La Mariposa Hotel

La Mariposa Hotel

100 metros SE de Plaza Vista Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio, Quepos 60601 Costa Rica
View from room.
Traveler (2093)
Panorama of the Adults-Only Pool at the La Mariposa Hotel
360
Panoramas (65)
Room & Suite (541)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
₱19,843
Breakfast included
₱19,843
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#16 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Perched majestically atop the highest point in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, Hotel La Mariposa offers an enchanting fusion of nature's beauty and comfort. Our Spanish-Mediterranean architecture and tropical gardens are meticulously designed to mirror Costa Rica's abundant wildlife and flora, providing a lush oasis with 70 well-appointed rooms. Renowned for our panoramic 360-degree view, lauded as one of the best worldwide, you can gaze over the azure waters of the Pacific Ocean and the rich biodiversity of Manuel Antonio National Park. As the day ends, indulge in the breathtaking spectacle of a legendary Manuel Antonio sunset at our 'Sunset Bar and Lounge.' Or treat yourself to an unforgettable dining experience in our world-class international restaurant 'Le Papillon. With over 50 years of hospitality excellence, our personalized service and mesmerizing views have earned the preference of discerning travelers. At La Mariposa, we take pride in offering both intimacy and magnificence, making us an ideal choice for those seeking an unforgettable Costa Rican escape.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Boating
Diving
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Secured parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Walking tours
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Laundry service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

100 metros SE de Plaza Vista Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio, Quepos 60601 Costa Rica
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 83 out of 100
83
Juan Santamaria Intl Airport
66.5 km
See all flights
2,154Reviews38Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,351
  • 492
  • 161
  • 78
  • 73
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tamara K wrote a review Feb 2020
Washington DC, United States31 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our recent stay at La Mariposa (3 nights). The views are breathtaking. We stayed in a standard room, balcony, full sea view. It was expensive but worth it. The room and bathroom were very large, clean, and modern. The included breakfast buffet was delicious and we had a very tasty dinner as well. The restaurant is open and looks out onto the ocean/mountains. We saw a family of capuchins (Baby in tow), scarlet macaws, a friendly iguana, and other great wildlife on the property. The pool and poolside is not huge but beautiful and lovely. All the staff were super friendly and helpful. The price in season may seem steep but comparable to other hotels at that time and is family-friendly. The location is close to many other restaurants but be careful on the narrow streets when you walk. The only negative is that I didn't feel prepared about the beach situation. The hotel shuttle drops you at the beach (about a 5 min drive or less) and then a random guy opened our shuttle (not affiliated with the hotel) and told us that chairs would be $10 for 2, $20 for 4 etc and collected our money. I guess I was under the impression that there would be more guidance from the hotel but I think that was my fault for not inquiring more. Also keep in mind that music from the bar/restaurant plays till about 9:30 pm if you are traveling with young children. We used our noise reducer on our phones to block it out but keep that in mind. All in all La Mariposa was fantastic and I would highly recommend it when visiting Manual Antonio Beach!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian B wrote a review Feb 2020
Montreal, Canada35 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our trip started in confusion. There was no space to park and the entrance to the hotel is up a long flight of stairs. A staff member came along in a golf cart and moved some cones to create a parking space and then drove me and my luggage close to the room. In the meantime my wife didn't know where we went. Eventually we got checked in to our ocean view room and the view was spectacular with a nice terrace and wall of windows, definitely worth the upgrade. In fact the view is easily the best part of the Mariposa experience, I would characterize the service as correct but corporate/impersonal.
The room was clean and bright but there were a couple of drawbacks. The bathroom had a sliding glass wall that covered the shower or the toilet and there was a large post right in the middle of the bathroom. The 2 queen beds were the firmest we've ever experienced, when I called the front desk they sent people up immediately to put comforters under the bottom sheet which sort of helped.
We had dinner on the beautiful terrace our first night and had a very good and reasonably priced (for the hotel) fish of the day. The only drawback was the insipid elevator music. In fact as another reviewer has mentioned the music in general is a deterrent to sitting by the infinity pool and being mesmerized by the view, At one point my wife asked the barman to lower the volume of the electronic dance music and he gave her a look. Bring earbuds.
Other areas for improvement are the stairs to the rooms, our was very convenient to the pool but there was little lighting of the steps leading to it. Another improvement would be the included breakfast. When we asked for Cappucino we were told it would cost extra - really? at this price point? Also,the woman manning the egg frying station had to be summoned from paperwork and dumped a golf ball sized lump of cheese onto the omelet and then went back to the paperwork (I managed to exise it before eating the omelet). There were also plastic butter and jam containers that were defied to our efforts to get into them. Finally, a large sign and tip bucket in front of the frying station was a little tacky. The view though was still amazing...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Pay up for the ocean view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
antonellaandrioli63 wrote a review Jan 2020
30 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 3 nights in a Superior Ocean View King Bed Room, very comfortable, huge with a wonderful terrace facing the Pacific Ocean and with a breathtaking and romantic view on the sunset.
The cleaning and room service was excellent as well as the courtesy and professionalism of the restaurant and the reception personnel.
Food variety at breakfast was not that huge but there was an express egg cooking corner and a good choice of fresh fruit. We’ve never eaten at the hotel.
The swimming pool was marvelous and so so quiet, with such a great view and the Gardens so fabulously kept!
The hotel is strategically located at 3 km from Quepos village and Marina and 3 km from the famous Manuel Antonio National Park. On a walking distance (100 mt!) you can have a very good dinner at the Cuba Libre and at Emilio’s restaurants, both specialized in fish and the latter with nice jazz bands playing every night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gijadenyc wrote a review Mar 2020
nyc200 contributions103 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my boyfriend. We were supposed to stay for 4 nights but due to Costa Rica closing its borders and the US issuing a come home order for all its citizens we left early. I found out my flight was cancelled until the earliest of april 12th and had to rebook with another airline. i went to the front desk to make these calls and told the clerk my situation. We also had put a $40 deposit to have surfing lessons the next day which showed how unexpected it was. We were told by the clerk that we would have to leave around 5am to make it to Liberia airport for our flight. He neglected to tell us that no one would be at the front desk at this time to help us check out, close our bar bills, receive our refund etc. He stated that our deposit had already been given to the surf instructor and he was working on talking to other staff members on what to do. He gave me a business card to contact the hotel about the refund for the remaining 2 nights. I was appalled by the response of Manfred Arias,"I regards with the mentioned, as far we know the International Airport is actually closed for arrivals only not for departures of the country. Anyhow, we are happy to extend you a credit for one night in the same room category you booked and paid. This credit can be redeemed for travel for up to 12 months from the original booking." He was basically calling me a liar and I felt he couldn't have been ruder. This is an unusual situation and felt it could have been handled much better. Also we booked the garden view room and was shocked at the peeling floors, room was too big to be cooled by the AC unit, and general lack of maintenance of them room. I inquired about a fan which the hotel stated they did not supply but they would move us to another room. The next room was beautiful but full of ants. At this point we figured it wasn't worth it to say anything as we only had two more days until our next stop. I just cant believe this hotel wouldn't work with me at all and this seems to be a reoccurring theme in other current reviews. The hotel we were supposed to stay in next was amazing in their response and really put this hotel to shame. I would never stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it at all.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: garden view is the worst room pay the extra $
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FunTravelerXOXO wrote a review Mar 2020
Chicago, Illinois152 contributions133 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is absolutely stunning. First of all it is at the top of the hill, and a little off the main road, so no road noise or smog at all. Second there is a free shuttle to the park and beaches. 3rd the wildlife around the place is amazing. At sunset Scarlet Maccaws stop by. We also saw Toucans, white faced Capuchin monkeys, Kites, huge Iguanas, tapir, and many, many birds on the property. Every morning we woke to the sounds of howler monkeys. The hotel itself is clean and very well run. The staff are excellent! So nice and helpful and kind. The place is very well maintained and simply gorgeous. We upgraded to a superior ocean view room and it was outstanding. The food there is good too. The included breakfast is excellent!! They did a good job customizing meals for us since we are vegetarian and they did great with a shellfish allergy. We loved this place!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fan M wrote a review Mar 2020
Boston, Massachusetts21 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
A resort that doesn’t seem like one. Service is poor. We were put up in a room with fridge not working, and bathroom that didn’t drain. When we call, they get fuzzy and told us they will get there when they can, there’s other customers ahead of us. That was a shocking answer.
The dinner service, waiters were usually not very attentive, but when it’s time to collect the bill, they do pay attention on the bill we sign for tipping.
Children are not allow to swim on the infinity pool, because it’s for adult only. Our kids can only soak on a tiny pool where there’s not enough space to swim.
After check out, we need to shower because we were in ATV activity after check out. They put us in a shower where water literally just drip, drip, drip with no lock.
Terrible service! I would not recommend to stay here. We were there for 3 nights and it was very regretful!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tpww wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has an excellent location with beautiful views of the ocean, wonderful sunset views and lovely garden.
My reason for giving this an average score is for the worms in the bathroom.. I had a standard garden room #19. On the first night I found 4 worms in the room, I figured coming in from the garden so wasn't too worried but on the second night there were 10 worms. I reported it to the front desk but they didn't seem too concerned. The next day I called reservation to report this and the gentleman there said he had never heard of this happening and requested that I take pictures. I emailed pictures of the worms and also send a video of the worm crawling in the bathroom to reservations. I never heard back form them. I also showed the pictures and video to the manager on the day of my departure. I did not feel as if my concerns re the worms was addressed. If you book the standard garden view room do not stay in #19, ask for an upper floor room to avoid the worms and also noise coming from upstairs.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelLaMariposa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Mariposa Hotel
Responded Jan 20, 2020
Hi tpww, What a great lie, we must clarify to the other readers of the TripAdvisor Community, that the worms (harmless by the way) entered the room because you decided to leave the door open on purpose since from the moment of check-in you asked to the front desk for an a free upgrade to a room with full sea view to be next to your friends, however as we could not offer due to the high occupancy we had, you decided maliciously to find a reason to force us to give you an a free upgrade. I'm sorry, but the Hotel does not lend itself to manipulation with these lies. Sincerely, Manfred Arias Guest Relations Manager Hotel La Mariposa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmberRojo wrote a review Feb 2020
Brooklyn, New York5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at La Mariposa was easily the highlight of our entire Costa Rican trip. My friend and I stayed two nights here, and we wished we could stay more. The location is incredible--high in the hills, with breathtaking views of the nearby beaches, and sunsets that I am still thinking about days later. Our room had a "partial sea view" but the balcony and the view of the bay and beaches below was entirely amazing. True to its name, there are beautiful butterflies flitting about. The grounds are green and filled with flowers and clearly well maintained. The pools are wonderful; sunset at the infinity pool shouldn't be missed. There is a nice shuttle to the beautiful Manuel Antonio public beaches that runs frequently.

All of this would be amazing by itself, but the service at this hotel is outstanding. The front desk staff (Bryon and Jason) is friendly and professional, and our rooms were always clean. Even the bartenders are friendly and make great drinks. And the food!!! Our shared seafood platter with lobster, incredible tuna, mussels on the first night was to die for. Breakfast (with the views!!!) is also delightful.

Highly highly recommend this hotel 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Higher floors facing away from the bars and pools seem quieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mellonabee wrote a review Jan 2020
Atlanta, GA134 contributions25 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The restaurant in this hotel was fabulous. At breakfast the staff remembered our preferences and set us up with what we liked each morning. The dinner (we only ate one dinner here during a three night stay) was exquisite and the service was perfect. My grandson and I had a gorgeous view of the pool and the ocean during dinner as we ate our delicious meal.

Our room was huge and looked out on the Pacific as I think all rooms in the hotel do. That was the best feature of the room. No matter what we set the thermostat on the room was freezing. The WiFi only worked about half the time. The shower had no hot water on two of my three showers and in the third shower the hot was scalding and if I added cold, the shower turned completely cold. The bathroom had no door so there was absolutely no privacy. If I took a shower, since I was traveling with my grandson, I had to take my clothes into the shower with me so he wouldn't have to look at his naked grandmother emerging from the shower. I've stayed in lots of hotels over the years and the pillows were awful. They were stuffed with small chunks of torn up foam - about 1/2 inch chunks. At this price point there should have been decent pillows, but these were the worst I've experienced at a hotel in ten years.

If I were to return to Costa Rica, I'd eat at this hotel but not sleep there.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for updated pillows!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GNRoney wrote a review Feb 2020
Jamestown, NC222 contributions89 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of this hotel is near ideal. We did have a rental car, but walked to the area restaurants. The Quepos marina is a $10 taxi ride and worth the visit. The beaches are nearby and beautiful. If you find a better place to watch the sunset, I'd like to hear about it. The view from our room was breathtaking. Breakfast was included and was good, You could get local fare such as gallo pinto (rice and beans) or have eggs prepared any way you'd like and the view from breakfast was phenomenal as well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
melanie h asked a question Jun 2022
Denver, Colorado1 contribution
Are there mini fridges in rooms?
Answer from Manfred A
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Yes,
Answer from La Mariposa Hotel
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica50 contributions
Dear Val, Thank you really much for your interest in stay in our lovely hotel. There are a lot of tours & activities available for the 4yrs old child. Please send un a message and we will provide a list of these. Also, we will reccommend you the Standard room wth Partial ocean views or the Premier Ocean view room for your Family. Please let me know if we can be of further assistance. Pura Vida, Manfred Arias Sales Office Hotel La Mariposa
Answer from maritimeexplorer
Nova Scotia, Canada4,134 contributions1,246 helpful vote
The higher up the better. Make sure to stipulate that.
Answer from La Mariposa Hotel
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica50 contributions
Hello Jenn. Actually our Standard room with garden views are not located on the newer section. Best regards, Manfred
Answer from La Mariposa Hotel
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica50 contributions
Hello Rollinstonefrog, No construction is being carried out within the property of Hotel La Mariposa at this time. Nor for next April we have scheduled any renovations to be carried out. Greetings from sunny and green Manuel Antonio! Pura Vida, Manfred Arias Guest Relations Manager Hotel La Mariposa
Matthew A wrote a tip Yesterday
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Scam. They don’t charge by room they charge by person so know you will pay more money for the exact same room"
Read full review
d g wrote a tip May 20
Akron, Ohio74 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get up and out on your patio by sunrise to hear the howler monkeys in the forest below the resort. If you like nature you will enjoy this. "
Read full review
DanteJ80 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Portsmouth, Virginia5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bait and switch hotel. They may change The room you book without warning by putting you in a different room. Stay appears friendly but arent"
Read full review
Webb B wrote a tip Apr 2024
147 contributions66 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Have fun. "
Read full review
MK C wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful macaws visited the pool everyday at sundown. Suggest hitting the pool near sunset to see them! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Manuel Antonio area.
PRICE RANGE
₱10,526 - ₱20,237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la mariposa hotel, la mariposa costa rica
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasQueposManuel Antonio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LA MARIPOSA HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about La Mariposa Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at La Mariposa Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at La Mariposa Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at La Mariposa Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at La Mariposa Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Mariposa Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Namaste Indian Restaurant, Manuel Antonio Falafel Bar, and Hola India Restaurant Manuel Antonio.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Mariposa Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is La Mariposa Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Manuel Antonio.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Mariposa Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does La Mariposa Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is La Mariposa Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Manuel Antonio HotelsManuel Antonio Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Manuel AntonioHotels near La Mariposa Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars