Crossroads Hostel Manila

Crossroads Hostel Manila

76 Mariveles Street Highway Hills, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1550 Philippines
Traveler (18)
Our lamps are for your personal reading time
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hostel in Mandaluyong
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Crossroads Hostel Manila is a renovated home to turn into a 30-bed, 6 room dormitory-style backpackers' hostel. It is located right at the heart of Metro Manila where the country's Capital is located. In terms of distance, the hostel can be fifteen minutes away from the international airport (Ninoy Aquino Int'l Airport) but because of usual traffic this can extend to 45 minutes depending on the day of your arrival. This gets longer during Christmas Season especially now when the government is building infrastructures to ease traffic years from now. The lime green hostel has a good size living room area, which serves as the reception area of newly checked-in guests. The dining area is connected to it and the kitchen is easily accessible at the end of the hallway. We offer free use of wifi Internet connection, lockers, and kitchen; Our bathrooms are divided into male and female sections and each section has two shower cubicles equipped with water heaters. Each bathrooms also contain two toilet cubicles with bidets. Each dormitory has pre-fabricated steel double-deck beds that have curtains for a more private rest. We have four rooms that can fit four travelers, while the two other rooms can fit six (6) and eight (8) travelers. All rooms have air-condition units and are sound proofed for a more comfortable sleep. It's a perfect hostel located in a business district at the heart of the metropolis.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Taxi service
Massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Salon
Concierge
Convenience store
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Iron
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino

Location

76 Mariveles Street Highway Hills, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1550 Philippines
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Ninoy Aquino Intl Airport
Shaw Boulevard
3 minManila Metro Rail
Boni
11 minManila Metro Rail
55Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 46
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Natalie Tan wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hands down the best hostel I have stayed at during my trip to the Phillipines. Clean, hospitable and professional. The owners were very considerate and understanding of my midnight check in and payment of lodging fees in the morning after a sleep. They were very easy to contact and communicated clearly and in a professional manner. Elsa was lovely and so was the man that helped me check out. Thank you crossroads!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emely T wrote a review Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hostel's room is clean and air conditioned.
The CR and bath room are regularly cleaned and with free shampoo ,shower gel and conditioner.
WIFI and breakfast are free.
The personnels are friendly ,approachable and accomodating.
I enjoy my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Next GoWhere wrote a review Apr 2024
Singapore, Singapore182 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the BEST hostel in Manila!
Best location
Best condition
Best breakfast
If i return to Manila, this will surely be my top choice
Before I booked, I chat with the staff, Kristoffer answered my questions and concern about checking in late, as their services closed by 11pm.
Kristoffer was very patient to answer me and assured me that proper procedure will be given to me.
Just 1 day before arrival, Kristoffer contacted me via whatsapp to give me the full instruction on how to get in the hostel.
I am so thankful to Krisoffer for his patience and guidance

Rooms 5.0
Service 5.0
Location 5.0
Hotel highlights: Quiet · Great value · High-tech
Rooms: Very neat, and nice and comfortable. You have a curtain to provide privacy for each bed
Nearby activities: Near to bargain shops, train stations and bus stops
Safety: Very safe environment
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RAG wrote a review Oct 2022
Cebu City, Philippines1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I can't express how disappointed I am for staying in this hostel.

lemme start with the reservtion, After the payment, they sent me a lot of emails and asking me to do a lot of things khit di pa nka check in, I understand that it's for security purposes. Okay lang nman sana, But I haven't checked in yet and they're already asking for government ID, vaccine card, fill out forms, etc.

Even 4 or 5 star hotel ONLY ask for basic info during reservation.
Paano if di ntuloy reservation ko? so nsa inyo na na details ko.
Naisip ko lng paano yung mga not that knowledgeable sa gadgets and online transactions ?

upon check in:
I provided a non government ID coz yun lng dala ko and they said it should be Government ID, then simangot after I said walang iba.
sa airport nga yun lang ginamit ko accepted nman,

During Breakfast-I asked ano po option for bfast, sabi ng staff, libre lng ksi yun kakainin niyo lng kung ano iseserve sa inyo. Na shock ako, ok lng yun pancake tama lng sa price, but how you respond to my question is something off.

There are 2 tables, so dun ako nkaupo sa isang table, instead dun sa kabilang table sinerve ng staff, sabi ko "ay bawal po dito" sbi ng staff
pwedi din nman dito .

I was like, seriously?! but I remained to be calm ksi I don't want to be a rude customer.

while I was in a shower-naliligo pa ako then inoff yung ilaw ..

to summarize, I felt like may utang na loob ako ksi 799 lng binayad ko.
Yun yung na feel ko sa stay ko.
staff doesn't even greet customers, prang whole stay ko i need to be careful ksi baka magalit yung staffs.

Except c ate sa foodbar, which is mabait and friendly.

I'm gonna leave this here.. definitely not coming back.
The price is right, but poor customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kristoffer Atienza, General Manager at Crossroads Hostel Manila
Responded Mar 21, 2023
First and foremost, allow me to express my thankfulness for checking-in at Crossroads. Second, I want to apologize for not getting back to you and provide feedback ttoyoru review. For your bad breakfast experience, I will address this situation. The manner by which you were answered needs more context but it should be addressed as how you were answered. As for now, the staff will be advised to be more careful and circumspect with their answers. For being told "bawal po dito" - the seat nearest the front desk should not be occupied for the convenience of the guest simply because there's a swinging door beside it and we don't want our guest to be inconvenienced by getting hit by it as staff come in and out of it. We have now applied a sign so that space won't be used. Then again, that's our context. We would like to know more what table this is exactly but it's okay if you can't remember because we replied late. Our explanation for now is for this context of providing more info first. As for the number of emails you received, the IDs asked for, and the 4-5 star hotels comparison - We cannot change this method because it is our principle to take care of customers immediately when they book. We want to provide guests all the details they need to get because it is miscommunication we want to avoid. You may not appreciate the emails and the unaccepted IDs but it is for the same reason that people appreciate the security and safety we provide all guests because of the information we provide beforehand and the ID that is required to check-in. As for the ID, we had a guest who checked-in using a PhilHealth ID who happened to be a fugitive as we learned in an uploaded TVPatrol news bit. The person provided a secondary ID and we don't accept it for the same reason that we won't accept an ID that could be faked and perhaps do damage against our guests. While the airlines accept those types of IDs, airlines are not the measure of security. For one, airline rides are temporary while your bags are secured in overhead bisn and under the plane. In hostels, you share a space with complete strangers and opportunities for thievery is greater in this situations than in airlines and hotels that provide solo spaces. There are reasons by which we asked IDs early because guests are usually tired from trips and submitting the IDs - as explained - is an option for guests, not a requirement. It is also for guests' advantage to get faster check-ins especially the government is asking us (all properties) to follow standard processing. Today, March 22, 2023 - the protocols have changed and check-in processes are much shorter. So in short to this item's concern, remember po you can never take security for granted, that communication is important to this hostel, and you have an option to submit your ID early or not. Salamat po. As for the lights being turned off wihle you were showering - we need more context unfortunately. It may not be our staff, it could be another guest turning it off - the one before you who thought they needed to be more responsible in turning off unused lights as it is in cases of hostels due to current limited resources as it claws its way back to financial sufficiency - but I assure you no staff will turn off lights to make guests upset. It is not to yours and our our advantage as you have complained here. Just the same, we are sorry you experienced this lights turning off. So unnie_rag, in conclusion, we are really sorry for how you felt you were treated and we will address the points you raised as there are also standards by which we do our business in terms of customer service. You raised points for us to remind our staff on how to conduct themselves in general to care more for customers and we will also look into where we can edit or add more information so check-in experience would be nicer and proper information be displayed to the advantage of guests. Despite my answer to your concerns in check-in procedures, we will still review it and improve it if necessary but please note we will still get proper IDs for the security of each guests. We hope you all the best as you do your activities and endeavors this 2023. Mabuhay po sila.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cherry d wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean. The place has a calming ambiance. Staff are friendly. Breakfast is good too. The location may be a little far from the main highway but it is still very strategic. The neighborhood is clean and peaceful. There are a lot of stores/convenience store and places to eat. It is also close to LRT station.

The food bar serves delicious food. The Ate serving there is very kind and sweet.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lovelypandesal wrote a review Oct 2022
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Crossroads hostel is a small suburban (!) hostel. If you want to have a place to escape the crowds, which is still accessible by public transport this is perfect! Keep in mind- It’s still a bit far away from the city. Staff is super friendly and helpful. They offer free breakfast every morning. Rooms are a bit small.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kristoffer Atienza, General Manager at Crossroads Hostel Manila
Responded Mar 21, 2023
Yeah, the rooms are a bit small. :( I think it was meant so that guests can talk more to each other. Just kidding po. We actually wish we have a bit bigger rooms but we learned from this experience. We will make bigger rooms in the future. Thank you for the reviews. Have a good 2023 ahead, Lovelypandesal.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kaw27 wrote a review May 2021
Brisbane, Australia600 contributions43 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From check in to check out this hostel gave me no problems. Location is walking distance to Shaw Blvd station. Lots of food choices nearby. Ate Elsa was very attentive. Shower and comfort rooms are clean. Bedsheets and towels provided smelled fresh. AC is in top shape. You will be given 2 keys one for the main front door and to your rooms. I can't find any cons in this hotel. I really had a pleasant 2 nights stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mathilde M wrote a review May 2022
Cork, Ireland26 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hostel was really nice, clean and all the amenities (shampoo, conditioner, soap) were provided.
The breakfast was simple but really good (the "walk-in" breakfast, more typical, seems awesome too).

But the real gem of this place is the owner. Chris was so nice with us and helped us create our trip plan for the Philippines. He gave personalised and detailed advices, very well thought.

I stayed only one night, but had a wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
noemietamp wrote a review Sep 2022
Cebu City, Philippines1 contribution
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
*Friendly and approachable staffs
*Room and Bunk beds are clean. There are cover sheets to give privacy
*shared female bathrooms and toilets are clean and maintained.
*nice to relax in their living room bc it was quiet.
*Near to convenience store, food stores, market and mall
*Walking distance to train

I stayed there for 3 nights. I enjoyed my stay there bc there were only few guests and I spend my 2 nights in my room alone. I will definitely come back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clarisse Marie M wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fluffiest pillow indeed! And mattress too! Well thought facilities and amazing staff. There's free coffee and tea that the guest can use anytime. Soap & shampoo provided there's even a slippers. But most of all security stands out you have your own keys for the room and gate. Stay amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Vanessa L wrote a tip Jul 2014
Rio de Janeiro, RJ2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I stayed for more than 30 days in Crossroads Hostel. The building is dated from 2012 and we can notice it, although its cleanliness is very well maintained by the staff. The Hostel is well-located close to supermarkets and public market where we can find fresh food. I really enjoyed my staying. The hostel staff and onwers provide a pleasant atmosphere. I stayed in the Yellow room. The bedroom was comfortable and without any noise. The laundry service is efficient and has good quality. I would like to commend the agility of the Hostel team to assist me on my needs. This team is able to provide you relevant information about the places to be visited in Manila. It is an affordable hostel and the services provided worth it. I would like to recommend it to all my friends and others who are planning to visit Manila."
Read full review
profzulueta wrote a tip Jul 2014
Bacolod, Philippines69 contributions172 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Online reservation for rooms is much lower than walk-in rates so I suggest you book online first. Rooms with 6 beds are much bigger so you have the whole room to yourself when their are no other guests."
Read full review
Ford W wrote a tip Sep 2013
Portland, Oregon, United States1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring bug spray?"
Read full review
Ni_a_M168 wrote a tip May 2013
Los Baños, Laguna, Philippines1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for the yellow room!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mandaluyong area.
PRICE RANGE
₱1,349 - ₱1,584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PhilippinesLuzonMetro ManilaMandaluyong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CROSSROADS HOSTEL MANILA - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Mandaluyong, Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Crossroads Hostel Manila
Which popular attractions are close to Crossroads Hostel Manila?
Nearby attractions include Shangri-La Plaza (0.4 km), Greenfield Weekend Market (0.3 km), and Trampoline Park - Zero Gravity Zone (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crossroads Hostel Manila?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and a concierge.
What food & drink options are available at Crossroads Hostel Manila?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Crossroads Hostel Manila?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crossroads Hostel Manila?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pool Bar: Oven, Fire Pit, Grill at Edsa Shangri-la, Manila, Kettle, and Boulangerie22 - Greenfield.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crossroads Hostel Manila?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Crossroads Hostel Manila?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Crossroads Hostel Manila?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bonifacio High Street (3.3 km), Fort San Antonio Abad (7.9 km), and Manila South Cemetery (3.7 km).
All Mandaluyong HotelsMandaluyong Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Mandaluyong
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars