We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5th Avenue 5th Street, San Jose 10101 Costa Rica
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$119
View deal
Hotels.com
Vio.com
$96
View deal
Booking.com$118
HolidayInn.com$118
Destinia.com$135
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (503)
360
Panoramas (17)
Videos (4)

About

#32 of 98 hotels in San Jose
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on the heart of the vibrant capital city of San Jose Costa Rica, we are the "ONLY" superior Hotel on the heart of downtown, just a few steps away from the business and financial district museums art galleries shopping and entertainment our location can not be beat for things to do and see As the only 5 star hotel centrally located in downtown San Jose our passion is to deliver an excellent guest experience in a relaxed elegant atmosphere. Whether your visit to San Jose is for business a special couples weekend or a family vacation our award winning hotel staff is committed to ensuring a perfect stay in San Jose. It all begins with your room slip into Costa Rican ambiance with a contemporary flair and enjoy the rich deep colors that invoke a soothing nights sleep. Discover panoramic views of the city and central valley complemented by modern conveniences.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Kids stay free
Airport transportation
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian
1109Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 339
  • 376
  • 247
  • 87
  • 60
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
barbwire1112016 wrote a review 17 Jan
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania26 contributions15 helpful votes
We stayed here on the first and last nights of a 10 night trip to Costa Rica that was arranged by a travel agent. I suspect that’s how a lot of the guests end up here. It’s understandable, because the hotel meets all basic requirements: it’s clean (in our experience), quiet and safe, with comfortable beds, a good steady hum from the A/C, and even, on the higher floors, a nice view of the city. But the TV didn’t work, 2 of a total of 5 lamps were burnt out, the rooms are in desperate need of updating (last refurbished in the nineties, judging by the mustard and maroon upholstery) and the shower offered a depressing trickle of lukewarm water. As evidenced by the 5 large brass stars on the wall near the entrance this must once have been a luxury hotel. But just like in a lot of American cities, the commercial and residential hearts of San Jose have moved away from the old downtown, leaving the former cultural landmarks to decay and the parks and squares to give refuge to the unhomed. So there is absolutely no reason to stay here: nothing to see; nothing to do except wait for your shuttle. There has to be a better choice.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Stephen Sanderson wrote a review Aug 2021
Dallas, Texas6 contributions
+1
Hotel's Favorite
For my weeklong stay in Costa Rica, I selected the Holiday Inn - Aurola for many reasons. First, it is well known for being clean, comfortable and centrally located, but it’s also a prominent landmark and the highest building in town. Service was great, while the bars and restaurants were top notch. But the hotel being the highest building was not the high point for me. The highlight for me was absolutely the staff. Beginning with the hotel manager, Carlos Garcia, who greets people to demonstrate they are not merely guests or someone ‘unknown’ with a room number. According to Carlos, each guest is special with unique needs to ensure their stay is memorable. It’s the difference between a customer and a client – the difference is his staff’s attention to personal detail and treating hotel guest as close to family as practical. They learn your first name and you’ve become family in this sparkling establishment. Holiday Inn’s “Clean Promise” is more than a slogan or trademark at their San Jose (Aurola) property – it is their total commitment to ensure their hotel retains the highest cleanliness standards. You can see it upon entering this high-rise building where it is mandatory to wash your hands at a convenient sanitation station. Workers with back-pack steamers and disinfectants frequently clean common-use and high-traffic areas. Even the housekeeping staff are armed with sanitizing and purifying tools to protect guests from any potential germs or bacteria. I felt extremely comfortable and shielded. The hotel was as close to a ‘safe house,’ in a budding city as one could expect. There were many noteworthy superstars - particularly Erick Gonzalez, the front desk supervisor. He certainly greets and treats guests like family too. He is professionalism is beyond belief. From providing me pinpoint directions to the least expensive nearby authorized COVID testing site for my return trip to the US, to printing out my speedy results in English and Spanish, Erick went out of his way to ensure my stay was stress and worry free. Erick’s boss is Rafael Rojas, is the hotel’s Rooms Division Manager. Rafael is about as close as you can get to an indispensable person I’ve ever met. If you need anything special in your room, chat with Rafael. Want a larger room with a view, talk to Rafael. Anything to do with rooms in this hotel, Rafael knows just how to make your dreams become a reality. Yet my review would be incomplete if I didn’t mention other memorable staffers like Daniel, the lead bartender at the La Palma Bar who insists everyone who enters his mezzanine pub automatically becomes his boss. Daniel can remember exactly what you drink and how you like it – he’s incredible and very personable at the same time. He donates ALL his tips to a local orphanage. The manager and staff will be the reason when I return to Costa Rica, I will definitely stay at the Holiday Inn - Aurola. A great hotel for your perfect stay in this beautiful country.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Quiet rooms with incredible views. If you can, snag a corner room for a more panoramic view of...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rafael Rojas, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola
Responded 20 Aug 2021
Dear Mr. TNchicklet We appreciate your detailed review of our service. We are proud that you have been able to feel part of the Aurola family, this motivates us to continue providing this service that characterizes us. We hope that you will be able to visit us again very soon, it will always be a pleasure to receive you in this your home.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura L wrote a review 1 Jan
Toronto, Canada11 contributions3 helpful votes
The hotel is overpriced for what you get. There is nothing special. The hotel was clean. The furnishings and hotel is a little tired and needs an update. I wouldn't walk outside at night in this neighbourhood. They don't even give you a breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear lauralZ9741FY, Thank you for selecting our hotel while visiting San Jose and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. Pleasure having you as our guest. I am truly sorry that you did not experience an exemplary stay due to the maintenance of our hotel. This is certainly below our usual high standard of service. Please be certain that I have noted and forwarded your comments for the management to improve. In the midst of the inconvenience, I am glad to know that the cleanliness of our room was still appreciated. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zippi_11 wrote a review Dec 2022
Herzliya, Israel1846 contributions154 helpful votes
Basic rooms with all amenities including wifi and coffee machine. Bad smell in room and bathroom as no open windows there.noisy aircondition. Served breakfast and dinner, tasty. Polite staff.3 elevators.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Zippi_11, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're determined to make your stay with us pleasant, and I am sorry to learn that some aspects of your visit turned out otherwise. I have alerted the hotel management regarding your comments, and I am certain that the steps that will be taken will improve your next visits with us. I hope to welcome you back! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina93 contributions11 helpful votes
Been staying here for 17 years. No hot water. Phone didn't work. My girlfriend lives in San Jose. Never had any issues. Reception asked if she works at Del Ray.Charged me 70.00 US. Had to call IH G to get welcome points. This hotel had had staff changes the last few years. The business center always had stock fridge on 15 floor. Nothing up there this time. Empty. They changed to Pepsi from Coke.No.kote glass bottles. This time was the worst ever in 17 almost 18 years styIng here. Still.hsvrmt got my.bill.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola
Responded 22 Sep 2022
Hi michaelstevenson493, We appreciate you for always choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn hotel brand and for sharing your feedback. I am glad to have been a host to one of our valued guests. I trust that all is well. We're committed to providing ease and transparency in every way, but I'm sorry to learn about your experience. I have shared your comments with our Hotel Management team. I am sure they will use this as a reference for improvement. I also have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your stay. We hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Safe travels, Deborah R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruthie K wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Daniel at the bar made my experience amazing!!! He was so kind and accommodating, definitely pay him a visit during your stay. He made delicious drinks and shared helpful tips about the city. I will miss him!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rafael Rojas, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Rafael Rojas Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim D wrote a review Jun 2022
cincinnati3 contributions
Hotel was great. The best part is Daniel the bartender on the second floor. Loves his country and those of us that come to visit. Don't miss his hospitality. Get the chicken sandwich, it feeds two hungry people.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rafael Rojas, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola
Responded 20 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Rafael Rojas Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LANGARR wrote a review May 2022
New York City, New York12 contributions1 helpful vote
I feel bad about giving this hotel a bad rating because the staff were very nice, but it's in need of a renovation. It's not very clean and the 17th floor restaurant was just sad. We arrived after dark and left for the airport the next morning so I didn't have a chance to walk around the heart of the city, but from what I saw, It seemed to me that the entire city is in a depressed state, and I figure that's probably why they are reluctant to invest money in this hotel. The beds were very good if that's any consolation.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rafael Rojas, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola
Responded 11 May 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience. We are currently working to make enhancements to deliver a more comfortable stay for all of our guests. We hope for the opportunity to make this up to you the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Rafael Rojas Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bárbara wrote a review Mar 2022
19 contributions
I found the rooms and restaurants not very clean. The hotel is old, the rooms need a renovation, the bathrooms are cramped. The breakfast has little variety of food and not a lot of quality (compared to other 5 star hotels). Honestly, I hated it, this hotel doesn't deserve 5 stars, I've stayed in 3 star hotels much better than this one. I only liked the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: I don't recommend this hotel!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola
Responded 29 Mar 2022
Hi BaCourela, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're committed to providing you with the best overall experience. I'm sorry to hear about the cleanliness issues encountered during your stay. I recognized your remarks about the limited breakfast selections, the dated condition of the facility, and the size of the bathroom. I shared this with our hotel management. I'm certain that all you've highlighted will be looked into, so we can better serve you in the future. I also sent you a private message discussing this further. We're grateful to have you as one of our valued guests. I hope you'll consider us again in your future travel plans! Stay safe, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SEE wrote a review Feb 2022
Toronto, Canada57 contributions14 helpful votes
The hotel may have had it's glory days, but those are LONG gone. I am not sure why Holiday Inn franchised this hotel. It certainly made me not want to stay in any Holiday inns in the future. I have to say, the location is perfect and the view of San Jose from the higher floors is great. There were so many things wrong, we got to know Marco, the maintenance man really well, he was so friendly and helpful. These are the things that went wrong. We were given a room on the 8th floor. 1) a half empty pop bottle was in the fridge from the previous guest- obviously fridge had not been cleaned. 2) clock was not working 3) a cockroach was running around on the desk We moved to the 14th floor. 1) fridge not working, replaced by Marco 2) clock stopped working, fixed by Marco 3) carpeting had dirt, not cleaned in our 4 day stay There are many more things and I gave a long list of problems to the hotel management, they gave me 10000 points, why??? I don't want to ever stay at a Holiday inn again...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola
Responded 21 Feb 2022
Hello 24shinie, Thanks for sharing feedback. We want you to relax and experience joyful moments. I am sorry that we fell short in our area of cleanliness and you found some in room ameneties not working. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. Comments such as yours are valuable and relayed to the team to help point out areas needing additional attention. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$108 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn san jose aurola hotel san jose, san jose holiday inn
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
195
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN SAN JOSE-AUROLA - UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola?
Nearby attractions include Carpe Chepe (0.4 km), Teatro Nacional Costa Rica (0.4 km), and Jade Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Rojo, Tenedor Argentino, and Restaurante Silvestre.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola have airport transportation?
Yes, Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of San Jose.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.