We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Malate Pensionne

TravelocityUS$16*
View Deal
05/14/2017 05/15/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Malate Pensionne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Malate Pensionne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 150: English reviews
Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewed December 2, 2015

Very accessible location. Accommodating and hospitable staff. Prompt response to email inquiry. Homey feel. Adequate amenities come with the room rate. Stayed there in October 2011 with mother and aunt (family room). This time with husband (premium room). Will definitely still have it as preferred choice for place to stay when we go back to Manila.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbcab
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank your for the five star rating and positive comments. We make an effort to diligently deliver a great experience to all our guests all the time. Usually, folks tend to write online only when they are displeased. Yours is very much appreciated. Thank you once again for your continued patronage and business. We look forward to your...

Kukutyim
Reviewed November 23, 2015

My husband and I spent 2 nights here. We had the feeling, it was too expensive for what it offered, but it is the capital city and the location is fantastic. The bed was comfortable, the room clean, the personnel kind. In the room it was really hot and a bit humid. We had only a fan, and the window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review

Dear Anna, thank you for your comments. I will look into it and study just how we can improve on that particular toilet. I thought that we had widened all toilet stalls to fit caucasians. That was one of my first issues when I arrived four years ago. We solved the mosquito problem by bringing in lots of citronella plants...

on the road
Reviewed November 8, 2015

Old and reliable, this place straddles the Backpacker category and the Hotel segment. Budget, fan only rooms (en suite) and a few dorm beds are available, as are AC rooms with en suite facilities. Good security....guard at gate has a gun! Safe deposit boxes and luggage storage available. Can even leave valuable in safe deposit box while you travel up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheilds
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review

Dear Shields, thank you for your four star rating and positive reviews. I will do something about that hot water for coffee as I love a good cup of steaming hot coffee myself in the morning. When we can improve a guests experience within sound reason, we do it. Thank you for your patronage and business. It is truly appreciated....

Reviewed October 27, 2015

Hotel in good location in Malate - staff at desk very friendly but room very gloomy - small window with little light. I booked and paid for an Executive room - but not sure what was executive about it. No WiFi in rooms only in lobby is a real inconvenience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

The hotel was 1600 pisos for a small room with aircon. The aircon unit dripped on the mattress all night and the bed was very uncomfortable. When we told the concierge the next morning she replied with "thank you for letting us know". I would not recommend for the price, but the location was good.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank TheTravelingDuckie
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review

Dear guests, my sincere apologies for having a terrible experience. whenever I have an unpleasant experience at an establishment, I always ask for the manager to give management an opportunity to be aware and address my concern. If they make me happy, that appeases me. If they do nothing or are indifferent, then they deserve my wrath. I hope that...

Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

Central location and polite staff but noisy, no hot water and no drinking water in room. Dodgy aircon and run down room. Overpriced and underwhelmed. Not recommended. Choose somewhere else nearby, there are lots of better places than this.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gareth B
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review

Dear Gareth, my apologies for having a disappointing experience at our property. Adriatico street and most places in the Ermita Malate tourist area are noisy especially at night. We could have moved you to the rear of the property away from the street had you asked. Also, in the future, give management an opportunity to address your concerns and make...

Reviewed August 9, 2015

Budget friendly yet worth every bucks you paid. Staffs are accommodating. Hotel gives a nostalgic aura for me. Breakfast they provide is from the coffee house outside the hotel which is good. Overall, this is a good place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anna L
Malate P, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review

Hello Anna! Thank you for taking the time to post your Malate Pensionne experience. We definitely strive everyday to provide a positive experience to all our guests. Every chance I get, I walk around and talk to our guests whom I see and inquire about their experience in and around our property. Reality is most who have a positive experience...

Philippines
Reviewed July 20, 2015

We stayed overnight. Hot / Cold Shower was good. Location is good (city center)Near restaurants and malls. Robinsons mall was just a few minutes walk away.. Staff are accomodating. The place was a bit old. We stayed in a room near the stairs we could hear people heading up.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mitzandlarry
Malate P, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for having made Malate Pensionne your home away from home. Our building is a "heritage" building built by US Standard Oil during the US Commonwealth era. Many of our regular returning guests come back exactly because they like that old world charm. Ermita Malate area is a historic district which gives it a distinctive unique character that...

Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewed June 18, 2015

There are other better options to stay in Malate area. Rooms are obviously old and creepy. You can't sleep coz you can hear steps of people walking on the corridor and on the above floors. No free towel, toothbrush and toothpaste. No slippers provided. Standard rate for air conditioned rooms are quiet expensive compared to other hotels in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lenient O
Malate P, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for expressing your concerns. I truly appreciate it. I regret that we weren't able to satisfy your expectations. One of my functions is to be aware of what other hotels and lodgings are doing in our area and around the globe. The amenities that you mentioned and were expecting, I, as a frequent traveler, would expect of...

Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

Though I would not recommend staying in Manila for long (2 days MAX) this is defiantly a good place to stay for young travellers that can't afford the luxury places. The bathrooms are newly renovated and the rooms are everything you need. The staff is also very friendly and helpful, and laundry service is great!!

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Christopher P
Malate P, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comments and for choosing Malate Pensionne as your home away from home. Have a great day and we look forward to your next stay when your return to Manila. We are always looking at ways to give our guests a positive Malate Pensionne experience. Along with other hotels, restaurants, Robinson Mall and the local...

462 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (56)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (332)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (44)
Viewed
Economy Air Room (30)
Viewed
Economy Room (15)
Viewed
Executive Room (39)
Viewed
Premium Room (33)
Viewed
Suite (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)
Viewed
Three Person Family Room (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
05/14/2017 05/15/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Red Planet Ermita, Manila
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 109 in Manila
484 reviews
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 109 in Manila
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#11 of 109 in Manila
247 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#16 of 109 in Manila
226 reviews
Chill-out Guesthouse
#5 of 73 in Manila
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Malate Pensionne is located in the heart of Malate, a district of Manila on Adriatico St. (formerly Dakota St under the US Commonwealth & Calle Nuevo under Spain). Our building was built by Americans who leased the land from our grandfather to house American workers. When the lease ended, our mother turned it into Dakota Apts. Returning from her European trips & learning of how Italians welcomed weary travelers to their home like family members, she turned Dakota Apts into Malate Valero Pensionne, now well know as the Malate Pensionne with the slogan, "Your home away from Home". As far as we know, we are the only hotel in the world with a strict policy of only registered guests can walk our hallways. We are about a mile from the US Embassy & Rizal Park. About 2 miles from Intramuros, the old walled city of Manila, a 5 min. walk to Robinson Mall. 15 min. by car to Mall Of Asia & 11.5km to the upscale Makati City & Bonifacio Global City. Mabuhay, Bienvenido, Welcome to your "home away from home". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Malate Pensionne

Address: 1771 M. Adriatico St., Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Price Range: ₱851 - ₱1,401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malate Pensionne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Malate Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malate Pensionne Manila
Malate Pensionne Hotel Manila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Malate Pensionne staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Malate Pensionne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“all rooms are aboiut the same”
GarethL412, Feb 1, 2017 | Read review
“Does not matter.”
corabeld, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed at the second floor. The room there was great.”
misskathr, Mar 21, 2016 | Read review
“Both our stays, we got rooms in the second floor.”
dbcab, Dec 1, 2015 | Read review
“Worth paying a bit more for AC.”
sheilds, Nov 7, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$16* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$16
Agoda.comUS$18
Orbitz.comUS$16
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates