We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alto Calafate Hotel

Save
Share
Calle 2000, N. 141, Villa Parque Los Glaciares, El Calafate Z9405 Argentina
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/03/22
Lol.travel
US$73
View deal
Destinia.com
US$71
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/03/22
Trip.comUS$112
Prestigia.comUS$109
StayForLong
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1292)
Room & Suite (445)
Dining (137)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 20/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Alto Calafate Hotel
Updated 20/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 76 hotels in El Calafate
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Alto Calafate Hotel, where the beauty of the landscape is combined with the functionality of the ambiances, achieving the perfect combination of elegance, comfort, service and the most impressive views of Lago Argentino and Cerro Calafate.Alto Calafate Hotel is strategically located at the entrance to the city on the way to the airport and 3.5 kilometers from downtown. Placed on a hillside, you will be able to please yourself admiring the wonderful panoramic view of the lush landscapes of Patagonia.Among the distinguished services offered by Alto Calafate Hotel its restaurant highlights, with international and regional cuisine that includes traditional dishes from Patagonia Argentina. Once there you will be able to observe the beauty of Lake Argentino while sipping exotic delicacies.You will have at your disposal the services of Transfer to the city center, Multipurpose Room, Laundry, Room Service, Business Center and Wireless Internet Access in the whole building.Alto Calafate Patagonico Hotel is the perfect complement to make your experience in Patagonia, a sanctuary of peace, warmth and comfort with high quality standards and are the perfect contrast to the untamed land of dreams.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool with view
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1392Reviews30Q+A58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 700
  • 501
  • 127
  • 43
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Boarding_gate123 wrote a review May 2020
Helsinki, Finland2234 contributions327 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I stayed in a standard queen room in January 2020 for 4 nights while on a roadtrip in the area. Positives: - clean room, although part of the bed was broken (the mattress on one side had slightly collapsed) - good wifi - friendly staff - okay breakfast buffet - plentiful, easy and complimentary parking - nice location outside town. The taxis are cheap and easy to use. Negatives: - tried to book treatments at the spa, but was informed it's fully booked. The hotel could inform customers of the need to pre-book before arrival. - the room contained no slippers. Was informed we could get them from the spa but was met by an almost scary lady who demanded a deposit (!!) for SLIPPERS. It would also, apparently, have required filling in forms (:D ). At this point, I didn't know whether I should cry or laugh and decided that the slippers were most definitely not worth the time and effort. - the complimentary shuttle only requires pre-booking TO town and I wouldn't count on using it coming back from town since it appeared to be the survival of the quickest queue-jumper... - two cleaners, on two separate occasions, tried to enter our room even though the "Do not disturb" sign was hanging on the know and we were trying to sleep. The first try was at 9.30 in the morning! I was absolutely furious. - housekeeping began cleaning rooms at 7 am with zero regard for customers in their rooms. They came armed with extremely loud walkie-talkies so good look having a sleep-in (oh, but that won't be possible anyway as someone will forcefully enter your room even though there's a Do not disturb sign....) - lousy sound isolation between other rooms as well as between the room and hallway. We could hear what TV programme our neighbour was watching and exactly what they were doing in the bathroom. In conclusion, this hotel has great potential but needs to focus more on the small details and the customer experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Natalia , Director General at Alto Calafate Hotel
Responded 13 Aug 2020
Dear Boarding_gate123; First at all, we really apologize about the bad experience with our services , your complaints are being given our fullest attention and we regret for any issues that you may have had during your stay in the Alto Calafate Hotel. Regards Dept.e-commerce
Read more
sbaggaley64 wrote a review Feb 2020
Central Mexico and Gulf Coast, Mexico29 contributions15 helpful votes
Set on a hill outside of the town the hotel is served by an hourly shuttle bus which is ideal for getting about. Hotel is slightly needing attention but the high winds do it no favour. All staff are extremely friendly and attentive. Restaurant breakfast is somewhat a free for all depending on tour groups coming and going, but the food is good and plentiful when you get a table. Dinner is in one word awful. The local cheese described forgot to say it was melted on toasted bread. Lamb requested to be pink was a guessing game to how many times it had been pre cooked. Vegetables served on a cold plate were left. We felt sorry for the waitress who had to serve this. El calafate was a disappointing town as it had been overtaken by cheap tacky tourist shops. Trips to local sights were well worth it. I am afraid this town is losing its appeal.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelesIdea, Dept.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear Stephen B, We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. Regards Dept.e-commerce
Read more
NOUR F wrote a review Feb 2020
Beirut138 contributions128 helpful votes
I visited this hotel as a tour leader with 13 other guests, early February 2020 for 2 nights. We were very disappointed by the hotel as they offered all the group rooms from the mountainside with NO view. I asked the reception if the rooms with a view were more expensive but they said that it was not the case and the rooms were allocated randomly. In that case, the management should have allocated at least half of the group rooms with a view or our agent should have insisted to have good rooms with a view. The restaurant is pretty good with a good selection of dishes, good salads. Breakfast is rich and well displayed. The Hotel is not centrally located but located on a hill outside of the town. You need to take a shuttle or a taxi to reach the downtown of Calafate. Having said the rooms are large enough, comfortable and clean. Wifi is good.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the lake and city
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelesIdea, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Alto Calafate Hotel
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear NOUR F, thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate all your details about your stay. Regards Dept.e-commerce
Read more
Daniel G wrote a review Feb 2020
Cleveland, Georgia196 contributions58 helpful votes
We spent 3 nights at the Hotel Alto Calafate in a suite booked by our travel agent. The room had many defects including a leaky toilet, separated toilet seat, badly worn carpet, a shower with a single jet of water, noisy exaust fan, etc. The exterior of the hotel needs a paint job. Service was spotty especially reception which took more than 30 minutes because the young receptionist kept answering phone calls every 30 seconds. No apologies. They needed someone else at the desk. The restaurant is pretty good with a good selection of dishes, good salads. There is a shuttle service to the town about a mile below the hotel. Our impression was that this hotel needs improved management. I wrote a note to the manager about the room problems but got no reply although they did install a new toilet seat. I think I would stay in the town instead of this place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Lago Argentino. Don't bother booking a suite because the sitting...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelesIdea, Dept.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear Daniel G; First at all, we really apologize about the bad experience, your complaints are being given our fullest attention and we regret for any issues that you may have had during your stay in the Alto Calafate Hotel. Regards Dept.e-commerce
Read more
John F wrote a review Jan 2020
Casuarina, Australia129 contributions76 helpful votes
This hotel is situated on a bare hill above what is a very windy town. The noise of the wind kept me up at night! Stay in town, in the sheltered valley. The hotel itself was ok, the usual afternoon-tea for breakfast Argentinian hotels seem to do. The restaurant (for dinner) was not as good as it thinks itself. Overall, don't bother, stay in town!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelesIdea, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Alto Calafate Hotel
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Dear casuarina639 Thanks for taking your time to share your comments with us. I understand that our hotel did not reach your expectation, - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$83 - US$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alto calafate el
LOCATION
ArgentinaPatagoniaProvince of Santa CruzEl Calafate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alto Calafate Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Alto Calafate Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Lago Argentino (2.6 km), Estancia 25 de Mayo (1.9 km), and El Calafate Historical Interpretation Center (2.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Alto Calafate Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Alto Calafate Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Alto Calafate Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Alto Calafate Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alto Calafate Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rancho Aparte, Restaurant Puertas Adentro, La Trinchera Wine & Beer, and Rustico Asador y Parrilla.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alto Calafate Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Alto Calafate Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Alto Calafate Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Alto Calafate Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Alto Calafate Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Alto Calafate Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Walichu Caves (4.6 km).