We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Wale Street Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$153
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/29/22
Travelocity
eDreams
Expedia.com$153
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1086)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (685)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
Updated 06/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#32 of 128 hotels in Cape Town Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Explore the city right from our doorstep. Originally home to the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and, later, the Board of Executors (BoE), Taj Cape Town effortlessly combines the legacy of the old with the luxury of the new. Located in the centre of the old city, it boasts a strong sense of place and is within walking distance to some of South Africa’s foremost landmarks and attractions and an eclectic array of shops, galleries and restaurants. Spread across two heritage buildings, all 176 rooms have spectacular city views or overlook the iconic Table Mountain.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Afrikaans, Xhosa and 1 more
2580Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,836
  • 489
  • 144
  • 53
  • 58
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
HappyTraveller_101 wrote a review 16 Jan
67 contributions23 helpful votes
Having been at the hotel for 9 days and staying with a sporting team whom the Hotel value as high priority over all other guests, breakfast has been a complete nightmare, with service taking up to 1 hour for just scrambled eggs, then the order of the scrambled eggs given to the "high priority sporting team" and all we are told is that more will be made and delivered when ready, Coffee taking 30 min, The laundry service is also a sham with return of items not ironed or folded as requested on the form, room cleaning is poor with the complimentary coffee and tea never replenished. For a hotel of this supposed high standard to totally ignore the guests who are not part of the Visiting sports team is pathetic and I will never recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
DM wrote a review 11 Jan
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed at the Taj for New Years— Dec 30-Jan 1. Supposedly the most wonderful time of the year. It’s a nice looking hotel, and we had a nice room on the top floor. Other than that, I have nothing positive to say about my stay. We fell ill the morning after dinner in their hotel restaurant. We could only suspect we had eaten something that had gone off or was prepared improperly. I was casually profiled and questioned about my room number the first morning I left my room. The breakfast was underwhelming, and the service disappointing. The staff were too busy to answer my questions about any allergens in the food, and there are no food tags about allergens at the buffet. And worst of all, the concierge took ages (an hour) to bring our bags down from our room causing us to veryyy nearly miss our flight. I’m just glad we were able to rest all day on New Years Eve and muster the energy to get out of the room to celebrate. Also veryyyy glad we made our flight. Despite how stressful it was, we made it out unscathed. 4/10 would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town
Responded 1 week ago
Dear DMcK2022, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I wish you had a better experience with us. We will use your comments and feedback to improve on our shortcomings. We take your comments to heart and are deeply saddened that you did not feel the warmth of our hospitality during your time with us. Sincerely, Mark Wernich General Manager
Read more
sanele wrote a review 10 Jan
2 contributions
Rarely does any accomodation over-deliver, yet the luxury suite was beyond perfect. Spacious, luxurious, picture perfect, enjoyed good facilities too, wow... Will stay for weeks next time. Worth every penny, in fact I'd say it's way underpriced for such class and style. This is definition of 5 Star! Bravo to the welcoming staff too
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sanele20, Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback and for the compliments. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Mark Wernich General Manager
Read more
mouna m wrote a review 6 Jan
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
We had a great time in Cape Town , the hotel service was not on par. We wait forever for room service and they never show up, they don’t even say we are late or whatever. The place is beautiful and clean. The breakfast part was always amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town
Responded 1 week ago
Dear mounam557 Thank you for sharing your feedback and for taking the time to write. Please know that we have taken this to heart and will do our best to work on our shortcomings. We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast. Sincerely, Mark Wernich General Manager
Read more
102devim wrote a review 6 Jan
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa1 contribution
I visited Cape Town after 10 years and did not know what to expect. Already booked and paid for our accommodation for 18 days at a self catering place which spas excellent. But we realised that we needed to be more central. Decided to spend a few days in the city centre if we could get accommodation. I went online and came across the Taj. We decided to spend a few days there and am so glad we did. It really made our holiday special.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Book accommodation in an easy to get around area. We had a car but used Uber because it was...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 102devin Thank you for the great rating and review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we really hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Mark Wernich General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$126 - US$381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
taj cape town hotel cape town central
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
176
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Taj Cape Town
Which popular attractions are close to Taj Cape Town?
Nearby attractions include Gate69 (0.4 km), Company's Gardens (0.4 km), and Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Taj Cape Town?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Taj Cape Town?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Taj Cape Town?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Taj Cape Town?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Taj Cape Town?
Conveniently located restaurants include Iron Steak and Bar, FYN, and madam taitou.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Taj Cape Town?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Taj Cape Town have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Taj Cape Town offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Taj Cape Town have airport transportation?
Yes, Taj Cape Town offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Taj Cape Town located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Cape Town Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at Taj Cape Town?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.