We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1309 W Shaw Ave, Fresno, CA 93711-3602
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/22
Priceline
$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/19/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$61
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/21/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com$90
eDreams$90
Trip.com$95
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (190)
Room & Suite (103)
Pool & Beach (11)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 06/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#50 of 70 hotels in Fresno
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A quaint, chic hotel with distinctive style, the San Joaquin, boutique hotel situated in the prestigious Fig Garden District, steps from premier shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Experience eclectic décor that features charming interior designs, inviting courtyards and a casual elegance ideal for business and pleasure. The perfect hideaway - its modern amenities, concierge service, and unbeatable location combine to make San Joaquin Hotel the alluring destination that it is. An all suite hotel, San Joaquin offers a sense of escape from the ordinary with its plush gardens, exclusive poolside cabana and enticing décor.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Street parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
238Reviews6Q+A48Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 66
  • 50
  • 28
  • 22
  • 72
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kevin O wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
You’d have a better time sleeping in your car. Room was filthy and, worse, unbelievably noisy in the middle of the night, due to some machinery in the walls and ceiling. Staff couldn’t or pretended not to hear it, nor would they have been qualified to fix it. Manager, Henry Patel, was asked to make it right and steadfastly refused. Offered to a) force an elderly man to pack all his things and move rooms again at midnight or b) tell him to F off and go to another hotel. I ended having to book a second room and pay for it just to get a few hours sleep. Did I mention filthy? It’s an absolute rathole of a hotel, do not stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at San Joaquin Hotel
Responded 23 May 2022
Dear Anonymous, We are sorry to hear that several things during your stay did not meet your expectations. Guest satisfaction for us is highly rewarding, so I am terribly sorry for your experience and for the issues in your room. We will certainly take this opportunity to highlight the problems and resolve them. Again, thank you for your stay and your valuable feedback. Best Regards, San Joaquin Hotel Management
Read more
Kelly P wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
DO NOT RECOMMEND- The carpet was stained and looked like someone had been murdered there. The bathtub was leaking and had a dirty towel tied around the faucet. The pull out bed was broken and had springs sticking out of it- extremely uncomfortable! Hot tub was closed. Morning staff was very rude when we let them know about problem. Also missed the short window for breakfast because they didn’t tell us when we checked in what time we needed to be there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at San Joaquin Hotel
Responded 2 Mar 2022
Dear Kelly, Thank you for writing an elaborate review for us. I sincerely apologize for your most recent experience at the San Joaquin Hotel. I'm disappointed to discover that our employees fell short of our high standards for customer service. I also apologize for the dirty carpets, towels, damaged bathtub, inappropriate staff behavior, and anything else that caused you trouble. We go to great lengths to ensure that our visitors have a pleasant stay with us. However, we appear to be lacking in several areas. Once again, I apologize for the poor stay. I will discuss the mentioned specifics with my entire team and make sure this doesn’t happen again. Kind Regards, San Joaquin Hotel Management
Read more
xiongmaixia wrote a review Nov 2021
Fresno, California1 contribution
The carpets were heavily stained. The Bedsheets were dirty. Dirty beneath couches too. We left without sleeping because we were too disgusted. We were told our fault for noticing too late by their staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at San Joaquin Hotel
Responded 23 Nov 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for writing a review for us. I sincerely apologize for your most recent experience at the San Joaquin Hotel. I'm disappointed to discover that our employees fell short of our high standards for customer service. I also apologize for the dirty carpets and bedsheets. We go to great lengths to ensure that our visitors have a pleasant stay with us. Unfortunately, we appear to be lacking in several areas. Please accept our apologies. Kind Regards, San Joaquin Hotel Management
Read more
DLS5285 wrote a review Nov 2021
Atlanta, Georgia1 contribution
The carpets are so very dirty we needed to keep our shoes on. However, I have a 3 year old, and that is hard to manage. Within minutes, the bottoms of her feet were black (I quickly washed her feet in the sink). The entire feel of the room was NOT gross, but the floors put me on edge. The beds were clean and comfortable, which was a relief.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at San Joaquin Hotel
Responded 22 Nov 2021
Dear guest, I apologize that your stay at our Fresno hotel was unsatisfactory. This is not the kind of experience we want our guests to have. I am so sorry for the dirty carpets. Thank you for appreciating the comfortable and clean beds. Please do give us another to make things right and give us a chance to host you again. Please accept our apologies. Kind regards, San Joaquin Hotel Management
Read more
Michael wrote a review Nov 2021
Los Angeles, California11 contributions
+1
Visited Fresno for the first time for a friend's birthday and their family booked us a stay down the way at San Joaquin because it was close to their house and thought it looked relatively nice from the street..... they were mortified when I showed them the photos of our "suite". I am guessing that the only "housekeeping" done before we arrived is one of the "maids" removing the police tape from our door because it looked like a crime scene inside. Horrifying stains of indeterminate liquids and/or bodily fluids greeted us on every square inch of the carpet. Stains that have clearly NEVER been even attempted to be cleaned. A quick spray of Folex would remove some of it but apparently the cleaning staff has better things to do. Needless to say, we kept our socks on the entire stay. Perhaps most of the lights did not work in the unit which made it dark. The few bulbs that did turn on were bright blue which made us feel like we were having some sort of acid trip. Maybe this was to distract from the filthy carpet? The bathroom sink and shower faucet had clearly never been cleaned and were heavy with water stains. Astonishingly, the linens and towels seemed clean (believe me, we double-checked before touching them. The hotel walkways were equally stained. The next morning we did pass a housekeeping cart which we had to laugh about because we could only assume it was purely decorative to imply that any employee there actually does their job. The few times we passed through the lobby and actually saw anyone at the desk, they were disheveled and turned their gaze to avoid eye contact while maintaining a comical frown. The cherry on top was really when we returned to the parking lot sometime after midnight from the party. Several cars were taking up 2 spaces with some idling with lights on, people talking, and ladies of the night walking about. The scariest part was that one car pulled out of their spot behind us when we pulled in, turned their lights on, and attempted to block us in. My friend and I booked it to our room and locked the door - again - nobody in the empty office. We had many nervous laughs about the third world conditions of San Joaquin Hotel to distract us from how gross and sketchy this place actually is. If you find yourself needing last-minute accommodations in Fresno and this place is your only option, you're better off sleeping under a freeway overpass or in a homeless shelter. Either of which will be cleaner and feel safer. An easy 0/5!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at San Joaquin Hotel
Responded 18 Nov 2021
Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. We are extremely sorry for all of our shortcomings during your stay. The issues you faced are unacceptable and I am especially sorry for our customer service, unclean room, people in the parking lot, and walkways. We take guest feedback seriously and will look into all of your comments to make all the improvements necessary. Once again, please know how very sorry we are for your experience. We never want any of our guests to have this type of experience. Despite this, we hope you were able to enjoy your friend's birthday. Sincerely, San Joaquin Hotel Management
Read more
stspeer wrote a review Nov 2021
Chico, California13 contributions
+1
Stayed on the way to and from Disneyland. So dirty and run down in rooms. Laminate floor room left my kids feet black. Carpet in next room had stains, rips. Both smell of cigarettes and pot. Security Locks didn’t work.kids could get out. Had to block doors with furniture. Stayed 5 years ago and was great, especially size of rooms. So sad how run down it’s become. Surprised if it can pass health inspections.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at San Joaquin Hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sorry to learn about your experience and we apologize for the inconveniences that you faced. We wish you would have informed our staff of your concerns while you were here. We would have gladly tried to resolve your issues. Our hospitality staff cleans every room on a regular basis. Please accept our apologies once again for not reaching your expectations during your stay with us. Regards, San Joaquin Hotel Management
Read more
frodoboy wrote a review Oct 2021
Arroyo Grande, CA6 contributions2 helpful votes
I should have listened to the horrible reviews! Even if I get a response from management, it will only be a "canned" one and they won't get back to me directly. That tells you something about this hotel! I have stayed in Best Western hotels for years without a problem. They have always been clean and friendly. I chose this hotel because it was in a part of fresno that used to be considered high class AND it was part of the Best Western Group. Boy was I wrong! I made the reservation because we were going to my mother's burial and it was a very somber trip. I needed a quiet and nice place to stay. I had my receipt for the reservation. The first thing I was told is the fee was $21 MORE than my reservation receipt with ALL charges! I was also told there was a $200 deposit required. There was nothing about that noted on the website. A lady that came in after me was also shocked and said there was no mention of this deposit. Luckily, I did get the $200 back after a few days and they refunded the $21 overcharge. That is where the good news ends! The grounds were dirty and unkempt. The pool water was dark greenish-black! The elevator was filthy and smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. I had to hold my breath while inside. The first room given to us was beyond belief. It had huge stains throughout the entire carpet! The tub had no faucet and the sofa looked like something out of a thrift shop! We asked for another room thinking they gave us this room by mistake. The next room was only minimally better but upon inspection, it got worse! The carpet didn't have as many huge stains as the first room but it had plenty. And, one very large stain was red and looked like a huge blood stain! The sink had blood in it as well. The room smelled like musty cigarette smoke and some other gross smell. There was a utility room right in the hallway of our room and the door was unlocked and ajar. Inside was an air conditioning/heating unit with a dirty floor and an open electrical wiring box. Very dangerous for small children which luckily, we didn't have with us. The bed was comfortable but we were afraid to sleep in it wondering if the sheets were even clean! We couldn't get our money back because it was late and the rude front desk person said we'd have to pay a cancellation fee as a no show. There was litter on the roof of a lower roof as if garbage had been tossed onto it. The lobby was the nicest area of the hotel which would indicate the staff was more important than guests!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at San Joaquin Hotel
Responded 6 Oct 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologize for the problem you faced due to the deposit and the maintenance of the place. It is sad to know that you faced issues like stains on carpet, as well as on the sink. We are sorry to hear that you had to face the issue of odor and smoke within your room during your stay. We ensure that the issues are resolved soon enough. We would be grateful if you give us another chance to host you. Sincerely, San Joaquin Hotel Management
Read more
saicha8915 wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
I stayed during their promo to get the 20 dollar gift cards and I had trouble with the program and no one at the front desk wanted to help. Night shift front desk was new but had attitudes and so was morning shift. During those times both shift that I had went in there were no customers behind me.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at San Joaquin Hotel
Responded 23 Sep 2021
Dear Guest, We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds like your time with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize for your inconvenience, we would like to assure you that this is not the typical experience our guests have. I do apologize on behalf of our front desk. We sincerely apologize for your inconvenience. Sincerely, San Joaquin Hotel Management
Read more
Elana S wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
Everything about this hotel was gross. We pulled up and two creepy men started hitting on us (my 70 year old mom and me). The front desk person was not friendly, we had to take dirty and unlit outdoor stairs to get to our room. When we walked in the carpet has stains, the furniture had holes, etc. we checked right back out and went and found another hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at San Joaquin Hotel
Responded 20 Sep 2021
Dear Guest, I am sorry that your experience at our hotel was not satisfactory. We sincerely apologize for the dirty carpet and all the furniture. I also am deeply sorry for any unfriendly behavior from our staff, we will surely make sure our staff members are only delivering the best customer service possible. We will try our best to make things right. We are sorry again for the inconvenience. Sincerely, San Joaquin Hotel Management
Read more
Carolina T wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
+1
The rooms smelled of mold, carpets dirty,wall sockets were loose , bedroom handle broke , pull out couch bed felt like sleeping 🛌 on wire, pool was gross, roach in room , breakfast was a joke , loud noise and music past 10 pm, luggage cart needs to be thrown out … would not recommend this place … and checking out a guest had a box filled with equipment and pharapanielia
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at San Joaquin Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2021
Dear Guest, It makes me sad to find out that your time with us was not pleasant. We are sorry for the noise and all the other things you had to face. We'll do our best to resolve them as soon as possible. We also apologize for the filthy room and carpet stains. We are trying to do everything possible to maintain cleanliness at our hotel. We again apologize for the inconvenience. Sincerely, San Joaquin Hotel Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$78 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
san joaquin hotel fresno, san joaquin suite fresno, hotel san joaquin suite
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaFresno
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about San Joaquin Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at San Joaquin Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at San Joaquin Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at San Joaquin Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at San Joaquin Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to San Joaquin Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Elbow Room, La Boulangerie French Bakery & Cafe, and The Lime Lite.
Are there opportunities to exercise at San Joaquin Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at San Joaquin Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at San Joaquin Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to San Joaquin Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Forestiere Underground Gardens (5.9 km).
Is San Joaquin Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.