We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Cahuita, Playa Negra 2 km (1 mi) north of Cahuita, Cahuita 70403 Costa Rica
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Vio.com
Agoda.com
Etrip
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (64)
Room & Suite (39)
Pool & Beach (10)

About

#17 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bungalow Malú Lodge es un hotel rustico frente al mar con muchas comodidades como aire acondicionado, agua caliente, piscina, restaurante, amplias zonas verdes, parqueo, WIFI y TV. Rodeado de mucha flora y fauna. El Parque Nacional de Cahuita se encuentra a aproximadamente 1.5 km.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Children's playground
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Swimup bar
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Walking tours
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Umbrella
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
86Reviews0Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 29
  • 36
  • 11
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Emily P wrote a review Sep 2022
9 contributions3 helpful votes
We are currently travelling around beautiful Costa Rica for our honeymoon. We arrived at Bungalow Malú Lodge on Sunday to check in, and were informed that they had double booked our room, so couldn't accommodate our stay. The staff were extremely apologetic, but unable to help with alternative accommodation as everywhere was fully booked due to Independence Day last week. We were assured that the money we had paid for our two night stay definitely would not be taken. We booked through lastminute.com, and paid through PayPal, so couldn't see there being any issues. After spending a long time trying to find available accommodation, we managed to book in elsewhere and have stayed in Cahuita. Unfortunately, the full charge for our stay was taken from our account, so we sent multiple emails requesting a refund, with absolutely no response from Bungalow Malú Lodge. Luckily we are still in the area, so we went to Bungalow Malu, Playa Negra, Cahuita this morning to find a resolution. The bar staff again, were helpful in trying to translate, and managed to get the general manager on the phone. After around 30 minutes at the property, the manager refused point blank to refund us. We received no apology from management, or any kind of offer of compensation. Our booking was confirmed by the property, the room then booked twice by the property, and we have been turned away, left over £120 out of pocket for something they did not deliver, hours of wasted time, and no resolution. We have raised a dispute with PayPal, but it shouldn't have come to this, and can take 3 months for a resolution. Costa Rica has been amazing, but places like this are to be avoided. We only lost out on two nights, someone else could miss out on an entire holiday, and the manager only seems interested in one thing, and it's not the guests!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't book here!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Eduard R wrote a review Feb 2021
7 contributions9 helpful votes
FULLY RECOMMEND!!! Great host, super flexible and an amazing atmosphere. A nice bungalow area across the ocean. Very good breakfast and a nice bar. We were four people in different bungalows and all of them were great. All the best and thanks for this great stay!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
EandJAdventures wrote a review Feb 2020
14 contributions2 helpful votes
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and made to order. Our room was an efficiency with fridge and stove. We had an ocean view from the picnic table outside the bungalow. Comfortable bed and wonderful shower. Fully screened and AC if desired. The beach is fantastic. Warm water, gentle waves, sloth in the trees:) The location is perfect. You are in a garden across from a sparsely populated beach yet close to the restaurants and bustle of Cahiuta. Don't miss the snorkeling at the National Park! Some renovations going on otherwise 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Bungalows of various sizes, choose according to your needs.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GailNZ63 wrote a review Nov 2019
New Zealand25 contributions43 helpful votes
Comfortable cabanas set in beautiful gardens opposite beach This property consists of a number of individual round bungalows plus some other rooms, set in a beautiful garden with birds and Agoutis. We stayed four nights in a bungalow. It was nicely designed and appointed and very comfortable...very helpful having a small fridge. Breakfast was standard fare and served in the round restaurant building.Only downside was lack of water pressure in the shower. The property is right opposite to Playa Negra and it's a couple of kms from the village...although there are a couple of restaurant / bars closer than this. Service was friendly and accommodating...and we wish the new owners Yerling (?) and Walter the best with their new venture
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Trevor and Michele wrote a review Dec 2018
8 contributions
We loved our round bungalow (#1), with view of the beach, ocean and Cahuita National Park in the distance. Paola, who looks after reception, and Alejandra, the owner, were most friendly and low-key. Servers Sandra and Angie presented us with great breakfasts each morning, starting with attractive and generous fruit plates. From Bungalow Malu it's an easy walk to the nearest 2 restaurants, and Cahuita town provides lots of choice, a 15-min stroll along the beach or road. We especially enjoyed a tour of the Tree of Life Sanctuary, ~1 mile up the road away from town. Well worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Bungalow #1 seemed perfect.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Armelle A wrote a review Mar 2017
9 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed there 3 nights, the place is basic but calm and just next to a small black beach. The staff was really friendly to us, the breakfast was good and complete. We enjoyed our time there. A bit more light in the bungalow might be a plus. Don't forget to put anti-mosquito as the bungalows are in the middle of vegetation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Patrick v wrote a review Jan 2017
Bilthoven, The Netherlands42 contributions3 helpful votes
This was our third location in Costa Rica. We liked it very much. The owner, Paola is very kind! She invited us right a way for a barbecue on the 31/12. The bungalow is very cosy, with airco. The breakfast was wonderful! Our tour with Fernando Davis in Cahuita NP. was amazing. First we were a little disappointed because the waves were to high for the snorkeltrip! Instead he invited us in his very beautiful garden, with his knowledge of all the medical plants, he let us taste and smell all the plants and in the evening we could come to see 2 kinds of beautiful frogs. Also we saw a Jesus Christ Basilisk and a snake! And he and his wife make wonderful chocolate! The tour in Cahuita NP was also nice, a bit busy, 1 january on sunday! He discovered 3 snakes for us and a lot more! Take swimming suits with you (we forgot!) We would recommend Fernando Davis and Bungalows Malu to everybody! Thanks a lot for your wonderful hospitality!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sue a wrote a review Jan 2017
Cambridge, United Kingdom33 contributions16 helpful votes
Quiet relaxing place to stay, very friendly and helpful staff, the most delicious breakfast and always plentiful. Nothing bad here. The beach is just opposite but black sand and rustic, a white sand beach can be had in the National Park a twenty min walk away.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
josevalerio wrote a review Oct 2016
Costa Rica187 contributions85 helpful votes
Nice small hotel with very nice and confortable bungalows. It is located right in front of the beach. Nice and quiet beach, though. The property has a central bungalow with chairs and tables perfect to seat and relax. It was really nice to take breakfast there with the rain. There is also a small pool. The property is located just a short walk to town on a gravel road bordering the beach where you can also find places to eat. Owners Sandra and Paola were very friendly and attentive. They serve the breakfast every morning
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
stephenmossLondon wrote a review Aug 2016
Ealing, United Kingdom34 contributions5 helpful votes
Service was friendly and helpful (they had originally set up an apartment with a double bed for our children but when they saw we had a boy and a girl they changed it straight away) and they served great breakfast. Right next to the beach (nice beach but not exactly picturesque in August, however there are better beaches in central Cahuita). Bungalows were good but one was a bit dark. Both had TVs (a bit old but did the job) which was great as the olympics were on when we stayed there. The pool was really nice although seating area was a bit basic.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bungalows malu hotel cahuita, malu hotel cahuita
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of LimonCahuita
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BUNGALOW MALU LODGE - UPDATED 2022 Guest house Reviews & Price Comparison (Cahuita, Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bungalow Malu Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Bungalow Malu Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Tarantulas Way (2.1 km), Cahuita National Park (2.3 km), and Sloth Sanctuary of Costa Rica (3.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bungalow Malu Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Bungalow Malu Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Bungalow Malu Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Bungalow Malu Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bungalow Malu Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rincón del Amor, Aroma, Coffee Bar & Breakfast, and Pizzeria Cahuita.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bungalow Malu Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, fitness classes, and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bungalow Malu Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bungalow Malu Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Does Bungalow Malu Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Bungalow Malu Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.