We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sama Heights Resort & Spa

Save
Share
Jabal Shams, Nizwa 611 Oman
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (401)
Room & Suite (113)
Dining (24)

About

#8 of 23 hotels in Nizwa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sama Heights Resort is located on Al Hajar mountain region in Northeastern Oman which is highest peak in Gulf region. Jabal Shams offers cool weather throughout the year. If you are tired of GCC hot weather, Jabal Shams is the right place for you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Coffee shop
Hiking
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Arabic, Hindi, Urdu
243Reviews5Q+A34Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 51
  • 104
  • 60
  • 17
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
natuur76 wrote a review Jul 2022
Den Hoorn, The Netherlands48 contributions47 helpful votes
This was a nice place to stay. In the mountains nearby the balkony walk. The cabin we had was oké. Nice bed and a lovely terras. There was a fridge. We loved our stay there. The room (cabin) of the boys was not so good. There was no window, just a hatch. The hole are was mixed with great maintanance and damaged things. The food was fine. The people in the restaurant where very friendly and the service was good. We had no house keeping, had to ask for clean towles (we stayed for 3 nights) and toiletpaper. Allthough there where points of improvement we had a great stay due to the people working there and the beautiful environment.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Clement CH wrote a review Apr 2022
Lausanne, Switzerland399 contributions123 helpful votes
After the long hike we arrived there and spent a fantastic afternoon and evening. The staff welcomed us really nicely and helped us with the luggage. The food was local and beautiful and tasty. After dinner we had a camp fire set up for a small fee and that was conducive of discussions with other guests and guides. Fantastic evening under the stars. The Mountain View houses themselves were really nice, clean and welcoming. A must stop !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Smita B wrote a review Apr 2022
Mumbai, India35 contributions
+1
An awesome property which was largely empty when we went so we got upgraded. We stayed at the Mountain View Bungalow. The food was awesome too. All service was polite, attentive, and with a smile. The Wadi Ghul (Oman's grand canyon) balcony walk starts 13 min away (by drive). There is another small Sama property (Al Khutaim, 2 rooms, being extended) next to the starting point of the balcony walk. You can consider staying there as well.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Choose the Mountain View Bungalow if you can. Do the Wadi Ghul hike in the afternoon when the sun...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
totuccio83 wrote a review Mar 2022
Verona, Italia266 contributions160 helpful votes
A lovely place, very well integrated into the surrounding landscape. The room (we had one of those elevated houses) was beautiful, and the patio from whom enjoying the panorama was lovely. The dinner and the breakfast were terrific and the staff was awesome.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jan46 wrote a review Mar 2022
England54 contributions72 helpful votes
We were upgraded to a four-poster room which was very kind of the management… but still wasn’t a great place to stay. The dark stone walls felt like a prison cell and it just didn’t feel like a relaxing hotel at all. The dinner was ok but nothing special. If you’re thinking of using this hotel because you want to go trekking in the canyon area there’s probably a good reason to choose it. But otherwise, if you just want to experience the mountain views and the canyon, we would suggest going to the Green Mountains ( Jebel Akhtar) and forgetting about the Jebel Shams trip. Or just drive up from Nizwa on a day trip ( it’s about 90 mins from Nizwa). Honestly, it’s just a rocky canyon like many you’ll have seen, and we didn’t really think it deserved a special trip.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hanan A wrote a review Jan 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates8 contributions1 helpful vote
Terrible, not worth the price! I’d recommend people to avoid this place! The reception looks welcome but the rooms are a trap! My advice If you ever come through, request to see the rooms before book! Or you’ll be shocked with what you get! It’s minimize 2 star to be fair.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LifelongExpat wrote a review Dec 2021
Shanghai, China320 contributions112 helpful votes
for the price we paid, there are far better quality options on Jebel Akhdar, or much more price / value hotels in the nearby vicinity of Sama Heights - will not stay again there just a few points : - dinner buffet was not refilled sufficiently and no live cooking - breakfast had an egg station but only limited cold / fruit options - room hot water was not working as boiler was not connected - free water in the room was only small 200ml bottles with the next store 20km away - no internet, coffee making faclity - strong point smell in the room and not alternative - only 1 towle per person - no shelving or cupboard in the room - TV did not work - fire wood was grossly overprices for the price of the room on the positive side: - nice overall ensemble - friendly staff
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jörg Fischer wrote a review Nov 2021
Berlin, Germany382 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
Wow, what an amazing place to stay. We have had a Mountainview bungalow. It was realy nice. The stuff if very supportive, the dinner and breakfast was realy good as well. It is close to the Balcony Walk. Behind the bungalow the are some stairs to go on the like hill where you can watch an amazing sundown.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marlene Dsouza, Sales at Sama Heights Resort & Spa
Responded 11 Dec 2021
Greetings 606j_rgf, Thank you very much for your kind review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed the food, the views, the service of our team at the property.
Read more
AD1 wrote a review Apr 2021
8 contributions2 helpful votes
Friendly staff who ensure that you settle in easily. Your luggage is taken to your room promptly. Our tent like rooms were clean and we felt that all precautions had been taken to sanitize the rooms properly prior to our arrival. There is neither a fridge nor a kettle in tents.The staff was always available to meet our requests and needs. The breakfast and dinner was tasty and served to our eating requirements. Pity that there is no pool. If you enjoy easy walks or more challenging hikes, then I would recommend this place. Good value for money. The chalets have a fridge and kettle.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The chalets are private and have a balcony, fridge and kettle.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marlene Dsouza, Sales at Sama Heights Resort & Spa
Responded 5 Apr 2021
Greetings 40tr, Thank you very much for your kind review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed the food, the views, the service of our team at the property. We unfortunately do not have fridge nor Tea/Coffee station in our Standard Room and Sultan tent. However we do have them at our Mountain View Room and Grand Chalet. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again! Regards, Marlene
Read more
luvtotravel2006 wrote a review Dec 2020
Houston333 contributions224 helpful votes
Having been here before during the summer we thought we’d try a winter visit. They have a new reception hall in the middle of the complex. Our Omantel phone had 4g throughout the stay which wasn’t the case the last time we visited. So I think reception has improved. But still No WiFi at the complex. Buffet for dinner and breakfast if there’s enough guests. But I felt a bit weary during these coronavirus times as there were a lot of unmasked guests getting food which is self service in the buffet line. No 4 wheel drive is needed to get there and about. Heaters in room worked nicely. Some folks had fires outside their tents at night. Staff was friendly but they didn’t have the extra beds we had booked at check in. Kids playground needs maintenance. A lot of broken equipment so monitor your kids.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marlene Dsouza, Sales at Sama Heights Resort & Spa
Responded 23 Feb 2021
Greetings luvtotravel2006, We are delighted to have you as a regular guest at SAMA Heights Resort. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Best regards, Marlene
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
OmanAd-Dakhiliyah GovernorateNizwa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sama Heights Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Sama Heights Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Jebel Shams (1.6 km) and Wadi Ghul - Oman's Grand Canyon (1.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sama Heights Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, breakfast buffet, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Sama Heights Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Sama Heights Resort & Spa?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sama Heights Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, Arabic, and Urdu.
Are there any historical sites close to Sama Heights Resort & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Misfat al Abreyeen (14.8 km).
Does Sama Heights Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.