EHWA in Myeongdong

EHWA in Myeongdong

2-1, Samil-daero 9-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04537 South Korea
Traveler (72)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 11 special hotels in Seoul
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Ehwa is located in Myeongdong, Shopping Center of Seoul, Korea. Seoul City centre can be reached in 10−20 minutes with public transport and the bus stop is next to Ehwa. This Ehwa in Myeongdong is popular among business travelers and tourists who would like to reserve an affordable bed and breakfast room in Seoul with customer centered service. No matter what your reasons are to visit Seoul, Ehwa in Myeongdong will make you feel at home. From the entire team, we look forward to welcoming you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Express check-in / check-out
Complimentary welcome drink
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Seating area
Clothes rack
Microwave
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Japanese and 1 more

Location

2-1, Samil-daero 9-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04537 South Korea
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Gimpo Intl Airport
Incheon Intl Airport
49.2 km
See all flights
Myeong-dong
5 minSeoul Metropolitan Subway
50Reviews9Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 21
  • 21
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
LucasDize wrote a review Aug 2023
Adelaide, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros:
Comfortable beds, individual AC in the room, so you can control it, offers breakfast and location is great, just off Myeongdong Street, with lots of stores to shop around.

Cons:
Very small room, staff don't speak English and doesn't seem very keen to help. Breakfast is very poor, and it never changes (toast, 2 cereals, 2 juices, milk, coffee, cheese, butter, jelly and peanut butter).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shane B wrote a review May 2024
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms were small but clean.
There was no shower basin so you shower in same place as toilet area etc.
Also they don’t clean your rooms unless you ask but we were up early for a tour and no one was there to ask.
Reception is quite and they are very strict on the 3pm check in ( we arrived at 2:15pm)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tinaaa1970 wrote a review Jul 2023
Ferney-Voltaire, France
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very convenient. Basic breakfast included. Single room very small but with all you need for one may be two nights. Well located not far from myeongdong metro. Room was cleaned and personnel was very kind although speaking very basic English
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline wrote a review May 2024
Sao Paulo, SP
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Excelent location, steps away from city center and close to subway!
Really clean and amazing staff.
Close convenience store and restaurants.
Room small, but cozy, with TV and wifi.
Breakfast simple, toast, cheese and eggs, buy great to start the day!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philippe S wrote a review May 2024
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We took a room for two with a single bed for 2 nights. The room is small but it is very cozy and works just fine. The location is amazing and the price is good! Would 100% recommend except if you want lots of space in your room. The included breakfast is good too and the staff is really friendly!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
d h wrote a review Feb 2019
San Francisco, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been to Korea 5x now and I generally stay in the Myeongdong area. The hotels is up a hill (can be a challenge if lugging two 23 kg/50lb suitcases)and about a block away from Myeongdong Cathedral. As an FYI, there is an English mass on Sundays at 930AM. Anyway, to get to the hotel, take bus 6015 from the airport. The ticket is 14000 won. Get off at Euljiro Sam Ga stop.
You take the same bus going back to the airport but for some reason, it was 15000 won going back. You can use your Tmoney card or pay the driver in cash. I'm not sure if you can buy both tickets at the airport (I've never tried but I'll ask next time). When taking the bus back to the airport, be leery of any private vans, taxis that may ask to take you to the airport. Don't take them as you don't know where they could take you.

The rooms are small and barely enough room to open your suitcase BUT if you've traveled to Asia you should know that you don't get big palatial rooms unless you go to a Western style branded hotel like Hilton, Ibis etc. I'd rather spend my money on shopping and touring.

The bathroom is a wet room so there is no separate shower. Do not use the indoor slippers in the bathroom - use the rubber slippers as they have traction and will grip the wet floor. Heating was adequate and for the most part, our floor (6th) was quiet at night. Also to note, there's no closet or dresser but again, unless you get a Western style hotel, space will be a premium. I learn to use the coat rack or just fold clothes on the ledge. If you need an iron/ironing board you will need to go downstairs and iron your clothes in the lobby (you can't bring it to your room).

Breakfast is white/wheat toast, two kinds of cold cereal, room temperature milk (I had to add ice to my milk), juice and hard boiled eggs, cup noodles and instant soup. I have to admit at some point I was craving oatmeal, and bread other than white/wheat (like sourdough, baguette etc) but if the hotel breakfast isn't your scene, Paris Baguette, McDonald's, and various coffee shops are on the main drag of Myeongdong. If you crave a real Western breakfast, unfortunately you'll have to go to Itaewon (The Flying Pan I highly recommend) or go to a pricey hotel buffet like at a Marriott, Hilton etc.

Below is the landmark for the bus stop closest to the hotel. Bus should make a left at red exclamation point onto Euljiro Sam Ga and bus stop is in front of KB building (you can see building in 3rd picture)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ehwa_In_Myeongdong, 매니저 at EHWA in Myeongdong
Responded Feb 12, 2019
Dear d h , Hello, this is manager Vitta... Thank you for leaving a comment here.. Now I have no idea how to answer your review which is too much well written in detail. I have no words except for this "Your review is The TripAdvisor". We appreciate that you wrote lots of information for the future guests. It would quite helpful for them. Thank you for choosing Ehwa and having stayed :) We would definitely wait for your next visit, too! Have a nice day, Sincerely, Manager Vitta, Ehwa in MD
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Derelict wrote a review Nov 2018
Singapore, Singapore
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for the final leg of the trip. And we got the Deluxe room. It was big. Had 4 double beds. Each one of us took one double bed. Service was good and the location was convenient to get to Myeong-dong main shopping street.

Do take note that if you take the deluxe rooms on 8th floor, the lift stops at 7th floor and you will have to CARRY your luggage up a flight of stairs to the rooms. Which we did with much difficulty as we had BIG luggage’s.

Yet, we were very happy with this hotel. Will return again but might bring smaller luggage.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ehwa_In_Myeongdong, 매니저 at EHWA in Myeongdong
Responded Nov 12, 2018
Hi Derelict, Thank you so so much for staying with EHWA and nice review about us!! ^^ We're glad you enjoyed your time here.^^ and sorry for the lift issue. yeah you're right. It's pretty tiresome to bring big baggage up walking through steps. We're sorry. (If you asked us to help you out, it was easy though. We have free baggage concierge. Don't be hesitate to ask to give our hands at your next visit!! ^^) Seeing you was good experience for us as well. You're a nice guest!! :D We'll keep working on our services to make your next stay much more comfortable. We wish to see you again someday soon. Thank you. Take good care! :D
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deep_space wrote a review Aug 2018
Bangkok, Thailand
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
if you looking for Budget hotel near Myeongdong, Ehwa in Myeongdong hotel is the best option to go. Location is good, Staff very helpful, Free breakfast and wifi.

Note for your trip : Easy access the hotel via Airport bus No 6015 and back to airport by Taxi with 70,000 won ( for 4 pax) is very comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ehwa_In_Myeongdong, 매니저 at EHWA in Myeongdong
Responded Aug 14, 2018
Hi , Neeranuch, How is the weather in Thailand? Thank you so much for staying with EHWA and very nice comments about us! We're happy that you had a pleasant time in Seoul.:D We'll keep working on to make your next stay much better. Please come visit us again! We look forward to seeing you soon. Take good care and Thank you! :D
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Riza S wrote a review Dec 2017
Cainta, Philippines
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Since our trip was very short and we wanted to maximize our time doing shopping and sight-seeing, the location of this hotel is very convenient -- it is walking distance to the shopping districts (especially Myeongdong and Nandaemun) and is near bus and train stations. It was also very easy for van-hires/taxis to locate since it is situated along the main road.

We arrived late at night so we made arrangements with them to allow us to do late check-in. Coming from a country where front desk service in hotels is available 24 hours, it came as a surprise for us to learn that the main door will be locked and there will be no one at the front desk to welcome us when we arrive. We were just asked to key in the access code to the main door's security lock and to get our room keycards from the front desk before proceeding to the upper floors. Wow, that's new to us - talk about blind trust!

Our room was quite cramped for quad sharing. Yes, we all fit in the 2 queen beds but we barely had room to move around because all the other spaces were occupied by our luggages. (We brought big ones in anticipation of the shopping that we'll be doing). We also struggled a bit in operating the remote control for the AC unit since the instructions have no English translation (I just can't remember if my friend used Google Translate to decipher the characters).

The bathroom was another surprise. It took a while for it to sink in that the setup is not typical and that the shower is attached to the sink and vanity mirror; that there was no shower curtain or anything similar to separate the shower from the toilet bowl; that everything will get wet when you take a shower; that there is always the risk that you will get showered on when all you wanted to do is wash your hands.

Other notable observations about the room: (1) no closet but has 2 tiny alcoves with hanger rods; (2) there were 4 pairs of slippers.

Breakfast was provided but the food selection was very limited -- just like eating at home: cereals with milk, several types of breads with butter, jam, peanut butter, and cheese. There were also ramyeon, instant coffee, and various types of tea (which were good). Another out-of-the-ordinary thing that we had to do was wash our own dishes after eating. It was surprising but I didn't mind it, though.

The hotel staff/management were very nice and accommodating -- and they can speak English, too. They were very helpful in teaching us how to get to some locations that we wanted to visit -- what itinerary to follow, which public transport to take, how much is the fare. They were also the ones who arranged for our transportation from the hotel to the airport. They didn't mind that we had to fix our luggages in the lobby prior to leaving for the airport. We were also able to borrow umbrellas from them when it suddenly rained just before we went out for another day of exploring and shopping. Special mention to Sophie who was very, very friendly.

Overall, our stay was very good and I can recommend this to friends and family who will look for an affordable, conveniently-located hotel in Seoul, South Korea.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Although some of the rooms can accommodate 4 pax (quad sharing), it could get crampled especially...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ehwa_In_Myeongdong, 매니저 at EHWA in Myeongdong
Responded Feb 9, 2018
Dear Riza S, Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We will consider to change our service or facilities the points you mentioned in the review. We are looking forward to meet you in Seoul again. Have a nice day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Toni Z wrote a review Jan 2020
Hong Kong, China
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Was in a room of three. Compact and without cabinets or drawers. But generally comfortable.

Breakfast was simple but sufficient. Toast, cereals, cup noodles, ham, cheese different kinds of jam etc. The atmosphere was warm,

Location is excellent, close to blue and orange train lines. A lot of restaurants and shops nearby,

Unfortunately, it was specified that the toilet bowls could not take toilet paper. In addition, there was confusion on whether there would be room cleaning. We were of the understanding there was a 3-day routine eg day 1 - none; day 2 - waste and cleaning; day 3 - waste, cleaning and towels. However, nothing happened on day 2 and on day 4, we were told that this had to be requested every day. A hassle given the limitation of the toilet bowls.

Would try other hotels if we come again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ehwa_In_Myeongdong, 매니저 at EHWA in Myeongdong
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Hi Toni Z, Thank you so much for staying with EHWA and taking your time to leave nice review commenting!!! :D We're all glad you had a pleasant time with us. And sorry for the issue in room cleaning service. We didn't explain how it works properly. We do the different room cleaning service range base on guest's staying days, it's as follows Day-1 (check-in day) : No cleaning Day-2 Waste + Towels Day-3 Waste + Towels + Bathroom Day-4 No Cleaning Day-5 Waste + Towels + Bathroom + Linen Day-6 Back to Day-1 And it's only work by request because there are many guests who don't want to be bothered. That's why we ask the guests to tell us each days if they want to have a room cleaning. Anyway sorry for causing you confused. And thank you again for nice saying. Take care! Thank you! :D
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul asked a question Jul 2019
1 contribution
Hi! Do you have a minimum age requirement to check in?
Answer from Ehwa_In_Myeongdong
Seoul, South Korea
Hi Paul, Good day, Thank you for your kind inquiry. :D Yes, basically, a guest who comes stay by him/herself must be over 18 years according to Hospitality Laws & Regulations of Korea. But if they are a family group and at least one of them is over 18, then there will be no problem. We hope your find this answer useful. For any other assistance, feel very free to contact us. Thank you! P.S. : Thank you so much "Exuro30" for your kindest answering.^^ We appreciate!
Vanessa L asked a question Jun 2019
Little India, Singapore78 contributions42 helpful votes
How many washing machine do you have for guest use? Can we do light cooking ?
Answer from Ehwa_In_Myeongdong
Seoul, South Korea
Hi Vanessa L, Good day, Thank you for your kind interest & inquiry about place. Regarding to it, We're very sorry but we don't have any washing machines for the guests. And for cooking, there is a shared kitchen on basement where you can have the light cooking. Thank you, And Thank you "d h" for the kindest answer. Have a beautiful day!
Answer from Ehwa_In_Myeongdong
Seoul, South Korea
Hi, Thank you for your inquiry. Yes, we're happy to keep your luggage in our lobby, Please tell us before you go out to Everland. Best Wishes Ehwa In Myeong-dong
Deep_space asked a question Jun 2018
Bangkok, Thailand186 contributions22 helpful votes
Hello. Could you please give us the Airport Bus number and direction for reach the hotel?
Answer from Ehwa_In_Myeongdong
Seoul, South Korea
Bus number is 6015. Eul-ji-ro 2(Pine Avenue) stop in Myeongdong The most convenient to/from EHWA in MD. Please get off at Eul-ji-ro 2(pine avenue) bus stop (nearby Eul-ji-ro 3(sam)-ga Station Exit No.12). And then walk toward to a big junction on your right-side. When you get to the big junction, you can see the N Seoul Tower on your left and also our building in red brick & emerald colored roof on with a sign of “EHWA”. Cross the road straightly first and then turn left. Just keep walking up toward N Seoul Tower and our building. It will take around 5~10 mins unless you get lost. Thank you Ehwa in Myeongdong
Answer from Ehwa_In_Myeongdong
Seoul, South Korea
Hi Bea S, Good morning, This is Sean, a manager. Thank you for your inquiry and sorry for late reply. All deluxe rooms place on 8th floor and sorry but the lift brings you up to 7th floors. So yeah after 7th floor, you need to take a steps. (It might not be easy to walk up for pregnant person. Sorry. If you have any other questions, feel free to ask us. Thank you so much, Best Regards, Manager Sean
Jasamine R wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find anywhere else"
Read full review
alice520 wrote a tip Feb 2018
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia75 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms is good!"
Read full review
Riza S wrote a tip Dec 2017
Cainta, Philippines61 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Although some of the rooms can accommodate 4 pax (quad sharing), it could get crampled especially if all you have big luggages."
Read full review
MustardSeed88 wrote a tip Oct 2017
Asia105 contributions58 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for room that faces away from main road noise."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Seoul area.
PRICE RANGE
₱4,354 - ₱5,884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South KoreaSeoulMyeong-dong / Jung-gu / Myeongdong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EHWA IN MYEONGDONG - UPDATED 2024 Specialty Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Seoul, South Korea) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about EHWA in Myeongdong
Which popular attractions are close to EHWA in Myeongdong?
Nearby attractions include Myeongdong NANTA Theater (0.4 km), Cookin' NANTA (Myeongdong) (0.4 km), and Cookin' NANTA (Myeongdong) (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at EHWA in Myeongdong?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at EHWA in Myeongdong?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at EHWA in Myeongdong?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a free welcome drink during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to EHWA in Myeongdong?
Conveniently located restaurants include Daol Charcoal Grill, Ziu BBQ, and Sulbing Myeongdong 1st.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at EHWA in Myeongdong?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.
Are there any historical sites close to EHWA in Myeongdong?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gyeongbokgung Palace (2.0 km), Changdeokgung Palace (1.8 km), and Deoksugung (1.2 km).
Is EHWA in Myeongdong accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Seoul HotelsSeoul Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SeoulHotels near EHWA in Myeongdong
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars