We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Cantera Boutique Hotel

Save
Share
Calle 306 #173, El Calafate 9405 Argentina
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Lol.travel
US$105
View deal
eDreams
Priceline
ZenHotels.comUS$110
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (743)
Room & Suite (122)
Dining (81)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 28/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Updated 28/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 76 hotels in El Calafate
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With the amazing environment of Argentine Patagonia and its Glaciers, La Cantera Boutique Hotel Calafate is built on the top of the city, ensuring a seamless perspective and having access to both the city's shopping center and any attraction you may want to visit. Inaugurated in 2004, it was the first Patagonian Boutique hotel in the area. The building was thought to provide such a cozy feeling that our guests can intermingle with the environment without isolating themselves from it. Let us guide you along the Hotel, we want to provide you with hospitality and an exclusive service.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Free shuttle or taxi services
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Airport transportation
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1137Reviews21Q+A70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 642
  • 359
  • 97
  • 25
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Nittaya11 wrote a review Nov 2020
Bangkok, Thailand17 contributions8 helpful votes
We had made a booking of two nights for two rooms through booking.com Confirmation number: 3525395534 but we had to cancel it due to Coronavirus pandemic since Mid-March but still no refund has been received despite many follows-up with booking.com as there is no way to contact the hotel directly, even through booking.com which is rather unusual. We could only find hotel telephone number but we we don't speak Spanish. Can the hotel provide email address so that we can prove to you that our refund is still pending and no response from the hotel to our request. We have been using booking.com for almost all our travel bookings but we must say their response on this particular refund is very poor. They keep asking proof of our payment and we shared the credit card statement for 3 times and still no progress. Moreover, their booking application won't allow us to contact the hotel directly from our cancelled booking. Sorry that I have to post it here but I have no other way to get the hotel's attention on our refund.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Elizabeth A wrote a review Oct 2020
16 contributions9 helpful votes
I have been struggling to get ahold of the hotel for a few months. Nobody is answering phone calls and emails and the website appears to be down. I have an upcoming stay that I’d like to cancel. I don’t recommend this hotel due to their lack of communication. I understand they’re suffering because of Covid, but the least they could do is respond.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Dario Rostagno, Director General at La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Responded 9 Oct 2020
Estimado Huesped No podemos conpartir su opicion, estamos trabajando intensamente para poder reordenar las reservas de todos nuestros húespedes, nuestros números telefónicos y correos están funcionando con normalidad, su caso será solucionado ni bien usted se contacte con nosotros. Le paso mi mail personal para que me haga llegar su solicitud, dario@hotellacantera.com Saludos cordiales Dario Rostagno Gerente
Read more
johmyu wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York111 contributions100 helpful votes
This hotel is in need of a renovation. The sleeping quarters and bathroom are dated and old. Rooms remind me of a cabin in the woods. We only ate breakfast at this hotel. The breakfast buffet was also average. Eggs were scrambled and served lukewarm. I couldn’t eat anything else because of my dairy allergy. Front desk was professional and courteous. They helped us make dinner reservations in town. If you love to camp, this hotel may be suitable for you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DarioR1576, Gerente at La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Dear guest Thanks for your comments The hotel has began a process of renovation of all its rooms and public areas within a short time you can enjoy the new facilities Best regards Dario Rostagno
Read more
middlegam wrote a review Feb 2020
london138 contributions151 helpful votes
Had a lake view room and yes a lovely view of the lake if you can ignore the big warehouse that has been constructed to the left. Service on reception very good. Breakfast were ok, typical Argentine fare, with lots of sweet stuff, eggs, ham,cheese, etc. Better than some breakfasts we’ve experienced. Location- really didn’t bother us being a short walk to the centre, less than 7 minutes down and 10 minutes up. They do offer a free transfer from 7.30pm till 11.30pm just let them know or have the restaurant call them to collect you. We didn’t use it as the walk was needed after dinner. hill on final part but nothing too bad. Noise can be heard in room next door which seems to be the norm in tourist hotels. Room far too hot and had to open the window, again the norm down south, why they can’t provide room fans I will never know. Alas the hotel is showing its age, with damaged furniture, broken handles, broken bathroom fittings, stains etc. It was clean though. Kettle and fridge in room. If they carried out a complete room refurbishment then it would be fine despite its location.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Lake view for sure
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DarioR1576, Gerente at La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear guest Thank you for your comments, we agree with you and we will inform you about the hotel having begun a complete renovation of all its facilities, we hope to have all our areas and rooms renovated in a few months We wait for you to enjoy the improvements Best regards Dario Rostagno
Read more
andrea a wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia44 contributions47 helpful votes
Firstly El Calafate as a town does not do justice to its outstanding sightseeing in the area. Accommodation was not cheap and the hotel equates to an Australian motel. The hotel is located on the edge of town surrounded by industrial warehouses,abandoned blocks of land, and general shabbiness. There are unfinished footpaths leading to hotel. It is only a 10 minute walk to the main street but these are the most uninspiring streets you will ever walk. The hotel is all in the OK category , service, breakfast, room . We had a mountain room that overlooked a building site with wire fencing, there are other rooms with lake views and would have given us a better impression of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DarioR1576, Gerente at La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Dear guest We are sorry that your impression of our accommodation was not satisfactory, as you say we are only 10 minutes from the main street and in case you do not want to walk the hotel has a free shuttle service that runs from 19.30 to The 23.30. As you also mention the hotel has a room with a lake view, your reservation was for a room with a mountain view in that case you could have requested an upgrade. Best regards Dario Rostagno
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la cantera el calafate
LOCATION
ArgentinaPatagoniaProvince of Santa CruzEl Calafate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to La Cantera Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Lago Argentino (0.9 km), Estancia 25 de Mayo (1.1 km), and Santa Teresita del Nino Jesus (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Cantera Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at La Cantera Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Cantera Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Cantera Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Trinchera Wine & Beer, Kau Kaleshen, and Pura Vida Resto Bar.
Does La Cantera Boutique Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, La Cantera Boutique Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is La Cantera Boutique Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of El Calafate.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Cantera Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to La Cantera Boutique Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Walichu Caves (6.9 km).
Does La Cantera Boutique Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.