Tropical Suites Hotel

Tropical Suites Hotel

First Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 0000 Panama
Traveler (429)
Island View
Room & Suite (377)
Hotel Bar at the Tropical Suites
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#3 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tropical Suites is a modern oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Bocas del Toro. Resting on a tranquil Caribbean shoreline, the property is close to many over the water restaurants, shops and attractions. The hotel's comfortable and spacious suites feature a panoramic view of the Caribbean waters or​ ​the island's ​tropical ​landscape.​ Amenities include private balconies, air conditioning, 24 hour front desk and water access from​ ​the hotel's private dock​. Nearby attractions include beaches, snorkeling, dolphin watching, zip-lining, diving and surfing. Tours and activities may be arranged through the hotel's front reception. Guests may choose to include breakfast with their room rate. The property is a 15 minute walk or short taxi ride from the Bocas Town island airport.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Boating
Taxi service
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Wifi
Canoeing
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Fishing
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

First Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 0000 Panama
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Bocas Del Toro Airport
Changuinola Airport
26.2 km
See all flights
676Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 456
  • 166
  • 34
  • 12
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
rvrvwmike wrote a review Jan 2020
Cairo, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our second stay at Tropical Suites, We were happy to be back enjoying the great location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Harbor view room is worth the extra money as you have a front row seat on the busy harbor scene and there is no street noise. The room was very spacious with a nice balcony and comfortable seating. There is no restaurant, but coffee is free near the dock downstairs and is ready early. Also there are a lot of choices for breakfast just outside the hotel. We understand the hotel is under new management and we have noticed improvements in the room and saw signs of other things being upgraded while we were there. The staff is very friendly and always willing to accommodate requests or give local advice, especially the night manager, Ricardo who is over the top helpful and friendly. We have stayed in other places in Bocas over the years but appreciate the location in town as you don't waste a lot of time or money waiting for or commuting with taxis. We will definitely stay at Tropical Suites again on our next trip to Bocas del Toro.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Water view is worth it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexander1969 wrote a review Feb 2020
Las Vegas
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the hotel for 3 days and the visit was exceptional. The rooms are spacious, Air Conditioned, the views spectacular, and the location was close to a lot of restaurants, supermarket(s), and tour companies that allowed us to enjoy exploring the island and sorrounding beaches. They have coffee downtstairs at 7:00am right in front of the dock to enjoy the comings and goings of the boats near the hotel. The nearby restaurants serve a lot of traditional and international meals to please anyone. The prices are not only reasonable bu downright inexpensive. A bit of caution: If you are staying there, bring lots and lots of insect repellent. In the sorrounding area are really vicious! Other than that, it was a great stay at this wonderful hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the water
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tybeeite wrote a review Jul 2022
Tybee Island, Georgia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been staying at Tropical Suites every time we visit Bocas for years. This last year however, has seen some amazing additions. The fabulous Meren, poolside restaurant, opened while we were there. Wonderful food and setting, without ever leaving the hotel! The freshwater pool itself is also a delight, with a swim up bar, beautiful decking and a view of the Caribbean Sea.
A couple other new additions to Tropical Suites already spacious, quiet, clean, and comfortable rooms are new AC units and frosted plexiglass dividers between the balconies( makes for much more private & quiet balcony seating)
All in all, Tropical Suites staff, amenities, and location in Bocas Town, make it the only place for us!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Travelldog wrote a review Jan 2020
Ontario
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 night here. The location is great and the staff is very nice and helpful . Laundry service was $8 and is ready the next day . The hotel is very clean and the beds where very comfortable .

I was disappointed because the owner said all the rooms where renovated when my husband stopped in to have a look before I arrived to meet him and he was shown the only room that was renovated (1 room) so my expectation where somewhat high.

Really the room #13 we had on the 3 floor was ok. It was nice to people watch from balcony the town view . But the a/c needs to be replaced it is old and rusting and sound so loud you can not here the tv. To be fare staff did send some one to repair A/c but nothing changed , it just needs replacing , the couch should be replaced also it was so dirty we did not want to sit on it . It’s strange that there is limited furniture in the rooms ie only one night stand and no side tables near the couch . One picture on the wall . Good selection of tv stations tho in English .

The coffee maker was broken when we arrived so staff replaced it . There was limited utensils and not a pot to boil water to make tea .

Also the elevator was broken for our whole stay . So had to walk up 3 flights of stairs often and carry our heavy luggage down the stairs on our last day .

Either we r just unlucky but seemed like a lot of thing missing or broken during our stay 😳

Taxi ride to hotel from airport was $2 per person and was easy. Lots of taxis there. It’s strange how you have to wait in a room at the airport for your luggage , then they slide the luggage throw the door and everyone just grabs their bags . There is no luggage belt just thought I would mention it because we did not know what was going on .

Bocas is a funky town and worth a visit . Make sure to go to zappatilla island , and also check monkey sanctuary it was wonderful . We negotiated a private boat for 2 people for $150 for day which did various stops .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lemur_chica wrote a review Mar 2022
Huntington Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved this hotel and the people that work there were wonderful. The front desk, especially Luna, was very helpful with tour and restaurant suggestions. The hotel is super clean (housekeeping was outstanding) and the location is perfect for walking to restaurants, water taxi services, grocery stores,etc. The room (we were in 5) was big with lots of storage and a kitchenette and a nice balcony. There is great air conditioning as well as a fan so we were always comfortable.

We had originally booked a waterfront room a year ago on the lower floor but the hotel contacted us recently to let us know there was construction. They moved us to the second floor. The construction is supposed to completed by May. They are extending the overwater portion of the hotel and adding a pool. The construction wasn’t an issue for us, but you should ask before booking. There are also rooms that do not face the water that are not impacted.

We spent five nights here and loved it. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AUSTLON wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Check In
The check in was super friendly. I don’t there is a need to be shown the room however it was sweet. Just delays the whole check in process

Food
The only place in Boca we had decent meal was at this hotel. Food is fantastic.

Bar
Could do with larger selection of soft drinks to complement the spirits

Rooms
Very spacious air con. Mattress slightly worn probably needs changing
Rooms extremely clean.

Facilities
The pool is tiny and pointless. What’s missing is some ladders so you can swim in the sea at the back of building like the other hotels and hostels. As there is no beach nearby this would really help

Laundry
Efficient and good value for money

Staff
Staff are wonderful. What makes this hotel a cut above the others. From reception to bar and restaurant they are so helpful and adorable.

I would so come back here again if you could swim from back of hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Rooms facing street can get noisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Oman, Owner at Tropical Suites Hotel
Responded Jan 7, 2023
Thank you very much for his nice words, we are glad to know that you loved every corner of the hotel, and of course, we hope to see you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nataliya M wrote a review Feb 2023
Los Angeles, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a scam. On booking.com their pool side cabin description stated it has bedroom and living room, but there is no living room, instead a super tiny bedroom where there is hardly any space around the bed. It’s filthy and stinks. It has attached terrace on top of the room with absolutely no shade. Their website says they have surf services and tours but they have nothing to do with surfing even close. On top of everything a friend of the owner wrote apparently unrelated to them blog with lots of wrong info about their amenities and services naming them one of the best places to stay for surfers. Their manager didn’t agree to talk to me to find a solution to all this scam.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Oman, Owner at Tropical Suites Hotel
Responded Mar 5, 2023
We are truly sorry about your not fulfilling your expectations. It is true that unfortunately there was a mistake in description of booking.com that was offering something our new oceanview cabins don´t have as living room. We already updated the info, so it won´t happen again. As soon as we realized about this issue, we offer you free breakfast and the possibility to move you to another room starting on the third night as we didn´t have availability in the first nights. As you didn´t want another room and ask for a refund, we gave you the money back so you can look for another place to stay. Cabins have the right space for many travellers, you can even find online the size of each of our rooms in meters or square feet and also check the pictures we have available in internet that gives you a pretty good idea of how it is (including the exclusive seafront rooftop that each cabin has to enjoy the warm caribbean sun, the sunset or beautiful nights looking to the sky). We usually don´t have any complains about cleanliness or smells in any area of our hotel and we did´t get any comment about it from you during your stay. We don´t have surf activities directly, as many other tours and services we offer as massages, transfers and yoga lessons, we work with professional providers to ensure quality and safety during your experience. If there is a service we don´t provide, our staff at least will always try to help you with local contacts. Finally, we don´t understand your comment about "a friend of the owner". Don´t know where that is coming from and of course you will understand that normally people will write freely and it would be almost impossible for a hotel like to control this kind of things. During the dates of your stay, unfortunately the General Manager was out of the area having her days off. In her place, Rooms Supervisor and F&B Manager were always aware of your situation. Our team tried to make the best we could, but you decided to leave after the second night.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Okkie17 wrote a review Sep 2022
Cairns, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Modern hotel with friendly staff. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable with a massive luxurious king bed. The rooms have aircons, fans, tv, coffee maker as well as basic cooking facilities and a small fridge. There’s a balcony with some comfy chairs. The pool and bar area is awesome, with comfy chairs and sun loungers.
The only 2 things we didn’t like was the atrocious water pressure in the shower, and the ongoing construction work in the street (although, I realise the hotel has no control over this, but it was very noisy)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Probably an upstairs rooms would Be better (we were on the ground floor)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Oman, Owner at Tropical Suites Hotel
Responded Jan 7, 2023
Thank you very much for your nice words, we are glad to know that you loved every corner of the hotel. and your recommendation we have already solved this problem. Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah G wrote a review Mar 2023
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hotel. Clean, comfortable rooms with a/c that works well. Staff is friendly. The pool is lovely. Yes, people from the restaurant can use the pool, but I don’t know where you’re going to go without other people in the pool. It was never too crowded.

The food at this restaurant was some of the best on the island. I wish we had bought the breakfast package at check in, but we didn’t know what to expect. There are only a handful of places on the island that serve breakfast at all. Great selection of drinks as well, including fresh smoothies, sodas, and cocktails.

The view from our room was amazing, we were in the birdhouse (on the top floor).

The only downside is that several nights per week Aqua, a hostel/bar across the water has very loud music late into the night. It went until 3 or 4am. But there are nights they aren’t allowed to have the music.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Oman, Owner at Tropical Suites Hotel
Responded Mar 17, 2023
Thank you Sara for sharing your positive review of the hotel! It's great to hear that you found the rooms clean and comfortable, with effective air conditioning, and that the staff were friendly and accommodating. I'm also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the lovely pool and the food at the restaurant, which you found to be some of the best on the island. It's a shame that you didn't purchase the breakfast package at check-in, but I'm glad you were still able to enjoy a great selection of drinks, including fresh smoothies, sodas, and cocktails. I'm also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the amazing view from your room. However, I'm sorry to hear that the loud music from the Aqua hostel/bar across the water was a downside to your stay. We are looking for a quick solution to this, which is something that is out of our hands. This music is more on weekends. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and providing valuable information for future guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future! Enrique Iglesias Hotel Supervisor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charles W wrote a review Nov 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed 4 days and 4 nights at Tropical Suites and my stay was excellent. The resort itself and my room was very clean and the views of the ocean are very nice. They have a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and all of the food was very good. They also have a nice tiki bar attached to the pool. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the location is right in the heart of bocas Town so a short walk to all of the shops, restaurants, bars, and nightlife. I will most certainly book again with Tropical Suites next time Im in Bocas del Toro. 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Oman, Owner at Tropical Suites Hotel
Responded Jan 7, 2023
Thank you very much for your nice words, we are glad to know that you loved every corner of the hotel, and of course, we hope to see you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KARA COOPER asked a question May 2021
2 contributions
Can we swim off the balcony?
susangaryteam asked a question Jun 2017
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada31 contributions42 helpful votes
How reliable and fast was the internet? Thanks Su
Answer from
WiFi was fine. I had no problems at all with it.
styus2 asked a question May 2017
Aurora, Illinois149 contributions27 helpful votes
Hi, Which room should I reserve if I want the glass floor to see the ocean from the floor?
Answer from Fredrik A
26 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi, I believe the room is called the "Sea Star" or "Starfish" room. I cannot remember, but it was on the ground floor to the right of the reception. Good luck!
ships99 asked a question Feb 2017
Odesa, Ukraine44 contributions
When the hotel will have pool?
Answer from Chip I
bocas
Dear Odessa, Thank you for your inquiry. Our hotel does not have a pool, however there are nearby beaches with swimming areas. Please contact us should you have any other questions.
Answer from Chip I
Dallas4 contributions
Hello Ships99, Thank you for your question, with the recent tragedy in Bocas, this is a great question to be addressed. As both Leon and Kimberly mentioned Bocas Town is very small and easily walkable with taxis available from the hotel if needed. As with James, I have also been travelling to or living in Bocas since 1999, and neither myself or my wife have ever felt in danger. As with any new area that you are travelling and exploring it is best to be safe. At Tropical Suites, we have personal relationships with the companies or independent contractors that we use for water or land taxis and tours. We know which guest is at each locations and try to see each guest upon their return to the hotel to hear how the day's adventure went. Bocas is a place to explore beaches, coral, nature and the local restaurants, and as your host we strive to send you to the best of each for a safe and enjoyable adventure! Safe Travels, Chip Tropical Suites
ladyjane2 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Luxemburg, Wisconsin201 contributions45 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"One or two nights is enough. Eat at the hotel only. Islands around are not beautiful. Zapatilla Island was not worth it, dont bother. "
Read full review
Megan A wrote a tip Jan 2023
Chicago, Illinois54 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool is shared by anyone who buys a drink or food. Be prepared to get up to save your spot if you want to enjoy the lounge chairs. "
Read full review
vglundy wrote a tip Nov 2022
Vancouver, Canada95 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking but there was only one spot so not sure what they would have done if anyone else needed parking."
Read full review
travelvivi_schweiz wrote a tip Nov 2022
Biel-Benken, Switzerland197 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very close, just a few step, to the dock from caribe shuttle! Try the french red wine- excellent! "
Read full review
Natalya Goncharov wrote a tip Oct 2022
Glenview, Illinois179 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Buy breakfast"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bocas Town area.
PRICE RANGE
₱6,354 - ₱10,238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tropical hotel bocas town
LOCATION
PanamaBocas del Toro ProvinceIsla ColonBocas Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TROPICAL SUITES HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Bocas Town, Panama) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Tropical Suites Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Tropical Suites Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Gypsy Travel Panama (0.3 km), Enigma Bocas (0.2 km), and Bocas Bookstore Bar (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tropical Suites Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and a concierge.
Which room amenities are available at Tropical Suites Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Tropical Suites Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Tropical Suites Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Leaf Eaters Cafe, Coco Fastronomy - La casa del BAPÉ, and Falafel Bocas.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tropical Suites Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Tropical Suites Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Tropical Suites Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Bocas Town HotelsBocas Town Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Bocas TownHotels near Tropical Suites Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars