The Pacific Motel

The Pacific Motel

Traveler (71)
Room & Suite (15)
Walking distance to the pier for a sunset view
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 1 guest house in Cayucos
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Classic California bungalow beach motel
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Bicycles available
Concierge
Gift shop
24-hour check-in
Electric vehicle charging station
Street parking
Complimentary tea
Boating
Hiking
Horseback riding
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Ocean View

Location

399 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1231
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 62 out of 100
62
San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport
33.1 km
See all flights
Santa Maria Public Airport
72.3 km
See all flights
51Reviews0Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 49
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jeff S wrote a review Sep 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you're looking to stay in a classic California beach town at a really cool motel...look no further! You can tell just how much thought and love was put into this newly remodeled motel in Cayucus. The Pacific Motel just has the "vibe"...the rooms and grounds are prefect looking without trying too hard. You instantly feel relaxed the minute you arrive. The staff were super friendly and attentive. The room was clean and comfortable with everything you'd hope and expect. It's the details that set this place apart: the linens and bathroom products, the super comfy bed, the creative artwork, and the options in the mini bar/fridge/lobby. There were bikes guests could use to cruise around the town, a ping pong table to catch a game, and fire pits to enjoy the evening ocean air. Perfect place to visit, refer friends to, or just have a local staycation....Can't wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pacific Motel, Owner at The Pacific Motel
Responded Sep 27, 2022
Thank you so much for the amazing review Jeff! We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return very soon. - The team at The Pacific Motel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mihaela M wrote a review Oct 2022
Cayucos, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a marvelous addition to cutest town on the central coast. This brand new lodging establishment boasts rooms with a clean coastal decor, a warm and inviting lobby where guests can share a glass of wine with fellow travelers, and two outdoor fire pit areas to lounge around after a nice beach day.
We stayed in room 9 and my love for vaulted ceilings has only increased since. Large, comfortable king sized bed, perfect lighting and a lounging robe made for the perfect ambiance to read my book. Curated snacks available for in room purchase. Also a big fan of the eco friendly amenities.
Don’t forget to sample the sumptuous coffee in the lobby and support some local artisans by purchasing a gift before check out.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pacific Motel, Owner at The Pacific Motel
Responded Oct 10, 2022
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and we look forward to having you back! -The team at The Pacific
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John G wrote a review Jan 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I hesitate contributing to the success of this perfect motel because I fear it will be discovered by the masses and be impossible to book. This feeling is outweighed by the kindness of the owners who have created a nearly perfect experience. They painstakingly renovated an old motel to create a peaceful, thoughtful series of little bungalows which are comfortable, beautiful and impeccably maintained. This motel...which is an important distinction from a hotel, allows you the convenience of driving right to your front door without the invariably bad traverse through a chaotic lobby into a dirty elevator and then down a long creepy hallway ( shining twins?).
The vibe here matches the town's sleepy old California surfing beach meets ranch Era. Hurry before it's gone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pacific Motel, Owner at The Pacific Motel
Responded Feb 6, 2023
John, thank you so much for this great review! We love having you here at The Pacific and enjoy every time you come back. Thank you for your kind words about our little motel and the best town on the coast. See you soon! Cheers from all of us at The pacific.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DempSee wrote a review May 2024
Fresno, California
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I felt the urge to share my experience as I’ve had time to reflect on our brief stay here at The Pacific Motel. We were enthused to be close to the water and the room was clean and have a minimalistic design that we felt comfortable with our toddler (wasn’t supposed to come but for babysitting reasons came) to be with us and not fear she’d break everything. The room was very open and basic. I wouldn’t go as far as saying warm and welcoming but sanitized (finally somewhere very clean). I enjoyed the minimalist look and there were a bunch of goodies to entice your palate. We were content with the price but I wondered why the resort fee? I should asked about it but I didn’t. I guess that’s the new thing with motel/hotels?

Our stay was cut short because my daughter ended up getting sick. We found out she had the stomach flu, hence the constant vomiting. We ended up forcefully leaving as we were concerned on how quickly she went t from a happy go lucky gal to a very sick baby. I informed the staff who was nice but unfortunately I wish we would have received better service. I didn’t want a refund but I was hoping we could of worked something out to have a returning guest. Having paid for two nights to only be there for 16 hours felt like we were being ripped off when this was not in our control. Unfortunately because of their lack of empathy and understanding of the situation I regretfully must say we will not return. It’s truly stay at your own risk and hope that nothing ever happens that would cause you to shorten your stay here. Best of luck.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Pacific Motel, General Manager at The Pacific Motel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at The Pacific in March. Glad to hear you appreciated the location, cleanliness and design! It's unfortunate that your stay was cut short due to your daughter's unexpected illness. All of us at The Pacific are parents and we know firsthand that traveling with little ones can get complicated. We welcome families and love hosting children here of all ages. We understand that your early departure was unanticipated and that circumstances were outside your control, but like all small hospitality businesses we are unable to offer refunds, reservation changes, or special compensation for early check outs. Your room is booked for your exclusive use for the duration of your stay and we have no way to rebook it on sudden notice. The terms of this policy are clearly stated on our web site and guests must agree to them in writing at the time of booking. Finally, we'd like to point out that our nightly resort fee enables us to compensate our hardworking staff, plus offer the following amenities for our guests' enjoyment: *A fleet of Linus bicycles *Ping Pong *Furnished firepits and common areas *Spearhead coffee served daily *Ice & filtered water *Tesla chargers *Complimentary in-room water *Outdoor shower & foot wash It's unfortunate that The Pacific Motel did not meet your expectations. We wish you all the best in your future travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harmony P wrote a review Oct 2023
Los Angeles, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a nice two-night stay at the Pacific Motel however that nice stay was dampened once I received my invoice via email (they did not offer a printed copy at the time of check-out). The motel itself is nice. Grounds are nice. Smallish room was clean; furnishings were minimal. Queen bed, two night tables, narrow console table. No chair for reading, no table/chairs for eating. The bed is comfortable, bedding is nice. Bathroom has soft towels. There is no room safe and no air conditioning. Unfortunately during my visit, the weather was very hot (86+ degrees) and although there is a ceiling fan, it was unbearably hot in the room. My biggest beef was the room rate I was charged. The motel’s website stated the room I chose (Vaulted Queen) was $199 the “price for one night(s)” excluding taxes and fees. I received my invoice via email after I checked out and that’s when I noticed I was charged $299 a night (excluding taxes and fees). Taxes and fees for my two night stay were $210 (what?!). That included a $30 daily resort fee. The amenities on the property are a couple of fire pits and sitting areas, coffee station in the office, and a ping pong table. $30 seems a little high when there is no pool, no spa, no gym. When I called the motel to ask about the difference in room rates, I was told it had something to do with “algorithms”. I said their website clearly stated the nightly charge was I spoke to told me she had to speak to her manager regarding any refund. She called me back about an hour later and said there would be no refund. She said that a confirmation email was sent prior to my arrival and the $299 room rate was on the confirmation. Unfortunately, since my friend made the reservation, the confirmation was sent to her and not to me. So bottom line, the Pacific Motel can state one rate on their website then randomly increase that price at will. Great business practice. I was comfortable paying $199 for the Queen Vaulted room but at $299, it’s overpriced and not worth $299. The Pacific Motel will not get my business on my next trip to Cayucos. On another note…be sure to stop by the Brown Butter Cookie Company. BEST cookies ever!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Check your room rate and make sure it matches what is on the website!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cayucos Motel, General Manager at The Pacific Motel
Responded Nov 6, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent stay in one of our Vaulted Queen rooms. Evidently you were disappointed by your experience and we’d like to address your concerns and dispel some misconceptions. We promote full transparency here at The Pacific Motel and value open communication with our guests. Like all hotels, our rates fluctuate weekly and seasonally. Weekends along with holiday periods are priced higher than mid-week nights. These rate variations are automatically set by our booking engine and are not arbitrarily modified by staff at any stage of the reservation process. Currently visitors to our web site may peruse rates in all of our room types (standard king, vaulted king, vaulted queen, #14, and bungalows) through the end of 2024. When your travel partner booked online, the nightly rate for your Vaulted Queen room was $299 before taxes and fees for Saturday and Sunday, and this did not change. At the time of booking she received an email confirmation (including a breakdown of taxes and fees: 12.5% SLO county occupancy tax and $30 resort fee) and again following your check out on October 9th. As you stated, her email address was associated with your reservation and therefore all invoices went to her. We freely offer printed or digital invoices to our guests at any point before, during or after their stay and would have been happy to provide you with a copy. We take great pride in the amenities offered at The Pacific Motel. These include: *Two gas fire pits furnished with pillows & blankets *A competition-grade Ping Pong table and equipment *EV chargers *Linus bicycles *Beach towels *Ice *Filtered water *Morning coffee from local roaster Spearhead *Outdoor warm water shower & foot wash. The $30 resort fee enables us to not only maintain these amenities for guests’ continued enjoyment but also to compensate our property’s dedicated staff. We wish you all the best in your future travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ardnetij wrote a review Aug 2023
Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Pacific Motel is one of those rare lodgings which gets everything right. From the tastefully designed rooms and oh-so comfortable beds to the high quality of linens and luxurious bath products, all aspects of our stay exuded an effortless, sophisticated charm which is understated, curated to perfection and fits in perfectly with the seaside town vibe of Cayucos.

Rooms are modern, spacious and well appointed. We are a family of 5 so we booked a king room + a bungalow. The king rooms are fabulous but the bungalows are just stunning! The reception is where you’ll pass by to pick up your daily morning coffee or afternoon (or whenever) tipple. It also doubles as a cute little boutique where you will most likely run into the wonderful people who run the place, including the owners, who clearly know a clever thing or two about the fine and forgotten art of innkeeping. Parking is ample. They have two lovely outdoor fireplaces and an outdoor ping pong table. Lots of breakfast / dining options within a short walk.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pacific Motel, General Manager at The Pacific Motel
Responded Sep 25, 2023
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Pacific Motel! We look forward to having you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff W wrote a review Mar 2023
Santa Barbara, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went for a Valentines escape and couldn't have had a better time or place to stay. The staff and owner of the Pacific Motel are super nice and helpful.
The location was perfect, we rode provided bikes to investigate the downtown and beach areas and found tons of sand dollars.
From our location we were also able to explore up the coast and enjoy all that the central coast had to offer.
We loved the simplicity and design of our room and the Pillows ... the best!
Can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Cute Motel, very clean and well designed. No pool but they do have a ping pong table.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pacific Motel, Owner at The Pacific Motel
Responded Mar 15, 2023
We are so glad that you came to The Pacific for your Valentines getaway! Thank you for your kind words- we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Looking forward to having you back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
charles5663 wrote a review Sep 2022
Kuwait
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is THE new staycation for our friends and family! This brand new, remolded property is immaculate!! Owners/operators gave us a warm, gracious/greeting, and were very helpful with suggestions of places to eat. They have 2 cozy, outdoor firepits with incredibly comfy pillows (especially the back one that is out of the brisk wind) and nice views of the nearby ocean, this place is our new heaven - we didn't want to leave, except to ride the brand new, motel-provided bikes to the nearby restaurants and beaches that are just down the road. Room 14 with the sunny table area next to it was a perfect, quiet place to relax! They have really gone above and beyond with this place. Way to go! - I just hope we'll be able to get reservations in the near future, as this motel has really risen the bar for comfort and hospitality in SLO county. Thank you so much for letting us enjoy your hard work with this slice of heaven!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pacific Motel, Owner at The Pacific Motel
Responded Sep 23, 2022
Thank you so much Charles for the amazing review of The Pacific! We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return very soon. - The team at The Pacific Motel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sacha S wrote a review Sep 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a stay! As lovers of this quintessential beach town we were so excited to stay at The Pacific Motel when it opened recently, and from our first moments onsite we fell in love with the overall vibe and aesthetic of the property. We loved sitting around the fire pits as the sun set, the smell of 'beach' in the air. Our room was ideal; crisp, luxurious linens and a bed more comfortable than home! Every detail meticulously thought out from the luxurious bathroom products and selection of locally curated 'mini-bar' goodies in the room to the groovy artwork on the walls. What a beautiful place to stay in a beautiful part of the Central Coast. We will be back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pacific Motel, Owner at The Pacific Motel
Responded Sep 23, 2022
Thank you so much for the amazing review of The Pacific! We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return very soon. - The team at The Pacific Motel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maggie R wrote a review May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Pacific Motel is awesome! Everything - from the perfect sheets and excellent beds to the thoughtfully selected amenities and welcoming staff - it all just feels so great! We're grateful to have found this gem on the Central Coast - clean, modern, and styley with a decidedly cool retro vibe. Excited to go back for more happy hours with the community around the fire pit!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pacific Motel, General Manager at The Pacific Motel
Responded May 26, 2023
Thanks for the kind words! We are so happy that you had such a great stay. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Jill H wrote a tip Mar 2024
Fremont, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No complaints just praise! Best place I've ever stayed on the Central Coast!"
Read full review
charles5663 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Kuwait7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If the front fire pit is too breezy or crowded, the one in the back is much cozier. Also, outside shower when returning from beach."
Read full review
thonanc wrote a tip Nov 2023
Los Angeles, California112 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Splurge on one of the fireplace bungalows."
Read full review
Harmony P wrote a tip Oct 2023
Los Angeles, California41 contributions79 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check your room rate and make sure it matches what is on the website!"
Read full review
Suzanne P wrote a tip Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed there mid-week, and there were only two other groups staying, so it was quiet and private. I’m sure the weekends are much busier."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cayucos area.
PRICE RANGE
₱14,945 - ₱21,652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo CountyCayucos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PACIFIC MOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Guest house Reviews & Price Comparison (Cayucos, CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Pacific Motel
Which popular attractions are close to The Pacific Motel?
Nearby attractions include Cayucos Pier (0.1 km), Brown Butter Cookie Company (0.6 km), and Estero Bluffs State Park (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pacific Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a concierge.
Which room amenities are available at The Pacific Motel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Pacific Motel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pacific Motel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Pacific Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brown Butter Cookie Company, Duckie's, and Cafe Della Via.
Is The Pacific Motel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Cayucos.
Does The Pacific Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The Pacific Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cayucos HotelsCayucos Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CayucosHotels near The Pacific Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars