Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon

Super gross
Traveler (27)
Relax in our spacious rooms after a day at Marketplace at El Paseo
Room & Suite (24)
Bakery goods & Fresh HOT Signature Cinnamon Rolls for breakfast!
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
₱7,533
₱7,128
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#33 of 65 hotels in Fresno
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Enjoy all the attractions near our Fresno hotel Surrounded by the Sierra Nevada mountains to the east and the Pacific Ocean to the west, the Central Valley offers hiking in Yosemite and snow skiing at China Peak. Use our shuttle service to FAT airport or businesses such as Producers Dairy, Saladinos, Costco, El Mexicano or Foster Farms. Kaiser, St Agnes and Childrens Community Hospitals are close. Granite Sports Complex is 10 minutes away and Regional Sports Complex is 20 minutes away. Visit the fascinating Forestiere Underground Gardens, check out Fresno Art or Veterans Memorial Museum, or be entertained at the Fresno Zoo. Watch a Grizzlies baseball game at Chukchansi Park, Falcons baseball at Selland Arena, or a Fuego soccer game. Sneak in a round at Riverside Golf Course. Shop at Marketplace at El Paseo or River Park. Enjoy concerts at SaveMart Center. Tour The Madera Wine Trail or drive the Blossom Trail.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Shoeshine
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

7191 W Kathryn Ave, Fresno, CA 93722-9305
86Reviews1Q+A21Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 23
  • 29
  • 14
  • 8
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Daniel M wrote a review Apr 2022
Knob Noster, Missouri166 contributions25 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 5 nights at the Holiday Inn Express off of Herndon. We booked through Priceline. I have come to expect nothing but quality from HIE, but this location was not up to standard. Our room, 126, had multiple issues. Biggest was the smell. Pretty sure the room had water damage, as the room had a subtle moldy smell, the the biggest giveaway was the warping on the bottom side of the bathroom door. The switch plate in the bathroom was broken. The shower rods on the towel rack above the toilet fell out when trying to hand a towel. The refrigerator did not get cold. The mattress was too firm (but was not sagging so that is a plus). The temperature controls were not intuitive. There was a loud banging throughout the am, like what you’d hear from poorly secured plumbing behind the wall.
We did partake of the continental breakfast one day, and the food was ok, but the cranberry and orange juices were both watered down.
I would not recommend for the price paid.
Not trip, we will stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Autumn Simpson, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
Responded Apr 22, 2022
We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments, and continued loyalty as an IHG cutsomer.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
evjr57 wrote a review Sep 2022
Concord, California95 contributions42 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an OK place to stay if you need somewhere to stay after a long day of driving.
Near a cookie cutter strip mall and right next to a Starbucks.
Breakfast was substandard if you went with the eggs and sausages. I would stick with the cereals or pancakes.
The staff was friendly and had me checked in quickly. Unfortunately all the TV channels did not come in and the Dish Box would not connect to the Internet for Netflix. Did tell the staff so hopefully it is fixed before the next guest is assigned that room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandy B wrote a review Feb 2020
Tucson, Arizona1,300 contribution253 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Desk Clerk was a real pleasure. Our suite was roomy and clean.The bed was very comfortable. Shower had good water flow and hot temperature. This is an older property but no problems at all. We would stay here again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Autumn Simpson, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
Responded Dec 15, 2020
I am very pleased to know that we have provided a warm and welcoming feeling to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon. I would like to thank you on behalf of my team for sharing your comments, we will be more than happy to have you and your family members stay with us in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cselkie wrote a review Jul 2022
Los Angeles, California33 contributions24 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a room with 2 queens with our rewards points. ( have been members/ credit card holder for years) When we got there they said they had overbooked and didn't have a room for us even though we had been confirmed hours before. Sent us to another Holiday Inn 20 minutes away but when we got there they said even though they had plenty of rooms they couldn't let us use our points so we would have to pay in cash. They offered us a discount that was higher then what it was listed on Booking.com. We called IHG credit card/Rewards customer service who did nothing to help us out. After two hours of dealing with the hotels, driving to multiple ones and being on the phone with customer service we had to find another hotel at 7pm at night after having driven all day. Thank you Marriott for actually working with their rewards guests. After we got settled I looked online and saw this hotel was still advertising the King suite with a sofa bed. They could have just offered to upgrade us (to that room and saved us a lot of time, driving and stress, ( part of being an IHG member is to upgrade when the room is available anyway) especially since it was completely their mistake. Really disappoined that IHG would treat their guests this way. After confirming a reservation, leaving guests without a room at night and trying to scam payment after we had paid with our points was greedy and not at all what I expect from being a long term rewards member and IHG credit card holder that I pay for yearly in order to be treated as a valued guest.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Autumn Simpson, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
Responded Aug 2, 2022
We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests about how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. It is our goal to consistently ensure our service is superior and it is very disappointing you found the service you received less than satisfactory. I do greatly apologize for the poor experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kshelby123 wrote a review May 4
El Dorado Hills, California242 contributions48 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked under govt/state rate as we have for 30 years, when we booked it never said we had to show proof of travel orders which we’ve never done just to show our govt ID. So he said he was raising our rate from $128 to $183. The hotel is under construction, in a bad area, no where to park in front because of construction, not a safe area. I told him I didn’t even want to stay here and he said he would still charge us because we needed to give them 24 hrs. So just so everyone knows it doesn’t matter what you book your rate at when you get here they will raise it and you’re stuck staying in this horrible hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Bad location, dirty, not friendly, no parking in safe area, rather sleep in my car
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
Responded 1 week ago
Hi kshelby123, Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon. We provide an efficient stay in a place that feels fresh and focused only on the features and services you need. I'm sorry for the issues you experienced. I have sent your comments to our dedicated hotel management team, and I am confident they will take immediate action to address the situation and make necessary improvements. I also sent you a private message to extend our sincere apology. We value all the feedback we receive, as this is our best resource for improvement. We are hoping to see you again soon.   Yours in hospitality,   Dominador R. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
richardblack2019 wrote a review Feb 2020
Kingman, Arizona12 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice Hotel to stop at after traveling on Rt 99. Happy hour is nice and the hostesses are extra nice and generous with the wine. Nice beds and room, very quiet for being on the freeway. Very good hotel Breakfast buffet. Would recommend to other travelers.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We were on the third floor on the freeway side and it was super quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Autumn Simpson, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
Responded Dec 15, 2020
I am very pleased to know that we have provided a warm and welcoming feeling to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon. I would like to thank you on behalf of my team for sharing your comments, we will be more than happy to have you and your family members stay with us in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louis wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is NOT a new hotel. It’s in decent shape and obvious signs of wear. The clerk at the desk did not give a warm welcome. She seemed bothered to check me in. Definitely not someone to staff the check-in counter. Incidental hold was more than the room itself. Stayed here before and had much better service and incidentals were very reasonable. Will never stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
Responded Dec 10, 2020
Hello louisKtown, Thanks for choosing to stay with us among your many lodging options. We also appreciate your candid remarks. I understand your displeasure with the check-in and customer service experienced. I am also genuinely sorry to hear about the room’s condition. We also hear your concerns with the incidental amount. Trust that our team, together with our hotel, are yours in hospitality, and will always be here to provide you the experience that you deserve. That said, I will immediately share your feedback to our hotel’s upper management for review and improvements in our amenities and services. I’ve also sent you a private message that should now be in your inbox discussing your stay further. Best, Kenneth F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
McLean4 wrote a review Nov 2021
McLean, VA114 contributions101 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here several times but this will be our last. While other properties used the pandemic to shore up their facility, this hotel just seems to have grown run down and tired looking. Simple maintenance and housekeeping issues couldn’t be addressed. We checked out a day early and moved to another property. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
Responded Nov 26, 2021
Hi McLean4, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent visit. We strive to offer our guests quality service and comfort. I'm sorry that your experience was unsatisfactory due to maintenance and housekeeping issues found on our property. I have shared your comments with the management team for their reference. I trust they'll take the necessary actions to address this and consider your review for future hotel improvements. I hope you will give us another chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Regards, Virgil N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
globetr0ter wrote a review Jan 2015
Asia70 contributions73 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Super disappointed. We almost always stay at Holiday Inn Hotels. We like the usual consistency as well as the fact that -most of the time- service is good but this has to have been the worst experience at a HI.
First of all, when we walked in, there was no real welcome or greeting; it was more of a "you're interrupting us, what do you want" look from the woman and a man who were chatting behind the counter. I can usually get over that if it weren't for what followed later in the night.
After we had already settled in and were just relaxing watching TV, I felt a bite on my arm (which I had under the pillow). I checked the pillow to find a bed bug!!! (I'll upload a picture) We had never seen one so I Googled it (Internet is patchy and super slow at this hotel btw), and sure enough that's what it was. We called the front desk to complain and the guy's attitude was kind of like, "ok, soo what" WE literally had to ask HIM to move us to a different floor altogether. He asked us if we had a lot of stuff to move to which we said yes, although, to our surprise, he wasn't asking because we was gonna have someone help us; he just talked to us like we were dumb for asking for a different floor when it could've been easier if we stayed on the same floor.
Anyway, we hauled all our belongings by ourselves and it was the least restful night I have had in a long while. I kept feeling like I was being bitten all over (I was not), having dreams that I was getting bitten; it sucked. I kept waking up paranoid.
I hoped that in the morning there would be some sort of apology, maybe a discount, or something, anything on account of the huge inconvenience this experience was yet there was nothing (mind you, you also have to take a lot of precautions to make sure you don't take the infestation home; bed bugs can survive in your luggage without eating for ONE YEAR). I hoped it would come in the weeks following (that's why I waited to write a review) but there was NOTHING. We were charged our full amount and they acted like nothing ever happened (mind you I brought to up again at the counter).
And no, I am not interested in contacting the management because it should not take THIS for them to do something about it. They proved they care very little about your experience once you've paid as long as you don't expose them.
One of the bites is still bothering me by the way. I'll upload a picture.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YuriBarajas, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
Responded Jan 12, 2015
Dear globetr0ter, Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and we are truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. It is our goal to consistently ensure our service is superior and it is very disappointing you found the service you received less than satisfactory. We have taken note of your comments and will share these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. Again, we do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christie Y wrote a review Oct 2014
Littleton, Colorado1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Awful. A block of rooms was reserved for the wedding we were attending in the area. Upon check-in, my parents room had just been painted and the paint had not dried, in addition to masking tape everywhere in the room. They were moved to a handicap room and could not hang their clothes anywhere. When we checked in, we were placed on a different floor away from the rest of the wedding guests. On the day of the wedding, we asked for the shuttle to take the group of us to the site and were told that while the shuttle was meant to transport guests, they had no driver. Yet as we were standing there waiting for a taxi, the shuttle pulled up with a driver and people. The pool was taped off, as well. Now to the best part, this hotel is LOUD. Do not stay here if you cannot endure being woke by the train blaring by every 15 minutes during the night.....the tracks are across the street! On the other side of the building is the freeway. Beyond all that, the room and breakfast was nice but you would do best finding someplace else to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YuriBarajas, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
Responded Oct 22, 2014
Dear Christie Y, I apologize for the inconvenience you and your family members experienced during your recent stay with us. I appreciate your time, I will take your comments as feed back and communicate it to all the staff members to avoid similar situations in the future. Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest Herndon property.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Autumn Simpson
Fresno, California3 contributions
Service dogs are welcome!
kshelby123 wrote a tip May 4
El Dorado Hills, California242 contributions48 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bad location, dirty, not friendly, no parking in safe area, rather sleep in my car "
Read full review
Daniel M wrote a tip Apr 2022
Knob Noster, Missouri166 contributions25 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this location"
Read full review
richardblack2019 wrote a tip Feb 2020
Kingman, Arizona12 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were on the third floor on the freeway side and it was super quiet."
Read full review
Passingthorugh wrote a tip Dec 2019
Newport, Oregon14 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request room on opposite side of freeway (east side) as this facility extremely noisy from garbage dumpers and freeway on the west side"
Read full review
14sleeves wrote a tip Mar 2018
Syracuse, New York149 contributions73 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware of loud train close by. Get room on other side?"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fresno area.
PRICE RANGE
₱7,392 - ₱9,197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express hotel and suites fresno northwest-herndon
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaFresno
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES FRESNO NORTHWEST-HERNDON - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon?
Nearby attractions include Marshalls (0.8 km) and Burlington (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon?
Conveniently located restaurants include Olive Garden Italian Kitchen, Pieology Pizzeria El Paseo, Fresno, CA, and Menchie's Frozen Yogurt.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Forestiere Underground Gardens (4.4 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Fresno HotelsFresno Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FresnoHotels near Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars