We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals

Avenida Peru y Calle 30, Calidonia, Panama City 816 Panama
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (98)
Room & Suite (35)
Pool & Beach (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#102 of 126 hotels in Panama City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Casino and Gambling
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
193Reviews7Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 25
  • 59
  • 33
  • 34
  • 42
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Bristoltravellers100 wrote a review Nov 2023
Swindon48 contributions37 helpful votes
The hotel has been under extensive refurbishments for over a year. It is now a temporary mess that has lingered with no end in sight. There is no lobby or reception or twin lifts or entertainment rooms or restaurant as in the photos they continue to show on Expedia and Booking.com. Falsely and misleadingly showing it as having beautiful amenities when the hotel entrance is boarded up making it look derelict and entrance is through a disgusting dirty, smelly underground car park area that is not signposted from the outside. Construction materials are placed in view , one lift hasn't worked in a year, workmen in dirty clothes use the guest lift to carry materials between floors and cause long delays in using the lift. The evening restaurant is in the makeshift breakfast area. Staff are rude, argumentative and unhelpful, even refusing to let friends into the hotel to collect me as they are not registered to stay! A family member was asked to pay 20 dollars to come in when he came in to speak to me in my room. I had to go down and talk to him in the dirty car park area instead to avoid the charge!. The area at night is dangerous, full of drunks, druggies, homeless and dodgy people, First Suite allocated to me had no running water, was offered another that stunk of mould upon entrance, third had no TV as advertised. Pity as rooms and breakfast are good but I'd definitely avoid this hotel till the remodelling is finished in mid 2024.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: In a bad area. Dangerous to leave at night Even the supermarket across the road has 4 security...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel El Panama By Faranda Grand, Otro at Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals
Responded Nov 3, 2023
Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your visit to Hotel Faranda Express Soloy & Casino We regret that we were not able to meet your expectations. We have shared your opinion with the team to improve the aspects you mention and offer better service to our guests in the future. We hope you can give us a new opportunity to offer you a better service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carolyn G wrote a review Sep 2023
21 contributions6 helpful votes
The place is cheap, we didn't expect a 5 star hotel and accepted from the start we wouldn't be in luxury. However, we were looking forward to the pool, the roof top bar attached attached had a disco but thr music was deafening inside, you could talk or think straight. Thr pool area was ok could be amazing but the first day it was raining off and on so they closed it. Later it was open but thru close it at 7. We stayed again so we could use thr pool but it is Saturday and they offer pool pass for thr day. Needless to say thr kids were in thr pool thr entire day and evening taking over the entire pool, there qas no chance for adults to swim. The room was horribly small and you had to ask for anything you wanted which we were never told. So if you want a hair dyer you have to ask, if you want an iron you have to ask, if you want a refrigerator you have to ask. This we found out at the end of our first night. We ordered nachos and had to wait 1 . 5 hours at the pool we were never able to enjoy. Some of the workers were very nice. Thr guy who is waiter st the pool was so impressive. The guy who work at regustratiin late at night was amazing. The breakfast is over early and it really has nothing good except thr coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: It's cheap you still will get less then it's worth they do not care.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel El Panama By Faranda Grand, Otro at Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals
Responded Oct 4, 2023
Thank you for staying at Hotel Soloy & Casino and for taking the time to share your opinion with us, Carolyng267 We regret to know your experience was not up to your expectations and that an excellent service was not provided, as per usual. Your observations were shared with the team to improve our services and for sure the experience We hope you can give us the opportunity to serve you again in our facilities and ensure an excellent stay with us. Best Regards, Alejandra Guest Relations Supervisor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dreamer08307763162 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
In general, everything was fine. The location of the hotel in relation to the "Loteria" metro station was perfect. The delicious breakfast We recommend that people eat what they need because we saw a lot of wasted food, they took several things and did not eat everything The bad internet signal and more to communicate with our children. The place is very safe, we will return if God allows it... :D
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel El Panama By Faranda Grand, Otro at Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals
Responded Oct 4, 2023
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience with us, Dreamer08307763162 We are happy to know that your experience with us was wonderful. Regarding the internet, we will share your comment with our team to improve this. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again at Soloy & Casino Hotel! Best regards, Alejandra Guest Relations Supervisor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
The Wandering Reviewer wrote a review Jul 2023
Melbourne, Australia9822 contributions4167 helpful votes
+1
Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino What a way to end a trip. This hotel was magical. Big comfortable beds, easy checking. Spacious rooms. Clean. Clean. Clean. Breakfast was included and had a nice selection of options. The rooms are quiet and spacious. Only complaint was when you turned the bathroom light on, the fan came on. Otherwise, can’t fault it. Loved the PowerPoint close to the bed. And a tv that had a few English speaking channels. Thank you to the team for a wonderful finale to our. #thewanderingreviewer #intrepidtravel #bestofcentralamerica @intrepidtravel #hotelfaranda
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel El Panama By Faranda Grand, Otro at Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals
Responded Oct 4, 2023
Thank you for staying at Soloy & Casino Hotel and for taking the time to share your opinion with us, urbandrifter We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and our staff were able to meet your expectations. Regarding the fan, we are sorry for the inconvenience that occurred. We will take this into account to improve the facilities We hope you can give us the opportunity to serve you again in our facilities. We assure you that you will have an excellent stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stay785558 wrote a review Apr 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Cheap hotel, my room had missing glass window which prevented tje air conditioner cool. Bathroom sort of dirty feeling wirh no floor towels. When you get out the shower floor wet. I will not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Close to the train station. But dont expect quality out of this cheap hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel El Panama By Faranda Grand, Otro at Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals
Responded Oct 4, 2023
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience, Stay785558 We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Your observations will be evaluated to improve the experience at our facilities. We hope you can give us a new opportunity to have you back with us to demonstrate the improvement in our service. Best Regards, Alejandra Guest Relations Supervisor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
276tulip wrote a review Sep 2019
Jamaica5 contributions
Hotel staff were accommodating, friendly and warm. Room was well cleaned, and ammendities were in place. My family and I would certainly return. Special mention of the restaurant staff who assisted us with interpretation as we did not speak Spanish.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lisa-from_Vancouver wrote a review Nov 2018
Vancouver, Canada43 contributions22 helpful votes
The bathroom was clean. The sheets were clean so I am giving it two stars. We arrived at the hotel and it the photos online must be from a long time ago. The check in lady spoke no English which was fine as we managed with some Spanish. After we arrived in our room, a lady knocked on our door and spoke in Spanish. Super fast and I could not understand her. She just kept repeating what she was saying. I got out Google translate to try and help. She was not interested in slowing down for that. From what we gathered it was housekeeping come to clean the room - which was already clean. I felt uncomfortable in the hotel. The area is not one that I would walk in at night. The restaurant was closed and the casino very sketchy. The rooftop pool was okay, but I wouldn't book because of that. We saw other hotels from that rooftop that people were using and looked nicer. The sheets were extremely damp and the room smelled musty. I wouldn't book again for the money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Juan Carlos Restrepo wrote a review Oct 2018
Medellin, Colombia134 contributions27 helpful votes
I chose that hotel and stayed there for 2 nights thinking that it would be really good. However, some of the pictures this hotel promotes in different platforms do not correspond to reality. The pool is not as it looks in the pictures (it is way smaller and not that clear). The hotel surroundings are creepy; I cannot think of another adjective. The zone is not the best in the city. I could not go out at nights for a walk. There were no restaurants around. It looked dangerous due to the street beggars and the dirty of sidewalks and streets. The elevator in this hotle is reallly old and makes creepy noises (as if it were going to collapse any time) My room smelt and it was noisy. There was humidity in the air (moisture). I will not return to that place. At least, my room was clean and the WIFI worked perfectly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Be VERY careful. The pictures advertised do not necessarily reflect reality.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Natalie_Caron wrote a review Oct 2018
Ottawa, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
1-The hotel stinks moulds and is dirty (lobby, hall, pool area) 2-The pictures of the Hotel available on websites and Hotel paper advertisements are totally misleading 3- The hotel refused to reimbused the 3 days paid in advance despite that we refused to stay in that stinky dump (400$) 4-I was informed by the community that the hotel is taking advantage of a positive reputation that was bult a fee decades ago but which is now over. 5-the hotel is located in an area where there is now much prostitution at night. Community said it was even not a safe place to stay and walk by. I ve stayed one month with my children and we all enjoyed the Panama City and its area which was 100% family friendly. The Soloy is a shame for the tourism industry in Panama city. We are a middle class family and travellled with a middle class budget.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jet752674 wrote a review Jan 2018
2 contributions3 helpful votes
I actually made a trip advisor account just to leave a review here because our stay was so disappointing. We arrived early in the morning hoping to book an extra night since it was still 9 hours before check in, and were told we could either have a room at double the price or to get out. The night receptionist pretended she couldn’t speak English, wouldn’t give us the wifi password so we could find somewhere else to go while waiting for check in. We were also told that our room that we had booked wasn’t available so we’d have to check out and back in a few hours later, basically taking up our entire first day, only to be told we could just stay in that room after all when we tried to move. The neighbourhood is very dodgy and not near any of the areas you’d want to see in Panama City. We had no water in our room both days that we stayed. The housekeepers continued cleaning our room, moving our stuff around and throwing out our things despite being told we didn’t want housekeeping. Do yourself a favour an stay in Casco Viejo instead.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Panama City area.
PRICE RANGE
₱3,605 - ₱4,291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran hotel and casino soloy, gran hotel soloy, gran hotel panama city
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
City House Soloy & Casino
LOCATION
PanamaPanama ProvincePanama City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
200
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL FARANDA EXPRESS SOLOY AND CASINO, A MEMBER OF RADISSON INDIVIDUALS - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Panama City) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals?
Nearby attractions include Avenida Balboa (0.7 km), Mercado Publico del Marisco (1.0 km), and Poin Panamá (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Faro del Casco Antiguo, Tres Fuegos, and Cielo Rooftop Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Panama City.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Faranda Express Soloy and Casino, a member of Radisson Individuals?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Museo del Canal Interoceánico de Panamá (1.8 km), Capilla San Jose (6.7 km), and Panamá Viejo (7.2 km).