Hotel Solymar

Hotel Solymar

Av. Charles Darwin and Thomas de Berlanga, Puerto Ayora 200350 Ecuador
                  Lobby Hotel Solymar
Traveler (419)
Panorama of the Interior View Room at the Hotel Solymar
360
Panoramas (23)
Ocean View King accommodation - Hotel Solymar
Room & Suite (196)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#8 of 29 hotels in Puerto Ayora
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel Solymar is eager to welcome you to the islands! Our two towers, Solymar and Isla Sol, are centrally located in Puerto Ayora’s mainstreet. They are only 10 feet apart from each other, with the same services! We have direct access to the ocean, a pool, hot tub, a chill out zone and a restaurant area. Our rooms are fully equipped with flat screen TVs, air conditioning, hot water, balconies and a comfortable bed arrangement. All our prices include a buffet-like breakfast featuring international and national dishes. The staff is ready to handle your requests in Spanish, English and Hebrew. With 17 rooms in Solymar, and 14 rooms in IslaSol, we are ready to house big groups! Categories like Sea View are only available in the Solymar Tower, whereas Interior View and Exterior View are available in Isla Sol. Hotel Solymar is one of the very first hotels that were built on the islands, in 1960, when Jimmy Perez created the first Galapagueño-owned hotel. Drop a comment below!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Kids pool
Baggage storage
Concierge
Laundry service
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Av. Charles Darwin and Thomas de Berlanga, Puerto Ayora 200350 Ecuador
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Baltra Airport
34.6 km
See all flights
San Cristobal Airport
79.5 km
See all flights
558Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 292
  • 172
  • 53
  • 20
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
2016newlyretired wrote a review Mar 2020
Chardon, Ohio
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The view from our room was of a sea lion reclining on a chaise lounge, the swimming pool, and the bay beyond. Beautiful room, wonderful staff. We had a most enjoyable stay and would love to return. The desk clerk was especially helpful when we had a time problem regarding our tour schedule. We appreciated the water bottle and clean, cool drinking water always available in the lobby. The breakfasts were a large assortment of hot and cold choices and a great way to start the day.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: View of the bay and the pool area would be my choice.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelSolymar, Director General at Hotel Solymar
Responded Apr 24, 2020
Dear ¨2016newlyretired¨, Thank you for your comments, but specially for give us the privilege to attend you at the Solymar Hotel Warmest wishes, Wendy LANDAY
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jen S wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Solymar. At check-in we were greeted with fresh juice and a warm washcloth to freshen up after travel. The staff was extremely accomodating throughout our stay. They helped us find local adventures and excursion packages. The daily breakfast was good and a nice way to begin our days. The rooms were clean, air-conditioned and comfortable. The hotel was walking distance to everything.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelSolymar, Director General at Hotel Solymar
Responded Apr 24, 2020
Dear ¨JenJ6947EQ¨, It so grateful to read your sincere comment and we thank you also for visiting us. Best wishes, Wendy LANDAY
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Onebrunette2go wrote a review Aug 2021
North Hollywood, CA
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nothing but good things to say about this place!! It’s so nice that there is tradition and history still left in this world. This hotel belonged to the current owners father, whom my parents met on a trip almost 30 years ago. The place has been expanded since then, but it was nice to know that my father once sat in the same space. (He passed 11 years ago). This is a part of the world that is still fairly un-damaged by mankind. There wasn’t one time that I was at the pool, jacuzzi or outdoor dining area where there wasn’t an iguana, pelican, sea lion or blue footed booby present. Wendy is the “resident” sea lion. She loves to sleep on the lounge chairs and swim in the pool with the guests. I have such great pictures and videos of her and all the little creatures that call Hotel Solymar home. ❤️ Another great attribute is that the hotel is SO colorful!! It makes for great Instagram/Facebook photos.
The employees and service is great here. If you have any requests, don’t be afraid to ask. I spoke to another guest that had bought a huge lobster from a fisherman around the corner and the hotel agreed to prepare it for them with a side dish for a nominal fee. You don’t get this kind of service in most places around the world. If you’re deciding between a place to go and a place to stay…just book it. You will have no regrets.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Balmy_2_Go wrote a review Mar 2020
Houston, Texas
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very excited about our stay on Santa Cruz. Our room (#101) was a nice location at the end of the hall. After some minor issues with the A/C we thought things were perfect... then we walked in bare feet on the room’s tile floor. I looked at the bottom of my feet right after my shower and it looked like I had been walking outside on dirt. A couple of swipes with a wet nap confirmed our fear; the beige tile was masking a filthy floor. When we brought this to the attention of the front desk, they politely apologized but did not offer to clean the room. We spent the remainder of our one night stay wearing sandals straight from the bed or shower.

Given the current coronavirus protocols, Hotel Solymar’s lack of response to a basic sanitation concern is inexcusable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelSolymar, Director General at Hotel Solymar
Responded Apr 24, 2020
Dear Balmy_2_Go, It´so grateful to receive your sincere comment and we thank you also for visiting us. We are appologize for the inconvience, honestly it hurts that we haven´t been able to resolve this issue in time. Hope everything is doing well for you. Warmest wishes, Wendy LANDAY
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leonidas Zuloaga wrote a review Mar 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a room at Solymar after getting stranded in the Galapagos Island during the corona virus crisis. The Ecuadorian government declared a state of emergency and cancelled all commercial flights for 3 weeks. The hotel offered me a reduced rate if I purchased on a weekly basis. During my stay, the service was good. Fortunately, I was able to take an emergency rescue flight after 4 days, for which I had to leave the hotel at 4am. Once out of Galapagos, I contacted the hotel to update them of my situation and check out, but they immediately rejected my request for a refund of the remaining 3 days. Most airlines and hotels are being flexible with reservations and cancelations during the crisis and it was very unethical for them not to do so.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelSolymar, Director General at Hotel Solymar
Responded Apr 26, 2020
Dear ¨Leonidas648¨, Thank you for giving us the opportunity to assit you in the Solymar Hotel. We appologize for the inconvience. As we had commented on a previous occasion by mail, we´re doing our best to attend each case with all the flexibility it requires, however we can not make a refund for the reason we explain you in the last mail. Hope everything is doing well for you. Warmest wishes,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ztraveladdict wrote a review Aug 2022
New York City, New York
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Central location on the main tourist street, in the town amidst restaurants and shops, close to the pier,walking distance. it is waterfront, the rooms are spacious and nice, balcony is nice; bathroom somewhat dated, could be better. It has a swimming pool and jacuzzi; unfortunately, as the jacuzzi requires reservation and we arrived in the late afternoon, by which point it was all booked, we could not use it - it was disappointing as we came from a tiring, wet and chilly ferry ride and were really hoping to warm up (they should send a message when guests are booking the hotel to inform them of this, so that they can book it ahead of time). breakfast was average; timing from 6:30-8; while it is good that they have early time for the people that have day tours or other activities, but to end at 8 am!! - if one was tired and wanted to rest during their vacation ( 8 am is not an unreasonable time to sleep in, after all), then they miss breakfast. checkout is 10 am, also a bit on the early side.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The jacuzzi requires prior reservation, so ask the hotel to reserve well ahead of time. Checkout...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Propietario at Hotel Solymar
Responded Nov 21, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments, they are very valuable to us. Our location in front of the sea and close to tourist attractions is fabulous. We are working to improve every detail. Our breakfast schedule has been extended for the convenience of all our guests. We would be very pleased to welcome you next time at the hotel. Best regards, Hotel Solymar
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erling wrote a review Apr 2022
Oslo, Norway
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A nice hotel with one of the best locations in Puerto Ayora. From rooms with sea views and sunny balcony, you have an overview of the swimming pool and parts of the port of Puerto Ayora. Just outside the reception is the main street Ave Charles Darwin with many shops, bars and restaurants. Short distance to the pier and all boat trips to other islands. Simple breakfast, which the hotel should do better
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms with sea views and balcony are the best
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Propietario at Hotel Solymar
Responded Apr 28, 2022
Dear guest, thank you for your important comment. One of the most relevant strengths of the hotel is its location in the tourist heart of Puerto Ayora, close to important tourist attractions and in front of the sea. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to the Enchanted Islands. Best regards, Pamela Moreira.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen G wrote a review Feb 2023
London, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a really comfortable room with a balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. Andrea on the front desk was welcoming and helpful, arranging a transfer to Isabela island and a taxi to the canal when we left for the airport. Breakfast was plentiful and included eggs. The food in the restaurant was very good too. Breakfast was served from 6.30 and take away boxes were available when we had an early start. The pool area was shared with a bunch of iguanas and the sea lion noted by other reviewers.

One reservation: on several occasions we struggled to get hot water in the shower and had to get the front desk to restart the water heater.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mnaor wrote a review Apr 2022
Israel
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has 2 buildings all the pictures you see are from the new building,
The old building the rooms are shabby, the floor looks dirty all the time you have to wear flipflops. Our rooms faced the street so noisy like hell. the air-condition on your bed so you either freeze or sweat. and the highlight ... all activities on the island begin at 06:30 at the pier, their breakfast begins at 06:30 so you either eat all your stay lunchbox or you sneak at 06:15 to have a rush breakfast, how come an hotel that serves the island activities did adjust to activities schedule. I wouldn't recommend this hotel but if you get the nice rooms in the pictures, there are hotels less expensive and much nicer and quiקter, also better services.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: choose another hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Propietario at Hotel Solymar
Responded May 10, 2022
Dear guest, thank you for your comments. Hotel Solymar Galápagos has two towers: Main and Isla Sol. In the Isla Sol Tower we have Italian spacato floors with a special texture. In the hotel we handle the daily cleaning and disinfection in the different areas to provide the quality service that our guests deserve. Regarding the breakfasts offered by the hotel, these start at 6:30 am, however, when the guest requires it, we can provide breakfast service earlier or the option to take it packed, this is requested at reception. If the lodging reservation has been made through a travel agency, usually the agency coordinates it with the hotel. It is important to mention that there are many passengers who stay at the hotel resting and others take tours on their own, the hotel does not coordinate the tours, but we can assist our clients to have a pleasant experience. Best Regards, Pamela Moreira.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gloriambt wrote a review Mar 2022
Guayaquil, Ecuador
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst experience. I never even got there! But the fact that they told me I could only got 50% off until the end of the month. Then told me My card wasn’t working which wasn’t true and i have to pay half cash. Then learn they have 50 % off unlimited and they never send me a letter make my stomach sick. Talked to the a lady who was a manager and had the worst manager skills. She kept confusing my name just to irritate me. She was really sarcastic and mean This hotel should be closed. It doesn’t matter if is in front of the sea. It just lacks good client treatment. I just wanted to take my daughter there beacuse my parents took me there when I was her age.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Propietario at Hotel Solymar
Responded Apr 27, 2022
Gracias por tomar el tiempo para escribir sus comentarios. Lamentamos su malestar, sin embargo, siempre requerimos para garantizar las reservaciones que se confirme el servicio y realice el pago correspondiente, tal como se lo indica al momento de realizar la reservación. En este caso, al no lograr realizar el cobro con la tarjeta de crédito enviada, dimos la opción para cambiar la tarjeta o forma de pago, pero como no obtuvimos respuesta o algún tipo de información de parte suya, se dio de baja la reserva por vencimiento del tiempo límite para garantizar. Volvimos a tener noticias suyas pocos días antes de la fecha en la cual deseaba hospedarse en el hotel y al ser días de alta ocupación, ya no contábamos con disponibilidad. El Hotel Solymar Galápagos siempre se ha caracterizado por la atención y servicio de calidad que ofrece a sus huéspedes, para brindarles una estadía inolvidable en las Islas Galápagos. Saludos Cordiales, Pamela Moreira.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from HotelSolymar
Galapagos4 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear, a thousand apologies, I hope that at some point you have received a response, otherwise for future bookings you can contact us through our whatsapp at 0980827453
travel193 asked a question Dec 2019
Orange County, California486 contributions50 helpful votes
Does Hotel Solymar charge a fee if you pay using credit card?
Answer from Marco028
Dunedin, Florida51 contributions41 helpful votes
I would not think so. However, my travel agency paid the hotel fee in advance, so I cannot be certain. I would encourage you to call Hotel Solymar directly.
Answer from Cathy R
Chelmsford, Massachusetts59 contributions13 helpful votes
Our room did not face the ocean but the lagoon behind the hotel. We had windows but no balcony. Not sure what type it was called. I think all rooms facing the ocean had balconies. ( also facing pool as some have mentioned)
Answer from Christopher S
Naples, Florida54 contributions13 helpful votes
Yes, directly across the street is a very helpful travel agency specializing in excursions. We booked 2 excursions with them and enjoyed both.
LornaBeasley asked a question Mar 2017
1 contribution
Do I need an electrical adapter?
Answer from Pat S
216 contributions92 helpful votes
Jim's answer is correct
TucsonBorn wrote a tip Jun 2024
Tucson, Arizona383 contributions136 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely worth the upgrade for an ocean view balcony/room. It’s a small hotel, so all of the ocean view rooms should have a good view."
Read full review
Taghel wrote a tip Jul 2023
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom39 contributions25 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid at all costs"
Read full review
Stephanie M wrote a tip Nov 2022
Denver, Colorado83 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ocean view room on second floor was clean, spacious and had great views!"
Read full review
Ztraveladdict wrote a tip Aug 2022
New York City, New York300 contributions115 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The jacuzzi requires prior reservation, so ask the hotel to reserve well ahead of time. Checkout is 10 am. Breakfast ends at 8 am."
Read full review
DCCR336 wrote a tip May 2022
Fallbrook, California134 contributions105 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had a great room that overlooked the pool/ocean RM208"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Puerto Ayora area.
PRICE RANGE
₱15,417 - ₱17,461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
solymar hotel puerto ayora
LOCATION
EcuadorGalapagos IslandsSanta CruzPuerto Ayora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL SOLYMAR - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Puerto Ayora, Ecuador) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Solymar
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Solymar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Solymar?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Solymar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Solymar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Hotel Solymar have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Puerto Ayora HotelsPuerto Ayora Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Puerto AyoraHotels near Hotel Solymar
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars