We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang

No 202 Lebuh Noordin, George Town, Penang Island 10300 Malaysia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (87)
Room & Suite (42)
Pool & Beach (7)

View prices for your travel dates

₱2,937
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#65 of 116 hotels in George Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang is Ascott’s first Citadines Connect brand of business hotels in Penang. It is located in Georgetown, a designated UNESCO World Heritage Site in Penang.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Room features
Air conditioning
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
45Reviews2Q+A11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 25
  • 6
  • 3
  • 2
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Collo62 wrote a review Feb 19
14 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Excellent hotel well situated Spotlessly clean and friendly The room smelled really nice and fresh on every return back to the room Beds really good and soft 20 mins walk from the main bar areas Would have given it 5 from 5 Breakfast let it down not really much of a choice quite basic but ok
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Parking is limited
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Kae Lee, General Manager at Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Kevin, Thank you for sharing your feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel well situated, spotlessly clean, and friendly. We're delighted that you appreciated the fresh scent in your room and found the beds comfortable. We apologize if the breakfast options didn't meet your expectations; we'll certainly take your feedback into consideration to improve our offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, and we'll strive to make your experience even better! Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Zen K wrote a review Feb 1
1 contribution
A truly pet hotel with excellent treatment for our furry kids! Never have I encountered such treatment for pets in a hotel. We brought our furry kids with us. the doorman rushed to open door for us when he saw us with a pet carriage. Not only he wished us welcome, but he also wished our pets! Wow! Prior to check-in, we have called the hotel for pets T&C. Upon check-in, our documentation were prepared and reception provided us smooth check-in. They even came out to say hi to our pets. so welcoming. They treated our pets with extreme good care. Each time they saw us, they will asked if we needed anything for the pets. Truly a pet hotel. No wonder they even have a SPCA donation box in the hotel and a cat shelter in the bazaar for adoption. My kids had a great time carrying the kittens. Kudos to all the hotel staff. We are so touched having the staff to bid us farewell, specially to our pets when we leave. We will see you again, the next time we return to Penang. Citadines is the BEST place for your pets to enjoy their holidays too!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Kae Lee, General Manager at Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi ZenK55, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Citadines Penang! We are thrilled to hear that you and your furry kids had such a fantastic stay with us. It warms our hearts to know that you appreciated the special attention and care our staff provided for your pets. We strive to create a pet-friendly environment, and your kind words are a testament to our commitment. It's delightful to hear that our doorman and reception team went above and beyond to make you and your pets feel welcome from the moment you arrived. We are glad that you found our pet-friendly policies, including the pre-check-in call and smooth documentation process, helpful. The joy your kids experienced at the cat shelter and the interaction with the kittens is exactly the kind of heartwarming experience we aim to provide. The entire team at Citadines Penang is grateful for your kind words and the touching farewell experience you had. We can't wait to welcome you and your furry family back for another memorable stay when you return to Penang. Thank you for choosing Citadines, and we look forward to hosting you again in the future! Warm regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Claudia C wrote a review Jan 2024
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia3 contributions1 helpful vote
I have stayed in many Ascott before but none can compare the BEST time I ever had in Citadines Connect Georgetown. The location is superb. You can easily find every best and delicious street food in any corner within walking distance. The room we stayed was cozy, clean and very comfortable. They even have an open concept wardrobe with a classy bathroom wall tiles. This makes the room very lively. the hotel is surrounded by many heritage shop lots. It is indeed very convenient to walk around. We were told the hotel had recently opened a new wing, which is only few steps away on same row of the street. Both reception are so welcoming, regardless which block you stay. Guests will never feel confused with such friendly staff. We can just drop into any block for free cup of aroma coffee and no question asked! The housekeeping staff are always smiling friendly, ensuring our amenities are always replenished. We can even enjoy the unlimited consumption of drinking water on all coridoors, specially with such hot weather in Penang. Once we had an issue with our safety box and immediately the security Suharto assisted us with such brilliant smile. All staff were great. Though reception has only 1 staff at the counter, however all of them were very efficient and fast. I saw that there were 2 more people waiting in the queue, but the doorman immediately offer them to sit & serve them refreshing coffee while waiting for their turn. Happened that the courtyard was fully decorated with the upcoming CNY festive, and they even had a bazaar with live bands on Fridays and Saturdays. It was so cozy, windy and exciting to join in the fun. We really had a great time in Citadines and we will definately stay here again when we return to Penang. Few names to mention who makes our stay memorable...all the front desk team, Yazz, Jo, Naufal, Anjana, Daniel (with alfro hairstyle..haha), a Chinese handsome boy (i cant remember his name, starts with P..) and specially their manager, Rita. She guided us all the way on the street to point out the best street foods available. also the housekeeping and security team. Rakesh aka God of Prosperity was cute at the bazaar performance. All the staff were fun to be with. Keep it up, guys! We will be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Kae Lee, General Manager at Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Claudia Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us! The team is truly heartened to note that you had a delightful stay with us and enjoyed our exciting island. We cannot thank you enough for your fabulous compliments on our friendly and helpful staff members. We strive to provide a top-notch experience for all our guests, and your recommendation means a lot to us. All of us truly enjoyed being of service to you and we sincerely look forward to hosting you on another faultless and enjoyable stay with us again soon. On behalf of Citadines Connect team, we wish you and your family a prosperous Chinese New Year! Regards The Management Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adventure49136397049 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS. This hotel deserves the LOWEST possible rating, negative 100 stars if I could, for the utterly unacceptable treatment I experienced that I will never ever step foot in this place. I cannot stress enough the sheer level of incompetence, unprofessionalism, and utter disregard for pet owners that I encountered. My time at this establishment was nothing short of a never-ending nightmare. Let me start by emphasising that I specifically chose this hotel because it claimed to be pet-friendly as advertised so I naturally expected a smooth check-in process. However, from the moment I arrived, the staff made it their mission to obstruct and delay my check-in. As a pet industry business owner, it is vital for me to travel with my beloved dogs especially this was a business trip. But instead of welcoming us, the staff threw an endless barrage of unnecessary obstacles and excuses, deliberately making the check-in process as difficult as possible. To begin with, the hotel staff raised unnecessary questions about my dogs' health condition, demanding health records at an ungodly hour of 9 PM, stupid enough of me thinking that their inquiries were friendly like many other people I encountered (as my dogs are poodle models). Despite my willingness to explain their good health and offered to contact my dog's vet as soon as they are open the next day but they were not willing to accept that. I can understand some people may have worry about animals but seriously, at 9pm? Without any prior notice? After a tiresome 15-minute negotiation, they reluctantly agreed to wait until the next day and that was only the BEGINNING of the nightmare. Next, the staff decided to enforce a "one pet per room" policy, citing it as their so-called "rule." Yet, when I asked for written proof of this policy, the front desk personnel arrogantly insisted on its existence without providing any actual evidence. They callously suggested that I could check in but leave my dogs behind. Can you imagine such a suggestion? Abandoning my beloved companions on the street? Where did the nerve come from? Then when I asked for a solution, the staff had the audacity to tell me to find another place to stay after I had already paid for my booking. The complete lack of empathy and understanding demonstrated by the staff was truly appalling. Despite my mounting frustration, I persisted in trying to find a resolution. After endless back-and-forth, they begrudgingly allowed me to check in with both of my dogs. However, this led to an even more outrageous demand: additional charges. I was prepared for some extra fees, as stated during the booking process, but the amount they asked for was beyond exorbitant. In fact, it exceeded the cost of my own stay at the hotel. They claimed the additional fee was half of the hotel rate per night, multiplied by two dogs (I booked the room via Agoda for a lower rate than they showed us fyi, probably 40% lower). It was at that point that I was ready to whip out my credit card and pay up. BUT, hold on tight, because guess what they did? When another guest inquired about the hotel rates, they conveniently offered a significantly lower rate. They thought that I cannot understand Malay because I was checking in with my business partner who is a British citizen but little did they know, I am a Malaysian and understood every single word they said! SCAM? LIARS? DISCRIMINATION? BULLY? Someone please tell me what's the accurate wording for someone like that. If you want more money just say so, cut the drama and hassle. By this time, I was utterly exhausted and fed up with an hour-long ordeal of unnecessary runarounds, shifting excuses, and continuous obstacles presented by the staff. I demanded a cancellation and refund, as it was crystal clear that the staff had no intention of honouring their so-called "pet-friendly" claim. The front desk staff agreed to the refund, but when we requested written confirmation, they dismissively brushed off our request, deeming it unnecessary. However, knowing that I had booked through Agoda, I insisted on obtaining written proof for their records. Reluctantly, the front desk staff agreed to send an email to Agoda. Skipping the numerous shocking updates we received from Agoda about the hotel's responses, let me enlighten you about the shocking aftermath. Agoda made immediate attempts to contact the hotel regarding the refund, but there was no response for a whole 48 hours. Two days later, I received an email from Agoda, informing me that THE HOTEL DENIED ever agreeing to the cancellation and refund. The level of UNPROFESSIONALISM, DISHONESTY, and complete LACK OF ACCOUNTABILITY displayed by the hotel is simply UNBELIEVABLE. It is abundantly clear that this hotel is not only incapable of providing a genuinely pet-friendly environment but also lacks the most basic level of respect for their guests. Their failure to offer a reasonable resolution to this matter only solidifies my negative perception of this despicable establishment. If basic courtesy is too difficult, take baby steps and try learning some basic human respect! I must emphasise that pet owners like myself deserve transparency, respect, and fair treatment. If your hotel claims that it is pet-friendly, then it should wholeheartedly embrace and accommodate pet owners without subjecting them to unnecessary obstacles and discriminatory treatment. Furthermore, it is absolutely imperative that the hotel addresses the abhorrent attitude and behaviour displayed by its staff. No guest should ever be forced to abandon their beloved pets or be callously dismissed, especially late at night. We were at risk of having no shelter that night, and it was only by sheer luck that we managed to find last-minute accommodations. Considering the scarcity of pet-friendly options, I shudder to think how we would have spent the night if we had no other options. I will NEVER EVER EVER EVER forget or forgive the way I was treated at this hotel. It is now my lifelong mission to share my horrific experience with other pet owners, ensuring they avoid placing their trust in this establishment. Let it be known that I am not the first, nor will I be the last, to endure such mistreatment. When I shared my unpleasant experience with fellow dog owners in Penang (as a reminder, I operate a business in the pet industry and this was a business trip to meet with numerous affluent dog owners), I was shocked to discover that numerous other pet owners had suffered similar mistreatment at your hotel. It deeply saddens me that the pet community in Penang, as well as those visiting the area, have had to endure such treatment.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Kae Lee, General Manager at Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Adventure, I trust this message finds you well, and we want to express my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent hotel registration with us. Your comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost importance to us, and I am truly sorry for the challenges you faced. I understand the frustration and concern with regards to pet-cation registration. Please be informed that guests are advisable to contact the hotel property for more information on the charges of pet-cation. This clause is stated clearly outline the terms and conditions for pet charges on the online website for guest who wish to have their pets travelling together for holidays. This includes providing detailed information on the amount of the charge which is based on our property Best Available Rates of the check-in date. Online Travel Agent does not apply pet bookings. Having said that, additional requirements such as the required vaccination certificate is strictly required upon pet registration for authorities checking as well as the safety of other guests and staff. Indeed, we would be so happy for both your furry kids to stay with us and letting them enjoy their holidays together in the family, which they deserved. I understand that as pet lovers, the very last thing is leaving our pets behind when we go for holidays. And it would be so good to have them with us on holidays. However, we sincerely seek your understanding as we would still have to follow a strict procedure when pet-cation is concern under Ascott Terms & Condition, Mr Gan, with regards to your refund request, we have thus reviewed your request but unfortunately all online bookings are on prepayment basis and are non-refundable/cancellation once bookings are confirmed. Once again, please accept our sincere apology for all the frustration these issues have caused. Should you plan to stay with us again on pet-cation, please do contact us directly and we shall provide you with a clear Pet-Cation Terms & Condition for a smooth pet-cation registration. Please do keep me inform should you plan to return on Pet-Cation booking in future and we shall arrange your accommodation with a better and smooth experience. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bobby Y wrote a review Jan 2024
Shanghai, China2 contributions
There are few points: 1. After informing the hotel I'll be checking with a Dog, i was informed that a 50% charges on room rate will be implemented, but during check in, i was inform that I'll need to show proof of vaccination and the dog can't be more then 10KG. 2. I ask for a refund, but was rejected 3. The hotel made me a deal, downgrade the room, I've booked, without any refund, and will charge me the Dog policy of 50% per day based on their website room rate and not how much I've booked, and also based on the Suite standard and not the downgraded price. 4. Tried to borrow a fork and spoon from the front desk, but was informed that, they don't have a F&B outlet, but "Breakfast MYR 25 (optional)" was written on the booking page..... 5. Car park, RM 5 a day rate was collected for 2 nights, but the car is has less the 20 parking lot and it's open to public.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Not informative, over charging and NOT PET FRIENDLY AS WRITTEN!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Kae Lee, General Manager at Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Bobbyy823, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We understand the importance of clear communication and we regret any misunderstanding regarding our pet policy. We appreciate your input and will review the points you've raised to ensure a better experience for our guests in the future. For further clarification on our pet staycation policy, we kindly request you to contact our hotel directly, and our team will be happy to assist you. We value your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved stay. Best regards, The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ding1Ding wrote a review Jan 2024
Hong Kong, China54 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Newly renovated and conveniently located. Spa, food centre, supermarket and salon close by. Room is clean and tidy. Comfortable bed. Just the soundproof has room to improve. Can hear the next door when they open/ close door. Staff is nice. Complimentary coffee and snack in lobby.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: No mailing services.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Kae Lee, General Manager at Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang
Responded Jan 14, 2024
Hi Ding1Ding, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our hotel's newly renovated facilities and convenient location. It's wonderful to know that you found the room to be clean and tidy, and that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds. We appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the soundproofing, and we apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused. We are constantly working on improving our facilities, and your comments will certainly be taken into consideration for future enhancements. It's great to hear that our staff left a positive impression, and we're pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary coffee and snacks in the lobby. We strive to create a welcoming and comfortable environment for our guests, and we're glad to hear that you experienced just that. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and appreciate your valuable input. Warm regards, The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
KS Toh wrote a review Dec 2023
Singapore, Singapore921 contributions59 helpful votes
Stayed for 4 nights over Christmas. Road works outside the hotel to beautify the place. When completed, I think the place will be very nice. Within walking distance (10 to 15 mins) to many places, especially eating places. Parking is a nightmare, but this appears to be the case throughout the city. I believe the hotel has limited parking lots behind. Please check. Grab (Uber equivalent) is very inexpensive (RM10 to RM20 mostly). The room we had (deluxe loft) is very spacious. But I don’t understand why they put a tiny 2 seater sofa in the big living area. Even the sofa in the loft appears bigger. This is an apartment for 4 pax. The toilet needs to be redone. There is this constant sewage or foul rainwater smell. Not sure where it is coming from. But the toilet appears to be completely sealed with no ventilation whatsoever. It is silly because there is a big window (sealed) which overlooks the air well. I think the architect or designer should be replaced. The shower dispenses warm & hot water, alternately and automatically. Don’t know what kind of heater or supply is being used. This needs to be looked into or someone might be injured. As a serviced apartment, laundry facilities should be provided. If not in the room, at least shared washer & dryer. Currently, this outsourced to external vendor. Staff are friendly and approachable. No complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Kae Lee, General Manager at Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang
Responded Dec 31, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to spend your Christmas at our hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad to hear that you found the location convenient and enjoyed the spaciousness of our deluxe loft room. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the parking situation and the issues you encountered in the bathroom. Your concerns regarding the sofa size and the alternating hot water supply have been duly noted and will be addressed promptly. We appreciate your kind words about our friendly staff. We'll continue striving to improve our services and hope to welcome you back for an even better experience in the future. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nora H wrote a review Dec 2023
4 contributions
I come here to celebrate my anniversary with my hubby and my 2 sons. I booked this hotel through asr website and already mentioned about my anniversary. I made an early check in at 12 to put all my laguage bags and had lunch before coming back to check in at 3pm. In my expectations, I spent over RM500 per-night for 2 nights to create a good moment and memorable holiday with my beloved family. As per review in media social this hotel extremely comfortable and elegant hotel. I am big fan of ascott hotel. I saw in Instagram Citadine that my double bed room is very big with facilities, gym, pool and a jacuzi at the rooftop. Unfortunately, I was very upset when I got a very very small room at the new wing citadine. Its like a hotel budget room but I payed for like a luxurious hotel. The hall going to my room had a strong paint smell, the trash in the bathroom was not picked up. Wardrobe for 4 guests is very small and not standard (pls refer photo and video at my attachment). The new wing also does not have a gym and jakuzi. Only a small pool. I dont have space to do my prayers. Me and my family was praying in front of the toilet. This was the worst holiday experience I have ever had. Sincerely, Nora Room : 290
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Kae Lee, General Manager at Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang
Responded Jan 2, 2024
Hi Nora, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We deeply regret to learn that your stay at Citadines Connect did not meet your expectations, especially on such a significant occasion as your anniversary celebration with your family. We sincerely apologize for the disappointment caused by the room allocated to you. We understand the importance of providing a comfortable and enjoyable stay, especially during special occasions, and we apologize for falling short of your expectations. We truly value your loyalty as a fan of Ascott hotels, and it pains us to know that we failed to deliver an experience that reflects the standards you expected from our brand. We would appreciate the opportunity to regain your trust and welcome you back for a more fulfilling and pleasant stay. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused and hope to have the chance to restore your faith in Citadines Connect. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bacon wrote a review Dec 2023
249 contributions94 helpful votes
CCGP is a beautiful hotel, its location is excellent. But the new wing is still under renovation at that point of time and looks like a minor construction site. Unfortunately, my room was there. Workers were all over the lobby, on the floors created tons of noise pollution. I’ve raised feedback and done a room change but the problems were still unsolved. Why put your guests in the new wing when it was still renovation? It really compromised the safety of your guests and employees. Felt so disappointed. In my options, finished the renovation works and ensure everything is ready before you started to sell the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Kae Lee, General Manager at Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang
Responded Dec 28, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay at CCGP. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience caused by the ongoing renovation in our new wing. It's disheartening to learn that your stay was marred by noise disturbances and unresolved issues despite your room change request. Ensuring the comfort and safety of our guests is our utmost priority, and we regret that we fell short of meeting your expectations in this regard. Your feedback regarding the timing of room sales during the renovation process is duly noted. We understand your disappointment, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. Rest assured, we are taking your comments seriously, and we will reevaluate our procedures to ensure that such situations do not recur in the future. We truly appreciate your patience and understanding during this time. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust and welcome you back once our renovations are completed to showcase the improved experience we strive to provide. Sincerely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tan Chee Keong wrote a review Dec 2023
Singapore, Singapore1 contribution
Went for a short visit to Penang on the 11th to 14th of November. The stay was good. From the service of the staff to the facilities, there are no complaints. Only feedback was that the door to enter the rooms area in the lobby is quite heavy. There was a RM200 charge for deposit. Which was supposed to be refunded. We checked out on 14th Novemeber, and we enquired on 25th November and a Guest Services Supervisor, Johanis Azrin gave the following reply. "Kindly be informed that the amount RM200 just a pre authorize. The amount will takes 1 to 2 weeks to credit back to credit limit." So we just waited. On the 12th of Dec after checking with the credit card issuer, there was confirmed no refund. Hence we sent another query. This time round, another Guest Services Supervisor, Sharmatha replied the following. "Kindly be informed that we already contact our issuing bank to release the RM200 from the credit card. However, you may check with the issuing bank." As I had just checked with the credit card issuer, so I asked, when was the released done. THERE WAS NO REPLY. Up to today. 26th Dec, the refund was not made. I am an Ascott member, but i think with this kind of service, I am very relunctant to book any hotels under Ascott again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Everything was good.. till trying to get the refund for the hotel deposit.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Boon Kae Lee, General Manager at Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang
Responded Dec 28, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience during your visit to our Penang property. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the overall stay, appreciating our staff's service and the facilities provided. Your feedback regarding the lobby door heaviness has been noted, and we'll explore ways to improve this aspect for our guests' convenience. Regarding the RM200 deposit, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the delay in the refund process. We understand your frustration, and we regret that despite our previous assurances, the refund has not reflected in your account as expected. We deeply regret any confusion or dissatisfaction this situation has caused. Rest assured, we take this matter seriously, and we are actively investigating the delay in the refund process with our bank. Your case has been escalated to ensure immediate action is taken to release the hold on your credit card. We appreciate your patience and understanding in this matter. We value your loyalty as an Ascott member, and we truly hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in our services. Your feedback is incredibly important to us as it allows us to address areas that require improvement. Should you have any further concerns or queries, please feel free to contact us directly, and we will do our utmost to assist you promptly. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused and thank you for your understanding. Sincerely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the George Town area.
PRICE RANGE
₱2,965 - ₱4,140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandGeorge Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
143
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CITADINES CONNECT GEORGETOWN PENANG - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (George Town, Malaysia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang
Which popular attractions are close to Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang?
Nearby attractions include Penang House of Music (0.3 km), Tech Dome Penang (0.2 km), and Hin Bus Depot (0.09 km).
What are some restaurants close to Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pinxin Vegan Cuisine, DEEN MAJU, and Three Road 888 Hokkien Mee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Citadines Connect Georgetown Penang?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Armenian Street (0.9 km), George Town (1.0 km), and Sun Yat Sen Museum (0.9 km).