3 Bamboo Ecolodge

3 Bamboo Ecolodge

Traveler (222)
Room & Suite (53)
Pool & Beach (32)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#2 of 14 guest houses in Cahuita
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Quiet and surrounded by nature, but only a few minutes from the center of Cahuita, its beaches and the National Park.3 Bamboo offers rooms or villa with all comfort and a beautiful large swimming pool with jacuzzi. Possibility of breakfast, bicycle rental, excursions
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Coffee shop
Diving
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Walking tours
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
137Reviews5Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 128
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
BobMcMinnville wrote a review Feb 2020
Ninole, Hawaii29 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in one of the tree houses and absolutely loved it. The tree house is a wonderful, eco friendly bungalow 10 feet in the air giving you a great view of the birds. The bed was comfortable, had a huge balcony and even had a small, well equipped kitchen outside. The grounds and pool were beautiful. We chose to have breakfast each morning for a small additional fee and it was well worth it. The owners were welcoming and charming. Such a great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We highly recommend one of the tree houses.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corinna R wrote a review Dec 2022
Frankfurt, Germany14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a total of 11 nights in one of the tree houses and it was wonderful! The house and the whole complex were great and we enjoyed our time very much. The staff and the service were also great. We would stay here again anytime and definitely stay long again. It is a perfect place to experience Cahuita and the surrounding area or just relax and spend a day by the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mlmdaisy wrote a review Mar 2022
Odessa, Florida18,793 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had been at 3 Bamboo two years ago and it was as nice as we had remembered it. We returned to the Sula tree house and our friends were in the connected unit. We enjoyed going back and forth and enjoying the outdoor spaces. All four of us used the kitchen facilities and really liked spending time in the beautiful pool after our morning advetures.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mlmdaisy wrote a review Mar 2020
Odessa, Florida18,793 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very happy with our decision to stay here. The deluxe tree house unit was beautifully appointed and there were so many special details. The large outdoor deck area, with full kitchen, was a nice surprise for us. We also enjoyed the pool very much after a morning at Cahuita NP.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Iris19825 wrote a review Dec 2014
Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands24 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 7 days in the new casa Letitia in December we chose 3bamboo based on the raving reviews. The casa Letitia is a very pretty and comfortable house, but we were very disappointed by the surroundings. Upon arrival the first thing you see is the owners house with all their mess in front of the house. The rancho were you can sit to get acces to the wifi is a mess, toys and personal belongings everywhere. The pool which looks like paradise on the pictures is neglected and dirty, moss growing everywhere, leaves in the pool and rusty deck chairs. The poolbar is non existent there are effectively stools in the pool, but the owner told us to bring our own drinks. The outside kitchen and BBQ are again scattered full of the owners personal belongings and dirty dishes in the sink. The owner is building new houses on site, which means the view from the house is a building site. Everything looks neglected, it would be a small effort to make everything look fresh and nice but the owners seem to not care anymore, it really feels as if you are intruding in their private garden, this and the fact that 3bamboo is in the middle of nowhere doesn't really make it a nice holiday destination. The pictures you see are not representative of the actual site. We would not recommend this to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laetcahuita, Propriétaire at 3 Bamboo Ecolodge
Responded Dec 20, 2014
First of all we are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay in 3Bamboo and take good note of your remarks. As you mentioned during your stay, you came right during rainy season and it did rained constantly while you were here. We are once again very sorry but with all the good will we don’t have any grip on the weather. It was complicated to maintain the outsides areas while the storm was blowing, this I must admit. Indeed our 3Bamboo website pictures are taken in different weather conditions, dry season here lasts 11 months. The pool and the collectives areas are cleaned every day, but it is true that we can’t assure no leaves are falling in the pool after heavy winds and rain since everything is surrounded by vegetation (this is also part of the property’s charm). For those who would doubt the good condition of our property, we can organize a skype session in order to show them live how does the property looks like. Regarding your reproach about the owner´s presence: we indeed live on the premises, this is also why we are classified as a Bed&Breakfast lodge more than a hotel. We also try our best to make our guests feel at home. Yes we do have toys in the rancho at the guest’s disposition. Yes we have kitchen ware and spices at the barbecue area. : also at the renters disposition. These are not our personal belongings but there are for the guests to enjoy and use. Just like the bikes, body boards and surf boards. Once again I understand your frustration especially after a week of bad weather but I also believe that you have perhaps not selected the best type of accommodation for your need and that you would have liked better a beach hotel in the center. I am wondering your motive for questioning our 60 positives reviews on many websites, nor as I understand why your review is written in English since you are French just like us. I sincerely hope that you 4 weeks left in Costa Rica will be a better experience under the bright shiny sun. Sincerely, Laetitia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ester & Ren - P&D wrote a review May 2019
London, United Kingdom118 contributions35 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The tree houses have a great jungle and nature atmosphere, perfect for get yourself lost from cities and find a deep calm and relax. The architecture is really integrated in the nature and help to create the amazing environment. The pool and jacuzzi are clean and perfect size. The owner couple are extremely friendly and helpful. The bbq was a great opportunity to make a lovely dinner date and have some drinks. We decided to book breakfast one of the day, which was a good decision. The breakfast croissant is absolutely delicious, fresh fruits, eggs, spreads, toast, coffee and juice for reasonable price! Truly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindley E wrote a review Jan 2016
Portland, Oregon49 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is beautiful! You can tell they put SO much love into their property and it really shows! Nicely updated cabins with everything you could need (including fresh water) and a sweet patio for enjoying the weather in the evenings. The pool was gorgeous, the grounds are very well taken care of (and they use organic everything so you can feel good about that too!) and they have a handsome German Shepard, Attila, who guards the grounds at night. He was a really smart and friendly dog and we enjoyed his company on our patio A LOT! The spacious cabin had screens over the open air windows and plenty of fans to keep even this hot-blooded Texas girl cool! The cabin had very comfy beds and we were served a delicious and beautifully presented homemade French breakfast in the morning. Breakfast included pain au chocolat, freshly baked bread, mango and strawberry jams with butter, pineapple and banana (presented with hibiscus flowers) and coffee with milk and sugar, all served with freshly scrambled eggs from her chickens! There were vases of fresh flowers on all the tables and it really was just a wonderful little hide-away in the jungle! I absolutely would stay here again I just hope next time I can stay longer! Pura Vida!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sun_dance99 wrote a review Jan 2016
Seattle, WA58 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me first start that I've been negligent in not submitting a review, but the awful weather here and the family constantly talking about Tres Bamboo and the wonderful experiences we shared during our week there reminded me that I MUST do this before the new year.

Our week long stay with Laetitia and Gilles in their wondering paradise was a highlight of our month long stay in Costa Rica. The home itself was clean, well stocked and cared for. But more than that was the hospitality of the hosts and the advice they shared with us as well as the beautiful grounds they've created.

From the start of your day to the evening it was great. The breakfasts were stupendous, we still yean for the fresh breads and the pain de chocolate ;) The coffee, the eggs...EVERYTHING was perfect. Our month long trip only had a few must do things, but we usually took the advice of the locals to decide what to do and we were in great hands here. We got a great all day trip to see the manufacturing of indigenous chocolate, to a private waterfall adventure, to a great all day hike and saw copious number of local fauna and animals with hardly any other people around. Cahuita is an off the path local hidden gem that we were fortunate to be part of, if only for a week.

Furthermore our hosts made the stay 10x better. I'm a big BBQ fan and with Gilles outdoor grille, I was able to cook some great steak and chicken, as well as some FRESH veggies. Also, sharing a cervesa with the hosts at the end of the night was always a pleasure and getting the opportunity to practice my grade 12 French...well that was just icing ;) Oh and I haven't even mentioned the pool and the pool house...WOW! I consider myself fairly handy, but Gilles has taken handiwork to a new level. To be able to build what he's done and the craftsmanship and love that goes into it is obvious! If it had been up to our kids, we would have spent pretty well the hole time at the house and played in the pool, chilled in the hammock at the pool house or played coconut catch with Attila and Luna (purebred German Shepherds).

The fact that we had Laetitia waiting for us at the end of our day hike to take us to a local place with, as my SO put it, the BEST Mojito ever made! That doesn't just happen all the time. I've travelled the world and have slept over 600 nights in hotels and the like, I'm a platinum member in a number, but this place was on another level. Yes, there are no 1200 count bed sheets, no 3 star michellin meals, but what there is was exquisite and we would go back to stay at Tres Bamboo (3 bamboo) in a heart beat.

Do yourself a favor, don't hesitate when and if you see availability here and Pura Vida!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: The 2 story home is great for families and the deck is fantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Suzie R wrote a review Jun 2015
Lake Elsinore, California16 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend, 4 friends and I stayed at 3 bamboos house and had a wonderful time! The pool is so refreshing and the swim up bar is so exotic. The house family is so nice the husband brought us fresh cut coconuts along with other exotic fruits that grow in their yard. He also very kindly offered to sharpen our machete so we could cut the coconuts we find at the beach easier. Definitely recommend staying here! You are hidden off the main highway further away from the hustle and bustle but plenty close to go into town for bar and restaurants or the beach. Beautiful jungle hideway with a very exotic pool. The house comfortably slept 6. We watched fireflies and listened to the rain at night.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gina wrote a review Dec 2019
Hollywood, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was great. We stayed here for 11 days and have nothing bad to say. The service was great, the owners where always there on site, they were always helpful, friendly and sweet, free coffee all day, free shuttle service to town, free laundry service (long stay).
It was just amazing, waking up to all sorts of nature sounds.
Would definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TucsonBorn asked a question Feb 2020
Tucson, Arizona339 contributions131 helpful votes
What time is breakfast?
marchsun1 asked a question Aug 2016
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware420 contributions5 helpful votes
any AC or tv
Answer from Fabio Esquivel
Cartago, Costa Rica4 contributions2 helpful votes
Sorry for the delay, didn't get a notification. No AC, just fans at the roof. Nights are fresh enough anyway. There are small TV sets (19' to 32' at most), but I could not use them and didn't bother to ask... the place outside is just beautiful to waste time watching TV. There's Internet, you may watch Netflix if needed.
Monique J asked a question Jun 2018
Hamburg, Germany80 contributions3 helpful votes
Hallo, wie schnell mussten Sie die 20 % anzahlen? Hat alles gut geklappt bzw. wie haben sie bezahlt?
Answer from simel02
Salmtal24 contributions12 helpful votes
Hallo Monique. Ich kann nicht mehr sagen, wann wir die Anzahlung leisten mussten. Es kam eine Aufforderung per Email dazu und die Bezahlung ging über paypal. Das hat alles gut geklappt. Absolut seriös und problemlos. Liebe Grüße
BobMcMinnville wrote a tip Feb 2020
Ninole, Hawaii29 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We highly recommend one of the tree houses."
Read full review
Alex L wrote a tip Mar 2018
Los Angeles, California72 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Recommend having a car. The owners can help you make your reservations and recommend the spots to go!"
Read full review
OffTrack-36 wrote a tip Jan 2018
Bordeaux, France8 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Casa Elena is spacious and comfortable for two couples and one single"
Read full review
nzrandc wrote a tip Aug 2017
Auckland Central, New Zealand33 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The tree house room looked fantastic if you don't have young children book it!"
Read full review
LONN21 wrote a tip Jun 2016
TORONTO,71 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are great but if possible get the treehouse"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cahuita area.
PRICE RANGE
₱5,525 - ₱5,583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of LimonCahuita
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

3 BAMBOO ECOLODGE - UPDATED 2024 Guest house Reviews & Price Comparison (Cahuita, Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about 3 Bamboo Ecolodge
Which popular attractions are close to 3 Bamboo Ecolodge?
Nearby attractions include Tarantulas Way (5.1 km), Cahuita National Park (5.6 km), and Sloth Sanctuary of Costa Rica (6.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at 3 Bamboo Ecolodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at 3 Bamboo Ecolodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at 3 Bamboo Ecolodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at 3 Bamboo Ecolodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 3 Bamboo Ecolodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Éwa & Lounge Bar, Rincón del Amor, and Pizzeria Cahuita.
Are there opportunities to exercise at 3 Bamboo Ecolodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at 3 Bamboo Ecolodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Is 3 Bamboo Ecolodge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cahuita HotelsCahuita Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CahuitaHotels near 3 Bamboo Ecolodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars