The Goddess Garden

The Goddess Garden

View from the restaurant
Traveler (69)
Piscina rodeada de naturaleza
Pool & Beach (17)
Room & Suite (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 20 lodges in Cahuita
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Goddess Garden is a yoga teacher training center and yoga retreat center and most of all, an intentional place for yoga, meditation and transformation in Costa Rica. This yoga teacher training and retreat center is surrounded by huge jungle trees, which follow the path of a small creek. Just a step away, you will find the oldest and most amazing tree in Cahuita, Costa Rica. Its roots, as tall as a man, will leave you breathless... in reality it is a temple. This beautiful setting will invite you to practice yoga and meditation. The Goddess Garden Retreat's spiritual center has two floors, where the view of the rainforest expands to almost 360 degrees. It is designed to give you a wonderful feeling, putting you in touch with nature during your yoga and meditation sessions. Since Costa Rica is a peaceful country that disposed of the army many years ago and has a consciousness geared for peace and taking care of the environment, it is great for yoga and meditation practice. So choose to come to our yoga retreat and yoga teacher training resort to practice and learn yoga in Costa Rica, in the midst of awesome natural surroundings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Fishing
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Sofa
Laptop safe
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German
79Reviews1Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 59
  • 13
  • 0
  • 6
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
PermanentWknd wrote a review Feb 2020
New Westminster, Canada141 contributions77 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Highlight: There is a frog pond on site and in the evening you can get up close to the red-eyed tree frogs. Timothy (night reception) knows his critters and he can show you around (tip recommended). We didn’t realize how unique this opportunity was until we stayed at 2 other jungle lodges in Punta Uva and Manzanillo and no one knew of a guide who could take us to see frogs.
Pros: Secluded, lush, serene location and grounds. Several breakfast food options. Security at the entrance. Lots of cubbies in the room for convenient storage.
Cons: Most restaurants are a 10 min drive away or you can rent bikes offsite and cycle in. Of course, this is only an inconvenience for those without transportation. A cat or 2 in the eating area (a personal pet peeve).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mike wrote a review Jan 2020
United States107 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jacqueline was always very helpful and nice. The rooms and the whole Hotel are lovely decorated, excellent breakfast, very clean, well trained staff. The Hotel is located in the tropical rainforest, gated and very safe absolutely no complaining
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: all Rooms are excellent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Old Curmudgeon wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Goddesses Garden is a deeply loving retreat center and resort. The gardens, landscaping and mother tree are sublime and every detail of the facility has been done with great care and beauty. The vegan pancakes, and thoughtful breakfast prepared with care. The beautiful East indian art and hand crafted furniture in the restaurant, and the artful and spacious yogashala ,big dance yurt and spa. The staff were very servicefull. There was no light pollution at night and good security with a safe in the room and 24hour watchman out front. It was a 5 minute walk to a secluded beach. Fridg,and floor fan but but No AC or ceiling fan in our room.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bodhisattva wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
They advertise having WiFi but it has not worked for many months so effectively they DO NOT HAVE WIFI. I called to report the problem and it they seem disinterested in solving it. Not helpful. Since the problem has gone on for many months, they should NOT be actively advertising that they have WIFI. It is misleading and false advertising. Avoid!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqueline Burkler, Propietario at The Goddess Garden
Responded Apr 3, 2021
Because of problems of the provider we did not have WIFI for a FEW DAYS, not for a few months. Fortunately, we offer Fiber Optic WIFI now which is a fast and reliable WIFI and our guests love it.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacqueline R wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The owner Jacqueline was such an incredible host, the food was amazing, the rooms were clean, all of the employees were super friendly. We couldn't have left happier. You can really feel the beautiful energy on this lush and quite land. And the food.. yummm.. everyday it was something different and so healthy and nourishing. They were all so patient with us throughout the entire planning process. We couldn't have been happier! Thank you SO much crew! Namaste <3
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer B wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The free shuttle to and from San Jose made the trip easy and carefree.

Minutes from the beach, this resort is private and tucked away in the trees in a beautiful location. Being small, you often felt like you had the whole place to yourself. The food was healthy and so delicious, with something new every meal. The rooms were very clean and the people were great!! We loved our stay very much and would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Fans are very helpful for sleeping at night.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yogato wrote a review Mar 2013
1 contribution12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Goddess garden is an amazing place. It has so much harmoni. Jacqueline, Marcelo the owners and rest of the staff are so beautyful people. The food is the best I have ever had on a hotel, fresh, new stuff every day at lots of vegi's.
unfortunately I was on a Marianne Wells yoga teacher training, and that was a very the worst experience ever, I was shocked that this kind of trainings can exist. A waist of good earned money. So the only thing keeping me up all day was the peace, harmoni, good food and sweet staff of the Goddess gardens. Thank you Goddess garden
Read more
Date of stay: March 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqueline B, Owner at The Goddess Garden
Responded Oct 2, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words about The Goddess Garden. We work very hard to provide wonderful experiences for our guests, and appreciate your compliments of our facility and services. We apologize that you were not completely satisfied during your stay. You were provided a partial refund from your teacher to compensate for your dissatisfaction. Unfortunately, we see that you are using this platform to criticize a yoga teacher. We feel this is an improper use of Trip Advisor. Using a public forum, especially one designed for reviews of hotels and services, to damage the reputation of a yoga teacher is wrong. We respectfully ask you to remove this comment from Trip Advisor, and do not accept the way you are handling your criticism. It is like smiling in our faces while throwing a stone at a person behind us. We hope you that you understand. Please remember that the best way for an impasse is through dialogue- since We Are One. Namaste Marcelo and Jacqueline - The Goddess Garden
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PradaprincessDublin wrote a review Feb 2015
Dublin69 contributions49 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I read the reviews before I left and was looking forward to my 3 week retreat with Frog Lotus at the Goddess Garden. Maybe it was the continuous rain or the rickety bus trip we rode 6 hours to Cahuita but I found the retreat centre to be a real disappointment. The rooms albeit eco friendly were sparse and very worn. The bathrooms were particularly bad. The fittings fell off the shower every time you tried to use the facility. The damp meant we never enjoyed fresh linen or got away from the smell. I found the owners to be surely and not interested when we shared issues with them. Jacqueline and Marcello seemed to be non caring and at worst uninterested. I know from my history using Trip Advisor that I can give very balanced reviews and this unfortunately is one I cannot commend. The rooms devoted to yoga and learning were musty, dirty and damp. This retreat needs a significant investment. I am fully aware that this is a depressed region and the centre is an eco friendly resort but when the owners use microwaves in the kitchen and when they themselves drive four door jeeps and have five of them I cannot see the parallel. I will not return
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: I cannot recommend this retreat and nor can I recommend a choice of rooms. They vary between two...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqueline B, Propietario at The Goddess Garden
Responded Mar 12, 2016
There is an ancient proverb which says “You do not see things as they are – you see things as you are”. We work very hard to provide wonderful experiences for our guests. We are sorry to hear that you could not appreciate our care and help at all times, not even when we spent an afternoon with you at the clinic because of your ear plug problem. Or when we organized within a short time your transportation to the airport because of your family emergency. For disgrace you run away without paying the taxi driver for the 4 hour ride to San Jose. It was a big relief for everyone that you had left in the middle of the training. The energy shift after your departure was huge. We hope you find one day the inner peace you need for your soul.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie P wrote a review Aug 2014
1 contribution7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was excited to come to the goddess garden while taking Marianne Wells 200-hours yoga teacher training. I must admit that I had to expectations whatsoever before coming BUT the overall experience was absolutely amazing. Marianne along with her husband are truly amazing people and I find them as my inspirational source in life. They took good care of the "students" and I cannot say one negative thing about them. Additionally is the food delicious!!! There was an New Zealand chef cooking amazing vegetarian food. I highly recommend visiting the goodness garden and taking Marianne Well's yoga teacher training if one is interesting in that. If one hesitates or want to know more about the yoga teacher training feel free to contact me (sometimes it is nice to hear it from a student with experience).
All the best
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqueline B, Propietario at The Goddess Garden
Responded Feb 7, 2016
Thank you for your opinion and being open to advise future students.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
freddifurry wrote a review Nov 2013
Chicago, Illinois17 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My sister and I came to The Goddess Gardens for a short vacation. We chose it because of the fantastic write-up's on Trip Advisor. Are we ever glad we did! The Goddess Garden was created by Jacqueline and Marcelo--both lovely and truly a big part of why our visit was so enjoyable. We had a very comfortable room that was cleaned every day. All of the staff were so helpful and so friendly. We enjoyed Yoga with our wonderful instructor, Sabine, daily and were even able to have her twice on our last day. Yoga was in a covered cabana surrounded by the Jungle (the whole place is a lush, beautiful jungle with many various sounds of birds, howler monkey's, trees, etc.). and the place was filled with exquisite wooden carving's. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all include--so fresh, healthy and so delicious! We took tours of a Howler Monkey Rescue 'farm'. A canoe down the river to spot birds (and an alligator and bats and a monkey...). Snorkeled in the Caribbean, took a guided hike of the National Forest. We ate dinner in Cahuita one night and sat outside watching and listening to the Sea. We renter bikes at a nearby town and enjoyed the scenery and did some local shopping as well. Oh, we also enjoyed two fabulous massages each from Johnny. There are so many details I could elaborate on but mostly I would just say if you are even considering--you must go experience this Oasis amongst the Jungle for yourself!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: I think all rooms were pretty much the same. Some sleep more than others. We were on the bottom...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer B wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fans are very helpful for sleeping at night. "
Read full review
Giottapié wrote a tip Jan 2024
Barcelona, Spain10 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have in mind to make some tours in the early morning, count that breakfast is at 8.00 am"
Read full review
Ruby R wrote a tip Mar 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It was extremely humid during my stay so it was hard to get wet clothing to dry."
Read full review
mike wrote a tip Jan 2020
United States107 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"all Rooms are excellent"
Read full review
D3697SVinfo wrote a tip Jan 2019
Wil, Switzerland2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All Rooms are perfekt!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cahuita area.
PRICE RANGE
₱6,222 - ₱6,920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of LimonCahuita
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GODDESS GARDEN - UPDATED 2024 Lodge Reviews & Price Comparison (Cahuita, Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Goddess Garden
Which popular attractions are close to The Goddess Garden?
Nearby attractions include Tarantulas Way (4.6 km), Cahuita National Park (4.8 km), and Sloth Sanctuary of Costa Rica (6.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Goddess Garden?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Goddess Garden?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Goddess Garden?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Goddess Garden?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Éwa & Lounge Bar, Rincón del Amor, and Pizzeria Cahuita.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Goddess Garden?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does The Goddess Garden have airport transportation?
Yes, The Goddess Garden offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Goddess Garden offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Goddess Garden?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.
All Cahuita HotelsCahuita Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CahuitaHotels near The Goddess Garden
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars