San Bada Hotel & Spa

San Bada Hotel & Spa

Next To Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio, Quepos 60601 Costa Rica
View from the stairwell leading up to the adult-only lounge/bar.
Traveler (1543)
Panorama of the Adults-Only Pool at the Hotel San Bada
360
Panoramas (4)
Main pool
Pool & Beach (225)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
₱9,478
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#15 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Hotel San Bada, located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica. Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area, with artificial waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant. Access to the public beach-Pool bar. Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Hiking
Snorkeling
Fishing
Walking tours
Kids pool
Strollers
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
First aid kit
Umbrella
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Next To Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio, Quepos 60601 Costa Rica
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 78 out of 100
78
Juan Santamaria Intl Airport
1 Attraction
within 0.5 kilometers
1,691Review38Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,036
  • 426
  • 150
  • 56
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joanna S wrote a review Jan 2020
Kalamazoo, Michigan11 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel! It is located right alongside Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio, which makes for plenty of wildlife sightings and great birdwatching from the rooftop bar. The public beach is a quick 5 min walk away, and the park has beautiful beaches inside as well. The included breakfast buffet is a great spread and very delicious, but I only wish it were offered earlier than 7AM since that can be restrictive for people who want to do a morning tour or birding in the park. The rooms were standard and just fine for what we needed, but nothing fancy. The shower was spacious and had consistent hot water, which we were glad for after the chilly water at a few other places we stayed. The rooftop offers a bar, sushi, and an adult only pool with a beautiful view of the ocean and memorable sunsets. We ate at the onsite Congo restaurant for dinner, but the food was pretty average compared to other options a quick walk up the road. WIFI is painfully spotty in the rooms, although you can get a decent signal on the roof or near the lobby if you venture out. All hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Overall, a very enjoyable and relaxing experience!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos_ESD wrote a review Mar 2020
San Jose, Costa Rica24 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located just a few steps away from the Manuel Antonio National park’s main entrance which we found extremely convenient.

Highlights:
The Sushi bar (tico roll highly recommended)
The Sana Spa
Location
Staff’s warmth (special mention to Emilio and Anthony)

Ok:
Facilities
Food

Could improve:
Cleanliness
Training for waitresses/waiters, cleaning staff, bartenders, etc.
Room’s details (lights, electricity, painting, decoration, etc)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stugattz wrote a review Jan 2020
Melville, New York11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A perfect location literally steps from the national park and minutes from the beautiful public beach. From the time you get there the staff greets you with a smile and exemplifies the true spirit of customer service every single step of the way. Jonathan and Francisco at the front desk - Fabian the manager as well as Andrey at the pool all were amazing.
Sure the WiFi May be spotty at times ( tough for 4 teenage girls ) and the breakfast could be a bit better but overall this was a great great place to stay. Kudos to Anywhere travel for booking us here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shirley f wrote a review Apr 2020
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom94 contributions85 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights and it was perfect for the national park just outside of the hotel. Our first ground floor room had a noisy generator outside the balcony but when we complained we were moved within an hour. The rooms are lovely and from our balcony (2nd floor) we saw three types of monkeys playing in the trees which was great to sit and watch. The pool areas are good (look out for the iguanas laying around!) and its lovely at the bar on the top floor to watch the sun go down with a cocktail! The only negative was the breakfast wasnt as good as some of the other places we had stayed and the staff werent friendly at all! The reception staff were very good, we were there just as flights were starting to be cancelled due to coronavirus and they were very helpful with making calls to our tour company for us.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joseph Drake wrote a review May 2021
24 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Hotel San Bada was not remarkable. The room was adequate and had enough space. The mini fridge did not work, but they were able to put a bigger fridge in our room for our use. The beds seem a bit old and sag towards the middle. There were ants in our room upon arrival which got worse throughout our stay. The ants also got into our suitcase which was a bummer. I think our biggest disappointment was breakfast. My ham was like lunch meat and the pancakes are nothing exciting. All the food is prepackaged and not served fresh or even hot and all they have to do is heat it up. The juice is concentrate from the bottle. My girlfriend is vegan and they had a hard time catering to her dietary needs. She only had an option of rice and beans and fruit. The photos online look amazing but do not accurately depict the hotel so don’t be fooled by the high room price thinking San Bada is a nicer option. For the quality of the breakfast and rooms the price should be lower. At least the rooms have AC. The staff is friendly and the location cannot be beat when visiting Manuel Antonio National Park.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from San Bada Customer Service, Agency / Consultant at San Bada Hotel & Spa
Responded Jul 14, 2022
Dear Drake Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay and your nice words about location, friendly satff and good A/C. While we appreciate your comments, we are disappointed that your stay fell short of your expectations, we promise to review and correct the inconveniences you had during your stay to make sure next time you have a completely pleased stay. Cordially Hotel San Bada Family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GmanVilchez wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First time in Costa Rica and I was blown away by the people but especially the staff at San Bada. Gerardo, Francisco, Kenneth and Elizabeth are such friendly professionals and make you feel you've known them forever. Front desk staff really strive to help you with any of your needs and provide great recommendations. Gerardo was especially of much help securing last minute transportation from the hotel to San Jose.

Room service is the best, we especially loved Noilyn, she is so kind and detailed. She noticed our 5yo daughter really enjoyed her animal-towel creations and would make a different one ever day just for our daughter's enjoyment. When we did not need room service, she still stopped by and dropped off fresh towels and check if we needed anything else. Hope we get to see Noilyn again when we come back and she deserves a raise!

The staff at the restaurant is as nice as the reception folks, wish I could remember all their names but shout-out to the lady at the omelets station who made me sunny side up eggs almost every day!

The staff is truly what makes this hotel great. A bed is a bed but people make the difference.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Top floor offers the best views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Runnermom552 wrote a review Dec 2021
Cleveland, Ohio37 contributions38 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was clean. The rooms were cleanish-
And there were a lot families. The pool is nice and large and clean. However, for the price of the hotel there are numerous better options available and I would suggest looking around.
We didn’t like the location and hired cabs to take us to lesser populated beaches and to restaurants. There was no need to stay so close to the park.
The monkeys woke us up around 5:30am every morning and we enjoyed watching them from our 2nd floor balcony. The male concierge was particularly kind and helpful.
This hotel needs some love. The rooms are in need of renovation and painting, and the furniture is in bad shape .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from San Bada Customer Service, Agency / Consultant at San Bada Hotel & Spa
Responded Jul 14, 2022
Dear Runner Thank you very much for your taking time to review your stay at out Hotel, we are a family hotel therefore we have lots of families that enjoy spending time at the pool while they showing their kids the abundant wildlife that surround us, the most of our guest decide to stay with us, because there is no need to have a car, worry about parking lot or long lines to get in to the park. The monkyes wakeup call in the morning is something that we are dealing with, but they dot pay too much attention to our request. We will review all your recommendations and promise to work hard in every detail, because at the end of the day reviews like yours, help us up to keep growing and being better. Cordially Hotel San Bada Family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sasha wrote a review Jan 2023
18 contributions
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
this was the fourth hotel that we had stayed at in costa rica and were the most disappointed by. based on the price and reviews we thought it was going to be an amazing experience but we were wrong. the whole hotel looks and feels old and as my boyfriend said, the room looked like it was an old military dormitory. the walls were paper white with dark wood furniture that looked straight from the 70’s. the breakfast was so unbearable that my boyfriend and i ended up eating at other local restaurants instead. our “garden view” room was of a couple mangled trees and the backs of some run down buildings. i do have to say though, the location is wonderful, many restaurants within walking distance and being next door to the national park was a big plus. we loved walking down to the beach every day and seeing all of the amazing wildlife as we walked. overall the experience was memorable, not the hotel though.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SheenaJonell83 wrote a review Jan 2020
Tomball, Texas5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed 4 nights here while traveling through Costa Rica hitting all of the national parks. San Bada had the most amazing staff out of all of the other places we had stayed on our trip. First off, Jonathan who works at the front desk is very attentive and makes you really feel like he cares about you and your experience. All of the guys at the front desk were great, but Jonathan definitely stands out. The pool is always very inviting, with the swim-up bar, and fantastic Pina Coladas. The sushi restaurant on the top floor has the best view of the sunset.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
POz917 wrote a review Feb 2022
Clinton, New Jersey1,418 contribution258 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location, location, location! If you want to stay somewhere close to Manuela Antonio National Park, you can’t get much closer than this hotel. It is literally right next to the entrance. Aside from the fabulous location, the resort itself is very nice. The rooms are clean, spacious, and updated with very comfortable beds. Our room was on the 5th floor and we had beautiful views from our balcony. The staff is warm and friendly and will book any excursions including entrance to the park. The 2 onsite restaurants are quite good. The complementary breakfast is buffet style and includes an omelette station. Watching the sunset from sushi restaurant on the 6th floor is a must. The resort also offers round trip transfer to and from the airport…at a cost of course but this is super helpful. I believe we pays $185 each way. Considering it is a 3 hour drive from Juan Santamaria airport, it is well worth it. I highly recommend this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MIDTENN asked a question Mar 2024
McMinnville, Tennessee64 contributions1 helpful vote
Do the rooms come supplied with toiletries?
11 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes, there are a lot of restaurants within walking distance and a short cab-ride away. If you’re willing to go a little further, the town of Quepos is a 15-20-minute cab ride away and has a downtown full of restaurants and bars. It’s a lively place to visit and I hope you enjoy your trip!
Mimi asked a question Jun 2022
Upper Marlboro, Maryland3 contributions
Hi, is there public transportation near or in front of the hotel property? Thnx
Tal S asked a question Nov 2018
Beersheba, Israel35 contributions7 helpful votes
The problem
samchari wrote a tip May 19
Dallas, Texas82 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on 1 at floor have just forest view"
Read full review
michael I wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Well located hotel close by shops and restaurants"
Read full review
Darren M wrote a tip Apr 2024
129 contributions74 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere, it’s very old and tired"
Read full review
T R wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Buy tickets to the wildlife park months in advance. "
Read full review
Helena C wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooftop bar is a lovely place to see the sunset and relax. Don’t expect fast service and you will have a great experience "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Manuel Antonio area.
PRICE RANGE
₱8,384 - ₱13,798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasQueposManuel Antonio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
67
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAN BADA HOTEL & SPA - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about San Bada Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to San Bada Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Manuel Antonio Nacional park Tickets (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at San Bada Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at San Bada Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at San Bada Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at San Bada Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to San Bada Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Congo Restaurant at Hotel San Bada, Marlin Restaurant, and Restaurant Hostel Costa Linda.
Are there opportunities to exercise at San Bada Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at San Bada Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does San Bada Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at San Bada Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does San Bada Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Manuel Antonio HotelsManuel Antonio Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Manuel AntonioHotels near San Bada Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars