We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Two Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
E-mail hotel
8 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Package deal
Expedia.com
$277
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Booking.com
$289
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Traveluro
$262
View deal
Hotels.com$277
Travelocity$277
Priceline$289
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (838)
Room & Suite (713)
Videos (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 25/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Updated 25/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 57 hotels in Monterey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
Inspired by the Monterey Peninsula's natural beauty and nautical heritage, the Portola Hotel & Spa is a step outside the ordinary. If our hotel & spa is not ideal for you then you may want to try one of our other locations ( Jacks Monterey & Peter B's Brewpub ). At Jacks Monterey enjoy our: Monterey wharf restaurants & our delicious Monterey seafood restaurants. If that is not your style then try our second location Peter B's Brewpub. Here you will enjoy our Monterey Bars & Monterey Pubs. Find your favorite drink crafted by our Monterey Brewery .
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Books, DVDs, music for children
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Golf course
Hiking
Tennis court
Patio
Walking tours
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Marina View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal
4150Reviews43Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,080
  • 1,137
  • 508
  • 275
  • 151
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
murraylacey473 wrote a review Yesterday
Swaffham, United Kingdom20 contributions
We were booked into the Portola by our road trip company as a stop gap between San Francisco and Yosemite. Beautiful drive down the Pacific highway and a quick visit to Carmel before checking in. The hotel is situated in a lovely spot, plenty of parking and loads of places to eat nearby. The room was lovely, bright and clean and it was probably one of the best we stayed in during our trip. Didn’t eat here as we ate on the pier but managed a sneaky boozy coffee before bed which was lovely sitting in the bar. Staff are all friendly, helpful and polite. Not sure I could really understand any negative reviews about either the staff or the hotel. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
1LSUkat wrote a review Aug 2022
New Orleans, Louisiana3 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
This hotel is in a great location. It has a very nice bar and restaurant for breakfast. The lobby is inviting and the staff was professional and friendly. It's worth the price we paid and we would stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janine Chicourrat, General Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Hi 1LSUkat, Thank you for taking the time to write a 5-star review of your experience at the Portola Hotel & Spa. We're thrilled to hear about your stay, and how you enjoyed our lobby, staff, and on-site restaurant. Your recommendation of us is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Monterey soon! Sincerely, Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate M wrote a review 25 Sep
3 contributions
This hotel is located in such a beautiful setting and the restaurant Jacks was amazing. The quality of the food and service were both excellent. The Salmon I ordered was memorable and my friend totally enjoyed her steak! We were surprised that we didn't have to leave the hotel to have a good meal. After a long journey, the casual and friendly setting was perfect for us. But most of all, the service Toni, Ara, and Brandon provided made the evening a delight.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janine Chicourrat, General Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Responded yesterday
Hi good4eats, Thank you for taking a moment to write a 5-star review of the Portola Hotel & Spa and Jacks Monterey on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear about your experience at Jacks, and how you enjoyed your food and our service. We're also happy to hear that our staff made a good impression on you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Monterey soon! Sincerely, Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Calla Lilly wrote a review 23 Sep
Florida106 contributions130 helpful votes
We reserved the Presidential Suite for my daughter's bridal shower and to get ready on the day of her wedding with hair and makeup. The room is spectacular with modern decor and immaculately clean. There are multiple balconies with spectacular views for pictures. The service was outstanding and management was very accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janine Chicourrat, General Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Responded yesterday
Hi CallaLilly123, Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful 5-star review of the Portola Hotel & Spa on Tripadvisor. We're delighted to hear that you chose our hotel for your daughter's bridal shower and for getting ready on wedding day. Your kind words about your accomodations and our staff are much appreciated. We hope to get another chance to welcome you back to Monterey! Sincerely, Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ehrke55 wrote a review 23 Sep
Oakdale, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
We have stayed in this property several times in the past and enjoyed our stays. Ownership changed about 3 years ago and hotel was remodeled . The changes were negative. Furnishings cheapened, rooms reduced in size. Upon arrival, Bell Hops were rude and pushy. WE WILL NOT RETURN TO THIS HOTEL!!! I will say that the food in the hotel was very good and the wait staff were excellent!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Janine Chicourrat, General Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Responded yesterday
Hi ehrke55, Thank you for your review of the Portola Hotel & Spa on Tripadvisor. We're disappointed to hear you were not satisfied with your most recent stay. While our ownership has not changed, we appreciate your feedback regarding our renovated guest rooms. We value all guest feedback and use them to help us improve our hotel. Thank you again for review. We hope you still had a wonderful time exploring Monterey! Sincerely, Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
csavage01 wrote a review 22 Sep
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
A very nice, luxurious place for our honeymoon. A higher-end hotel with may amenities and a good restaurant, located within walking distance of nearly everything in Monterrey Bay. The sort of place to really "splash out" on a trip.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janine Chicourrat, General Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Responded yesterday
Hi csavage01, Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5-star review of the Portola Hotel & Spa on Tripadvisor. We're thrilled to hear you chose our hotel for your honeymoon, and that you had a wonderful time exploring Monterey. Your recommendation of us is much appreciated. We hope to have another chance to welcome you back to Monterey! Sincerely, Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarahdaisey13 wrote a review 22 Sep
Ocean View, Delaware1 contribution
Overall a good value as it’s a pricey area. Room was large and bed was comfortable. Location is great and staff was friendly. Cons: very little insulation (you hear everything happening in the hallways and rooms next door), showers aren’t great and hair dryer was from 1970 so I suggest you bring your own. But besides those issues we had a pleasant stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janine Chicourrat, General Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Responded yesterday
Hi Sarahdaisey13, Thank you for your review of the Portola Hotel & Spa on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our location and friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback regarding your accommodations and use reviews like yours to help us improve our hotel. Thank you again for writing a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Monterey! Sincerely, Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JL wrote a review 21 Sep
1 contribution
The hotel is nice and in a great area for visitors. The lobby is relatively nice, clean, and the check-in process was smooth. The room itself, albeit the highest tier upgrade, was also clean but fairly typical of a 3-star hotel. I don't see the value of $500/night charged and expected the executive suite to be different than the other rooms. Turns out it's just a higher floor. No bath, shower only. View was great, partially overlooking the bay from a distance. I travel quite a bit and try to secure accommodations in 4-star minimum hotels as often as possible. Though the rate was high even for the area, I wanted to try a new hotel in Monterey. In the same range you can stay at the Clement or several other higher quality locations. Still, the location is fine and worth a visit if you prefer variety over time. Even aside from this experience I'll share, I'd recommend the Clement or any of the other 4-stars and up. Here's the warning, and it's a serious one. I've never experienced this at other hotels, but I was sold a specific nightly rate over the phone when making the reservation. For whatever reason, that rate was only honored for the first night and then the second night had a separate and higher rate. It was not a big difference ($20 or so) and certainly not worth the hassle and time required to have it credited. As a man of principal, I called the hotel once I got home to see the charges and just let them know. This is a fairly straight forward issue and 99% of businesses are going to realize the mistake and fix it, no big deal. This was strange, though. I called the lobby and they could not explain what happened but said I needed to speak with accounting. I left accounting a message. Then I called back to ask the front desk to send me a final invoice, which they promised to do, but it was not done. The next day, I did not hear back from accounting so I called again. It went to voicemail and then moments later I received an email from them stating I should have disputed the rate difference at the time of booking. I explained in an email response that I reserved over the phone and was quoted the rate that I received the first night. I even suggested they just check the recorded booking call. Ultimately I will end up having it resolved (hopefully) but the fact that a hotel stay with a +$1,000 bill for 2-nights requires this many steps to resolve $20 is not a good look. To most, the obvious solution is to see the discrepancy, fix it, and thank me as the paying customer for bringing it to their attention. Now they've opened a service ticket to pull the recording and I don't care if it takes 100 hours of work and litigation from my team to resolve even a single dollar, I'll be sure to set a precedent for all visitors following me. FYI, the check-OUT is not as smooth as check-IN. I visited the desk on the way out and they said no need to check out, just drop off the keys in a lock box when leaving the garage. Unfortunately, there's zero confirmation to show you left at a given time, no receipt, no one at the booth. I took a picture of the clock and me dropping the keys off just in case, but the process seems problematic. Finally, there's a system to use the TV through the hotel wifi. I spent 30 minutes on the phone the first night just trying to get the TV to work properly before giving up because another tech was needed to fix it. Again, not a good look and added to the issues. The takeaway is to probably just find another place to stay. It's one thing to be on business alone and have time to deal with these miscellaneous issues. But imagine being here celebrating an anniversary or for some, even a honeymoon? This is absolutely not the hotel for a professional customer service experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
_ErinR888888 wrote a review 21 Sep
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The staff was friendly when helping me fix the issue with my room. I just wish there was never an issue to begin with—it could have been prevented if the proper notes were left on my reservation. The rooms were average (though the second room I got into was tiny!!). There was nothing special about this hotel to make it so damn expensive besides the location. Otherwise it was just pretty average. Save your money and stay somewhere else then just drive to the warf
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Janine Chicourrat, General Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Responded yesterday
Hi _ErinR888888, Thank you for your review of the Portola Hotel & Spa on Tripadvisor. We're disappointed to hear you were not satisfied with your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding your visit and use reviews on Tripadvisor to help us improve our hotel. Thank you again for your insights. We hope you still had a wonderful time exploring beautiful Monterey. Sincerely, Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happy T wrote a review 20 Sep
2 contributions
The Portola Hotel is in a prime location with nice amenities. The star of our stay was Concierge Chris Boyle. She knows her stuff! Ms. Boyle has a remarkable knack for understanding what you want and helping you get to it. With her guidance, your visit will be memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janine Chicourrat, General Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Responded 5 days ago
Hi Happy T, Thank you for taking the time to rate us 5-stars on Tripadvisor. We're delighted to hear about your memorable experience, and how our staff made a good impression on you. Your recommendation of us is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Monterey soon! Sincerely, Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$284 - US$466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
portola hotel and spa at monterey bay, portola hotel monterey bay
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
379
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay?
Nearby attractions include Old Fisherman's Wharf (0.4 km), Monterey State Historic Park (0.10 km), and Monterey History & Arts Association: Salvador DalÍ (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paris Bakery Cafe, Montrio Bistro, and Loulou's Griddle In The Middle.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Monterey.
Are any cleaning services offered at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.