocklin, California
Jr Suite Room was very spacious and clean with 2 Full size beds, family-room and small dining room table. Bathroom had full shower/tub combo plus extra shower. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Great for a family of 4.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 13 Oct 2022
Thank you for your excellent review. We really do strive to ensure each guest has a positive stay and it is always great when we receive notification from our guests that we have succeeded. Thank you for your business with us. Have a wonderful day and we hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mariestengle wrote a review Oct 2022
The room was really nice and big with loads of storage but it was so dark in the room. Breakfast was a bit lacking. The buffet was quick pedestrian and the "service" was non-existent. had to look for someone to refill the coffee. Monterey Bay is a lovely place and the hotel is quaint but expensive for what is on offer.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 7 Oct 2022
Thank you for the time taken to review our hotel, and to bring your concerns to my attention. I would like to extend my apologies for the experience that you had while staying with us. We always want every guest to enjoy a clean, comfortable, pleasant stay & room. Certainly, if any issues encountered at the time had been brought to our attention; one of our team members would have been happy to assist you in resolving any issues that had occurred. Again, I would like to apologize and thank you for your time and business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
smartblonde68 wrote a review Oct 2022
Texas244 contributions46 helpful votes
Hotel has NO A/C!! Staff was amazing! However the room was filithy and most things didn't work, toilet had to be worked on, tv would come on by its self. We were in 305 & 306 and this hotel HAS NO AC!!!!!! It was so hot we had to sleep with the windows open which we were on the main road and it was so loud, we got no sleep. The first morning the food was very low at 9:30 for breakfast however on Saturday it was much better.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 6 Oct 2022
Thank you for the time taken to review our hotel, and to bring your concerns to my attention. I would like to extend my apologies for the experience that you had while staying with us. We always want every guest to enjoy a clean, comfortable, pleasant stay & room. Certainly, if any issues encountered at the time had been brought to our attention; one of our team members would have been happy to assist you in resolving any issues that had occurred. Again, I would like to apologize and thank you for your time and business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol W wrote a review Sep 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
We recently stayed here for 4 nights, the end of a road trip. Check in was friendly but initially given a room with one bed for a triple occupancy. Moved to another room with 2 double beds. The room although a little dated was large and the beds very comfortable. Unfortunately our room was right on the main road, so balcony not private at all and it was very noisy at night, we could not open the windows because of it. The well sized bathroom was also a little tired and as the bath plug was so worn, it held no water, so a bath was not possible. On check in signs were placed about entering with covid to keep everyone safe. Quite understandable but the rooms were not that clean and only serviced after 3 days. The only hotel on our trip that did not clean each day. We were told to ask for anything we needed replacing in the mean time. On the 2nd day I requested more toilet rolls, coffee and water. This we were told would be delivered to the room. We went out all day and when we returned 10 hours later, nothing had been sent. Phoning to ask why, no answer given. The items were however then sent. Our toilet flooded the bathroom the 1st day. We had to turn the water off to stop it. We were told it would be fixed. On returning to the hotel later, I asked if the floor had been cleaned, all reception could tell me it was fixed. Well good but after having toilet water all over the floor I wanted to know the room had been cleaned. The afternoon refreshments advertised on their website apparently have not been offered since covid. Breakfast was sparse as the chef was on holiday, the very pleasant ladies working there informed us. The lift apparently broke the day before our arrival, so reception helped us on the stairs taking our suitcases to the room. We were informed it would be fixed in the next few days but was not the time we were there. The spa also was broken. The hotel is in a good position and charming but without the level of cleanliness, noise from the road, service and not having working facilities, I would not choose this hotel again. Shame as it could be very nice
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 30 Sep 2022
Thank you for taking time out of your day to complete our online survey. Your feedback is very much appreciated and is invaluable to our efforts at making continual progress and improvements to our hotel, guest rooms, amenities, and service. I would like to apologize personally for the dissatisfaction that was experienced during your stay regarding the hotel property as a whole . We are always interested in ways that we can make a better experience for all of our guests. Your feedback is very much appreciated and is invaluable to our efforts at making continual progress and improvements to our hotel, guest rooms, amenities, and service. In the coming year, we will be continuing with further renovations and improvements in all aspects of the guest experience. Thank you again for your time, feedback, and business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jrrrrr567 wrote a review Sep 2022
Price was very high for the level of service. Floors were dirty, porch area floor was filthy - or feet turned black after being out there for a few minutes. Bathroom is old and in need of maintenance.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 30 Sep 2022
Thank you for taking time out of your day to complete an online review. Your feedback is very much appreciated and is invaluable to our efforts at making continual progress and improvements to our hotel, guest rooms, amenities, and service. We are always interested in ways that we can make a better experience for all of our guests. In the coming year, we will be continuing with further renovations and improvements in all aspects of the guest experience. Thank you again for your time, feedback, and business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$159 - US$345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pacific hotel monterey
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL PACIFIC - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Monterey, CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Pacific
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Pacific?
Nearby attractions include Old Fisherman's Wharf (0.4 km), Monterey State Historic Park (0.1 km), and Monterey History & Arts Association: Salvador DalÍ (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Pacific?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a spa, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Pacific?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Pacific?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Pacific?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Pacific?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paris Bakery Cafe, Montrio Bistro, and Old Monterey Cafe.
Is Hotel Pacific located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Monterey.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Pacific?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Pacific?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Pacific offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Pacific?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tor House (7.4 km), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (6.9 km), and Cannery Row (1.6 km).