We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Vista Marina, Playas del Coco 10002 Costa Rica
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (121)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (183)

About

#5 of 18 hotels in Playas del Coco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
"Greetings from Team Vacasa! Yes, we're a professional property management company—but we're also real people, trusted by the owners of vacation homes to take care of all the heavy lifting like housekeeping, reservations, maintenance, and guest care. (Because, to be honest, renting out a vacation home really can be a full-time job!) We have local teams on the ground to take care of our homes and our guests. We like to think of it as the best of both worlds: you can enjoy a one-of-a-kind vacation experience in a unique property, only without compromising on service and convenience. You can trust that your home will be cleaned by professional housekeepers, and your calls will be answered (right away, around the clock!) by our dedicated Guest Services team. Check out our listings, and if you have any questions, get in touch! We'd love to help you plan your perfect getaway."
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Rooftop bar
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Rooftop terrace
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
163Reviews9Q+A36Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 111
  • 37
  • 9
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Darlene G wrote a review Dec 2020
Courtenay BC11 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
I was fortunate to stay at Chantel Suites when I arrived in Coco Beach and wow, what amazing views right from my suite. Clean, comfortable, and grateful to have a fridge and kitchen/dishes etc to be able to have some meals at 'home'. This is a peaceful paradise overlooking the beach, town, and surrounding area. Healthy easy walk to town, or plenty of affordable cabs. Really enjoyed my stay here. There is a rooftop restaurant that is excellent. Also having a pool right there is such a delight. I highly recommend Chantel Suites for your next stay. Anita and her staff are awesome people.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent view, so just depends on what you want for size
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Relax26337918287 wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution
The room seemed nice but the steep driveway and lack of handrail led to a fall that broke my wife's arm and hip. Hotel managers would not even have a conversation about the accident. If you've got any physical disabilities I would recommend staying somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chantel Ayre, Owner at Chantel Suites
Responded 17 Dec 2020
These guests showed up drinking, then proceeded to back into a large designer flower pot and smashed it to pieces at the reception desk. They came for a blues festival in town. They then left to go to a meet and great in town and continued drinking for more hours. They came back to the property and parked on the street in front, they started to argue and then we heard a scream and his wife was on the ground and was saying she broke her arm. She stayed in the middle of the street while someone had to direct traffic around her. My staff helped with her to get an ambulance and private doctor up to see her. They were both drunk. We have video footage of the whole thing. Later around 3 am he contacts us because he has lost his wallet and fortunately someone had found it on the side of the road and turned it in. They were both a complete mess. Their drinking and their accident had nothing to do with us, except we were kind enough to help them with medical services.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa B wrote a review Jan 2020
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
Wonderful view of playa del Coco. The hotel is perched up on a cliff. A good place to stay. Clean room with basic amenities. It was nice to have a frig and coffee maker. Only downside no where in walking distance to have breakfast. Restaurant on premise has an awesome lookout. It is only open for lunch and dinner. Food is excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Brandie13 wrote a review Jun 2019
toronto, canada22 contributions13 helpful votes
I foolishly booked 8 months in advance - and then cancelled 6 months in advance because I was bringing my daughter. NON refundable 50% even 6 months in advance, I completely missed this - and they won't respond to me at all ZERO response or Expedia who I found them through - If they can't rent the place with 6 months open for 3 nights in high season than I was right to cancel. The worst is no response. Not impressed. Avid Traveller.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chantel A, Manager at Chantel Suites
Responded 25 Jun 2019
Hi, thanks for contacting us. We do not charge a 50% deposit 6 months in advance of booking. Also expedia does not charge a reservation for us, as we explained to you. There is a misunderstanding, can I suggest you look up the charge you think you have and email to us so we can help you find out what this charge is from? I can guarantee it isn't from us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
spagoer888 wrote a review Mar 2018
Toronto, Canada15 contributions15 helpful votes
I spent 4 nights at Chantel Suites and really enjoyed my stay. The location is amazing and the views are spectacular. Sunsets are not to be missed. The room I stayed in was clean and comfortable, the air conditioning worked well, and the shower had plenty of pressure. It was great to have a fridge to put my fresh fruit in, and have plates and cutlery. A bonus to have a safe available in the room. Wifi worked well. Anita, Chantel, and Mary are lovely hosts. I did eat at the Lookout and the food was wonderful. In the mornings I enjoyed a walk listening to the birds and howler monkeys. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Joey W wrote a review Mar 2018
Hamilton, Canada11 contributions2 helpful votes
I have been fortunate enough to travel a lot of the world, and I have to say my recent trip to Costa Rica is high on my list of best experiences. I have never been too picky with accommodations and never rate my overall experience based on this, however, I always look for a clean, and comfortable place to lay my head at the end the day and Hotel Chantel well exceeded my expectations. I believe it has everything to do with your host and both Anita and Mary were truly superb. There was never anything they would not help with and went well beyond their call of duty. Rooms very well kept, and internet that worked, and to top it all of views to die for. when booking this trip I did a lot of research and I myself resorted to trip advisor for reviews. Mostly every review was rated a 4 or 5 and they were exactly right. The hotel itself is up a very steep hill but once you are up there, the views are worth every climb. I went for a morning run most days and explored all around. Highly recommend if you do like to have a little exercise as you can either run one way, or climb to the very top the other. I did both and enjoyed all of it. The one thing that I would now recommend after having spent 3 weeks there is to rent a car. The first week we did not have a car and took a taxi to and from town, and to a few nearby beaches. This did work, however after getting a car the second week in, my trip went from being good to one of the best ever. If you are an adventurous person like myself this is definitely something you would like to do. After a week only being able to explore Coco, I got a little bored and needed to seek out more places. There are too many places to name but I would HIGHLY recommend rincon de la vieja, finca verde, and also a spot that a tour guide that I ended up making friends with to witness one of the best sun sets I have ever seen ( which I have seen a ton) the tour guides name is Manrique and I used him for everything. He has a wealth of knowledge not only of his country but also of many other countries. If you would like to get a hold of him through whats app his number is +506 6022 2654. He totally made mine and my friends experience. In summary hotel chantel is to me the ideal place to stay and highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jumbalaia_Abitilini wrote a review Feb 2018
Toronto, Canada93 contributions91 helpful votes
We loved the hospitality, the staff, in special Mary, the space, the cleanliness, having reliable internet and the restaurant located in the same building. Adding to that, the tours suggested by Anita were beyond expectations. Manrique our dedicated tour guide was extremely helpful and very friendly. Location is perfect if you have a car. Thank you Anita!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Zach D wrote a review Feb 2018
Denver, Colorado, United States4 contributions1 helpful vote
I have to say my experience at Chantel Suites was nothing short of incredible. It was exactly what we were looking for. This is not the place to stay if you want to be in the middle of all the action and want the party at your doorstep; this is the place that is close enough to the action but far enough away that one can escape if one wishes for some peace and quiet. Plus the views to boot. Sipping cocktails in the infinity pool while looking out over Coco Bay is something I wish everyone were lucky enough to enjoy. Thank you for making our trip so memorable!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Penthouse suite is the best
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nancy K wrote a review Jan 2018
Poulsbo, Washington183 contributions93 helpful votes
The Chantel Suites was perfect for us. It is not in downtown Playa de Coco, but rather, it is up on a hill overlooking the town and beach, and only about 5 minutes to town. A local cab charges about $1 (US) per mile. If you have your own car, all the better. The first part of the steep drive is quite bumpy, but it’s paved about 1/3 of the way up. Anita and Marie are wonderful hostesses. They are both very accommodating, called cabs for us, made dinner reservations, arranged tours, etc. We were given an upgrade to a suite with a full kitchen, which gave us a couch and lots more room as well. I gather the standard rooms are a bit small, but are certainly adequate. We stayed for 5 nights total, and while it did seem a bit odd not to have had maid service during that time (we were unaware that the service was not included), it was fine. Please note that only one very small bar of soap, and a small shampoo and conditioner are provided, although I feel certain we would have received more, if we’d needed them. We usually always travel with toiletries, so it was not an issue for us. Also note that The Lookout Restaurant is right upstairs, on the top floor. Their staff usually arrives mid-afternoon, and they do like loud music. Once guests arrive, however, they turn it down, and the place closes at 10pm, when it gets very quiet. There can be a lot of table-moving, which tends to go right through the floors, but again , it’s quiet by 10:30 or so. Be sure to ask about the hiking close by. The area behind the hotel has some good trails - where we saw some beautiful birds as well as some Howler monkeys. The views from each suite and deck are outstanding. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable first 5 nights in Costa Rica here, and would recommend the Chantel Suites if you like things a bit quiet and off the beaten path.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marcel wrote a review Jan 2018
Hamburg, Germany102 contributions35 helpful votes
The hotel is located uphill. Therefore, one has a really amazing view, but a car is required to reach the hotel. Further, it is not much fun to drive uphill at night, but its only 5$ for a taxi. There were quite many bugs also entering the rooms and in August the hotel was really empty and the restaurant was closed, which did not really help for a great impression.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chantel A, Manager at Chantel Suites
Responded 23 Jan 2018
August is rainy season here in Playas Del Coco, which brings the bugs out (Costa Rica is a rain forest). Also, because of the rain, tourism starts to grind to a halt. Due to a lack of tourism at this time of year, unfortunately, it is not feasible for us to keep the restaurant open during that season, so annually, it does close temporarily. We do apologize for the inconvenience and are happy to hear that you enjoyed our view from the top of the mountain. Thanks for visiting!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacastePlayas del Coco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chantel Suites
What are some of the property amenities at Chantel Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Chantel Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Chantel Suites?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Chantel Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chantel Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Villa Italia, The Lookout, and Marisqueria Milanes Seafood Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chantel Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Chantel Suites?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chantel Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Chantel Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Chantel Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.