We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong China
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$71
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/22
Expedia.com
$85
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$85
Hotel Website$85
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (525)
360
Panoramas (33)
Room & Suite (528)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#40 of 799 hotels in Hong Kong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Butterfly on Wellington is located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, From famous malls (the Landmark, the IFC, the nightlife of Soho & Lan Kwai Fong) to the art & heritage (along Hollywood Road & the Central Escalator), everything is right here on your doorstep. Hotel offers "4G Pocket Wi-Fi Device" to keep your life in sync! Mobile hotspot with unlimited local data instantly connects your devices. Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel offers branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, friendly docking station. Our 24-hour front desk and dedicated ' Local Ambassadors' are on stand-by where you can truly synchronize your life's demands with your souls.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
967Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
115Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1846Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,017
  • 657
  • 123
  • 30
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Andrew wrote a review 23 Nov
Hong Kong, China1 contribution
Convenient location near IFC and mid-levels escalator. I stayed in the signature room and it was spacious and comfortable. I extended my stay for a few nights. The service was excellent. I got much-needed help with transportation options when checking out.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Butterfly Hotels, Marketing at Butterfly on Wellington
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us. It is such a pleasure to read such positive feedback. We are thrilled that you are so happy with everything that we are trying to deliver in terms of service and hospitality. It would be a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our hotel! Yours sincerely, Cherrie Ng Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flora M wrote a review 18 Nov
3 contributions3 helpful votes
It's a very great experience to stay in this hotel for 7 nights..... The staff are friendly and professional.... The room is clean and comfortable.... The location is so central that it's close to all amenities such as restaurants, public transport, supermarkets, etc....
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Butterfly Hotels, Marketing at Butterfly on Wellington
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that your Butterfly experience was pleasant which you found that our staff was helpful. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Yours sincerely, Cherrie Ng Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie K wrote a review 6 Nov
1 contribution
The staff couldn’t have been more helpful, they made me feel so welcome and helped me navigate all the health regulations required when visiting Hong Kong. The room is quiet and bed comfortable. I love being in the middle of the city and all the advantages of that, great food and bars and shopping, but having a little haven to retire to in the evening is the best! I can’t recommend Butterfly on Wellington, and their staff, high enough.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Butterfly Hotels, Marketing at Butterfly on Wellington
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us. It is such a pleasure to read such positive feedback. We are thrilled that you are so happy with everything that we are trying to deliver in terms of service and hospitality. It would be a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our hotel! Yours sincerely, Cherrie Ng Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James A wrote a review Oct 2022
Bangkok, Thailand9 contributions4 helpful votes
The staff displayed exceptional customer service. The rooms are phenomenal. The pillows are very comfortable and coming in variety of comfort. The location is very ideal to get anywhere. I will make this my vacation destinations whenever I come to Central.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Butterfly Hotels, Marketing at Butterfly on Wellington
Responded 5 weeks ago
Our team thanks you so much for sharing your recent experience! Your ranking of “5” is greatly appreciated, and let us knows that we provided you with a memorable stay, which is what we want for all of our guests. Please honor us again with another visit if you should be in our area. Yours Sincerely Cherrie Ng Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fernanda V wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
I stayed for 4 days for my medical surveillance and before my trip to mainland China and I have to say, all the staff made my stay super comfortable They helped me with all the information I'd need those 3 days and were very friendly and respectful at all times. Only non amazing thing would be that the hotel doesn't have a beautiful view but with how centrical it is (around 15 min walk to harbor and bus tour meet up places, 30 min walk to CTC or the golden Bauhinia, 5 min walk from Man Mo temple/ladder street/bars and restaurants area), it's definitely worth the money 😊😊😊
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Butterfly Hotels, Marketing at Butterfly on Wellington
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Thank you very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that your Butterfly experience was pleasant which you found that our staff was helpful. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Yours sincerely, Cherrie Ng Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alberto wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
The staff was Excellent: patient, helpful, and highly professional. Room nice and efficient. Good location. Especially nice and attentive: Jacky Karen Ami The location of the hotel is perfect. The room was very clean. I will definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Butterfly Hotels, Marketing at Butterfly on Wellington
Responded 17 Oct 2022
Our team thanks you so much for sharing your recent experience! Your ranking of “5” is greatly appreciated and lets us knows that Jacky, Karen & Ami provided you with a memorable stay, which is what we want for all of our guests. Please honor us again with another visit if you should be in our area. Yours Sincerely Cherrie Ng Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon C wrote a review Oct 2022
Nevada295 contributions164 helpful votes
+Central location is great +Price was good, probably due to no tourists in HK +Staff were outstanding -HK$5000 "covid cleaning deposit" was a big surprise and to much -Rugs are quite 'tired'; the carpet was very dirty -Laundry service was extremely expensive
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Butterfly Hotels, Marketing at Butterfly on Wellington
Responded 13 Oct 2022
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your comments. I am happy to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and staff service met your expectation. But we regret to hear that you are unsatisfied for the deposit amount, the price of laundry and the carpet condition. Thank you for your valuable comment. Please accept my apologies and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you sometime in the future. Yours sincerely, Cherrie Ng Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tokyogodfather wrote a review Sep 2022
Sai Kung, China3 contributions1 helpful vote
As someone who also works in customer service, I am consistently blown away by how understanding, clever, and creative the staff at both Butterfly branches in HK can be in solving problems for their guests. This time I want to especially thank Ami, Gene, and Annie for going out of their way to find creative solutions to my problems. Even if a friend finds "higher rated" or "cheaper" hotels, if Butterfly is available, I always tell them to stay at Butterfly. The service, the friendly manner of the staff, and that problem solving creativity, is unparalleled anywhere in HK. (I almost don't want to write reviews, because as Butterfly gets more popular, there are less vacancies and the price goes up (as it should)) Kudos to the management as well, because the friendliness and desire to help is consistent through not only every guest service staff, but even the cleaning people. That requires a maintaining a culture from the top down. Great job !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Signature room is amazing. Better than most rooms that cost twice as much at a luxury hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Butterfly Hotels, Marketing at Butterfly on Wellington
Responded 22 Sep 2022
Our team thanks you so much for sharing your recent experience! Your ranking of “5” is greatly appreciated, and let us knows that Ami, Gene and Annie provided you with a memorable stay, which is what we want for all of our guests and we are very proud of the level of service they provide. Please honour us again with another visit if you should be in our area. Yours Sincerely Cherrie Ng Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Henry H wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
Very nice room, great services. Special highlight, John Wong from the front office, his excellent service make my stay remarkable!! I can feel his smile under the face mask, he make me feel welcomed and it feels like coming back home. Thank you John!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Butterfly Hotels, Marketing at Butterfly on Wellington
Responded 18 Sep 2022
Our team thanks you so much for sharing your recent experience! Your ranking of “5” is greatly appreciated, and let us knows that John provided you with a memorable stay, which is what we want for all of our guests. Please honour us again with another visit if you should be in our area. Yours Sincerely Cherrie Ng Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
terence n wrote a review Aug 2022
Hong Kong, China3 contributions1 helpful vote
John and Janice are the nice staff who could handle the customer request very prompt with great efficiency. The place is a very good one as it is near to the city heart. The cleanliness are very impressive.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Butterfly Hotels, Marketing at Butterfly on Wellington
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Thank you very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that your Butterfly experience was pleasant which you found that our staff was helpful. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Yours sincerely, Cherrie Ng Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$80 - US$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
butterfly on wellington hotel hong kong
LOCATION
ChinaHong KongCentral District / Hong Kong Island / Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BUTTERFLY ON WELLINGTON - UPDATED 2022 Boutique Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Hong Kong, China) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Butterfly on Wellington
Which popular attractions are close to Butterfly on Wellington?
Nearby attractions include Tai Kwun - Centre for Heritage and Arts (0.2 km), Hong Kong Pub Crawl (0.3 km), and Lan Kwai Fong (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Butterfly on Wellington?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, dry cleaning, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Butterfly on Wellington?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Butterfly on Wellington?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Butterfly on Wellington?
Conveniently located restaurants include Veda, Amalfitana Central, and Te Quiero Mucho.
Is Butterfly on Wellington located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Hong Kong.
Are any cleaning services offered at Butterfly on Wellington?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Butterfly on Wellington?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Butterfly on Wellington?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tai Kwun - Centre for Heritage and Arts (0.2 km), Sik Sik Yuen Wong Tai Sin Temple (7.7 km), and PMQ (0.2 km).
Is Butterfly on Wellington accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.