We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Georgetown Residences

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
George Town Residences has a capacity of 64 persons including separate dorm for females. Rates are inclusive of tax and breakfast, free wifi. They are air-conditioned, come with personal secured lockers, personal sockets and personal reading lights, super single size bunk beds with spring mattresses and bathrooms with rain head hot showers and all bathroom amenities. George Town Residences provides a lounge area where guests can enjoy complimentary coffee/tea all day, watch TV, enjoy the collection of DVDs, magazines, dart board, foosball table, board games, free WiFi. Located at the heart of the city Georgetown, UNESCO heritage area. George Town Residences is located at the junction of Leith street and Chulia Street. There are a number of restaurants nearby. Right on Penang street, which is just across this HOSTEL, there are many shops selling clothes, souvenirs. Trishaws, taxis and buses are easy available.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
194
73
8
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
194
73
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews female bathroom mixed dorms free breakfast youth hostel great air con private room definitely stay here again lockers beds cereal georgetown penang earplugs dormitory sinks
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It’s easy to find, great location and is in walking distance of everything you need to see in Georgetown. The dorms are spacious, very clean and secure - the doors are opened with room cards and lockers are provided...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank 817daisyw
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Overall satisfactory stay, but there's one thing which is not satisfied- reception counter. Most of the time there are no one in the counter. Waited almost 20 minutes outside at 9pm on the first day of checking in, no door bells and no body is...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Rui Ying S
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

It's 430am right now and I can't sleep because A.c. does not work. I hope they will fix it tomorrow morning and offer us compensation. I'll keep this review updated. This is a complete joke. How could they allow this?

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank FarAway815845
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Siok is the nicest hostel during my trip in Malaysia. Finally I felt thr hostel vibe in this place and the facilities are top. They also have the games to play. Staff were friendly. Location was nice. The guests were also so fun. Just some...More

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank MarkT8552
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Photos are very deceptive.... bed bugs, dirty showers, regular water and power outages (talking over 5 hours), no doors on dorms, and worst of all- a nightclub that you can hear word for word of every song 7 days a week. Much nicer hostels available...More

Date of stay: January 2018
2  Thank Keryn H
Response from SS T, Owner at Georgetown ResidencesResponded 28 August 2018

We are sorry that you have experienced uncomfortable stay with Siok Hostel. Please be noted that now we are under new management since August 2018 call Georgetown Residences, we had solved all these problems. Hope you would try stay with us again, hopefully can have...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
xxjingyo c
1 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Candela M | Reviewed this property |
You can have an "only girls" dorm for the same price
0
Votes
789sanjaya
25 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from siok755 | Property representative |
Dear Sanjay A, Thank you for your email! Yes, we do have good wifi connection and you can do your work at lounge area
1
Vote
PRICE RANGE
US$13 - US$27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
SIOK Hostel, Penang
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandGeorge Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing