Orchids Resort Boracay

Orchids Resort Boracay

Station 3 Angol Road, Malay, Aklan Province 5608 Philippines
Our Nipa Hut at Orchids
Traveler (222)
Outside view 2
Room & Suite (188)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#72 of 165 hotels in Boracay
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
One of the island's most attractive, low-budget resorts, the ORCHIDS RESORT features native rooms and cottages made of native bamboo and nipa. And now equipped with Wireless Internet Connection. ORCHIDS RESORT is ideally located less than a minute walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Wifi
Paid wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quiet

Location

Station 3 Angol Road, Malay, Aklan Province 5608 Philippines
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 91 out of 100
91
Kalibo Airport
Malay Airport
343Reviews7Q+A49Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 157
  • 111
  • 45
  • 14
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
julia h wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived the day after typhoon so half of the resort did not have a roof. In typical Philippine resilience the staff were working and trying to accommodate me. In terms of value, as a solo traveller not wanting to hostel this was the best on Boracay. It is clean, well maintained and importantly locally owned and managed. For me, perfect-super relaxed, lovely staff and I really liked the location-station 3-away from chaos of further up the beach. This is not a 5 star luxury resort but very much value for money in an otherwise over priced area. Thanks for having me and accommodating me!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
zarinamaec wrote a review Jan 2015
Quezon City, Philippines
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and my brother stayed for 3 nights in this resort on May 4-7, 2014.

We arrived a bit early than the usual 2PM check in time and I am expecting we would have to wait before we can get inside our room. But no, we did not wait at all. The man who welcomed us gave us seashell necklaces and ushered us to room 16. It has one double bed and a single one, suits the three of us.

The accommodation rate is very very cheap. We stayed in one of their fan rooms. They also have "Kubo" or nipa huts if you want a room separate from the main building. I normally look for that homey-pinoy-feeling every time I visit the beach and Orchids Resort was able to fulfill what I'm looking for. The rooms were made of native materials and have the island-feel.

On our first morning we ate breakfast at the resort before going snorkeling. We ordered Farmer's Breakfast and Longsilog and they are very tasty. The serving was small though compare to is price but it was good, we didn't mind. They also offered free coffee.

The place is less than two minutes walk from the station 3 beach. For people who loves the busy beach of Boracay but still want some solitude, this resort is the best. Oh.. Did I mention that the room rate is very very cheap? Lols! ♥♥♥ We only spent around 2500 for three nights for three people. Recommended for travelers on a budget and great for backpackers too!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
XXM1972 wrote a review Apr 2011
Nola, Italy
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hallo. I spent some days with my girlfriend in Boracay at Orchids Resort (Boat Station #3). We stayed at Private Villa. Nice and quiet place, great view. Owner and staff are very friendly and helpful too. Romantic scenario, amazing white sand beach, good food, a lot of things to do while there (surfing, diving, island tour), and also so many restaurants and bars. For sure I will come back there to enjoy my next trip. Lorenzo
Read more
Date of stay: April 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael_In_Essex_UK wrote a review Jul 2013
Essex, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Orchids was recommended to me by the owner of what I thought was the best budget accommodation on Boracay. B&B Beach Resort sadly sold for redevelopment, yet another building site to blight Boracay.
I love Boracay but why do we all go there it is just like one great big building site, and often very poor quality.
I think before you book any accommodation it is up to you to do your research.
I liked the location it is away from the main action, but not that far away and I liked that, it is very nice to walk between the boat stations, especially at night.
It is only about a 400m max stroll to the beach, and if it rains you will get wet shoes or feet, but they do have a tap to rinse your feet down stairs.
The Orchids has been built up to be a very nice small rustic style resort which I liked.
My room was serviced regularly, and was the one above the office, which I liked as it was the
first room upstairs so you do not feel closed in.
Upstairs there are plenty of tables and chairs outside the rooms to read a book and drink your all day coffee.
I thought my room was very good for budget accommodation.
I actually thought to myself before I read some more of there reviews on my return, that I was surprised how good the water pressure to the shower was, and you could set it hotter than you could possibly stand under, most budget accommodation in the Philippines does not come close to these showers.
I think the floors could be a little dirty, but first that is due to the nature of the timber, and this is not a compliant as I am a carpenter, they do not seemed to be polished so can hold the dirt.
It is my opinion only, because they are rental rooms and new people in them almost every day, they are safer unpolished so you do not slip on them.
I would also say most of the dirt on the floors you bring in yourself, and when the rooms are serviced they are always swept.
I liked the breakfast not massive but good.
I doubt the owners can resolve this problem, but the flies around the tables drove me mad when eating my breakfast.
The Orchids reviews are over whelming good, but there are a few complaints, and here are my minor complaints.
The wooden safe deposit boxes are useless, yes I had to use them, but very easy to break into. A very cheap metal filing cabinet style would be much better, and the office is not staffed 24/7 what ever they say, although it would have to be an inside job and I mainly mean other guests, it would be very easy.
I am not the first to make this comment below.
I am surprised to have to make it as I believe the owner or owners are American, but I am not sure 100% as they were not there when I was.
I found some of the staff a little miserable, surprising as Americans normally go overboard with all that happy clappy stuff, so you would expect there staff to be very friendly and I have been to the USA many times so I know.
And the middle aged manager a local I think, is as miserable as sin and not shy, bordering on being rude, and as he is in hospitality I say he is rude like it or not.
I say it as I see it and others have to, if he walks past you he completely ignores you, and if you go into the office to use the safe deposit boxes you are lucky if you even get a grunt.
It will not detract from your stay, but not necessary, he would not work for me. I just felt a little bit of atmosphere in the air, but may be that is just me.
The lower down the ladder the staff are, the happier they seem, not the normal way around.
I think you have the right to complain like this, when you go on holiday you expect all the staff to be friendly that is why it is called the hospitality trade.
I think for a single person like me 915 Pesos per night is at the top end for budget accommodation, even on Boracay, but you could pay a lot more for accommodation no where near as good as the Orchids.
My review may seem a little critical in part, but again I tell it as I see it, but it is still good budget accommodation, and for 2 people good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Do your research first.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
laagan wrote a review Aug 2006
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent last weekend at The Orchids Resort, Boracay. The resort is really affordable and is highly recommended to those who do not have the money to burn. They could use some improvement on the comfort rooms though for they have seen better days. Nevertheless, Boracay is still marvelous.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kazuo k wrote a review May 2013
Manila, Philippines
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This villa is a nightmare. why? floor is so dirty. bed sheet are full of dust.
this place is not secure or safe considering the windows do not have lock.
curtains full of dust. comfort room is dirty. smell is like confined place like basement that have no air. if you have to enjoy Boracay choose not to stay here. we have 60% advance here that never came back. lost of money and time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PencilsPoints, Owner at Orchids Resort Boracay
Responded Jun 4, 2013
The 7 filipino guests arrived at 8:18 pm. They left at 9 pm. Upon arrival they complained that we are not beachfront and not in station 1-2 area...and asked for their deposit of $16 per person be refunded to them. Guest was told in advance that orchids is not a beachfront resort and that orchids is in the station 3 area. No refund was given since 8:18pm arrival does not enable us to fill the cottages.....orchids policy is to refund any deposit if we are able to re-fill the room....and we were unable to refill the cottages on both nights they cancalled. Once guests were told no refund....they started to complain about everything.....i.e. location, conditions at resort, etc etec etc. can assume that if refund had been given, then this review might have been different. Some sources also told us these guests had double booked with another resort in advance and were very upset because they didnt get their $16 advance per pax back from us. We regret these filipino guests did not stay long enough to enjoy our services.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marian H wrote a review May 2012
Victoria, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in two different rooms in a period of a few days. Both had problems with some kind of bugs, either "ants" in the bathroom and/or some kind of "winged" bug that was landing on us while we were in bed at night. It was gross! We mentioned it the next day and got some bug spray. It didn't do anything. The next day my husband was laying down before going out for supper and he was being "attacked" by these flying insects ?termites?? We immediately packed up and looked for another place. (We ended up paying a lot less for a much better and cleaner room.) If they put as much time and care into cleaning and fixing up their rooms (bathroom was gross) as they did for the orchid garden, the place might be all right. Never again..

P.S. The staff were very friendly for what that is worth.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PencilsPoints, Owner at Orchids Resort Boracay
Responded May 17, 2012
yes. the island has been infiltrated for about 2-3 weeks with 'flying ants' or 'termite flies' which are everywhere...one evening they were so bad on the beachfront that guests couldnt even sit on the beachfront to watch the sunset..so.. yes the guests are correct...but...the 'flying ants' are everywhere and just not at the resort. obviously, we regret the inconvenience, but Im sure we share the feelings of all resort owners that we cannot control these pests whenever they come, which is one or twice a year....usually when the changes in temp seasons occur of April/May and Oct/Nov. regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
blessedefender wrote a review Mar 2014
Luzon, Philippines
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in one of the private villas for 4 days and 3 nights. I could say the rate (PHP 2000 or around USD 45 per night for a private villa good for 2 persons) is very reasonable. The private villa has hot/cold shower, although I'm a bit bothered by the shower at the villa we stayed in (Villa 2) because it is leaking. It also has free wifi, with a fairly fast connection since I was able to stream videos, and 2 cable TVs. Its kitchen is complete. We were able to cook our own food (saves you money for more Boracay activities; try going to Bukid Talipapa to buy seafoods). Veranda view is okay, but can't see the beach from Villa 2, maybe Villa 1 or 3 has the better view. Bring/Buy your own soap, toothpaste and shampoo (and dishwashing liquid), since they are not provided for free in the villa. I hope they will be next time. The place is secured. The ambiance is very relaxing. Situated at Station 3, it's the perfect place to stay if you want to enjoy Boracay in its "rural" form in contrast to its "urban" form. Just a heads-up for people having a hard time climbing stairs, the private villas are located uphill, so there's a few steps you need to climb, and it is a little tiring specially if you already walked from Station 3 to Station 1 back to Station 3 to your private villa. Their other rooms are ground-level so they're easier to access. A little hard to find, but your landmark is Arwana Hotel and Restaurant Boracay. Just go inside the narrow street beside it and when you see Dave's Straw Hat Inn, you're near! (For me, Orchids Resort is far better than both of these though.) Another plus for me is it's just a couple of minutes away from the main road, where you can find groceries and eateries which are way, way cheaper than their beachfront counterparts, perfect for budget travelers. Staff are very helpful. I definitely recommend it to couples, who want privacy and intimacy, budget travelers and nature-lovers.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SoanK wrote a review Aug 2012
Zamora, Spain
2.0 of 5 bubbles
They will charge you 2.000 pisos for the transport from Kalibo Airport to the Resort (round trip) and you can get it easily at the airport for only 400 pisos.

If you wanna pay using your credit card ... ¡they will charge you a 7.5% commission!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PencilsPoints, Owner at Orchids Resort Boracay
Responded Aug 9, 2012
hi...and we appreciate the guest staying the 4 nights with us. however, i really need to know where he received the information that we charge 2000 php for r/t kalibo-resort-kalibo transfer services. we offer r/t a/c bus, banca and van service direct to/from the resort for a total of 900 php...much less than any 2000 php? as for a lower rate and including on island van service and banca service and service between caticlan and airport r/t, perhaps the lowest you can find is a combined 650-700 php with no guarantee of a/c service, several stops and nonguarantee of airport arrival on time. as for the 7.5% credit card fee, we encourage all of our guests to pay in cash and we tell them up front that they need to save money and use the local ATM services and not use our credit card facilities, as the local credit card provider requires that we charge a very, and we believe unfair, service fee...we have limited control over this fee. the guests 2 star rating reflects a poor performance of our staff...and we sincerely hope that this was not the case especially since he stayed 4 nights and we would have gladly refunded him any advanced deposits if he wanted to move elsewhere. thanks. Mr Turner / owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DIMPLEZ D wrote a review Sep 2011
davao city
3.0 of 5 bubbles
There are good and bad sides to this resort. Good if you are on a tight budget and have very limited money to spend for a better place, because here you can have an aircon room for 1,000 pesos a day, you can cook your food as they have kitchen but just pay for the LPG, you can have wi-fi for 50 pesos a day. But BAD if you have asthma since termite dusts from the old bamboo walls would really whoop up your coughs. The CR do not show that they have been disinfected with chlorine, so I bought my own disinfectants for the bathroom. The beds are pretty old, the curtains dusty, and the outside bamboo walls show signs of termite infestation. But hey, like I said, this is a budget villa, and if you have more funds, go and get yourself better rooms starting at 2,000 plus a day, there are many more better places that is closer to the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaybee Vallester asked a question May 2019
Caloocan, Philippines
How to book for reservations?
Mikhael_kristina asked a question Jan 2016
Vancouver, Canada17 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi Orchids, How can we make reservations? Thanks!
Answer from Bev F
Quezon City, Philippines2 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked my stay at orchids via myboracayguide
iamdeweyhowe wrote a tip Jan 2018
Manila, Philippines1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The night security guard drank and played guitar and sang with his buddies until late in the night"
Read full review
Boiboi E wrote a tip Jun 2017
3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose the rooms at the lower ground"
Read full review
Max P wrote a tip Aug 2016
Cebu Island, Philippines42 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"bring food, you can cook and they will provide all the utensils for a small charge."
Read full review
ZeCheeseMaster wrote a tip Aug 2016
Ottawa, Canada114 contributions78 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get an air conditioning room or go elsewhere."
Read full review
Max P wrote a tip May 2016
Cebu Island, Philippines42 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"best to relax"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Boracay area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
orchids hotel boracay
LOCATION
PhilippinesVisayasPanay IslandAklan ProvinceMalayBoracay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ORCHIDS RESORT BORACAY - Hotel Reviews (Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Orchids Resort Boracay
Which popular attractions are close to Orchids Resort Boracay?
Nearby attractions include Surf Beach Boracay (0.4 km), Club Galaxy (0.4 km), and TiB Market (0.4 km).
What are some restaurants close to Orchids Resort Boracay?
Conveniently located restaurants include 8 by the Beach, Cafe Maruja, and The Sunny Side Cafe.
All Boracay HotelsBoracay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Boracay
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars