Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol

Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol

KING SIZE BED WITH PULL OUT COUCH!!
Traveler (263)
King Room
Room & Suite (223)
Overview pics of room, breakfast area
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
₱9,012
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#135 of 150 hotels in Washington DC
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
The 14-story hotel is located in the northern portion of the NoMa district of Washington, D.C., the fastest developing neighborhood in D.C. with a vibrant mixed‐used development that sits just north of, and in view of the Capitol Building. The 200 oversized guestrooms are perfect for unwinding and relaxing with earthy colors and natural materials include a small sitting area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Sofa
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

33 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-3325
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 73 out of 100
73
Ronald Reagan National Airport
Dulles Intl Airport
39.2 km
See all flights
NoMa–Gallaudet U
5 minWashington DC Metro
1,916Review53Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 689
  • 553
  • 285
  • 184
  • 206
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Craig R wrote a review May 2021
6 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, this Hyatt Place was exceptionally clean and the covid policies are clearly stated and seem to be solidly in place. I was greeted at reception by a very friendly and attentive woman, Treasure, who was terrific. After checking me in and finding my room, she took it upon herself to find a room that, as she said, "was on a better floor and would make for a more comfortable and quiet stay." I appreciated that touch and proactivity.

My only criticism is that parking is quite expensive ($50/night) and the hotel picks up a lot of ambient noise from the street below, so it was a bit noisy in my room, up on the 7th Floor. For the price, I'd say this hotel is a pretty good value (but bring your earplugs!).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sharon Howell, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol
Responded Jun 14, 2021
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us! Please know that we are taking in all feedback and work everyday to improve our shortcomings. We hope to see you again soon. Always with care, S. Howell
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chaila H wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay at the Hyatt was pleasant, the hotel is kept up very well and was always clean. The elevators and hallways always smelled nice. Some of the staff there were a little reserved and didn't talk much, meaning they didn't greet you when you came in and out of the hotel. I'm not much for small talk but its nice to be greeted when walking into an establishment. But that doesn't apply to all of the staff, some were very nice and social. The breakfast isn't much to brag about. The location was great, there were plenty of places to eat, get a cup of coffee as well as convenience stores along with a grocery store within a 5 minute walking distance. Overall I would recommend this place and would stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sharon Howell, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol
Responded Feb 24, 2021
Thank you for letting us know about this. Your feedback helps us get better. We are looking into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and accurately.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lance R wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This Hyatt Place is old. We already stayed at Hyatt Place and we kinda have an expectation. But this Hyatt Place is below to what we expected. During out stay there is no bottled water and water in the water dispenser. I think Hyatt Place near National Mall and white house is better.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: October 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dwayne F wrote a review Sep 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The best part about this hotel is the location. Construction aside, this location is close to the metro and very convenient to the action in DC. This is where the positives end.
This hotel was surprisingly subpar to be a Hyatt branded location. Overall the hotel was very dirty, the floors on the elevators looked like they needed to be mopped and the hallways outside of guest rooms were stained and looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in weeks.
Once inside the hotel room the dirtiness continued. The couch in my room was stained, the bathroom door was glass and covered in mildew at the bottom. My sheets and towels also had very visible stains. My toilet handle was broken which caused the toilet to constantly run, I called the front desk to inform them of this and it was never resolved.
The housekeeping overall was subpar. As outlined in a sign at the front desk, I requested a daily cleaning at check-in but did not receive my cleaning. I even called the front desk on the second day to have my room cleaned but still no one showed up.
Lastly, the worst part about this experience is parking. I knew when booking that valet was the only parking option so I went ahead and pre-payed for parking. Upon arriving at the hotel there was no valet out front so I had to leave my car on the street blocking a lane (there is no parking) to unpack my car (twin 18mo olds included). Once unpacked I spent at least 10 mins waiting for the valet to return so I could give him my keys. For a hotel with valet as the only option I was shocked to learn that only 1 valet was assigned per shift. One morning I had to take my keys and retrieve my car myself to ensure I didn't miss brunch reservations at a location that required a paid deposit. After spending $59/night for parking I would have expected much better service than I received.
I normally stay at Marriott properties but decided to stay at this location to be close to the metro and restaurants/attractions but realized quickly I made a big mistake. Because of this experience I will never stay at another Hyatt branded hotel. I think this hotel could actually be a pretty good option but it appears as if the managers are going for a low cost operating model, it didn't seem to be enough employees: valet, housekeeping, maintenance, etc. for the number of guest and it led to a poor experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Parking - If you are driving this is not a good hotel, the parking situation is horrible.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Missy wrote a review Sep 2020
Springfield, Ohio15 contributions18 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Nobody told us there would no clean linen (...towels for our 3 day stay). They didn't empty the trash either so we had to take that down and put it in a full bin outside in front of the hotel. At checking in an extra 300$ was placed on our card which we would receive back in 5 to 7 work days. The TV remote was not working, asking twice for new batteries and they never came like the light bulb for my bed side lamp. The staff was not motivated at all, gave wrong times for breakfast so when I showed up they did not serve me coffee but gave a man in front of me his requested apple juice.
It was a disappointing experience. The room and bathroom were clean on arrival.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: September 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James Purnell, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol
Responded Dec 17, 2021
Missy_nl, We offer our sincerest apologies for your experience at our Hyatt Place. We always want to provide a positive customer service experience above and beyond industry standards. Please get in touch with me directly to follow up with your experience. We will be happy to hear and see you again. Warmest Apologies,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chisa124 wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Couch bed felt like sleeping on pure springs. Bring extra comforter. There were no microwaves in the room. There was on light comforter and the rest were sheets in a room with two beds and a pullout couch bed. Parking was $30 per day unless it’s Sunday or a holiday.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: January 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sharon Howell, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol
Responded Feb 24, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that your stay with us was anything less than amazing. While we do not have individual microwaves for each room, we do offer a microwave in our breakfast room available to our guests 24/7. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
skylathunt wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotels no longer cater to their members and give amenities that make stays worth the high price we are still paying. Change how you travel also and just go with an AirBnB. The beds and pillows are horrible here, there are no amenities besides a crappy breakfast (if it advertises an on site restaurant or grab-and-go it's not open). The staff is great but that is not enough to spend as much as you will here. Expect to bring 2x what you plan for food and possibly extra clothing (Washington only gets about 3 good months June, July, and August).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: May 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samone Walker, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol
Responded May 12, 2022
Thank you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. It is our hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit. If I can provide any assistance, please contact me directly. Best regards, Samone Walker Front Office Manager Hyatt Place
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maddybluez wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My whole experience was wonderful. The location was great. The bed was so comfortable, large shower, good water pressure, beautiful furniture, floor to ceiling windows and it was very quiet.
Staff always greeted me with a smile.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sharon Howell, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol
Responded Feb 24, 2021
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. We are happy to hear your stay with us was enjoyable for you and we hope to have you back again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amber J wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the staff was helpful and warm, and the location was great. We celebrated our anniversary here and they made us feel very welcomed and added special touches to our room that made the trip even more memorable. Will definitely be returning next time we are in the area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sharon H, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol
Responded Jan 24, 2020
Thank you for completing the Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response to make every guest experience the best it can be. I greatly appreciate your kind words and they will be celebrated with the entire team. If I can be of any assistance to you, please contact me directly. We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Blake M wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived very late in the night and the employee at the front desk was patronizing and less than helpful regarding our check-in and the group reservation we made. In general, staff varies greatly on how helpful/friendly they’re willing to be. Immediately upon entering, the room was covered in red and gray stains on the carpet, couch, lampshades, and mattresses. All of our bedding also had various stains throughout and the reading lamps were broken. When my wife opened the window shade, its screw came out of the wall and hit her in the hand. By the second day, our towel rack had fallen out of the wall. All of the vents were covered in mold, rust, or both and paint was peeling away from the walls in various places. Bugs were coming out from the drain in the bathroom sink and all of the door handles were sticky and streaky. When we reported our issues to the front desk staff, we received a half-hearted apology and a maintenance request which resulted in a technician arriving and preventing us from getting ready for our event, despite our multiple requests that he please leave and come back as we would be late otherwise.
The hotel itself is on a Main Street, so there is no self-parking, only a valet service for $60 a night. Breakfast ends early and is busy with lines while the food itself is cold (even if you get there when it starts). The lobby almost always smells like weed and the ice machines are only located on one floor, very inconvenient. Overall, the hotel needs a complete renovation and deep structural repairs as it’s become unsafe. The convenience of the location does not in any way make up for the dirt and grime, poor structural integrity, and unnecessary fees of the hotel. My wife and I have stayed in hotels in many cities across the US and this was by far the worst hotel and experience we’ve ever had. Safe yourself the frustration, spend $20 more a night to stay at the Marriott down the street and avoid having to pay to get dirty mattress, a screw in your hand, or a towel bar to the foot.

Would like to add the valet team and housekeeping team were very warm and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Irene C asked a question Apr 2022
Yorktown Heights, New York
Is parking free?
Answer from Dobby8
Denville, New Jersey3 contributions1 helpful vote
$59 per night. Park at one of the lots across the street for $20 a night.
Answer from Steven T
Hudson River Valley, New York214 contributions70 helpful votes
I would call the hotel midmorning Monday thru Friday. Ask to speak with a manager. They are very short-staffed. A relatively new front desk person might give you the wrong information. Good luck.
DavidTrip asked a question Jan 2020
Westchester County, New York307 contributions170 helpful votes
What kind of breakfast is available in the hotel?
Answer from ericcT4220NO
Fremont, United States8 contributions26 helpful votes
They have a great free breakfast. Eggs, meats, pancakes/waffles, low fat options, bagels, yogurt,fruit. This is a hidden gem in an up and coming neighborhood
Durham, North Carolina2 contributions
First, the hotel is on a triangular block with one side facing an apartment/office building, and the other with a limited 'city view.' If my room is typical, I had a 10th floor king and it only had a shower...no bath. Hope this helps. I didn't like the location nor the energy of the place. Good breakfasts, though.
Robert H wrote a tip May 18
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No microwave in room."
Read full review
Can Bulduk wrote a tip May 7
The Hague, The Netherlands4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Het ontbijt kan meer uitgebreid met meer keuze."
Read full review
Luigi M wrote a tip Apr 2024
4 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Horrible experience! "
Read full review
jfleitas89 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Albuquerque, New Mexico24 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this property, it is overpriced for the quality of the hotel. "
Read full review
Cen W wrote a tip Mar 2024
Milford Haven, United Kingdom108 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Drop off only at the rear of the hotel. If you want to go for a walk/job be aware of the part of town to the left of the entrance."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Washington DC area.
PRICE RANGE
₱9,479 - ₱15,003 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCUpper Northwest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
200
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HYATT PLACE WASHINGTON DC/US CAPITOL - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol
Which popular attractions are close to Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol?
Nearby attractions include National Postal Museum (1.1 km), Union Market (0.9 km), and Union Station (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol?
Conveniently located restaurants include Busboys and Poets, Union Station, and St. Anselm.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens (5.6 km), Arlington National Cemetery (6.1 km), and Ford's Theatre (1.9 km).
Does Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Washington DC HotelsWashington DC Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Washington DCHotels near Hyatt Place Washington DC/US Capitol
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars