We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Discovery Country Suites

Save
Share
300 Calamba Road San Jose, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120 Philippines
StayForLong
Destinia.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (396)
Room & Suite (264)
Dining (94)

About

#8 of 75 hotels in Tagaytay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Discovery Country Suites offers a relaxing respite from city life. The experience begins with a scenic drive along a wide open space, lush greenery, vast flower fields and pineapple plantations. Your journey ends with a panoramic vista of a majestic lake and a volcano. Luxurious suites, delectable country cuisine from the Miele Guide rated Restaurant Verbena, exquisite wines and cheese at sundown and warm fireside chats make your Tagaytay experience simply unforgettable.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Laundry service
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino

Location

Full view
38Car recommended
Grade: 38 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
262Reviews10Q+A65Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 138
  • 84
  • 29
  • 4
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Valerie is Valeria wrote a review Jan 2020
Metro Manila, Philippines7 contributions3 helpful votes
We had an acceptable overall experience. We booked a Premiere Suite and a Deluxe Suite. The rooms assigned to us were Nantucket and Saint Tropez, both on the ground floor. We had the only two rooms on the ground floor. The views of Nantucket, the Premiere Suite were amazing. However, the toilet was disgustingly smelly and had a toilet seat that didn't fit the rim of the toilet unit so if you were staying with a male companion, your bum will still touch any pee drippings that the toilet may have collected while the seat is lifted. Plus, toilet smelled of previous occupants' wee or maybe even dried poo. I know this because I sometimes have to deep clean our own water closet unit here at home. In hindsight, I really should have said something. I didn't because we had stayed for only one evening. My in laws stayed in the room called Saint Tropez. This is their room in the deluxe category. This room is not worth the money. I kind of feel bad that we didn't get my in laws a Premiere Suite. With just a few thousand pesos difference, we could have made their stay exponentially better. About the turndown service, at around 7pm, a hotel staff carrying milk and cookies came to the door and asked if they can do the turndown service on the room. I said, we are about to leave so he can do it when we step out for dinner at 715pm. We went back at around 9pm and the beds still weren't turned down. This, again, would not have bothered me but there are so many pillows on the bed. About 10 pillows of different sizes per bed. We ended up putting the decorative pillows on the floor so I don't exactly know if they use the same decorative pillows for the new guests... I sure do not hope so. Also, the milk and cookies were left on the coffee table so the attendant had definitely entered the room but didn't do the turndown. The intention for their wine and cheese pairing at 5pm is good. I must say that the wine served for this seems to be cheap wine. It's understandable since it's free but maybe the restaurant will earn more if the wine were of better quality. I would have gladly ordered more if I didn't get a headache from the wine. I did enjoy the wine and cheese pairing with my in laws though. The milk and cookies that they serve before bedtime is just okay. The cookies are dry and bland. The milk is substandard. It tasted like powdered milk. Breakfast at Verbena Restaurant was good. The selection and the presentation was good too. The small and simple buffet offered together with the breakfast set menu is all you need and this was presented tastefully. I think the coffee needs improvement. I ordered a cappuccino. I had to pay for that separately but it was the most disgusting cup of cappuccino I have ever tasted in my entire life. The froth was not froth but looked like bubbles from a bubble bath. Froth should look like foam. I think this is the case because of the poor quality of milk. My husband/in laws are dairy and cattle farmers. We do have a high standard for milk but I will say that that milk was lowest of the low. Especially for a cup of cappuccino that the guest gets charged for.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: -choose the rooms with balconies preferably on a higher floor -check toilet in...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from JaniceTiambeng, General Manager at Discovery Country Suites
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Dear ValerieIsValeria, First of all, allow me to thank you and your family for choosing to stay with us at Discovery Country Suites. It is with great concern that I read your experience during your recent stay with us. We always aim to extend high levels of standards, being your country home. Part of our priorities is to provide comfort and amenities for all guests, starting from the welcome up to the turndown. Unfortunately, we have not met your expectations on service and product. I have already raised all concerns to my Management team so we can take a closer look and improve. Rest assured that this is an isolated case, and actions will be taken for these not to arise again. I do apologize for all the unsatisfactory experience you had. Thank you very much for sharing this with us. We treat reviews like this with high priority, as this helps us in providing a better service. Sincerely, Janice Tiambeng General Manager
Read more
815ced wrote a review Jan 2020
Manila, Philippines2 contributions
hospitality at its finest in this hotel..from check in to check out..every staff seems to have one mission in mind- that is to make our stay a relaxing, satisfying experience..the food is great too..thank you for the accommodation
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from JaniceTiambeng, General Manager at Discovery Country Suites
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Dear 815ced, A happy new year to you and your family! Thank you very much for your review and for choosing to stay with us during this special time of the year. We are very glad to know that you had relaxing and satisfying experience. Trust that the family was able to welcome the new year with a blast. Again, thank you very much and we look forward in welcoming you again soon! Sincerely, Janice Tiambeng General Manager
Read more
Rhett Shaw wrote a review Dec 2019
Luzon, Philippines10 contributions15 helpful votes
The place itself is small and a bit old. They also give very too little cheese on their cheese platter, although they do give a refill. When I say the cheese is too little, it really is very small and like 2 pieces per variant, and they give 3 or 4 variants only. Sorry to focus on that, but it leaves a bad first impression. However, the service is impeccable. The people are excellent. The food in the restaurant is also very good. The rooms are spacious and clean. Beds are very big. We ran out of rooms, so we had to get twin beds, but the staff was nice enough to pull them together considering we are a couple. Once you pull both beds together, they become bigger than a king bed. Perhaps a minor refresh is needed, like fixing of locks, shower etc... But overall, still a very good stay. The staff and their service makes up for all the other small shortcomings.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from JaniceTiambeng, General Manager at Discovery Country Suites
Responded 25 Dec 2019
Dear Rhett, Greetings from Discovery Country Suites! Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your review. Trust that you and your partner had a truly meaningful stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you, and to be able to extend a warm hospitality that we are always known to have. I have noted your concerns on the refurbishments. Comments like this are very important for us, as this will help us in further improvements. Again, thank you very much. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Janice Tiambeng General Manager
Read more
tiMNL888 wrote a review Dec 2019
2 contributions
I'll be honest and start that the facilities are starting to feel a little dated. Overall the place could do well with a fresh coat of paint and an update to their rooms, ie. new TV. However, in spite of this, my stay was still excellent. The hotel still offer excellent service and very good food.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from JaniceTiambeng, General Manager at Discovery Country Suites
Responded 22 Dec 2019
Dear tiMNL888, Greetings from Discovery Suites! Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your positive experience. I am very glad to know that your stay was excellent and that our staff were able to extend topnotch service and food. I have noted your concerns regarding that dated facilities. We are currently taking necessary actions for the improvement of our facilities, and it is a process we have been working on for a while now. Again, thank you very much. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Janice Tiambeng General Manager
Read more
lexi allison wrote a review Nov 2019
Philippines10 contributions
I like the bulalo super yummy good for the cold weather of tagaytay and People is great. the location is easy to travel near at the main road i like the ambiance and the view along taal lake thank you for the wonderful experience also the welcome drinks . most of all the the staff is very friendly always assist.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JaniceTiambeng, General Manager at Discovery Country Suites
Responded 8 Dec 2019
Dear Allison, I would like to thank you for sharing with us your great experience here at Country Suites. We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay. It is part of our commitment to provide an escape for our guests, something that they can really enjoy and make them feel home. It is heartwarming to read your review. This truly brings us motivation to serve guests that's all heart. Again, thank you very much. I look forward to having you back again soon. Sincerely, Marla Fresnido Resident Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$151 - US$310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
discovery country hotel tagaytay
LOCATION
PhilippinesLuzonCalabarzon RegionCavite ProvinceTagaytay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Discovery Country Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Discovery Country Suites?
Nearby attractions include Museo Orlina (1.0 km) and The Pink Sisters Chapel & Convent (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Discovery Country Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Discovery Country Suites?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Discovery Country Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Discovery Country Suites?
Yes, free parking and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Discovery Country Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Starbucks, Java Jazz Cafe, and Restaurant Verbena.
Does Discovery Country Suites have airport transportation?
Yes, Discovery Country Suites offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Discovery Country Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.
Does Discovery Country Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Discovery Country Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.