We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Arqueologo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection

Calle Pumacurco 408 3 Blocks From Main Square, Cusco 08000 Peru
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (385)
360
Panoramas (11)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#54 of 256 hotels in Cusco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
The Hotel Arqueologo is situated just a five-minute walk from Cusco's Main Square "Plaza de Armas", in the traditional San Cristobal neighborhood, with its narrow streets and Inca walls, colonial-era balconies and baroque churches. During the Inca period, our street was one of the main avenues of the imperial capital, connecting the center of the city with the great fortress of Saqsaywaman.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bicycle tours
Patio
Taxi service
Massage
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Walking tours
Umbrella
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
672Reviews24Q+A83Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 369
  • 199
  • 50
  • 32
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
johana1207 wrote a review Nov 2023
Sterling, Virginia6 contributions2 helpful votes
The room was very spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very nice. My room had a bicycle hanging from the ceiling I don't know the purpose of the bike. The hotel is very lonely I never saw another guest. At night time the lobby and stairs are super dark a little scary. I didn't like the hotel because it was very dark and I never saw anyone. The front door is always lock. There is no front staff. Other than that the hotel is very close to Plaza de armas the gentleman that works there is very nice and friendly whenever u need him you can ring the ring bell and he will come to you. The breakfast they offer was eggs and bread juices coffee and teas.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Becky S wrote a review Jul 2023
Portland, Maine3 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This was a no-nonsense hotel that fit our needs! It was close to everything, the owner and staff were very accommodating. Despite being some of the only guests, we were treated so well. Comfy beds and hot, clean showers. They are very accommodating with our baby!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from joel EVRARD, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection
Responded Sep 15, 2023
Gracias por sus comentarios. Es Asi que tenemos una cuna gratuita que se puede colocar en las habitaciones suite o design. Joel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Igodoy@gmail.com wrote a review Nov 2023
4 contributions
Excellent, relaxing and friendly environment. Rooms and bathrooms are very spacious and and clean. Great location, walking distance to downtown and main tourist attractions. I spent 5 the best five vacation days with my family and we have not complain. Highly recommend it. We'll definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Breakfast is very casual
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
f1p587953n wrote a review Nov 2023
Toronto, Ohio1 contribution1 helpful vote
This is the best hotel we've stayed at during the two weeks in Peru (six hotels in total). Interior is cute and unique, bed is super comfy, room is quiet all the time, and very sustainability conscious. Hand soap, shampoo and water bottle are all refillable, hot water is only available in the morning and night, and there is sorted recycling (!!!). Staff doesn't speak much English but super nice and attentive. They accommodated me for my request for breakfast when I had to leave early for tours and flight.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gaétan L wrote a review Oct 2023
8 contributions2 helpful votes
A beautiful hotel, just a few minutes away from Cusco's main square and all the historical sites in the Centro. The neighborhood feels safe. The owner and the staff were welcoming and attentive to our needs. (Love that they have potable water and a reasonably priced, quick laundry service!) They were very accomodating, letting us leave our luggage for a few days while we were trecking in the region. Rooms are spacious, clean, very confortable and breakfast was perfect to start the day. We'll definitely stay here again when we come back to Cusco!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Janine W wrote a review Sep 2023
Chicago, Illinois284 contributions136 helpful votes
This is a challenging review to write, because the team working in the hotel are so pleasant and the facility has so much character and potential. The hotel has (or at one time had) plenty to offer, yet the degree to which certain aspects of the hotel are or are not available depend on what is important to you. We stayed 8 nights and here is our experience: The pictures of the room we had was accurate to what we received. The room/bath was very clean. The bed/pillows were exceptionally comfortable. The towels were like sandpaper. As for housekeeping: the amenities (soap, coffee, tea) were never replenished. Filtered water is available in the central area (this is a really nice benefit in a country where you shouldn’t drink from the tap). Housekeeping: Our room was cleaned daily. The coffee/tea in the room was never replaced, I had to ask for more at breakfast each day. The towels are thin and in some cases shredding. Internet: The internet was spotty at best for the first few days, and then it was only after I asked that I was told it was down. Interestingly, at the end of day 3 I received a WhatsApp message supposedly from the hotel offering the application as the communication vehicle so that I could ask them any questions and they could help me “as soon as possible”. I inquired about the internet, observed confirmation that my message was read, but I never received any response. The layout/structure of the building is stunning: there is a central courtyard sheltered from the elements. There is a restaurant and a separate bar located on the first floor. (However, neither were open during our stay.) This was disappointing because the promotional descriptions and pictures provide beautiful pictures of these facilities and speak to the fact that they are onsite. For breakfast: eggs, yogurt, breads and cereal are provided along with coffee/tea/orange juice. If you’re not fluent in Spanish, try to ask for the egg menu what gives you the 4 options for their preparation in multiple languages. There is no “front desk”. You ring the door to be allowed in for check-in, and thereafter you have a key that allows you access to the hotel. And anytime you need to ask a question of someone, there is a bell you need to ring to get their attention. They are always attentive to the ring. Overall: our stay was pleasant. We were disappointed by the absence of the restaurant and bar, and we always felt alone entering the hotel given that no one was around. But the evenings were silent which made for nice sleeping, and the location is close enough to the main square without being so close as to hear the noise.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If onsite bar/restaurant are important to you, ask if they are open.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kevin K wrote a review Mar 2020
Port Elgin, Canada21 contributions24 helpful votes
If you are a history lover and enjoy an artsy mix of new and old, this is a great place. Located just a short walk from the historic centre of town, there is so much to see and do here. The owner Joel and his friendly staff really helped us out with information and taxis, etc. Great breakfast too with lots of variety. Joel is very environmentally minded and supplies free purified water so you don't have to buy bottled water! Joel also treated us to a do-it-yourself Pisco Sour night at the bar, so that was a lot of fun too! Highly recommended, thanks for a great experience in Cusco!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Leslie B wrote a review Jan 2020
Portland, Oregon1 contribution
Very well-located in Cusco. Great variety at breakfast. Breakfast room and patio are sun-filled in the morning. Nice rooms. Nice property. Very helpful staff. We learned how to make Pisco Sours in the bar!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel_Arqueologo_Cus, Propietario at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection
Responded Feb 9, 2020
With all my heart, thank you for being rewarded for your comments. It corresponds to the work of more than 30 years in this beautiful colonial house that I have reopened with many love.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rachelle M wrote a review Jan 2020
Guatemala City, Guatemala6 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel Arqueologo was located in the perfect spot only 2 blocks away from the main square and the San Blas neighborhood. The gardens are beautiful and there is a lot of space. Everything is very tastefully decorated. I felt like I was staying at a high end hotel but paid a very reasonable price for a beautiful private room. The hotel does not use any single-use plastic and conserves electricity. I would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel_Arqueologo_Cus, Propietario at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection
Responded Feb 9, 2020
How nice that they realize all the details that make this hotel a nice place. Also the effort we make to try to be the most respectful of the environment. It is a country where the concern for the issue is null, and the effort on our part goes directly to employees, suppliers and our customers. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ronan D wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We had a terrible experience with this hotel. After booking a room with 2 doubles and a sofa bed for 4 people we arrived late at night to be told that the room only had 3 single beds. We showed reception our booking and payment confirmation from Agoda and the description confirming the number of beds. He suggested that my husband and I share a single bed, which we were reluctant to do particularly as my husband was unwell. He also said that we would be charged another $10USD which was surprising as we had already paid $116 for a room which was advertised as $59 on the hotel website. We understand that mistakes happen and asked to speak with the manager. The receptionist was unaware that my husband speaks Spanish and we realised after listening to the receptionist on the phone that they had no intention of helping us. The manager was present in the hotel, but didn’t come and speak with us. We had paid upfront and asked for a refund so we could look for another hotel, even though it was after 9.30pm and we had now been there over an hour. He said he hadn’t received payment and asked us to call our bank in Australia. We showed him the payment confirmation again which was non refundable. We were now really exhausted after travelling since 5am. We begged him to put another bed in the room and after a 15 minute wait he agreed. However he said that we would have to pay for the room again as he couldn’t see the payment. After 1.5 hours of trying to check in, he showed us a print out of our booking which included our credit card details - he actually did have payment. We now just wanted to leave and he said we would be charged as a no show. After this experience, we just couldn’t stay. We left to find another hotel at 10.30pm. I don’t know yet whether he charged us for the room. The hotel looks ok, but has the worst customer service I have ever experienced. Our situation could have been easily resolved- the hotel was empty. Good luck if you decide to book.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel_Arqueologo_Cus, Gerente at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection
Responded Feb 9, 2020
We apologize for the inconvenience and want to give you explanations. The problem is with the booking company AGODA. This Company has been purchased by another booking company. You have put wrong hotel data online. For example, we accept 4 additional children up to 19 years old? They will understand that this is not possible. We also have no rooms with 6 beds. We confirm that nothing has been charged, you must know that booking never charges. Sorry for not reacting better because you as a client had no responsibility. The problem is internal between the hotel and Booking company.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cusco area.
PRICE RANGE
₱3,983 - ₱5,161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arqueologo exclusive selection cusco, arqueologo exclusive selection hotel
LOCATION
PeruCusco RegionCusco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ARQUEOLOGO - CASA PERALTA - EXCLUSIVE SELECTION - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Cusco, Peru) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
Nearby attractions include Centro Historico De Cusco (0.3 km), La Chupiteria The Shot Bar (0.3 km), and Ekekos - Arte & Colores (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a lounge, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kusykay Peruvian Craft Food, Ofrenda Peruvian Healthy Food, and Rucula Cusco.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sacsayhuaman (0.6 km), Waliki Tours Peru (0.5 km), and Choquequirao (7.6 km).
Does Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.