We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia

Save
Share
559 Makambo Road, Livingstone 10101 Zambia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
CheapTickets
Trip.com
Snaptravel
View all 7 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (72)
Dining (4)
Pool & Beach (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 106 Specialty lodging in Livingstone
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
NB: PLEASE NOTE THAT WE USED TO BE KNOWN AS LIVINGSTONE BACKPACKERS Family run with over 50 years in the hospitality trade, you won’t find a more welcoming homely atmosphere than Victoria Falls backpackers Zambia. We’re located in the heart of Livingstone town- only 10 minutes away from the mighty Victoria Falls heritage site. We’re also close to the airport shops, restaurants, markets, museum, bars, train and bus stations. Take advantage of our available facilities on offer including free wifi, swimming pool etc. We’re a perfect destination for relaxation and activities. Our town is host to the best white water rafting in the world and loads of other activities. Get more details on our website or simply contact us.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
24-hour check-in
Laundry service
Parking
Outdoor pool
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
201Reviews3Q+A22Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 112
  • 56
  • 24
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kelsie G wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed at Victorias Falls backpackers for 10 days while working with African Impact. The staff here knows a lot about the area and they are all super fun people to talk to. I also met and had conversations with many other great people who were also staying at this lodge. I really appreciated the friendly atmosphere. I felt very safe at this hostel as well as out in the community around it. There is also a guard at the gate 24/7 just in case. Apparently, at night the area can be unsafe, but I didn't notice anything alarming. The rooms here are simple and small but between the pool, bar, and many lounge areas I was quite happy. Although, the showers were cold and the power was out for a few hours a couple of times a week. There was also a club close by that played music throughout the night. There was good wifi available for free as well as access and hookups to different day trips and adventures. This area of Zambia has much to offer with being so close to wildlife reserves and Victoria's Falls. I loved my time here and would definitely go back if I found myself in Livingstone again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from DawnS246, Owner at Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia
Responded 2 Apr 2020
Hello kelsiejg, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We hope you get another chance to visit us again :) Many thanks, Victoria Falls Backpackers Team
Read more
Andreas wrote a review Mar 2020
Pisa, Italy1 contribution
Very nice Hostel. The greatest staff ever. They helped us a lot when we were in a difficult situation. I can highly recommend this place. Super friendly family buisness, great place, good food. Ive honestly never been to a better Hostel with nicer people.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from DawnS246, Owner at Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia
Responded 2 Apr 2020
Hi Fizzelebubbele, It was a pleasure having you stay with us! Thank you for leaving a review! Best regards, Victoria Falls Backpackers Team
Read more
Reisefreak2000 wrote a review Feb 2020
Loegstoer, Denmark8 contributions6 helpful votes
We went their for a short trip with 11 People. The rooms are nice, and we spent a lot of time at the pool area. It has a lot of nice seatpossibilitys and their is some nice music. The prices are very fair and if you dont want to taste the great food you can even cook for yourself at the opened kitchen. If you want you can even enjoy a BBQ they offer the coal for free. All people are very friendly so you just feel at home. All in all it is the best Hostel I ever visited! Thank you so much.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DawnS246, Owner at Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia
Responded 2 Apr 2020
Hello Reisefreak2000, Thank you for your review! We had a pleasure having you and your group stay with us! Thank you all for being so nice! Hope to see you again soon :) Best wishes, Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia
Read more
oliviaoprey wrote a review Jan 2020
Chelmsford, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
Whenever we're in Livingstone we always head straight to these guys. The team are absolutely amazing and make you feel right at home, and are happy to book all the activities available at Victoria Falls and in Livingstone. Food is delicious, reasonably priced and the bar vibe and super clean pool are an added bonus. Very close to supermarket and other bars and restaurants if you want to eat out. The rooms are clean, with mosquito nets and everything you need for a good time in Livingstone! Thanks Conor, Claudous and the rest of the team for another awesome stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from DawnS246, Owner at Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia
Responded 2 Apr 2020
Hi Oliviaoprey, You guys are such good people :) Thank you for always stopping by! Looking forward to having you again! Enjoy the rest of your travels! Best regards, Victoria Falls Backpackers Team
Read more
Holly tb wrote a review Dec 2019
London, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Victoria falls backpackers has everything you need. We had the double en-suit room great size, clean and the bed was very comfortable. No complaints with the food or drink and the people were very friendly,more than happy to help and made our stay. Our flights got cancelled due to a strike, they were brilliant and accommodating. And no stress with our accommodation being extended which made me feel so much better. You can book all the activities you want via the hostel and they are very honest on what is worth doing and what is not. It was an amazing experience everyone who works, and also stays there are lovely chatty people. I Would highly recommend staying here and my partner and I will be visiting again in the near future
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from DawnS246, Owner at Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia
Responded 10 Apr 2020
Thank you Hollytb1! It was a real pleasure having you with us! Looking forward to seeing again soon Warm Regards, Victoria Falls Backpackers Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$14 - US$49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Livingstone Backpackers
LOCATION
ZambiaSouthern ProvinceLivingstone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia
Which popular attractions are close to Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia?
Nearby attractions include Victoria Falls (1.1 km), Livingstone Museum (0.3 km), and Zambezi Eco Adventures (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, a poolside bar, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kubu Cafe, Cafe Zambezi, and Olga's - The Italian Corner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Victoria Falls Backpackers Zambia located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Livingstone.