Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991 Malaysia
Rusting table frame
Traveler (1451)
Panorama at the Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
360
Panoramas (16)
Bathroom
Room & Suite (652)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#9 of 118 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Full body massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Doorperson
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Marina View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Indonesian, Malay

Location

Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991 Malaysia
2,649Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,287
  • 918
  • 280
  • 101
  • 63
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
junara wrote a review Jan 2020
Singapore, Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel charges a premium compare to other properties in the area which offer the same good location, access to restaurants, shopping and sights. Our experience was a little impersonal. Staff, though mostly helpful and polite, could be short on warmth. The front staff are plentiful but check-in/ check-out is a slow manual process as there are IDs to scan and deposits and refunds for foreigners. The queues do build up and takes time.

The room is very spacious, but the windows face a blank wall. The fittings, though of good quality, are showing age and wear. The room and bath is separated by a sliding door/ wall, which makes the room feel larger but the sliding doors can be cumbersome.

The hotel offers many amenities, such as restaurants, gym and pool. We did not utilise the first two, but the pool is quite small and near a main road on the ground floor. Personally, the premium while gives small perks expected of the brand, does not give much value in this city.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HRKinabalu, Marketing Communications Assistant Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Responded Feb 4, 2020
Dear junara, Thank you so much for the very thorough review regarding your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu. Your thorough review will be very helpful to assist our potential guest with future insights of our hotel. Here at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, all of our staff believe nothing but to deliver the best personalized hospitality and services to our guests during their stay. Being the town’s first 5-star international hotel for almost 40 years, we are constantly upgrading the property to keep up with trends. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you had experienced during your stay. I have already informed the respective managers in charge regarding this issue for our further action. We hope to see you on your next visit and ensure that you have better quality and services with us. Yours Sincerely, Ervina Masduki Marketing Communications Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
M.Golightly wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent two nights in KK and decided to stay at a Hyatt hotel because we expected that it would be to a particular standard, sadly the standard here is not a Hyatt standard.

Location might be good because it is sea front but the whole complex really needs a good clean up and staff needs retraining. The hotel is very old and tatty. Chairs in the dining area badly need cleaning to get rid of stains. Wooden chipped chairs needs to be replaced badly. The airconditioner is not regulated and expect to wear something warm when you have breakfast. Staff enjoy chatting as well and are not customer focused. One staff even wore a surgical glove while serving which is a bit too much in the dining area. We were there for breakfast not lobotomy.

The bedrooms are clean but they are stuck in the 70s and 80s. The reception area is very bland and the swimming pool is rather small.

If we have known the derelict state of this Hyatt hotel we would have stayed somewhere else that is newer and fresher within KK. Not a 5 star hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HRKinabalu, Marketing Communications Assistant Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Dear mykee_gwapa, Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Kinabalu as host for your vacation and for taking the time to share with us your helpful review. First and foremost, please accept our must sincere apologies for the inconvenience we have caused you, we appreciate the time you have taken in sharing the comments of your recent stay. Being the town’s first 5-star international hotel for almost 40 years, we are constantly upgrading the property to keep up with trends. Your feedback has been shared with our Leadership Committee as a valuable contribution for improvement and reinforcement to achieve our commitment to our guests. Please know that your comment as our valued guest is very important for us to improve our service and facilities. We genuinely hope this incident does not diminish your preference and have the opportunity of welcome you again to showcase our improvements and erase this bad lasting taste. Yours Sincerely, Ervina Masduki Marketing Communications Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NishaPrichard wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an excellent stay and really enjoyed ourselves. We felt relaxed from the moment we entered, The hotel facilities were of a very high quality. The room was large and very comfortable. Reception staff were so helpful and friendly
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HRKinabalu, Marketing Communications Assistant Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Responded Jun 3, 2020
Dear NishaPrichard, Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Kinabalu as host for your vacation, but specially for taking the time to share with us your 5 stars review. I am glad to know that our facilities meet up your expectation as well as the services provided by our staffs has consistently fulfilled your expectation. It brings joy to me knowing that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu. We greatly wish to see you again in Hyatt Regency Kinabalu on your next trip to the land below the wind. Until we meet again. Yours Sincerely, Ervina Masduki Marketing Communications Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mihir_tx wrote a review Jan 2020
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hyatt is a good family-friendly hotel in the center of town with great access to the local markets and streetfood! Excellent value for money with comfortable rooms, good staff and terrific food! On appearance, the hotel may look a bit tired as the building is obviously pretty old, but most of the interior of the hotel has undergone a complete renovation.

The Food in the hotel is Excellent! The buffets (breakfast & dinner) are spectacular in terms of quality and variety. The staff in the dining area are warm and helpful and the chefs take great pride in their work and strive for perfection! We actually found that the quality of the food in the hotel (even room service) was often better than what we found outside! ….if you know anything about how good Malaysian street food is, you will know that this statement is indeed very high praise!

The staff were friendly, diligent and hardworking people. Special mentions go to Shah, the enthusiastic young concierge who went out of his way to research tours and things to do for our family, and the General Manager, who stepped in to personally make sure that expectations are being met.

The pool was a bit small and service at the poolbar is virtually nonexistent. The reception staff need retraining in hospitality and customer service. The Japanese restaurant is a waste of time, as the food was mediocre and terribly overpriced. But despite some disappointments we can still highly recommend this hotel as a great place for families.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HRKinabalu, Marketing Communications Assistant Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Dear Mihir_tx, Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Kinabalu and taking your time to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. I am glad to know that our facilities meet up your expectation as well as the services provided by our staffs has consistently fulfilled your expectation. I am very happy that our staffs were able to deliver the best experience for you during your stay here. I am thrilled to know that my associates, especially the ones mentioned, provided excellent service throughout your stay at the hotel. It brings joy to me knowing that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu. We greatly wish to see you again in Hyatt Regency Kinabalu on your next trip to the land below the wind. Until we meet again. Yours Sincerely, Ervina Masduki Marketing Communications Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
clintonlovell wrote a review Jul 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
July 2020, difficult times to be travelling but we really enjoyed our family visit to Hyatt Regency KK. Not the newest hotel on the block but in very good shape and location is super. Hyatt Regency KK offered a fantastic deal during this period, we had a large well appointed room with an unobstructed sea-view. Modifications to accommodate social distancing were well executed throughout without being silly about it including a great table service breakfast. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Responded Aug 4, 2020
Dear Clinton L, Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Kinabalu to host your stay and giving us a wonderful review. It’s great indeed to know that you generally enjoyed every bit throughout your stay as we here always keep to our promises in providing first-class hospitality and services to all our guests. We greatly wish to see you again in Hyatt Regency Kinabalu on your next trip to the land below the wind. Until we meet again. Yours Sincerely, Ervina Masduki Marketing Communications Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alshane wrote a review Apr 2022
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chanced upon the e-vouchers and got the rooms at a discounted price. A night in the sea view room with breakfast was RM308, while a night in the same room without breakfast was RM258. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay, the room is well-maintained with many thoughtful touches, such as a hanging rack outside the bathroom. The room is spacious and we slept well on both nights. We also enjoyed using the swimming pool and fitness center facilities. Overall it was good value for the price we paid for. It was a good stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BTLim wrote a review Oct 2022
Penang Island, Malaysia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It might be aging but don't be put off by the dated exterior looking . This hotel is well maintained , not only the hardware but the people, the impeccable and friendly service.
Check in was smooth and pleasant, we were invited to join the hotel's loyalty program and were given complimentary ice cream voucher to be redeemed at the cafe.
Our room , facing the sea , perfect for unobstructed sunset view, big room with a working desk . The shower and toilet are separated, an old design , can be a bit inconvenience. Immediately after entering the room, we received a call asking about whether we are satisfied about our room.
The pool is just outside the breakfast room on the first floor with perfect sea view and perfect place to have a drink while enjoying the sunset view.
Breakfast is sumptuous, lots of varieties, freshly brewed coffee from espresso machine, and the smiling faces of the staff that will make your day.
Ideal location with the seafront just across the road and within minutes walk to the famous Gaya Street where you can find the night market as well as all the famous eateries.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Sea view room , quiet room,
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nataliegoi wrote a review Jun 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel facilities were good. The buffet were decent.
Swimming pool is open from 7AM to 8PM while Gym is open from 7AM to 10PM.
Staffs were friendly and helpful. They were quick to deliver requests.
Disclaimer: The rooms seems to be more suitable for married couples or close friends. The toilet/bathroom has 2 access with no locking mechanism, shower room and toilet are separated by translucent glass door also with no locoking mechanism.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
godfreyy162 wrote a review Jan 2020
Toronto, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stay there with my family for business and leisure which is the best place to stay and have my meals. The staffs at this hotel are very friendly and helpful. This hotel is an excellent location as it is in the centre of the city which is easily accessible to to all the main attractions. The food at the cafe restaurant was excellent and portions are very generous especially the OX Assam pandas dish.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HRKinabalu, Marketing Communications Assistant Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Responded Feb 4, 2020
Dear godfreyy162, Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Kinabalu as host for your vacation, but specially for taking the time to share with us your 5 stars review. Here at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, all of our staff believe nothing but to deliver the best personalized hospitality and services to our guests during their stay. Our strategic location in the heart of downtown Kota Kinabalu has always been the plus point for both business & leisure traveller, with many agreed we are blessed with one of the best spots in town for sunset moments on the South China Sea. Having been awarded as the best buffet restaurant in town, Tanjung Ria Kitchen offers nothing but best food, whether in taste, quality, and hygiene standard, one of our signature dishes – oxtail assam pedas is easily the best and well known around Malaysia! Having been awarded as the best buffet restaurant in town, Tanjung Ria Kitchen offers nothing but best food, whether in taste, quality, and hygiene standard, one of our signature dishes – oxtail assam pedas is easily the best and well known around Malaysia! Yours Sincerely, Ervina Masduki Marketing Communications Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
miem31990 wrote a review Feb 2020
delaware
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I spent one night at Hyatt Kota Kinabalu for our honeymoon. We were in transit to Sandakan for a river safari, so it was helpful to spend one night in the city before flying out on an early morning flight. The hotel was decent and met our needs, but not the standard of other Hyatt properties. For the price, we were expecting more of a 5-star service. The location is good, about 20 mins from the airport and a 5-10 minute drive from downtown restaurants. The room was clean but the bathroom fixtures needed an update. Overall, no major complaints, but not the quality of other Hyatt properties worldwide.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HRKinabalu, Marketing Communications Assistant Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Responded Jun 3, 2020
Dear miem31990, Thank you very much for spending your time to give us a review regarding your stay at our hotel. I hope it is not too late to wish you guys a very Happy Honeymoon! I agree that we offer the best in terms of location, convenient for business traveller to venture out into the city as we are located near to malls, restaurants and island jetty. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you had experienced during your stay. I have already informed the respective managers in charge regarding this issue for our further action. We hope to see you on your next visit and ensure that you have better quality and services with us. Yours Sincerely, Ervina Masduki Marketing Communications Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MichelleYiewsley asked a question Oct 2023
7 contributions2 helpful votes
Does the hotel supply hair dryers
Answer from Afelda G
1 contribution
Yes
Answer from Nurulhusna M
Ampang, Malaysia12 contributions2 helpful votes
Easy to get transport around hotel. yes! walking distance to nearby eatery
Answer from Ruaidah I
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia39 contributions69 helpful votes
3pm check-in and 12 noon check-out
Answer from GIMLOO
Singapore, Singapore32 contributions4 helpful votes
At kk city , a boat ride from jesselton point to sapi island with a return ticket rate priced around rm35 for adult . If from sutera harbour marina jetty, rm50 for adult. Both terminals first trip 8.30am . Final boat departs 5.00pm.
Eminent_One wrote a tip May 2024
Great Malvern, United Kingdom30 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a sea view room."
Read full review
Phil W wrote a tip May 2024
Dubai, United Arab Emirates117 contributions83 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose Meridien or Marriot."
Read full review
Rashmi M wrote a tip Apr 2024
28 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book somewhere else"
Read full review
HildaLee wrote a tip Mar 2024
Singapore, Singapore684 contributions100 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Short distance to local food places. Please enjoy ! Walkable distance to Suria Sabah mall - big shopping complex. Walking distance to Gaya Street"
Read full review
Rob R wrote a tip Feb 2024
9 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Thanks, next next. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kota Kinabalu area.
PRICE RANGE
₱4,707 - ₱7,531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hyatt regency kinabalu hotel kota kinabalu, hyatt regency kota kinabalu, hyatt kota kinabalu
LOCATION
MalaysiaSabahWest Coast DivisionKota Kinabalu DistrictKota Kinabalu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
288
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HYATT REGENCY KINABALU - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Which popular attractions are close to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu?
Nearby attractions include Kota Kinabalu City Mosque (0.3 km), Gaya Street Sunday Market (0.3 km), and Suria Sabah (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Centro, Chilli Vanilla, and Nook Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hyatt Regency Kinabalu located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Kota Kinabalu.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hyatt Regency Kinabalu offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Indonesian, and Malay.
All Kota Kinabalu HotelsKota Kinabalu Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kota KinabaluHotels near Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars