Hotel Boutique Indalo

Hotel Boutique Indalo

Corner 219A Street & 67 Avenue 85 meters west of Taller Dani car mechanic workshop, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403 Costa Rica
Traveler (114)
Panorama of the Double Room at the Hotel Boutique Indalo
360
Panoramas (4)
Habitación Doble Superior
Room & Suite (82)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 boutique hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel boutique Indalo has been opened since the 22nd December 2012, so it is complete new. They offer big rooms with prívate bathrooms. Each room has a terrace and air conditioning. It is inspired in a "Cortijo Andaluz", typical south of Spain, building. We have a big garden. It is a peacefull place in the town. We use to have monkeys and sloth as neighbours.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

Corner 219A Street & 67 Avenue 85 meters west of Taller Dani car mechanic workshop, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403 Costa Rica
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 96 out of 100
96
Changuinola Airport
40.2 km
See all flights
Limon Airport
44.6 km
See all flights
291Reviews14Q+A15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 172
  • 84
  • 23
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Hembee wrote a review Sep 2022
8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were only here for one night but would have happily stayed longer. The room was clean, comfortable and nicely designed. We particularly enjoyed sitting outside in the beautiful gardens where we spotted lots of interesting birds. The pool was also lovely and ideal for a refreshing dip in the morning before we checked out. This hotel has a great location close to the centre of Puerto Viejo, walking distance from shops, bars and restaurants, but it also feels very peaceful and secluded from the lively town.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mbreaux5 wrote a review Oct 2023
Arlington, Virginia19 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent a month there and had a great time in this immaculately clean and superbly maintained little hotel. Gonzalo and all of the staff were very warm, friendly and inviting. The response to any concerns was unbelievably fast!
They will do everything to make your stay the best and they succeeded royally.

The rooms are small but more than adequate and efficient- especially with the good sized refrigerator. The pool is wonderful as is the lush and beautiful landscaping.
The pool is exquisitely refreshing and also spotless.
There is a water dispenser and a microwave in reception which was a godsend.
I highly recommend this little gem in town but off the beaten track.
5 stars and 👍🏼👍🏼 thumbs up
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Don’t be misled by the location. You can easily walk to everything.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
D M K wrote a review Feb 2024
Ann Arbor, Michigan8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our experience concurs with all the other positive reviews so I won't repeat them all here. The facilities were accurately described and good value. The excellent location is readily accessible to restaurants and other activities yet away from the hubbub for good relaxation. The pleasant, helpful staff were eager to meet our needs, including special help by Gonzolo in arranging transportation to San Jose when both routes were closed! We will definitely stay here on any return trip.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura E wrote a review Sep 2021
Heredia, Costa Rica4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was more than disappointed with this hotel. I paid them a deposit of $1,124 US to reserve for our group, which we were forced to cancel when COVID hit us.
For over a year now they have been refusing to pay us back, refusing to even answer our emails, and telling us that they have no legal obligations towards us, which is an outright lie according to local laws.
We offered the option to honour the amount as a room credit, and the owner, a Spanish gentleman named José Manuel Romero, laughed and hung up the phone on us.
I was amazed that a supposedly upper end hotel would behave in such an unethical and unprofessional manner, especially given these times which are so difficult for us all.

I suppose our only recourse at this point is to enter into legal action against them, which will be time-consuming and costly for all sides, but on principal I feel it is the only ethical solution they leave us.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: I would recommend only paying upon arrival, to avoid the situation we had where they refused to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy J wrote a review Apr 2023
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada18 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We absolutely loved our two night stay and highly recommend this boutique motel. The rooms are bright, spacious, clean and comfortable. It is centrally located in Puerto Viejo but far enough from the downtown that it is quiet. Pool was wonderful and the wicker recliners were the most comfortable that I have ever experienced. If we find our selves on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica we will definitely be staying at Hotel Boutique Indalo.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There is a separate parking area for your vehicles so they are not on the street.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tutter&magoo wrote a review Jan 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom171 contributions89 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Gonzales and communication was excellent.
Indalo hotel is a easy safe 5 min walk from centre of town.

The rooms are exceptionally clean, modern and with cold air conditioning. Wifi is strong both by the pool and in the room.

Free coffee and cookies in the morning and breakfast looked good ( for a small fee ) but I did not have this.

For the price this is great value and would definitely recommend just for the pool alone.

Nothing negative I can say, Gonzales was the perfect host in every way and seemed to genuinely care about his guests !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: If you want a much quieter patio ask for a non pool room but the pool rooms are also quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alon V wrote a review Apr 2013
Tel Aviv, Israel1 contribution4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff decided to move us to other room, while we were out, and moved all of our belongings without any permission.
In addition, they haven't told us that it is not possible to pay with credit card, and we had to run to the ATM, while the taxi waited for us.
We don't recommend to eat a breakfast in the hotel. You can eat a delicious one in any other restaurant, and it will cost you the same.
Very unprofessional!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cristina C, Owner at Hotel Boutique Indalo
Responded Apr 20, 2013
First of all, I´m so sorry that you didnt feel comfortable in our hotel. About the credit card payment, I didnt tell you in advance that we have not the machine because your reservation was throw booking.com and they give all the payment info, where is written that we have not credit card machine. About the breakfast, normally all the people like it a lot, and used to find a great value! Again sorry and we still working to improve The Hotel Boutique Indalo.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SashaSeattle wrote a review Jul 2017
Seattle34 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am very happy with my stay at Hotel Indalo. The owners and staff are very kind and helpful.
The air con worked great and it was very quiet at night. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. As a solo female traveler, I had no problems walking around the area at night. If you are looking to aviod the main drag party scene and have a peaceful vacation in puerto viejio than this is the place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andre E wrote a review Sep 2015
16 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The stuff is friendly and helpful.
On arrival, we got a self-made glass of cold and tasty lemonade, which we really appreciated.
Breakfast (7$) is ok and enough. It only lacks of variety. It contains coffee, 3 types of fruit pieces, bread, butter, marmelade and scrambled eggs.
We stayed 2 nights in 2 different rooms. The reason that we had to change the room was that we first had chosen to stay only one night, but needed another night later on. So the room we first had was already reserved for the next night. The first room (Deluxe version/80$) was very nice, with AC and TV. The second room (regular version/65$) was less good; quite a difference. It had no TV and no AC, which was really a problem, cause it was THAT hot at night. The staff told us in prior that there's no AC but ventilators, so we thought it would be ok, but it was too hot during the night, honestly. Also the regulars room's design and furnitures were too minimilistic (a little poor looking) for our taste.
But the major reason behind our 3 star ranking is due to the showers. Both rooms had the poorest water pressures, one can imagine. Sometimes the water just came in single drops! The shower in the cheaper didn't have warm water at all. The toilets are in the room (behind a little wall of the bed), which doesn't make it nice, when you...
At least both rooms had a refrigerator and free WiFi, which worked quite good. Ah and there were no safes in the rooms available.
The hotel is quite near to the centre, even though you have to walk (5 min) to a dark and narrow and little bit "scary" alley.
However, we can recommend a stay at the Indalo hotel, but only for the deluxe rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KatGa23 wrote a review Dec 2014
Hessen36 contributions28 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Indalo for 1 night - we booked 2 but left after a really horrible night.
The hotel itself is placed near the center of the town, but as Puerto Viejo is really small, the hotel is at the end of the road near a thick forest. Well, that makes the place really beautiful, because it's quiet and you can hear a lot of animals, but you can feel safe, it has a huge fence around.
When we first entered the room I was a little disappointed, the room didn't look much like on the photos. The photos we saw first made us think that - of course - it is a special designed place, but it looked very stylish and clean. But the room was neither stylish nor clean! The room was very simple, it's just cement and a little white paint on the walls, the carpet in front of the (also cemented) bed was dirty and the bed itself too. There where yellow spots on all of the sheets and dead ants too (at first sight we thought of s.th. else...). The mattress was old, we felt every spring in our backs - what a bad pain in the morning! There was no mosquito net in the room, as it's located near the forest I would recommend to bring your own if you want to stay.
Well the worst thing of all is, that when we entered first it smelled a little strange but the doors were open and so it wasn't too bad. When we left for dinner short after arrival we closed the front door (better said: the large front window from which you enter) and came home 3h later. When we opened the door, the smell was hardly bearable. It was a smell of mold and and the air was really humid - although we left the 2 remaining little windows open all the time when we were out for dinner. The smell was so bad, we checked immediately if we could find another hotel around but at 10pm there was no chance to chance the hotel. So we had to stay there and it was really horrible because of the bad, bad smell an the absence of an AC (that was our fault, we didn't check when we booked) which could have dried the air a little. Maybe we should have left the front doors open too, but we were not to sure if it's a good idea near the forest, just a few other guest we didn't know. I can tell, I never slept in a room with such a bad smell, it made me feel sick.
The other side it, that it makes us sad, that the hotel was such a big disappointment to us, the management seemed to be friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica S asked a question Dec 2017
San Francisco, California315 contributions37 helpful votes
Hello- it says "use to have monkeys and sloths" Not anymore?
Jessica S asked a question Dec 2017
San Francisco, California315 contributions37 helpful votes
Hello- it says "use to have monkeys and sloths" Not anymore?
lambtoasted asked a question Sep 2017
Petaluma, California19 contributions
Can I bring my dog?
Danielle asked a question Mar 2017
109 contributions60 helpful votes
Do the rooms have a fridge?
Answer from POSDA
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica12 contributions8 helpful votes
Hi there, Yes, all our rooms have a fridge. Kind regards.
mbreaux5 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Arlington, Virginia19 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t be misled by the location. You can easily walk to everything. "
Read full review
Cindy J wrote a tip Apr 2023
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada18 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a separate parking area for your vehicles so they are not on the street. "
Read full review
tutter&magoo wrote a tip Jan 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom171 contributions89 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a much quieter patio ask for a non pool room but the pool rooms are also quiet."
Read full review
Laura E wrote a tip Sep 2021
Heredia, Costa Rica4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would recommend only paying upon arrival, to avoid the situation we had where they refused to return or credit us for over $1,000 US."
Read full review
Laura S wrote a tip Feb 2017
San Diego, California14 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had room 4. It was at the end and quiet."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Puerto Viejo de Talamanca area.
PRICE RANGE
₱4,739 - ₱5,837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of LimonPuerto Viejo de Talamanca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL BOUTIQUE INDALO - UPDATED 2024 Boutique Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Boutique Indalo
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Boutique Indalo?
Nearby attractions include Choco (0.3 km), Escapade Costa Rica Tours (0.3 km), and Veronica's Place- Home cooking (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Boutique Indalo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, reduced mobility rooms, and breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Boutique Indalo?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Boutique Indalo?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Boutique Indalo?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Boutique Indalo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Rico, Como en la Gloria, and De Gustibus Bakery.
Is Hotel Boutique Indalo located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Boutique Indalo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Is Hotel Boutique Indalo accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Puerto Viejo de Talamanca HotelsPuerto Viejo de Talamanca Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Puerto Viejo de TalamancaHotels near Hotel Boutique Indalo
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars