We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balay Paragua

Save
Share
Lisang Street Brgy. Maligaya, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313 Philippines
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (74)
Room & Suite (72)
Dining (12)

About

#25 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travelers make balay Paragua their bed and breakfast of choice when visiting El Nido. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

Rooms at balay Paragua provide a mosquito net, and guests can stay connected with free internet access.

In addition, while staying at balay Paragua guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, 24 hour check-in, and baggage storage.

Given the close proximity to Lio Tourism Estate (2.7 mi), guests of balay Paragua can easily experience one of El Nido's most popular landmarks.

If you like seafood restaurants, balay Paragua is conveniently located near Artcafe, Cadlao Resort & Restaurant, and Angel Wish.

If you are interested in exploring El Nido, check out one of the waterfalls, such as Nagkalit-Kalit Falls and Bulalacao Falls.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at balay Paragua as you experience all of the things El Nido has to offer.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free internet
Coffee shop
Diving
Canoeing offsite
Airport transportation
Full body massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Wifi
Fishing
Walking tours
Massage
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino
142Reviews13Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 56
  • 41
  • 20
  • 13
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
cqfp123 wrote a review Feb 2020
Los Angeles, California666 contributions436 helpful votes
This place claims to be a guest house (not a hostel) and the price is not a bargain by local standards. Stayed for 3 miserable nights in two rooms, both on the ground floor. The first room was basically on the sidewalk, facing the street and there was constant tricycle traffic. Soundproofing is entirely lacking: besides traffic, one can hear guests walking in the room upstairs, all conversations, etc. I got hardly any sleep despite ear plugs. I requested a different room. The second room was facing the tiny inner courtyard which serves as common room: tricycle traffic was a bit further away, but there were people congregating there late at night and early morning. Noise level was equally bad. Both rooms were tiny, and decor consisted of bed and night stand only. No place to lay one's things other than the floor. The first room didn't even have a night lamp, and the only light switch was located near the front door. Reasonably comfortable bed and pillows. Only one, inconveniently located, power outlet. The AC worked well, but the last night the remote quit working. The bathroom looked like a half bathroom with a shower added on the wall on the side of the the toilet. In order to shower, one needs to squeeze in the tiny space (30 cm) between the toilet and the wall. Since there is no cubicle or curtain, the bathroom gets inevitably flooded. The water drains very slowly (plumbing seems to be quite poor) and the bathroom floor is always wet. Water temperature is difficult to adjust. In both rooms the sink was chipped and the toilet seat badly stained. The toilets drained very slowly. Wifi hardly ever worked. The morning of my departure around 07:00 there was a power outage in my and other rooms. I was told it was due to "a wire". Since the room was quite dark, the staff suggested that I just open the curtains (facing the common area in the inner courtyard) in order to get dressed (sic). Eventually they provided a flashlight. With the power outage there was also no running water. The staff gave me a bucket of water to wash up (sic). After about 30 min they managed to restore electricity and water. I strongly recommend staying elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you absolutely need to stay there, try to get a room on the upper floors. The ground floor is...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Carlos G wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom27 contributions5 helpful votes
We had the misfortune of staying in this hovel for 4 nights. Unfortunately the hotel we booked and confirmed a few weeks earlier got cancelled. This place had a fairly high rating so we booked it. (This is the bit I don't get) The room - Tiny, barely enough room to get to the bed from one side only and just enough room for the luggage at the bottom of the bed. Painted various shades of dark brown peeling paint. A large hole in the linoleum on the floor in front of the 'bathroom'. Depressing dingy lights barely bright enough to see what you're doing. (Perhaps a blessing) The 'bathroom' - A toilet with a basin in front of it with a shower stuck on the side of the toilet. Imagine the bathing. I'm sure prison facilities back in Europe are better than this. At the time when we booked it was heaving with people so not much chance of booking something else without spending a fortune. Lesson of the day book well in advance, read reviews carefully and hope for the best. On a positive note the room had functioning air con and wifi and the staff were friendly. External spaces were pleasant enough but did not make up for the horrific rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Kayee wrote a review Jan 2020
Rome, Italy9 contributions4 helpful votes
My boyfriend and I were staying at another accommodation and decided to move somewhere closer to town. For our budget, the little hotel was absolutely worth the price. The room is small with only a side table and some hooks for hanging, so there wasn’t a lot of space to put our things, but we were able to manage since we packed light. Although the bathroom is small and the shower is positioned very closer to the toilet, we really appreciated the hot water shower and the pressure of the showerhead was perfect. There was one cockroach in the room one morning. The staff are extremely friendly. My boyfriend and I got minor cuts and scratches from the coral, for example, and they didn’t have a first aid kit. Within 10 minutes the staff knocked on our door- they had gone out to buy us a little kit with bandaids, alcohol, iodine, and cotton. The staff aren’t always at the help desk, but when they were we found them to be very nice and accommodating. For the price, Balay Panagua was absolutely amazing, just be mindful that the shower is a bit small, you will hear quite a bit of street noise, and you may find a cockroach or two.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Ashley wrote a review Dec 2019
18 contributions
First impression upon getting the room— acceptable. Although super tiny, it seemed clean enough, and there was both a fan and a/c, which I appreciated. BUT during the three nights we stayed here, things came out... BEDBUGS. Never mind the fact that there seems to be no manager ever present at this hotel, the bathroom has the shower-head over the toilet and always has an inch of water on the floor. THERE ARE BEDBUGS HERE!! At first when I woke up with bites on me in the morning I thought “wow, there’s a lot of mosquitos in this room...” But as more and more bites accumulated on me, I looked up just what bed bugs are, and I am 100% sure this place has them. Small blood spots on the sheets. Clusters of bites in lines with red dots in the center. Horrible horrible itch. Forget the cheaper price, nothing is worth bed bugs. Now I am paranoid that some have stowed away in my luggage and I’ll bring them home. I would never ever stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from WengParagua23, Owner at Balay Paragua
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Dear Ashley, Greetings from balay Paragua... Thank you for writing this comments. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced. We intend not answer this right away to have a proper observation if we really got infested. But after a month of having the room sold and occupied almost every night, we received no complaint of bed bugs bites. Of course, the room was thoroughly inspected but found nothing and no treatment was done since. It was because, the bed itself is only a year old. I supposed, you might have gotten it from other place you visited during your vacation. Some Palawan visitors suspects sand flea bites as bed bugs. We sincerely apologized for what happened but we are sure, it was not a bed bugs from our place. With regard to room, yes it was pretty small, but the size was also indicated on-line and we are confident that our rate is fair enough. Sincerely, Weng/ bP team balay Paragua, El Nido
Read more
Michelle3004 wrote a review Nov 2019
Southampton, United Kingdom24 contributions15 helpful votes
You don’t get alot for your money in El Nido in terms of accommodation and this place just reiterated that fact. We only need to stay one night thankfully. The water in the bathroom stank.. did not feel clean after showering. Beds seemed clean and were comfortable enough. Air con wasnt too bad :-) Door to the room felt flimsy but we had no trouble with security other than that. The foyer to the place is quite cute with its little tables and chairs and fake grass, and the wooden steps up to the rooms was quaint.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$26 - US$69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PhilippinesMimaropaPalawan ProvincePalawan IslandEl Nido
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Balay Paragua
Which popular attractions are close to Balay Paragua?
Nearby attractions include RoofTop Bar & Boutique (0.2 km), Taraw Cliff (0.1 km), and Nagkalit-Kalit Falls (0.10 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Balay Paragua?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include airport transportation, free internet access, and baggage storage.
What are some restaurants close to Balay Paragua?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ashoka - Authentic Indian Cuisine, Taste El Nido - The Vegan Cafe PH, and Happiness Beach Bar.
Does Balay Paragua have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Balay Paragua offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Balay Paragua?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.