We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cititel Express Penang

Traveler (408)
Room & Suite (147)
Dining (27)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cititel Express is the epitome of a Smart, Clean and Simple hotel for both leisure and business travelers in Penang. Ideally located in the heart of George Town, our hotel offers convenience for guest with excellent service, comfortable guestrooms, delectable cuisine and other modern facilities. Located centrally in the city of George Town, this historical site was famously known as Wembley, where theatrical troupes ranging from European and American operetta and vaudeville, Chinese opera inclusive of Javanese tonil entertained the local populace. Governed by strict heritage preservation guidelines, this locale is till surrounded by colonial shop houses.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Ocean View
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
327Reviews
416Photos
20Q+A
70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 58
  • 174
  • 66
  • 16
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
As the name suggests, it is a no frills type of hotel with a bed to sleep, toilet to use and shower. Very well located at the heart of penang, about 10mins walk to 1st avenue, komtar and prangin mall. Has access to St Giles Wembley Hotel 7am to 1am daily, for easier access to
Read more
Response from CititelExpressPenang, General Manager at Cititel Express Penang
Responded 3 days ago
Dear HCT0915, Warmest Greetings from Cititel Express, Penang. Thank you very much for your detailed review following your recent stay experience with us as we strive to provide a superior experience for all our guests and therefore your feedback is very important to us. We sincerely look forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay with us. With Regards, Tony Goh General Manager
Read more
+1
Managed to get a very fair price rm147+ for standard room.. Well, unexpectedly had a very satisfying room.. Everything was good.. reception, new, deco, color, comfy.. although the size was averagely small..but everything was well placed... bathrrom had no issue.. great.. I felt
Read more
Response from CititelExpressPenang, General Manager at Cititel Express Penang
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Milky99, Warmest Greetings from Cititel Express, Penang. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent visit at Cititel Express, Penang. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us as a positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay. With Regards, Tony Goh General Manager
Read more
Staying for 2 nights in family room, unfortunately the reception gave us SMOKING FLOOR with a reason NO ROOM available at the moment. We booked NON SMOKING and I don't understand WHY the family room is in smoking floor. Thank God it is not so smelly however the corridor smell
Read more
Response from CititelExpressPenang, General Manager at Cititel Express Penang
Responded 3 days ago
Dear FennyWijaya, Warmest Greetings from Cititel Express, Penang. Thank you for taking the time to provide a candid review of our hotel and I regret to hear of the experienced you had during check-in with the wrong category of room that you had requested. Hence, comments like this will certainly be looked into with the respective team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will give us another chance to demonstrate the improvement as we do take your comments seriously and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. With Regards, Tony Goh General Manager
Read more
Staffs are very friendly . Very clean room for stay. the location is very strategic with walking distance to shopping malls and foods. Very recommend for stay in Penang. Easy access for public transport.
Read more
Response from CititelExpressPenang, General Manager at Cititel Express Penang
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear ajielhamzah, Thank you for your recent review of Cititel Express, Penang. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed our hotel and the service we provided. We will shared your positive comments with the team. You can rest assured that we strive to accommodate and please all our guests to ensure they have a memorable stay. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us soon. With Regards, Tony Goh General Manager
Read more
Rooms are small, comes with standard amenities, clean rooms, comfy bed, hot shower, air conditioned, flat TV. Bottled waters are provided. It's hidden behind St Giles hotel, which is actually the same building. Centrally located in Penang, near komtar and other malls. Convenient
Read more
Response from CititelExpressPenang, General Manager at Cititel Express Penang
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear atwinwin, Warmest Greetings from Cititel Express, Penang. Thank you for feedback following your recent stay at Cititel Express, Penang. We are thrilled to know that you have had a good experience with us and you enjoyed our services and facilities of the hotel. There is nothing more rewarding than receiving positive feedback from the guests. Your kind words will definitely motivate the team to keep up our high standards. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future and be of service to you again. With Regards, Tony Goh General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Business Center & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementCititel Express Penang
Family Room
Room
PreviousNext
12345630
I Think the hotel have motorcycle lot inside the carpark. so you can take your motorcycle with safety.
1 vote
Show all answers
Is there a connecting room in this hotel?
There are connecting rooms in this hotwl.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi...is there a coffee or tea maker facilities in the room?
There is a hot water jug to make coffee or tea. Pre-mix (with creamer and sugar) coffee satchels are provided.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi! Is there fridge in the room?
Yes A small one for can drinks , about 10 cans Big bottles unfortunately cannot fit
1 vote
Show all answers
If both are holders of non Malaysia passports and I mean foreigners, there is no problem and for a luxury hotel, it is not an issue
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234
"best view room"
"Best views, clean but small rooms and nearby shopping malls"
"Ask for the view of Penang Bridge, u get the see lovely lights at night"
"Ask for a high floor room"
"Facing outside (not facing an opposite hotel St. Wembley)"
PreviousNext
12345614
PRICE RANGE
US$37 - US$63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandGeorge Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
234
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing