Makati Shangri-La, Manila

Makati Shangri-La, Manila

Traveler (2491)
Room 2329
Room & Suite (1245)
Circles at the Makati Shangri-La Manila
Dining (355)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, Jun 1
Get rewarded with One Key
₱9,500
Fully refundable before Sat, Jun 1
Get rewarded with One Key
₱9,500
Fully refundable before Fri, May 31
₱9,530
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#24 of 123 hotels in Makati
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping, and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Aerobics
Kids stay free
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bowling offsite
Evening entertainment
Patio
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Filipino and 3 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Early and Save with Flexibility

Location

Ayala Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200 Philippines
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 97 out of 100
97
Ninoy Aquino Intl Airport
Ayala
9 minManila Metro Rail
Buendia
13 minManila Metro Rail
3,317Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,177
  • 781
  • 186
  • 84
  • 89
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dianna wrote a review Dec 2020
9 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have nothing but great experience with with my first stay at Makati Shangri-La. I’m glad that I’ve decided to have my birthday staycation here. It was indeed an amazing stay and all the staff were friendly and helpful with all my requests. From the inquiry, to booking (had several questions before I confirmed my reservation and they were all answered), to checking in and all the way to checking out. They even gave me a birthday cheesecake! How thoughtful! The breakfast buffet was also great. Proper distancing and safety protocols were strictly observed in the entire hotel. A negative antigen test result was required, and a checklist would need to be filled out for each day of your stay. The gym and pool were open but I didn’t use it. The toiletries (one of the things I’m looking forward to) were complete and soap, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion smell terrific! On my first night, they provided their own brand but on my second night they provided me L’Occitane which is one of my favorite brands! Branded toiletries are really a big deal for me! The view from my room is the Makati skyline which is just exactly what I wanted. Sure, some doors (lobby restroom) need to be repainted, faucets (bathroom) are old, and there’s this old hotel feel but still you can see that they’re maintaining their 5-star status.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Udo Wittich, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Responded Apr 10, 2024
Dear 'mdjtdv', Thank you for choosing Makati Shangri-La for your birthday staycation and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing stay and that our colleagues made your celebration special. It is delightful to know that you found our team to be friendly and helpful, from your initial inquiry to your check-out. We are pleased that you enjoyed the birthday cheesecake and that our breakfast buffet met your expectations. Your feedback on our safety protocols, complete toiletries, and the view from your room is greatly appreciated. We have noted your comments regarding areas that may need attention. Rest assured, we are continuously working to maintain our 5-star standards and enhance our guests' experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay at Makati Shangri-La. Warm regards, Udo Wittich, Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jcalvarez2015 wrote a review Feb 2020
Luzon, Philippines35 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel using booking.com and was able to secure a good rate. we got a horizon club king room to celebrate the valentine's day with my husband. but then, our plans changed and our 2 kids also joined us, one is 6 yo daughter and the other is 19 month old baby. Upon arrival and seeing us with 2 kids, the staff are very helpful with our luggage. Customer Service also explained everything in detail. When we arrived in our room, i was surprised to see some rose petals on the floor and near the bed, petals formed a heart shape. My daughter was very happy. We received a basket of welcome fruits and my kids enjoyed it. The room is spacious and clean. The minibar items are also ok. The kids loved it. Pool is nice. If you booked a club room, you can opt to have breakfast on the club lounge or circles cafe at the ground floor. Since I have kids and don't want to disturb the other guests, we had our breakfast at circles which is more busy and not that quiet. I was not able to go try the cocktails in the evening, so no reviews for that. If there's one thing I would like to improve on this hotel, it is the rest room. Toilet has no bidet. For a family travelling with kids, this is very important for me. And also personally, I would love it if they will install bidets on the toilets. But aside from that, everything is fine and nice. Overall, we had a very good stay in this hotel. Thank you Makati Shangrila for making our valentines celebration really special.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: book a horizon club . it's worth the money.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greg F, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Responded Feb 17, 2020
Dear jcalvarez2015, Creating heartwarming and memorable experiences with and for our guests is what we strive for at Makati Shangri-La, and I'm very glad to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. All thanks to our warm and dedicated team who always go the extra mile to delight our guests. It would definitely be our pleasure to welcome you back on your future staycations or celebrations. Until then, we look forward to seeing you and your family again. Best, Greg Findlay General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott M wrote a review Mar 2020
Singapore, Singapore950 contributions533 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I'd rate the service here as as good as anywhere in Asia.

If you pre arrange car service from and or to the airport it is very easy and worth the cost to do so.

All the staff you come across are incredibly warm and friendly.

Rooms are a good size.

Beds are comfortable and bathrooms are a good size.

The lobby restraunt has a great variety for a buffet breakfast, lunch or dinner and again better than a lot of places in Asia.

All in all no complaints and I'll be back.

Worth the additional cost to.get a club room.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greg F, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear 444Scott444, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad to know that you had a delightful stay and dining experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Best, Greg Findlay General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pinayfuzzions wrote a review Jan 2020
Honolulu, Hawaii885 contributions151 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Well for so many years I have been coming back to Makati Shangri-La and I think this will be my last. Next time, I will have try other hotels nearby instead.

Got picked up from the airport from their car service that we booked in advance, and that went well because the guest relations there at the airport was very polite. Arriving at the hotel was not such a great experience, there were no bellhops to help us and to get our luggages off the car, my husband had to get them out. The driver wasn't even keen on helping to get the luggages off the car? My opinion, he was just worried about getting his tips from us? What a disappointment.
At this point, I finally found a bellhop to take the luggages inside the hotel. I had literary look for a bellhop myself.

Upon entering the hotel no one even open the door for me, I had to open it myself. The door ladies were busy chatting about and joking around, my husband and I were ignored. The only helpful person we encountered was at the check in counter. I was a bit ticked off by then, but I needed to get some rest from our long flights and did not bothered with complaining them.

We finally got to our room on the 25th floor and checked out the Horizon Club. Only there that I felt treated better, that was the only friendly and very attentive staff and they even recognized me as an often/return guest.

Regardless of the status of your bookings and no matter who you are? Anyone that uses your facility should be equally treated with respect and gratitude. After all, we are there as a paying guests and for the services and much much more. When I travel, I would like to get pampered and treated well because I am paying for the service. Therefore it should be that.

I had a Birthday group at Circles and had the worst service there too. There were at least 15 of us to have the buffet for lunch. The waiters are just as lazy and doesn't want to be bothered. Not very attentive at all. I had to keep reminding someone else to get our waiter/waitress so we can get served properly? It's unacceptable. To tell you the truth, the first class service I was used to in Shangri-La is gone. I could have easily stayed somewhere else and get treated better.

The pool also was close until the end of the month. I was hoping to really enjoy and relax for a bit. Although I was offered to get shuttled to The Fort, it was just too much hassle to get bookings from hotel to another. Ugh! All in all I am very disappointed on my birthday at Shangri-La this year. It's not acceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greg F, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Responded Jan 20, 2020
Dear 374esped, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I would like to personally extend my apologies for your disappointing stay with us, as this is not the experience that we strive to deliver to our guests at Makati Shangri-La. Please be rest assured that your feedback has been use by the relevant teams here in the hotel for further training and I will ensure it is used to make improvements in the areas of arrival experience and restaurant service as you have mentioned. For the swimming pool, we were required to undertake urgent repairs to this area and did notify guests through relevant communication channels of this work. We do apologise for the inconvenience that this may have caused and we had offered the alternative of Shangri-La at the Fort swimming pool accordingly. The work at our pool is completed and it is now open for guest use. I would like to thank you for your loyalty to Shangri-La, as well as for sharing your comments with us. I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence upon your next visit to Makati Shangri-la and please feel free to contact me personally through Makati@shangri-la.com to make a booking for you. Kind Regards, Greg Findlay General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
badjark wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I decided to check into Makati-Shangrila for the new year. We expected to spend the countdown at the lobby where we could gather and have a few drinks. When we arrived at the hotel to check in, we were surprised to see the whole lobby covered from floor to ceiling by a black curtain. We asked where the countdown party would be and they told us it was at the lobby and we have to pay an entrance fee of 9,000++. We are a family of 13. Do u expect us to pay 100,000 for a party? In other hotels the countdown and wine was free for everyone who checked in. I cannot understand why they had to charge so much. We did not even have a single picture taken because there was no decoration, christmas tree or lights og any sort. We were very disappointed. Im sure that i was not the only one who was as I heard other families complaining at the reception. I am just curious, does shangrila do this every year, or is this the first time? Thank you very much.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greg F, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Dear Badjark, My sincerest apologies for your frustrating encounter on New Year’s Eve. The countdown party at the lobby lounge was in fact a premium event that offered a grand and exclusive experience to guests who availed. However, we did have another countdown party at Sage Bar as we do every year, where guests are welcome to celebrate new year’s eve with delectable offerings, refreshing drinks, and lively entertainment. And although this was published in our posters, letters, and online pages, our team should have been able to present all your options when you had asked. I am truly sorry to be informing you only after the occasion has passed and I hope that this was communicated better to you at the time. Moving forward, we will take this as a lesson and ensure that you and our future guests are always informed of our offerings and your alternative options just as well. I do hope that you could give us a chance to regain your confidence in us on your next visit. I wish you a blessed and fruitful new year. Thank you and kind regards, Greg Findlay General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Noe P wrote a review Dec 2019
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First of I would give a 0 rating if it was an option. We stayed here on the 31st Dec 2019 to celebrate and bring in the New Year together as a family. On this night there was also an exclusive event in which it was covered around with this black curtain in the middle of the lobby to prohibit the guest from seeing what was inside.

Tickets for the event were 9,800 pesos per person which is quite steep and excessive in general taking into consideration the New Year’s Eve room rate of 11,500 per night stay in which we also had booked 4 rooms.

We just wished that we were able to watch and celebrate something within the hotel facility for a reasonable price or at least the hotel would initiate and open the black UGLY curtain which prohibited the guest from seeing what’s inside and charge for dinner instead.

Therefore we ended up having to find other alternatives to bring in the New Year which other hotel guest ended up doing as-well.

The check-in process was also extremely slow along with the concierge/porters were so un-organized as I had to take my luggage up myself after I had already checked in waiting half an hour after.

Just Not That Good Enough and Never Will We Ever Stay Here Again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greg F, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Dear onlyneo, I’m very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience last new year’s eve. The countdown party at the lobby lounge was in fact a premium event that offered a grand and exclusive experience to guests who availed. However, we did have another countdown party at Sage Bar as we do every year, where guests are welcome to celebrate new year’s eve with delectable offerings, refreshing drinks, and lively entertainment. And although this was published in our posters, letters, and online pages, our team should have been able to present all your options when you had asked. I am truly sorry to be informing you only after the occasion has passed and I hope that this was communicated better to you at the time. Regarding check-in, I also sincerely apologize on behalf of our whole team. This is not the kind of experience that we strive to deliver here at Makati Shangri-La, and the holiday rush should not be an excuse for service that's short of excellent. On a lighter note, I am pleased to inform that we continuously try to find solutions and innovations to improve our services, such as the mobile check-in and check-out features of our Shangri-La app, where guests can now enjoy fast and seamless check-in and check-out. Nevertheless, I’d like to thank you for sharing your feedback and please rest assured that we will definitely take this up with our team as we work on further improvements on both our services and facilities. We do hope that you could give us a chance to regain your confidence in us and look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels and celebrations. I wish you a blessed and fruitful new year. Thank you and kind regards, Greg Findlay General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Francis Y wrote a review Feb 2020
Makati, Philippines53 contributions45 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my wife have always had this friendly war game between the Makati Shangri La and the other hotel across the street. Her family has always been team Shang, while my family has always been with the opposition. Needless to stay we have stayed in both hotels for quite a number of times now and had our fair share of milestones in both hotels. I propsed here, we had our wedding reception at the other, my Mother In Law celebrates her birthday here yearly, we have our yearly Christmas Midnight meal at the other, my Mom celebrated her previous birthday at Sage, I had my birthday a couple of years back at Salon de Ning.

Let me be clear that I don’t hate this hotel, I actually like it. I also like and have stayed in their other properties like Edsa Shang, Shang Fort, Kowloon Shang, Shang Sydney and this Oct, we will try Shang Boracay. It’s just that I like the other hotel more. 😉

That being said, I also assure you that what I am going to write has no bias, just my personal opinion about how the hotel can improve.

I honestly think that it’s time to renovate the rooms (hallways to the rooms too). Maybe it was part of the plan for a long time but Shang Boracay and Fort came about that may have held up the renovation, but now that those are done, time to give the rooms some love. The light wood, the curved walls, toilet fixtures, closet doors (including all closet hardware), room lighting, drapery, everytging in the room screams 90s. Its like hopping into a time machine.

Service has always been great in all our stays and in all outlets in the hotel that we have visited. Heck, the guys at Sage managed to whip up my Moms 70th birthday the night before the event! They saved us after our original venue in BGC screwed us up big time.

A few nights ago we stayed at the Makati Shang and ordered room service for dinner. We have always had good food in the past but this time was a complete 180. Ordered Singang na Baboy, Crispy Pata and Pancit Bihon. The sinigang tasted awfully bland. The Crispy Patas flavor was only on the skin, the meat was tasteless. The Pancit was good, though compared to before, the serving is now waaaay too small. The Sinigang was replaced though as we told the waiter that it was bland. Didn’t comment on the other dishes anymore as we didn’t want to come off as being too whiny.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greg F, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Dear mr_yamagooch, Firstly, allow me to thank you for taking the time to share your honest and detailed feedback. It is also an honor to have been part of some of your family's milestones and celebrations. As for our rooms and hallways, renovation plans are indeed in the works, and we look forward to opening our doors into our refurbished rooms and facilities for you and our future guests to experience. As for your Mom's 70th birthday celebration, know that it is our pleasure to be of great service to you. Our team strives to be as helpful and flexible to accommodate our guests' needs and preferences, and I'm glad to know that your last-minute event was a success. Regarding room service, I'd like to thank you again for bringing this to my attention. Please allow me to share this with our culinary team so that we may reassess our menus and recipes accordingly. Nonetheless, as our guests' comfort and satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, we are always happy to make necessary adjustments promptly upon request. I do hope that you had a delightful overall experience with us during your stay. Until your next visit, we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you and kind regards, Greg Findlay General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edelyn wrote a review Feb 2020
Manila, Philippines7 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Super DISCRIMINATING the guards at the lobby entrance !!
every time I go there the guard will asked me “which room number “what’s the name of the guest!?
Wtf. I told them I’m the guest I wanna have dinner or drinks there! I’m not going to pick up foreigners there!
I’ve been coming there for over 4 years I even have golden circle card ! You can ask my name at the sage bar that I’m their regular guest there ! I paid my drinks and food ! I even bring some of my friends or my dates to their place! I recommended this place to many peoples already!! Business people actually! My ex bf colleagues! I brought I a lot of people in this place !

Just like last night I just came from the gym at raffles residences . My friend that who own one of the unit in raffles told me to drop by in sage bar so I was still wearing my gym attire and really tired and hungry I wanna eat and drinks but then the guard again stop me and asked me which room number and guest!? I said no I’m the guest I’m going to see my friends and I will have dinner she said I can’t go inside unless I have guest with me that staying in this hotel! I said I have a friend that already there, they asked for the proof but the. My phone was dead batt I told them if I can just charge my phone at the concierge for 1min I’ll show it to you but then they said no your not allowed to charge your phone the pushes me away telling me to wait my friend at the outside, I told them how will she know I’m here if I can’t message them or you go to sage bar and look for my friend tell her pick me up outside they said they cannot do it . They say it’s my problem, and if I want to eat I’ll go eat somewhere else! Wtf!? Seriously!? So then I’m really mad ! I kept myself calm but everyone outside looking at me I felt embarrassed and I felt like I’m worst than having a virus! Super discriminating!
So I had no choice I decided to go Starbucks nearby and charge my phone and Called my friend to pick me up outside! She’s really mad too asking the guard why they did that to me and what’s the reason and they are still rude they ddnt give her answer and ddnt even talk to her!!

PS: to all the people specially woman! If ever you will come this hotel by yourself and want to have dinner or drinks by yourself please defend yourselves for these people who work at this hotel!

Don’t let them disrespect you specially your a woman!

The guard are men’s! Disrespect me as a woman ! Being rude and DISCRIMINATING PEOPLE!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greg F, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Dear Edelyn25, Firstly, my sincerest apologies for this unfavorable experience that you have encountered. While safety and security is one of our top priorities, we strive to ensure that security measures are practiced professionally and impartially. That being said, allow me to thank you for bringing this to my attention, and assure you that we will look into this case so that we may address it promptly and properly. Again, we’re very sorry for this frustrating experience, and we hope to regain your delight in Makati Shangri-La on your next visit. Thank you and kind regards, Greg Findlay General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geraldo wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This review is coming in not even 2 hours inside our room. The lobby is nice. The service are all nice. When we got inside our room, the first impression was it looks like an old hotel. This is absolutely okay for me. The first thing I do upon check-in is to connect my HDMI cable and adapter to my iPhone so me & my wife can enjoy Netflix while in bed. This is where the problem starts. The TV is very old too... 😭

The TV barely works with the HDMI cable and adapter... 😭

It took like a good 15 or so minutes before it worked again. I got so frustrated that I called the Reception and asked if they have a newer TV. I informed them that connecting HDMI cable + adapter to iPhone to Hotel TVs are such a common thing and for a hotel which is quite ridiculously priced, I cannot believe it!

If you don’t do what I do with the Hotel TV, then Makati Shang is ok. You pay for the location, the breakfast, and the swimming pool. It was also nice that they allowed us to check in at 12nn and check out at 6pm the next day. Now that’s very generous. But considering the price, it should be expected.

The Rapid-Antigen Test was done in less than 10 minutes including the results.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you’re looking for a good room more than the location, choose Manila Peninsula.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Udo Wittich, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Responded Apr 10, 2024
Dear 'geraldosiocs', Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the TV in your room. Your comments are invaluable to us as they help us identify areas for improvement. We understand the importance of modern amenities and strive to provide a comfortable experience for all our guests. Please be assured that we are taking immediate steps to address the issue with the TV connectivity in your room to ensure that future guests do not encounter similar challenges. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our convenient check-in and check-out options, as well as our rapid antigen testing service. Your kind words regarding our lobby, service, and facilities are greatly appreciated. We trust in the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an enhanced experience that meets and exceeds your expectations. Warm regards, Udo Wittich, Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Naiel wrote a review Jan 2021
30 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I want to say it is tough for the hotel industry because of COVID and Makati Shangri-La is still first class as always. I would like to personally thank Charmain front office manager that goes above and beyond to make sure my stay is smooth and making sure if I need anything she is available she is Super professional. Also I want to thank I hope I spell this right Ian and Mariel they were so nice upon check in. The safety protocols upon entry you must do an antigen test before checking in which you can do right at the hotel your results are given in 5 minutes. Check in of course was super smooth I stayed in the deluxe suite super clean and sanitized you feel really at home. During COVID it is scary staying in a hotel but I can assure you makati Shangri-La is safe and very comfortable and honors the standard of the brand. I hope this helps. Any questions I will be happy to answer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Udo Wittich, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Responded Apr 10, 2024
Dear 'naielm', Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Makati Shangri-La. We are delighted to hear that our team, led by Front Office Manager Charmaine, provided exceptional service and made sure your stay was smooth and comfortable. We appreciate your kind words about Ian and Mariel, who were also instrumental in ensuring your check-in experience was seamless. We are glad to hear that our safety protocols, including the antigen test upon entry, provided you with a sense of security during these challenging times. We take our guests' safety seriously and are committed to upholding the highest standards of cleanliness and sanitation. We are thrilled to hear that your deluxe suite was clean and comfortable, and that you felt at home during your stay. We strive to create a welcoming and safe environment for all our guests, and we are pleased to know that we were able to achieve that for you. Thank you for choosing Makati Shangri-La for your stay, and looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Udo Wittich, Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard H asked a question Apr 2024
Carluke, United Kingdom172 contributions120 helpful votes
Are there steps to get into the pool, or are there only ladders? Thanks in advance.
Amor G asked a question Sep 2023
Philippines2 contributions1 helpful vote
Do they allow kids in the club lounge?
Answer from Mita P
Apparently they dont provide it
Kathleen Villar asked a question May 2019
Luzon, Philippines31 contributions29 helpful votes
How much is the usual deposit?
Answer from XtnF168
Cebu City, Philippines5 contributions1 helpful vote
The last time we checked in, they required a 10K deposit.
sexy888 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Philippines190 contributions136 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel lobby lounge has unhelpful attendants. "
Read full review
pduffy wrote a tip Mar 2024
Brisbane, Australia2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"I’m sure there’s nicer hotels in Manila"
Read full review
Travel25346533585 wrote a tip Mar 2024
893 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best Hotel in Makati/Manila"
Read full review
Aruba1204 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Oxford, Connecticut277 contributions77 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Peninsula across the street offers superior dining."
Read full review
Desiree Inez R wrote a tip Mar 2024
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sign up for Shangrila membership to enjoy special perks."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Makati area.
PRICE RANGE
₱9,421 - ₱11,617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
makati shangri-la manila hotel makati, shangri la manila makati, shangri la makati, shangrila makati, makati shangri la hotel
LOCATION
PhilippinesLuzonMetro ManilaMakati
NUMBER OF ROOMS
696
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAKATI SHANGRI-LA, MANILA - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Which popular attractions are close to Makati Shangri-La, Manila?
Nearby attractions include Greenbelt Chapel (0.3 km), Greenbelt Mall (0.3 km), and Greenbelt Park (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Makati Shangri-La, Manila?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Makati Shangri-La, Manila?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Makati Shangri-La, Manila?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Makati Shangri-La, Manila?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Makati Shangri-La, Manila?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe 1228, Circles Event Cafe, and Shang Palace.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Makati Shangri-La, Manila?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Makati Shangri-La, Manila have airport transportation?
Yes, Makati Shangri-La, Manila offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Makati Shangri-La, Manila?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Makati Shangri-La, Manila offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Makati Shangri-La, Manila?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Chinese, Japanese, Thai, and Filipino.
All Makati HotelsMakati Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Makati
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars