We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Iberostar Selection Holguin

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (2661)
Room & Suite (173)
Dining (155)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#4 of 15 hotels in Holguin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
This hotel in the Iberostar chain is located on the peaceful beach of Playa Pesquero in Holguín. This is a hotel that’s ideal for anyone seeking a holiday full of rest and relaxation in one of the best destinations in Cuba. Throughout their stay, travellers can enjoy cosy rooms, an all inclusive accommodation package with speciality restaurants, a water park, entertainment programme, facilities for young children, shows, gardens, the Star Prestige service, personalised attention… and many more services to experience a few very special days in Cuba. This country with lots of history awaits, and it offers you a unique holiday!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Paid wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Archery
Babysitting
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Water park
Aerobics
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Free airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
1,860Review439Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,334
  • 252
  • 122
  • 77
  • 75
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Nicky H wrote a review Apr 13
Sudbury, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
I relied heavily on these reviews when planning for our trip, so I wanted to provide one (sorry it's lengthy!) to hopefully help other families. We were a family of 5 - me, my husband and our 3 children aged 14, 16 & 8. We stayed in Building 25 in a family room which was 2 adjoining rooms, one room with a pull-out couch and a King bed and the other with two double sized beds. Our balcony looked out over the small beach. This building was a perfect location for us, close to the beaches and to the pool and kids waterpark. The ride to the resort was about 50 minutes, so we got to see some of Holguin and the countryside while we rode there. The bus was a coach and very comfortable. There is no bathroom on the coach, so be sure to go before you get on the bus - especially if you have small kiddos. Here is our review - not in any particular order. Room Our room was an adjoining room - which was perfect for our family. The teens had their own space and having 2 bathrooms was super handy! The rooms were immaculately clean, beds were comfortable and we had lots of room. The bathrooms have standup showers and include shampoo and body wash - so you might want to pack conditioner. We had enough towels and the ones we used were changed daily. There are also 2 robes in the closet if you want to use one. Note that although the beds are made daily, the sheets are not changed. This didn't bother us, but by the last few day there was a bit of sand in the beds that were easily swept off. No bugs, no mold, no weird smells and we always had toilet paper and hot water. Water I was really worried about the water and negative comments about the water so we brought MIO with electrolytes just in case. Although we did use the MIO sometimes, we did not need it. Each room had 2 glass bottles of water exchanged daily, which was great. Each floor also had ice machines as well. The water does have a very slight taste to it - the best way I can describe it is earthy, and although we noticed it - by the second day we were used to it and never had a problem drinking it. Even our kids didn't seem to notice. You can also get filtered water at any bar and the 24hr snack bar. So you don't need to bring water - there is plenty of water! Just don't drink the tap water. Beaches There are 2 beaches - one that is closest to the resort that is great for little ones and seashell searching. The only think I noticed is that because of all the seashells, the beach is a little rougher than other beaches I have been to in CUBA. Just a little coarse - and didn't hurt or anything. We spent most of our time at this beach because of it was perfect for my 8yo and my teens liked to lay on the beach anyway. We did walk over to the big beach - Pesquero one day. The sand was softer, and the water deeper. You can rent Hobby Cats and paddle boards at this beach and there is a bathroom and small bar - no food. Each time we went to the beach, we were able to find some shade. Pool The pool was great! towards the end of our stay it was getting a little green, but there is nothing you can do about that. There we also daily activities at the pool including games and aqua fitness. There was also music - which was great! We spent a lot of time at the pool and I have to say that my biggest pet peeve about the pool had nothing to do with the resort...it was the reserving of the chairs in the shade when there is no plan to come to the pool until later in the afternoon. One day, we got to the pool at 10am, we got chairs in the hade and stayed there all day. On both sides of us there were "reserved" chairs with stuff on them where we didn't see people all day. In my opinion, if you are not going to be at the pool, you should not be able to reserve a spot. I saw families with small kids (ours included) stuck in the blazing sun - when there were chairs in the shade just sitting there, unoccupied. There is no rule on this - one way or the other. But if you aren't going to be there - leave the chairs for other people who are actually AT THE POOL. I wonder if the resort can put some kind of rule in place to prevent it... Food The food was great! We had no issues with it. There was fish and chicken everyday. Although Cuba has shortages on certain things, we definitely did not starve and found something we liked each time. Although some staples were repetitive, there was always something different or a variation of a pasta dish or something each night. There was a Meat station, Stir Fry station and Fish Station. These had the biggest lineups, so BE PATIENT! We had a woman losing her mind about how slow things were moving...the staff are amazing and doing their best, so have some compassion. For breakfast they had 2 and sometimes 3 omelet stations running which all had lineups - they were well worth the wait. They also have a panini presses so you can make your own grilled sandwich - we loved this one! We loved the Japanese a la carte the best, followed by the Gourmet. The Mediterranean was good too - but less than the other two. We were glad to have saved the Japanese for last - it was a perfect way to spend our last evening there. Staff every single staff we spoke to were amazing, friendly and accommodating (if we needed it). They really are an amazing people and treating them kindly and respectively should be the standard. Entertainment We had no problems finding the entertainment. There was a kids activity each evening at 8pm and then a show od some kind at 9:30 every night. We saw 3 - one at the stage, one at the pool - which was like synchronized swimming and the other at the beach - which has live music, dancing and a foam party! Our kids absolutely loved it!! So just check with the front desk to find out where things are - but there is a calendar posted on a TV in the games room (by the little store). Tipping Do not bring coins to tip! They cannot do anything with these and are often asking guests to exchange coins for bills. We brought USD $1 and CAD $5 to tip with. I would also encourage you to bring larger denominations in either USD or CAD like $20s so that they can exchange their smaller bills for - this helps them. We ended up only bringing 1s and 5s and will bring 20s next time. The tipping is not expected, but it is appreciated. We tipped often - because they deserved it. Excursions We had to cancel our only planned excursion because the water was rough and we wouldn't have been able to snorkel (Blue Adventure). Since we waited, we couldn't switch our days and there were no problems getting a refund. We decided on the Bye Bye Holguin and loved it. It includes an earlier pickup time, a tour of Holguin with a tour guide who spoke to us about Cuba and some historical facts about Holguin. we got to tour some markets and had lunch at a restaurant in the city which was so yummy!! We also got a tour to the Hill of the Cross. This also included transfer to the airport and VIP lounge access, which we highly recommend. It was air conditioned and included some snacks and unlimited drinks. We had an amazing trip. If you know what to expect when you go then you will be prepared and able to focus on your vacation and not what is missing. This resort is perfect for families with young kids. Although my teens weren't bored, I found there wasn't a whole lot for them to do - but they did not complain and didn't even notice. Travel tips - There are umbrellas in the closet that we used for shade when we couldn't find shaded areas to sit - definitely came in handy! - You can bring condiments if you think you need them - mustard, ketchup, syrop, peanut butter etc. - Go to your orientation - it's quick and we got a lot of info from the travel rep. - Book a la cartes asap - Bring insulated reusable cups - they have small cups at the bar, but always good to bring your own!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Selection Holguín
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Nicky, We are honored to have been your choice for this special time with your family. We will do our best to conquer you with a much better experience in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
laurel v wrote a review Apr 12
Windsor5 contributions11 helpful votes
Never again...grounds unkempt..no toilet attendance..or paper..quite unacceptable..if I try to reach 200 characters..nothing will be any better...trying to be kind enough to not be cruel. Sorry Cuba..if you want tourists to return, you need to improve your services.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Selection Holguín
Responded yesterday
Dear guest, We are deeply sad to confirm that we did not succeed on conquering you with the experience you were expecting. We will do our best to be worthy of a second opportunity to welcome you back to any of our hotels. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Theresa G wrote a review Apr 10
1 contribution
We had a fabulous week at the resort. Stayed in building 25 with an ocean view that was fantastic! The staff as always were attentive and super friendly! This is my 2nd time at this resort. The staff work hard to try and make up for the shortages that Cuba is facing. Special thanks to Grechen Rodriguez for her kindness and attention that she paid to us. The resort is very clean and we did not have any issues with the drinking water. Any problems that others are reporting are due to shortages throughout Cuba such as food and drink selection, but there was always plenty to eat and drink! Note to Canadians, stop tipping in our coins! They are as useless to them as coins from other countries are to us. Change some Canadian for small American before going. They also have a money exchange on site. As a frequent Cuba visitor, this resort is a great option for a great vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Selection Holguín
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Theresa, Thank you for choosing us. We are glad to learn that you came back home with such wonderful memories. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dawn r wrote a review Apr 9
2 contributions
Just returned from this resort and had an absolutely fabulous time with my 9 year old son! We stayed in building 25 and had an amazing sea view room with updated decor and style - bed was comfortable and spacious (we just shared a king) and house keeping was in daily to maintain! We brought some water from home but once we were out of that , we drank the filtered water that is provided in 2 bottles daily. It does have an “earthy” taste to it but definitely was drinkable. I also brought a brita water bottle with a filter which definitely helped! We had hot water to shower everyday except the one afternoon when we came back from the beach to get ready for dinner - I assume a lot of others were doing the same! Had tp in room daily and I brought some from home to have for outside the room (hotel bathrooms and off resort) Everyday around the main pool there was good music and entertainment - aqua fitness - wooden horse 🐴 racing and dice games which people were engaged and having fun! My son had fun trying out the “ride the keg contest 😂) Katia specifically stood out and was a absolute pleasure to befriend and have fun with! Sandra in the kids club was also wonderful - there is soccer and volleyballs to borrow at the towel shack which my son had a lot of fun with! He was a little older than the kids in the star camp and for the kids waterpark area but it looked like a lot of fun! The swim up bartenders Alexander and Alejandro are absolutely fabulous! They are always on point with their drink service and collaborate so much fun into the environment - rubber chicken squeeks and fun matching hats and uniforms daily - Canadian, blue jays, blue mountain (collingwood ontario) “I pee in pool hats 😂” We utilized some of the a la carte restaurants which were fancier and a little more quiet and enjoyable environment - Leo definitely helped us with our reservations - I needed to switch a time for a night because we we’re heading on a tour for the day and I didn’t think we would be back in time to make the 630 reservation so she gave us a later time no problem! The buffet was great but busy and loud at times! Our favourite was the Japanese hibachi! My son absolutely had so much fun and they served - sashimi, grilled mackerel and chicken with rice and veggies * definitely a highlight! Breakfast buffet was good - eggs every single day - omelette or egg station - I made a toasted western a few times which really hit the spot. My son loved the Mickey Mouse pancakes! We brought Nutella and pb - used fresh bananas and made crepe style rolls and sandwiches. Darianna in the front office - public relations was helpful and accommodating and so genuinely sweet. Hernan the manager up front was also very helpful and accomodating - my son really liked him! The few times we saw and spoke with him he was always asking my son how he is enjoying his time with a fist bump or high five! Cristian was also great upon checkout explaining how we were able to leave our luggage safely in a room and retrieve it when we are ready to leave (we had a later checkout of 2pm and he was very accommodating when we wanted to use the towels until 5 he explained no problem bring the towels or the towel slip at 5 There is a small beach directly in front of building 25/26 which was super convenient - the beach is rather shallow and some seaweed - the small bar and bartender Serguey ?(sp.) were a nice shaded pit stop - We never made it to the bigger beach along the beach - my son was more of a pool guy but we did have a couple refreshing dips in the ocean. We attended a couple shows in the evening and enjoyed some fun music and cards with friends in the lobby at night - my son was forever playing pool and having fun with other children! We throughly enjoyed our time at this resort. I would definitely recommend to anyone with kids - it is not a heavily entertained night life resort but the beach party on Sunday was definitely a hit! I would forsure return here for another vacation and can’t wait to revisit and share all the things we enjoyed!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Selection Holguín
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Dawn, The fact that you and your son came home with such wonderful memories has given us the most valuable incentive to keep growing. We cannot wait to have you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jo A wrote a review Apr 9
1 contribution
+1
Just came back from an amazing week here! Loved this resort so much, we will be coming back before the end of the year. Beds were comfortable, property was clean, drinks were cold, pool and beach were great and the staff was absolutely fantastic!! Food was what was expected in Cuba…none of us went hungry! Special shoutout to Sandra at the kids club for taking amazing care of my two kids while they were in her care! 5/5 would recommend this resort!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Selection Holguín
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, Thank you for trusting us this special week in Cuba. Our Team will be honored to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carol M wrote a review Apr 6
Canada2 contributions
As a periodically solo traveller, I was very happy with this resort. The grounds are well kept, it's a great property to do walkabouts, the buffet was always well stocked and my room was clean and comfortable. The beach is not as close to the beach as other Cuban resorts I have visited, but there are many golf carts to take you to and from the beach. There is also a beach hut to quench your thirst! The beach may not be as pristine as other Cuban resort areas, but you can walk right in to float your worries away, kayak or catamaran. The biggest plus, during my visit, was booking two massages. ROGELIO & YAMILA are outstanding. They're professional and friendly and provide fantastic massages! (Book and pay at the Reception area) I also did the Jeep safari excursion. I forget the name of the Guide and the lead driver, but they hopped in with me as I drove, and had a blast! I would return to this resort in a heart beat.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Selection Holguín
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Carol, Thank you for telling other travelers about your experience in our hospitality. We cannot wait to have you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Louise C wrote a review Apr 5
1 contribution
Better than average for Cuba. DO NOT TIP with COINS!!! They have no value in Cuba. I exchanged $65 in coins over 6 days during my stay. So please be mindful of this, If your kids are prone to swimmers ear, bring your own ear drops as none are available in Cuba. Having two beaches was fantastic, We never ran out of hot water or toilet paper in our rooms. Having said that, carry toilet paper to all public washrooms as they are mostly without. Water show one evening was so fun. I’ve never seen this before in Cuba. People are great as always. Food was as expected for Cuba: repetitive but not lacking too much. We tried not to waste too much food since we know how poor the people are and we saw it on our bus trip back and forth to the airport. Overall a good trip.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Selection Holguín
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, Thank you for trusting us your holidays. Our colleagues will be proud to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
torontomusic wrote a review Apr 4
Toronto, Canada17 contributions23 helpful votes
Iberostar Selection Holguin I was wandering should I leave review and decided to do so to help out the ones that may look at staying at this hotel. Spoke to many guests at hotel to share the experience and the review is based on that. The entire Cuban staff is very friendly and helpful (even after working 10-12h shifts and having to commute 2h every day) and they listen to anything that might influence your stay. Cubans are doing the best with what they were given. The criticism is against Melia hotel group ownership. If Melia does not maintain the resort, it will be getting worse and worse and become typical Cuban 3 star hotel in a few years. This resort is beautiful for Cuba standards (it is relatively new aprox 8 years old). White buildings (32 rooms in each), walk-in showers, newer toilets, and clean grounds. Iberostar Coral is for adults 18+, Ibero Star Selection is for families with the kids. The both hotel share the beach and theater for the entertainment in the evening. Coral has its own very small buffet and a pool. It is also further away from the main beach, so you need a buggy to take you there if you do not want to walk 10+ min. Be ready to walk a lot as the lobby and beach are far away. There are golf carts around that can take you anywhere in the resort. Food: The meals were acceptable. The food might get repetitive but was good for Cuba and we never got sick, which is the most important part. Ala Carte is same as buffet. Breakfast, We got eggs 1 day only. Very Disappointing. Every day was crepes or pancake made of egg powder.. No spices, ketchup, hot sauce. Drinks: ok, they always seams to run out of something but it is ok. Rooms: Modern and very clean with comfortable beds. Bathroom issue cell phone charger 110 V was not working and could not be repaired. Make sure you take Voltage converter. Sliding door has mosquito net but unfortunately there is no handle on the sliding door so net is torn out. Why would you install sliding door without handle !!! 2 bottles of fresh filtered water in delivered daily. Drink positives: Two bottles of water available in rooms daily. Filtered water taste ok no need to bring water with you as I've read in other reviews. No hot water in the shower for three days. AC either works or you can turn it off completely, can not adjust temperature (malfunctional thermostat). Beach: The beach in front of the hotel is a BAY, very shallow up to 2 feet only. Has a regular beautiful bar and sandwich bar section. You may cross the bridge to the other side where other resorts (pesquero) are located and you may use the small Iberostar beach there (7 min walk ). If you do not come before 10am you will have a problem getting palapa. There are only 48 palapas for both hotels Ibero star coral and Ibero star selection which share the beach. The beach is beautiful but very short 80m long only so there is no room to place more palapas. There is a small bar with very limited choices, only drinks, no food. Animation: there is a theater but every evening local band is playing, so it is very boring. Pool: very clean with lifeguard on duty during the day. There were pool chairs and palapas. Animation team during the day Hotel location: We got to the hotel from the airport for only 35 min. Nobody was on the road, new bus and good driver. Usually takes up to an hour if the road is busy. Tip: Change 20 CDN dollars at the bar or lobby (even maid has) for coins. You will need a lot of tips for golf cart drivers, for beach guys, maid, at the bar and etc … SUNWING: disaster, flights are always late. Our return flight was 2 hours delayed from Holguin. Why sunwing bus took us from the hotel to spend 5 hours at the airport in the middle of the night.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Selection Holguín
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, On behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for trusting us with your vacation. As part of the Iberostar family on this beautiful island the opinions of our guests are our main reference in checking our quality standards. We will do everything in our power to be worthy of a second chance to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tartan wrote a review Mar 2024
Digby, Canada2302 contributions291 helpful votes
+1
Our family just returned from a great week here! The hotel is a great spot; especially with families. There were lots of kids all week, and we enjoyed it - with our own young grandsons. Food and service was good! I know this can change by day, but there were very few evident shortages last week. We had eggs for our first 3 days, lots of bread, sweets, cookies and really nice cheeses, pancakes, crepes, pasta, pork, chicken, hot dogs, burgers, pizza, pineapple, watermelon, bananas, other fruit, tomatoes and cukes, some fries at grill area, sparkling wine and red (not sure about white, but I think I saw some being poured), pop, slushie, coffee, etc! I believe I heard people say there wasn’t vodka, but there was lots of rum and beer, LOL. The cigar bar sometimes has extra choices in the evening as well. If you are going to want condiments, take them with you - they do enhance the food sometimes. We always take snacks to Cuba as well... there is nothing to buy. And be sure to take any possible medicines you may ever want or need. I drank the filtered water in glass bottles supplied in our room all week. It was not bad at all. The water here had very little bad taste compared to some other I've had in Guardalavaca hotels. The ice, slushie and poured water was fine all week on the resort. Shout out to Alejandro, Alexander and Yan at the pool bar; Joelly the lifeguard and the beach lifeguard who wore red with the beard; Wilber and Gorge at the lobby bar; Wilner, waiter at a la cartes; Jellanie, server at the buffet (can’t remember spelling ); and our friend Yamina Guillen in reception! The chair guys at the beach were excellent! - offering to move and sweep chairs the moment we walked down. The young men delivering the water bottles every day were very pleasant as well. The pool was starting to get discolored at the end of the week. I heard they were waiting for chemicals to arrive. We are very thankful we still got to use the pool all week as that is where our family spends most of its time. It is an excellent pool for young kids in the shallow, walk in end. I did notice that it would be a good idea to have more garbage cans around the pool for people to put garbage in (near the beds, etc). I only saw them near the bathroom and the pool bar. It was nice that this hotel had clean sheets on the pool beds every day. I have been at other hotels where this wasn't the case; so these were very pleasant and appreciated. A few observations: Our main suggestion is that the resort get regularly scheduled shuttles circling around the villas all day/every day. It’s a long walk from the buildings by the beach to the lobby, etc. in the heat in flipflops. (This is actually a deal breaker on guests returning in my opinion.) Shuttles ran at night pretty well. A bit more live music etc in the lobby in the evenings would be good; we’d prefer that over a big show in the theatre. The first couple of nights the music was way too loud in the theater. Animacion activities and interaction need work. The animacion team are there working, but it seems like they need to get more comfortable interacting and getting to know the guests to get them to participate. Have them go around the areas the half hour leading up to their activity and tell people about it and sign up names to participate. Do simple games to interact around the pool/ beach - without people even having to really get up.... Getting them to interact and chat with the guests is the best way to get more people to participate in activities. It would be nice if the 24 hr grill had some take out options. Many of us do not want to have to go sit inside with all glass/china plates and cups. I saw several guests using their own containers to take fries/hot dogs/etc out to the pool or beach to eat. Also, in my opinion, the staff there could in general improve. It wasn't a very welcoming area most of the time. And they allowed ants to crawl around the "salad" foods in the center buffet area every day- not very appetizing. It just didn't seem like most of the staff there cared much. Also, an actual bar there in the late afternoon would be a good idea, so if people wanted to take a drink back to their room to get ready for dinner, they wouldn't have to go all the way to the lobby. (after the beach and pool bars are closed) There was only 1 stall open in the ladies washroom by the pool all week. Often, there was a line up... perhaps, they could get the other 2 opened. A positive note on the lobby bathroom by the theater. The lady cleaning there did a great job. It was always pleasant and clean in the evenings. We really enjoyed this resort other than the long distances between main areas...The shallow beach and walk in pool area are the best I’ve seen for kids. The water park was fun too. The kids club looked like it would be good as well. Hopefully, Iberostar will improve in these few areas; making the resort more enticing to return in the future. It definitely has lots of potential. I will upload some pics shortly. Cheers! - the Sabean family from NS (3 generations)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Bring condiments, any medicines, snacks and anything that will make or break your vaca... and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Selection Holguín
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you for trusting us this special family time and for encouraging us to improve with your helpful remarks. We will address them as soon as possible in order to surprise you with a better experience in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kl832003 wrote a review Mar 2024
Mississauga, Canada3 contributions
Currently at this “resort”. Shortage of EVERYTHING. No drinkable water.We had to go to Aston to get a couple of bottles of water. No eggs. Have you ever seen red flags on the pools? We have. No chemicals to clean the pools. Worst vacation ever.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Selection Holguín
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, We are very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations this time. We will do our best to surprise you with positive changes, as being worthy of your preference is our raison d'être. We apologize for any inconvenience. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Holguín
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Holguin area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Iberostar Holguin
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaHolguin ProvinceHolguin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
450
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IBEROSTAR SELECTION HOLGUIN - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews (Cuba) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Iberostar Selection Holguin
Which popular attractions are close to Iberostar Selection Holguin?
Nearby attractions include Playa Esmeralda (7.4 km), Playa Pesquero (0.9 km), and Las Guanas Eco-Archaeologic Trail (7.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Iberostar Selection Holguin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Iberostar Selection Holguin?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Iberostar Selection Holguin?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Iberostar Selection Holguin?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Iberostar Selection Holguin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Don Pepe Grill Restaurant, La Finquita Allegre, and Restaurante El Marlin Azul.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Iberostar Selection Holguin?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Iberostar Selection Holguin have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Iberostar Selection Holguin offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Iberostar Selection Holguin have airport transportation?
Yes, Iberostar Selection Holguin offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Iberostar Selection Holguin offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Iberostar Selection Holguin?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.