Red Planet Manila Bay

Red Planet Manila Bay

Arquiza Corner Alhambra Streets, Manila, Luzon 0930 Philippines
Traveler (55)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Multiple ways to pay
₱2,022
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#9 of 137 hotels in Manila
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Manila, Red Planet Manila Bay is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its family-friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Red Planet Manila Bay makes it easy to enjoy the best of Manila. You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and you can stay connected during your stay as Red Planet Manila Bay offers guests free wifi. The hotel features a 24 hour front desk, baggage storage, and newspaper. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available. Manila has plenty of pubs. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like LA Café, COWBOY GRILL, and G Point Smörgåsbord & Bar, which are serving up some great dishes. If you are interested in exploring Manila, check out one of the monuments and statues, such as Memorare Manila Monument, Centennial Clock, and Philippine Presidents' Gallery. Whether you’re traveling for business, pleasure or both, Red Planet Manila Bay is sure to make your visit to Manila one worth remembering.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Center with Internet Access
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Internet
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino

Location

Arquiza Corner Alhambra Streets, Manila, Luzon 0930 Philippines
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 97 out of 100
97
Ninoy Aquino Intl Airport
Subic Bay Intl Airport
80.1 km
See all flights
United Nations
10 minManila Light Rail
561Reviews13Q+A13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 341
  • 159
  • 37
  • 9
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
troyensigne wrote a review Dec 2021
Olongapo, Philippines1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great price, rapid check in, and very friendly staff willing to help and understand your needs. The room was quaint, but good enough for what I required. Clean room at check in, good working Air con, TV available (I did not use it much), small refrigerator, and small safe if needed. The bathroom has only a soap dispenser. Bring your own stuff if you require more like bar soap, shampoo, etc. This is just maybe due to Covid guidelines. There is a window with a pull-down shade so you get natural lighting during daylight hours. There is a blow dryer available if you need one. Wifi is provided free for the guest and there is plenty of lighting in the room during the evening. I did not do a speed test on the connection, but my experience was that its plenty fast to surf the web. Not much lag or delay...very useful and functional speed. I was using a VPN connection as well. There is no closet or drawers so use your luggage or the space underneath the bed (It sits high.)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cherry Ann Aganan, General Manager at Red Planet Manila Bay
Responded Dec 29, 2021
Dear troyensigne, Thank you so much for such a wonderful feedback and compliment on our property during your quarantine stay. This is so much appreciated. It was such a pleasure having a guest like you. Hope that your review will encourage other guests to stay with us. Looking forward on your next visit with us. Regards and stay safe, Cherry Ann Aganan Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
explore_with_may wrote a review Mar 2023
Philippines949 contributions336 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the best Red Planet I've ever stayed at so far in the Philippines, probably because its newer than the others so they were able to improve on the design. The double room that had what seemed like a queen or king size bed, the lighting was definitely better than the other Red Planet branches, no more ceiling fan, airconditioning was quiet and new, and the best part was the more spacious working desk / area and the addition of a mini-refrigerator, electric kettle, and coffee cups. The bathroom was smaller than the usual Red Planet bathroom, but shower was still strong and warm/hot water flow was reliable. As usual, I appreciate the single dispenser for soap, shampoo, and conditioner instead of having small plastic bottles for them. Service was fast and hospitable. The restaurant downstairs (Manileno's) serves delicious and affordable food with an extensive menu. Perfectly located near the US Embassy and the famous Chinese restaurant Emerald restaurant, and at a walkable distance from Manila Hotel, Luneta Park, and Intramuros.

The elevator is new, but for some reason the keycard reader takes a while to read the keycard. There were some flickering lights in the hallway of the 8th floor that need replacing. The immediate area near the hotel has some squatters and might be uncomfortable for people who are not used to that kind of environment, but the area is safe.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cherry Ann Aganan, General Manager at Red Planet Manila Bay
Responded Apr 5, 2023
Dear explore_with_may, Thank you for the wonderful feedback and for all the compliments on our property. I am glad that you appreciated all the improvements that was included. I hope that we can be of service to you again soon. Regards and stay safe, Cherry Ann Aganan Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeffsreview wrote a review Jan 2023
Surfers Paradise, Australia1,553 contribution222 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Red Planet Manila Bay is a budget style hotel and the rooms are compact.

The rooms have an LCD TV with some English speaking channels, a bar fridge, Tea in coffee making facilities and a safe.

The beds are reasonably comfortable, and the bathrooms are small, compact and the shower has a reasonable water pressure. The shower soap dispenser could do with replacing.

There is a 7-Eleven nearby and also some street food stalls and a Shopping more about a kilometre walk away.

For a budget hotel it's clean and comfortable and in a good location, and I would have no problem staying here again or recommending it to someone who is looking for budget accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cherry Ann Aganan, General Manager at Red Planet Manila Bay
Responded Jan 13, 2023
Dear Jeffsreview, Thank you so much for such a detailed and wonderful feedback. I am glad that you had a comfortable stay and I am looking forward on your next visit with us. Regards and stay safe, Cherry Ann Aganan Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rosemariesenyora19 wrote a review Feb 2020
Bacoor, Philippines1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We will definitely go back here again, and probably with a longer stay! We especially liked the efficiency of the checking in and checking out process and the courteousness of the hotel staff. For the room, it is very clean and the flat screen TV installed made the viewing extraordinary. WiFi is very fast so this hotel is very much for those travelling for work or even with video bloggers. Though the hotel is situated right in the middle of a neighborhood, we didn't heard any noise from the outside and it is really safe and sound even when we got back to the hotel from our trip to Intramuros very late at night. There are also nearby establishments such as drugstore (for emergency purposes), restaurants, convenience store and etc. We would definitely go back here soon!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cherry Ann Aganan, General Manager at Red Planet Manila Bay
Responded Mar 1, 2020
Dear rosemariesenyora19, Warmest greetings from Red Planet Manila Bay! We thank you for staying with us, and we are grateful for sharing your feedback on your recent visit in our hotel. We truly appreciate your effort in giving your comments especially to our courteous and efficient staff. Sincerely we are very happy that our value for money amenities and services met your needs and expectations. Through your valuable feedback, we are confident that other guests will try and feel the Red Planet Hotel experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for another superb stay. Sincerely, Ratz Mateo Assistant Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marian C wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my husband originally booked this hotel back in April 2021. We had booked via the red planet app which have the option to pay upfront. The covid rules changed and travel for leisure was no longer accepted at the hotel. We called the hotel and asked for a refund or a travel
Voucher as we are regular users of all the red planet hotels.

We were told this was not possible. No refunds allowed. After emailing back and forth we finally got an extension on our booking where we could book a stay anytime up until Dec 31 2022.

Fast forward to now. We have rebooked another stay this time from March 1 -7 again through the red planet app direct. Our booking was accepted and confirmed.

My husband decided to ask if we could change the dates and move them earlier to February 27. When this question was asked our booking for March had already been confirmed for 3 months. The question was asked for what was the purpose of travel. My husband answered it was for business and leisure.

To our annoyance the hotel responded this was not allowed and that our booking needs to be cancelled AGAIN. Not only that we had to email their head office AGAIN to sort it out.

Had no one at the hotel thought to ask the question when we booked back in November??
We have still not availed of our original trip for 7 days which equates to 12,000php.

We also asked if it was possible to transfer the booking to one of the other red planet hotels that are accepting leisure travel such as Cebu.

Again the answer was no.

I have never ever dealt with a company so obtuse in their customer service. What should be a simple
Exercise has turned into a circus of emails and booking errors on the hotels part that is total incompetence.

It is such a shame because the hotels are lovely, and the staff otherwise helpful especially in the Cebu branch and we always used red planet because of their convenient location and value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid booking and paying in advance on their app. No refunds available.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cherry Ann Aganan, General Manager at Red Planet Manila Bay
Responded Feb 9, 2022
Dear Marian, Your feedback is very well appreciated, however, it seems that there was a misunderstanding on what you have stated. We are very much flexible in all our booking policy especially when Pandemic started since quarantine guidelines changes from time to time. Since your booking was paid and leisure travel was put on hold, we suggested for you to have a booking voucher that can be used in the future for all Red Planet properties here in the Philippines, in which you accepted it. Your request to amend your booking from March 1-7 to February 27, this was declined by Manila Bay since we are a quarantine hotel and not accepting leisure travel. At your end, you assumed that you are communicating with Red Planet Cebu through our Red Planet Chatline, that is why, we forwarded you to Cebu and your re-booking request was granted. An email from your husband was also received by our Reservation, and request was also granted. We do hope that this clears all your allegations and should there be any additional concerns, you may get in touch with us anytime. And always be reminded that we are still living with our commitment on flexible booking. Regards and stay safe, Cherry Ann Aganan Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
domingorene wrote a review Sep 2021
Laoag, Philippines1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Rating is limited to room accomodation only due to quarantine which is good in terms of cleanliness. Food is too much on meat, consider providing food menus/choices. Consider guest having foods to avoid.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cherry Ann Aganan, General Manager at Red Planet Manila Bay
Responded Sep 30, 2021
Dear domingorene, Thank you for choosing to stay at Red Planet Manila Bay and for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is our commitment to follow our government quarantine protocols, and we highly appreciate you for comprehending the guidelines. Your concern about the food is addressed and rest assured that this will be relayed to our partner meal provider for the betterment of service. Once again we thank you for your feedback as through this, we were able to know the things that we need to pay extra attention to. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Ratz Mateo Assistant Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Skeete wrote a review Mar 2023
London, United Kingdom221 contributions91 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I chose this hotel and location particularly for the Bay area and was not disappointed. The bay itself is exceptional and if staying here a Bayview room is essential for the most epic of sunset views if in the room at that time.

The room itself was great with all the amenities you would expect and western style plug options . Mini fridge included and a great desk option if like me you work on the go. The TV offering and channels are quite basic but truth be told I wasn’t there to watch to TV and just skimmed the channels a couple of times in the morning.

The location is around 20/30 minutes from the airport depending on traffic, I was lucky to avoid rush hours (1700-2000) which was insane.

There is another Red planet and that is closer to the ‘action’ and entertainment of the area but this one was perfectly situated for a little more peace and quiet. Overall I think the place offers great value for Money and I would happily stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Bay View Room Is A Must
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cherry Ann Aganan, General Manager at Red Planet Manila Bay
Responded Mar 17, 2023
Dear Skeetex3, Thank you for the 1 week stay with us and I am so delighted that you enjoyed it. Thank you also for all the compliments and I am looking forward on your future stays with us. Regards and stay safe, Cherry Ann Aganan Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ellery L wrote a review Nov 2022
Toronto, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This very affordable hotel (got discounted rates) is excellent for out-of-towners looking to have a base in the heart of Manila, located close to top tourist attractions as well as commercial establishments.

Overall the room was clean and had plenty of natural light; and I liked the generous space in the bathroom. Things that could be improved include: the AC unit needed cleaning or tuning-up (was not cooling to desired temp.); some lights were busted; the bed was too firm. It would have been most helpful if they had an iron & ironing board that I could borrow so I could press my clothes and prepare better for my event.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cherry Ann Aganan, General Manager at Red Planet Manila Bay
Responded Nov 30, 2022
Dear Ellery L, Thank you for the feedback and rating. Rest assured that all your concerns will be addressed accordingly. Regards and stay safe, Cherry Ann Aganan Hote Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marydf2006 wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Checking in was fast got in to my room in a couple of mins. my room is facing the manila bay which i really like.my room is clean bed is confi ,im happy they have strong wifi which help me enjoy my stay for 5 days quarantine. I was able to call my family and friends using messenger without any problem with the connections .food was great. Washroom was great .it has hot water which i really enjoy my shower , garbage was collected promptly. The most important thing why i rated the hotel excellent because its affordable. The best hotel to stay in and its pocket friendly. Its highly recommend for everyone not inly for those who have tight budget.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cherry Ann Aganan, General Manager at Red Planet Manila Bay
Responded Jan 20, 2022
Dear marydf2006, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was such a wonderful feeling that you enjoyed your quarantine stay in our property. Thank you also for all the compliments in all our amenities and services. Looking forward on your next visit. Regards and stay safe, Cherry Ann Aganan Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ismael D wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Frontdesk and staff were rude, food doesn't taste good, they are always unreachable. Every needs to be emailed or text. When you are requesting for food you need to pay it right away. Don't stay on this hotel. I am warning you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cherry Ann Aganan, General Manager at Red Planet Manila Bay
Responded Jan 13, 2022
Dear Ismaeld868, Your feedback is very much appreciated and It is sad to note that we did not meet your expectations. You may find our staff rude due to the strict implementation of the guidelines given to us by DOT and BOQ. In reaching the front desk, I believe that our App was discussed to you during check in, where you can call and chat us. You have not availed of the packed meal that was offered to you and opt to get the short menu meal in which this will be paid upon delivery. Rest assured that we continue to improve our services to all our guests. Regards and stay safe, Cherry Ann Aganan Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
00021MGL asked a question Jul 2022
Taguig City, Philippines
Can we bring food from outside?
Answer from Dazzler L
Yes it's available at a cost. Download the Red Planet App and ask the hotel directly the charges using their message service.
JanetDoe2323 asked a question Jan 2019
4 contributions1 helpful vote
How close/far away is this hotel from the US embassy?
Answer from Cherry Ann A
Hi Janet, we are just across US Embassy. Just a 5-minute walk.
G3N wrote a tip Feb 2024
Quezon City, Philippines19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own water bottle. Safe drinking hot/cold water available at the lobby."
Read full review
Skeete wrote a tip Jun 2023
London, United Kingdom221 contributions91 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a bay view room"
Read full review
Skeete wrote a tip Mar 2023
London, United Kingdom221 contributions91 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bay View Room Is A Must"
Read full review
Marian C wrote a tip Feb 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid booking and paying in advance on their app. No refunds available."
Read full review
Jamison G wrote a tip Aug 2019
Manila, Philippines16 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room with an ocean view..."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Manila area.
PRICE RANGE
₱1,861 - ₱2,617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PhilippinesLuzonMetro ManilaManilaErmita
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RED PLANET MANILA BAY - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Red Planet Manila Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Red Planet Manila Bay?
Nearby attractions include Manila Bay (1.0 km), Cultural Center of the Philippines (0.3 km), and Museo Pambata (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Planet Manila Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a business centre, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Red Planet Manila Bay?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Red Planet Manila Bay?
Yes, secured parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Planet Manila Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ippudo, G Point Smörgåsbord & Bar, and Emerald Garden.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Red Planet Manila Bay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Red Planet Manila Bay?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Santiago (2.2 km), Casa Manila (1.4 km), and Binondo (2.1 km).
Is Red Planet Manila Bay accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Manila HotelsManila Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Manila
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars