We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (43)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Room features
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
69Reviews
43Photos
0Q+A
6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 45
  • 17
  • 3
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I stayed at The Gables for on evening last week on the way through to Nelson. I had a very comfortable bed, quite room and easy access to bathroom. The room had recently been updated. It was perfect for my night over. After a lovely meal at Escape to Picton (best fish I’ve had
Read more
We stayed in a cottage out back. The staff were indifferent and made no effort to tell us about local sights or activities. Breakfast was meagre: 4 slices of supermarket bread, jam but no butter, tiny tubs of fruit salad and yoghurt, 300 ml of milk to last 2 days, and their
Read more
Response from Escapetopicton, Owner at The Gables
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Reviewer, I felt I really needed to reply to this as we never re wrap fruit and put this back in the fridge. In the cottage we have many cereals, 3 different types in fact, we place yogurt, fresh fruit, orange juice and milk plus bread and muffins are delivered after we make them, so 8 am as staff start at 7.30am. We have many pillows and certainly could have replaced these if asked as we saw you sereval times in your 4 day stay laurel? Yes we do place the food which includes butter in your room during the day so not to distrub you later. Our sheets are changed all the time as well as the towels you are the first person ever to rate us a 1 and for this we are extermly disappointed. You didnt like it, that's fine, lots love us and this is only one persons view point but never once did you say anything or gave us feedback on the day which is also very very disappointing. We wish you safe travels.
Read more
We stayed here at The Gables, Elizabeth who lives there with the owners checked us in and gave us a lovely glass of wine. We stayed in the house and found everything we needed. Breakfast was lovely and we had this at 7.30am only reason i am mentioning this someone has written
Read more
The good thing is that it is close to the ferry terminals so really convenient if you’re coming in late or heading out early. I hesitated to write this review as I read an article about the owners lashing out to people who had badly reviewed their B&B but I still wanted to share
Read more
Response from Escapetopicton, Manager at The Gables
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Reviewer, When you say beware of owners feedback this is odd and you went out of your way to find this out again odd. You are talking about another place i own a restaurant, you did not pay for breakfast you were told this by us and the booking company as it is clearly written on your form. We gave you a free breakfast. You woke every one up at 6am and didn’t care, your husband rang the door bell three times at 6.30am which annoyed all off the other guest in the house. The person that welcomed you lives in The Gables and has done so since we have you are right she also works in our restaurant and is like a daughter to us, if other read reviews clients can see lots of people like Elizabeth. Breakfast is served from 7.30am We wish you safe travels.
Read more
Situated right in town. The decor gave a feeling of colonial times. Very comfortable ambience at the place. Better than a hotel. Breakfast also was yummy and filling. Had a home like feeling when we met other guests as we all sat on same table for breakfast.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
Bett
The Gables - Bedroom view
The Gables - Living room
The Gables - Living room
The Gables - Bathroom
PreviousNext
1234
"Don't bother."
"We Stayed in the Pictonia which was warm comfortable and Spacious with it's own ensuite."
"Choose a room with ensuite if it's your wish."
"I think the cottages might be better value if they are available but book ahead"
"I stayed in the Pictonian Room.. At the side of the house so very quiet. Good ensuite bathroom"
PreviousNext
12
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandMarlborough RegionPicton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing