Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group

Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group

Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora 200350 Ecuador
Traveler (585)
Panorama of the Aventura Suite at the Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
360
Panoramas (24)
Room & Suite (276)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#7 of 29 hotels in Puerto Ayora
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Galapagos Habitat firmly embarked on our journey to achieving our dream of protecting the environments in which we work responsibly, while providing life-affirming trips for travelers from across the globe”. We look forward to welcoming you soon at the Galápagos Habitat!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Diving
Airport transportation
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Ironing service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Hiking
Snorkeling
Bicycle tours
Patio
Walking tours
Taxi service
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Minibar
Radio
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora 200350 Ecuador
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 96 out of 100
96
Baltra Airport
34.4 km
See all flights
San Cristobal Airport
79.3 km
See all flights
787Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 486
  • 171
  • 64
  • 37
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
DiegoATL wrote a review Aug 2021
Reston, Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms not as enchanting. We stayed at the Marchena room with ocean view. The premium you pay to stay here is to have breakfast next to a dock with sealions and marine iguanas. This is really where the hotel excels and you feel the premium price is worth it.

Overall friendly staff, great hotel, rooms good but not great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Service, Promocionar at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded Aug 25, 2021
Dear DiegoATL, Thank you for your positive comment. We are glad to know overall you had a nice experience and that our staff did its best to assist you. At the hotel we have different types of rooms and all are different, which is actually challenging! Nevertheless we are always considering improvements in order to enhance the service and infraestructure in general, and here is where our guests comments always help us improve. It was our pleasure to serve you, and hope to host you sometime again in the future! Best wishes,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott T wrote a review Jan 2020
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent three days on Santa Cruz staying at this hotel and while this was a bit of a splurge, it was well worth it. This hotel is at the edge of town, but the town is small enough that you can walk from one end to the other in 10 minutes or less.The location is spectacular because of the waterfront location of the restaurant where you can have breakfast if you are staying there or lunch and dinner regardless of whether you’re staying there, and the main attraction is sea lions and marine iguanas visible right there on the deck, lying in deck chairs, etc. Unlike San Cristobal, where sea lions are everywhere, Puerto Ayora does not have that many sea lions in town and this concentration of them along with the iguanas and birds etc makes the hotel special. We were in the Wolf room and I highly recommend it. Great view! This hotel used to be called Res Mangrove by the way. New management is doing a great job! The staff were super helpful. There are free bikes to borrow. What’s not to love?? The restaurant serves great food and the breakfast buffet was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ecoluxurygroup, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Dear scotttC5917BW, Thank you for sharing your comments about our wonderful hotel. A splurge in this great hotel should be on everyone's bucket list as its location and wildlife bring out the best of the Galapagos Islands, not to mention the great customer service and thoughtful amenities. The sea lions and iguanas on the deck always seem to be the highlight for our guests, we work very hard to keep them protected, but closeby for everyone to enjoy them. We love that they have gotten comfortable visiting the hotel on a daily basis. Thanks to the new management's hard work in rehabilitating mangroves and the hotel in general is the reason why seeing all this wildlife is possible. We will continue working hard in maintaining the properties surroundings for the well being of the environment and wildlife. We hope your recommendation reaches more visitors who also want to partake on an incredible adventure! Thanks Again for your review. Best Regards, Galápagos Habitat
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paulina Rodrigu... R wrote a review Feb 2020
Quito, Ecuador
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was very welcoming and what made it even more special was to see a sea lion at the reception there receiving guests, that was totally unexpected! The hotel has a special niche for small details, amenities, service, the most delicious chocolates made right here in Galapagos! And the mini bars in the rooms are filled with super delicious treats with no additional cost. One of the most beautiful and relaxing experiences I've ever had was to sit down for breakfast at the hotel's deck, looking towards the sea and the animals around that come up to the patio straight from the water or the mangroves. They approach so fearlessly! There were pelicans, sea lions, marine iguanas, and the cutest little finches kept perching on the chair next to me. The hotel also offers tours on the Windrose yacht, I didn't have any plans for day tours but I changed my mind and it was totally worth a day cruise onboard that yacht, they have different options throughout the week depending on the day. Do it! You won't regret it! This beautiful hotel is very well located, it is walking distance from Charles Darwin Station and other local attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ecoluxurygroup, Guest Relations Manager at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Dear Passport316864, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay at Galapagos Habitat! It was a pleasure to have you, the sea lions feel the same! We are especially glad you got to experience the Windrose, its a great new way to experience the magic of the islands! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon! Galapagos Habitat
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChicagoAlli wrote a review Feb 2021
Chicago, Illinois
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for three nights in February 2021 as part of a small Classic Journeys tour. The setting is sort of jungle eco-lodge with an assortment of rooms on the ground and second floors. The air conditioning worked well and the showers were nice too. There is a small mini fridge with a limited selection of drinks and snacks which are complimentary. If you want more, then you are charged.

My room was next to the sun deck that has been appropriated by the sea lions, which made sure I did not miss a moment of Galapagos daylight by announcing their presence at around 6:30am each morning. The sea lions are so prevalent that the room across from me had a sea lion that would lay right outside their door, which made coming and going a bit tricky at times. Personally I enjoyed the local fauna, iguanas are abundant too. The staff was friendly and helpful, when they can be.

I found the restaurant food excellent with good variety and the water views are lovely. I especially liked the Blackberry daquiris and all the fun weird fruit juices at breakfast.

This would have been a five star review but for the last night. A hard rain came down while we were having sangrias in the restaurant. Once sufficiently sangria-d, I ran back to my room and struggled to get in with the key that had been sticky throughout my stay. Well the key broke in the lock. There was no one available who could actually fix the problem so I had to sleep the last night with an unlocked door. Was I afraid of someone coming in? No. But it wasn't ideal. Also, the hard rain caused water to come up through the drain and flood the bathroom area.

Overall, a nice stay with some unique issues. The Galapagos were amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Service, Promocionar at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded May 5, 2021
Dear @ChicagoAlli, Thank you for your comment, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Galapagos Habitat Hotel and that you appreciated so much the presence of the sea lions and the iguanas around! Thank you also for your daiquiris recommendation! We are also very sorry for the key situation. After so much time with the hotel closed we are still working hard in maintenance and fixing little things that come up! The good news is that little by little the operations in Galapagos are reactivating and fortunately soon we'll have most of the population in Galapagos vaccinated! Hope to have you with us in the future! Best wishes,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marcia G wrote a review Feb 2020
sussex
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Popped in for lunch and ended up moving from our hotel to stay here for our last night. Food is great, staff are so helpful and view is incredible. Crabs and iguanas join you for lunch and the view includes sleeping sea lions, fishing herons and pelicans, marine iguanas swimming across the water and a raft of crabs scuttling around.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Go for ocean view if you can afford it - incredible views!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ecoluxurygroup, Guest Relations Manager at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded Feb 13, 2020
Dear megsussex, We are very grateful that you took the time to post a review on tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that a quick visit to our restaurant was enough for you to change hotels from your previous one. Even though it was just for one night we are glad that you were able to enjoy all of Galapagos Habitats beautiful scenery and great services. We hope that next time you visit Galapagos we can have you for longer. Thanks again for your kind words. Best wishes, Galapagos Habitat
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
County-Hunter wrote a review Jul 2021
Tacoma, Washington
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We opted for a land base trip to the Galapagos and made the Galapagos Habitat our base. We stayed here for four nights and enjoyed every minute. As we are older and may never get back, we opted to splurge on an ocean view room. It cost us $100 a night extra and while we enjoyed it, we really didn’t spend much time I. Our room to make it worth it. Service was good except for one night when the night clerk got a little surly when we interrupted her cell phone chat and said she couldn’t make change for a $20. We wanted change for tips but we’ll, she didn’t get one.

Our biggest quibble was the poor WiFi. I know it isn’t very good throughout the Galapagos but if you want a 5 star rating in the internet age, you gotta have good WiFi.

Location is excellent and within easy walking distance of anywhere you would want to go in Puerto Ayora. I would happily stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: I would not spend the extra $100 a night for an ocean view room unless you plan on spending...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Service, Promocionar at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded Aug 19, 2021
Dear County-Hunter, Thank you for your positive comment, it was our pleasure to serve you, and are glad to know overal you had a great experience. Let us mention, due to the pandemic, sadly we had to cancel our high speed internet service which is pretty expensive in Galapagos, and had to change it to a slower one for the costs, nonetheless we are now finally working again in order to rearrange a new and better wifi thanks to the tourism reactivation in the islands. Please receive apology, and also for the night receptionist. She actually quit her job, and now we have another person in that position giving the best service at the hotel. Our comments guests always help us improve! Thnaks again and hope to have you with us maybe sometime again in the future! Best wishes,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren Smelcer wrote a review Dec 2021
Houston, Texas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
All I have to say is “wow”. Amazing view, absolutely amazing room. The windows and spacious suite made for an amazing stay here. We were in the “Darwin” room which was an upgraded suite option, and we highly recommend requesting this room. Partially limited complimentary items in the room (soda, one beer, one bag of chips, some chocolates). The staff were SO friendly upon arriving- very hospitable and made sure we had everything we needed. Constantly checked in with us. A great experience on our trip here after less than satisfactory experience at other hotels in the Galapagos. The included breakfast was delicious and had plentiful amounts of food. They have a complimentary coffee/latte station down in the check in area which was great to have access to. They also have complimentary bikes to use to ride around town and explore. We wish we had stayed here longer!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite with ocean views (Darwin Suite is the best!)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sally ❤️ Travel wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. The location is great, at the quiet end of town near the Charles Darwin centre, away from the bar strip, right on the water and surrounded by mangroves, with a constant supply of sea lions, iguanas, pelicans, frigate birds and other birds to keep you entertained. We stayed in the Darwin room, which is really spacious, with a lovely sea-view balcony. Definitely worth paying extra for. The atmosphere is laid-back and welcoming, the food and service always good. Santa Cruz is not the most beautiful of the islands but has lots of great attractions and is a perfect base for exploring other nearby islands on day trips. We did day trips to North Seymour and Bartolome and both were excellent. We chose a land-based holiday (ie staying in hotels rather than living on a boat) because we didn’t want to be stuck on a small boat with a group of people we didn’t know and might not get on with, and wanted more space and privacy. Very happy with that choice.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark B wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This superbly located, very well managed hotel offers everything anyone visiting the Galapagos might hope for! Perched directly on protected water, it is (literally) home to a number of the creatures one comes to see: sea lions, finches, and iguana, among others! While it's ideally located within easy walking distance of the town, Puerto Ayora, and the nearby Darwin Research Center, it's snuggled among mangroves that lend it surprising privacy. And for essential daily activities at sea, the hotel's handsome, well-fitted powerboat, Windrose, is a perfect waterborne counterpart. This property is the Whole Package!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The Darwin Suite is sensational...but every suite has it Island Charm!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ecoluxurygroup, Guest Relations Manager at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Dear Mark B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also love that our hotel is located in a perfect spot within the town limits; where it not only gives our guests privacy, but its well protected mangroves and secluded site draws in local wildlife constantly, which is one of the many advantages the hotel is known for. We hope that you can recommend this hotel to more people looking for a different experience while enjoying the privacy and luxurious amenities, as well the daily activities the hotel has to offer. Sincerely, Galapagos Habitat
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Perry L wrote a review Apr 2021
Kennesaw, Georgia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely loved this place. The staff, the food, our room and the sea lions were all amazing and wonderful. One of the best parts were the evening sunsets eating on the deck. I'm trying to decide if this is the best hotel I've ever stayed in, but that's up for grabs at the moment. As an added benefit, it was easy to walk to almost everywhere, the Darwin Research Center, into "town" for shopping or more food, or just out to walk. As a nice touch, they had a great place so we could wash out out snorkeling gear! Simply put, this was amazing. Period.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Any room works here!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Service, Promocionar at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded May 5, 2021
Dear Perry L, Thank you for your lovely comment. It was our pleasure to have you with us and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay surrounded by the sea and the sea lions! Hope to have you with us sometime again in the future. Best wishes,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Sarah
Havertown, Pennsylvania20 contributions
Yes - looks like it is the same place. It seemed like they were going through a name change while we were there.
Answer from Karen H
Williamsburg, Virginia185 contributions105 helpful votes
The price is per room. They have different grades of rooms, but all are nice even if you don’t have a water view. Our rooms were booked part of our package with our tour company. We opted for high end hotels. Mind you that these aren’t “gorgeous” rooms like we have in the States, but they are very nice.
Answer from HauganRep
Quito, Ecuador4 contributions
Dear Monica, My name is Katie, it is a pleasure to assist you. I would like to inform you that the Red Mangrove will now be operating under new management by Haugan Cruises. This change happened very recently and just today I gained access to the TripAdvisor listing to Red Mangrove, which is why someone is only now answering your question. We have two different types of rooms available. Those are the Suites and Superior rooms. The main difference is that the suites at the hotel offer ocean views, the standards do not. Please write to us with the updated email in our info section to confirm your reservation and to talk to our representative for further details about the rooms available during the dates you would like to travel. Have a great day! Katie Beckwith
Answer from HauganRep
Quito, Ecuador4 contributions
Hello, my name is Katie and I'd like to inform you that the Red Mangrove is now operating under new management by Haugan Cruises, a well-known luxury cruise operator in the Galapagos Islands. We've purchased the hotel and plan to make many changes to provide an excellent level of service that reflects the prices of the hotel. As for a response for what you are asking about, unfortunately this happened back in 2015 and we only began management this week of April 22, 2017. What we can say is that we can guarantee cleanliness, excellent food quality, and that the level of customer service will surpass any previous expectations known by Red Mangrove. It would be our pleasure to speak to you more if you are interested in staying at the Red Mangrove during your time in Galapagos. You can find the new and updated contact info in our listing. Have an excellent day! Red Mangrove by Haugan Cruises
Answer from John M
Berthoud, Colorado513 contributions137 helpful votes
We used the hotel to wash shoes and clothes after a very muddy volcano hike - they did a great job - can't believe the shoes came out so good. I am sure there are laundry facilities in town as it is a good sized town - just did not look.
Jose Valdizan wrote a tip Dec 2021
Antigua, Guatemala8 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the albratros cocktail! One of the best we have had!"
Read full review
Lauren Smelcer wrote a tip Dec 2021
Houston, Texas45 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upgrade to the suite with ocean views (Darwin Suite is the best!)"
Read full review
Sarah wrote a tip Sep 2021
Havertown, Pennsylvania20 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring water bottles to refill over your stay, LOTS of sunscreen to reapply often/sun cover"
Read full review
Robin H wrote a tip Aug 2021
Los Angeles, California11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Splurge on the ocean view, the breeze and hearing waves crash really added to the vibe!"
Read full review
County-Hunter wrote a tip Jul 2021
Tacoma, Washington3,699 contributions975 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would not spend the extra $100 a night for an ocean view room unless you plan on spending enough time in your room to enjoy it."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Puerto Ayora area.
PRICE RANGE
₱9,344 - ₱12,731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
red mangrove aventura hotel puerto ayora, hotel red mangrove aventura
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
LOCATION
EcuadorGalapagos IslandsSanta CruzPuerto Ayora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GALAPAGOS HABITAT BY ECO LUXURY GROUP - UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Puerto Ayora, Ecuador) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
What are some of the property amenities at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Does Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group have airport transportation?
Yes, Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Puerto Ayora HotelsPuerto Ayora Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Puerto AyoraHotels near Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars