We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveler (61)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (4)
Overview
  • Excellent89%
  • Very good11%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“river camp”(7 reviews)
“great hosts”(4 reviews)
“game walk”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Airport Transportation
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
3 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
46
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
46
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver campgreat hostsgame walkmorning drivestar hotelbreakfast and dinnerthree nightsviewing deckflora and faunaplunge poolspent nightsbush walkhome away from homebush experiencejohanbalulecottage
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at Ximongwe Safari Camp; what an amazing experience! Johan and Ronell are exceptional hosts who made us feel part of the family. Ronell's cooking is incredible and we so looked forward to chatting over delicious breakfasts...More

Thank Stephen W
Reviewed 1 week ago

During my last stay at the River Camp in February, I had the opportunity to visit the Bush Camp, also run by Ronell and Johan. I was pretty excited and decided to return to this magical place in July. But this time I wanted to...More

Thank khotso
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

A long overdue review, but definitely not forgotten. We stayed at Ximongwe Safari Camp for 2 nights and had an unforgettable experience. From the moment we arrived we received a warm welcome from our hosts Ronell and Johan, who took such great care of us!...More

Thank karenpR4345FJ
Reviewed 3 July 2018

We spent 3 nights in the Hippo Cottage (which sleeps 10 people). The house was very clean, and everything you need is there. It has a beautiful view of the river where you can spend the day relaxing or watching the birds, crocodiles, and other...More

2  Thank Jade d
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Everybody in our family are 200% happy with the stay in Ximongwe. Our expectations based on various reviews were surpassed in all respects. To say that the owners Ronell and Johan are hospitable and attentive to guests, is to say nothing. They are just incredibly...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leonich
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Spa
Details
Price range
US$80 - US$203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$80 - US$203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (61)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (4)
Pool & Beach (3)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Maca D
6 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ximongwe_River_Camp | Property representative |
Hi Macareena, unfortunately not vegan but vegetarian.
0
Votes
judithlorraine123
12 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Ximongwe_River_Camp | Property representative |
Hi Lorraine, I apologise for only answering now. The cottages are approximately 5 m apart. If you have more enquiries about Ximongwe, please d not hesitate to contact me. Kind Regards Ronell
1
Vote
ashdoc
12 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Ximongwe_River_Camp | Property representative |
Hi, thank you very much for the great review. The kids are more than welcome at Ximongwe River Camp and we can take them on a lot of activities which they will enjoy, Moholoholo and the Wildlife Endangered Species Centre... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The Hippo Cottage has excellent views. The nests at the Bush Camp are REALLY nice :)"
Read review
"All the rooms are lovely but the ones facing the river are lovely."
Read review
"All rooms have a wonderfull view on the animals in the garden and the river."
Read review
"Crocodile Cottage for smaller groups and Hippo Cottage for larger groups."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing