We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Aulangontie 93, Hameenlinna 13220 Finland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
ScandicHotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (217)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (26)

About

#5 of 5 hotels in Hameenlinna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Haemeenlinna, Scandic Aulanko is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation.

Scandic Aulanko features room service, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and free breakfast. If you are driving to Scandic Aulanko, free parking is available.

Close to some of Haemeenlinna's most popular landmarks, such as Hame Castle (1.4 mi) and Ritari-areena (1.9 mi), Scandic Aulanko is a great destination for tourists.

While visiting Haemeenlinna, you may want to try some doner kebab at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Kimene Kebab.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Palander House and Skogster Museum, which are some popular Haemeenlinna history museums – all conveniently located a short distance from the hotel.

Whether you’re traveling for business, pleasure or both, Scandic Aulanko is sure to make your visit to Haemeenlinna one worth remembering.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Golf course
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
Finnish, Swedish
677Reviews2Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 73
  • 177
  • 220
  • 130
  • 80
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Makeilu wrote a review Jun 2022
Espoo, Finland1 contribution
Great, little bit old fashion hotel, but in good way! Very traditionally. Good location by lake and nice spa! Also historical environment is stunningly beautiful! Full hotel but still not crowded! Very nice breakfast and dinner also! Only minus was missing air condition because it was 30 degrees outside!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Japetu wrote a review Jun 2022
Helsinki, Finland, Europe44 contributions35 helpful votes
The first impression is, you have taken a time machine to the 70's. The rooms are very much retro style, and lso quite run-down. But ours was also clean, and very spacious. Beds for 4 people consisted of 2 x single beds, and 1 x about 120cm wide sofa bed. They sell the room for 4 adults, so the sofa bed will be very small. The single beds were also on the hard side. Good for travelling with children though. The spa is also rather small, but was clean, and has all the necessary things. In mens side few showers weren't working. The pool bar was closed on wednesday afternoon which was a minus, but then again its probably cheaper to have it closed than open with the amount of people in the spa at the time. As its included in room price, its nice, but I'd seriously think if I wanted to pay the 19€ to go there separately. Breakfast standard Scandic, so again ok, but nothing too special. The person who was taking care of the buffet didn't say "good morning" or anything else either. Bus number 2 takes you to city center from front of the hotel. So if youre not the type who likes to complain about things, looking for a cheap accomodation, (160€/night for 4 persons including spa and breakfast), I'd recommend. But there are better and nicer places in Hämeenlinna too. Pros: -Cheap - Spa and Breakfast included - Easy access to city centre by bus Cons: - Old and run-down - Insufficient/small beds for 4 if you travel with adults/teens.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
HeleriJ wrote a review Jun 2022
Tallinn, Estonia2 contributions1 helpful vote
Have not seen a dirtier hotel before. Floors were literally covered with filth and corridors smelled terrible. Very outdated. Conference room´s tables had coffee rings on it. The least you can do is wipe the surfaces before the next customer is coming. Fortunately we had a good company with us so that compensated the experience.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Aulanko, Other at Scandic Aulanko
Responded 6 days ago
Hi, Many thanks for your review! We’re sad to hear that you weren’t totally satisfied with your stay. We would appreciate your feedback so that we can get even better at what we do. Best, Scandic Aulanko
Read more
4dmbrown wrote a review May 2022
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom212 contributions75 helpful votes
We came to Hämeenlinna for a friend's birthday and stayed at the Scandic because it was convenient to the location of the party. We were excited to visit Finland and stay at a spa hotel by the lake and we're not disappointed with the location or the views from the hotel. The room itself was of average 3* hotel quality - nothing fancy but it was clean and had basic amenities. The included breakfast was good and the views from the restaurant are amazing. 😍 We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant because we were warned by our friends not to, so I can't comment on the rest of the food. So great location, friendly and helpful staff, 3* facilities and a great breakfast. All in all it's OK.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
smkatariina wrote a review Apr 2022
Espoo, Finland14 contributions6 helpful votes
Our family (parents and two children) visited the hotel in summer of 2021 and decided to give it a second chance in April this year. The cleanliness of the hotel in general was a lot better, but still there was a potato chip in the corner and a piece of rubbish under the desk in our room, left from the previous occupant. One of the reasons why we had booked a superior plus room, was that it has two bathrooms and therefore is really handy for a family of four. Except that there was a really bad sewage problem in the other bathroom and we couldn't use it for the most of our stay, the smell was so bad. We told about it right away and I understand that a problem like that can't be solved immediately, but all we got was a remark "how unfortunate". On the plus side: there are bath robes for children (that's a big plus), one of the members of the staff at the pool bar is super friendly and for us - there is a horse riding school right next door.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Aulanko, Other at Scandic Aulanko
Responded 6 days ago
Hi, Many thanks for your review! We’re sad to hear that you weren’t totally satisfied with your stay. We would appreciate your feedback so that we can get even better at what we do. Best, Scandic Aulanko
Read more
Petri M wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution4 helpful votes
The booking confirmation says I can change the number of nights if I want, but when I asked about it, it didn't work out. The younger customer service representative said first that it would be OK, then she forwarded me to senior customer service representative and she then said that it is NOT OK. Why do you lie to customers? Or don't you just want to follow your own rules? The room was dirty and noisy, terrible sounds outside the room, thanks to the hotel staff, just awful. Empty beer cans had been left on the balcony by the previous guest, what else was NOT cleaned? Spa crammed full, no opportunity to spend a cozy weekend there. With the exception of the first evening, the spa was forced NOT to be visited due to its unbearable crowds. Why does the hotel accommodate more guests than actually can be accommodated in terms of capacity? There were two really long queues in reception several times, too few staff, I had a simple question to the reception and it took an eternity to figure it out because of the queues. There was no space in the parking lot, there was a fear that there would be a parking ticket on the windshield when it was impossible to use the hotel's normal customer spaces. The whole hotel weekend was totally ruined, how can it even be possible to mess up all with just about everything?? Next time, I will read carefully and take into account the reviews given by previous hotel guests. I promise I will never step on my feet at Scandic Aulanko again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Aulanko, Other at Scandic Aulanko
Responded 6 days ago
Hi, Many thanks for your review! We’re sad to hear that you weren’t totally satisfied with your stay. We would appreciate your feedback so that we can get even better at what we do. Best, Scandic Aulanko
Read more
AmKreuz86 wrote a review Apr 2022
Helsinki, Finland591 contributions98 helpful votes
+1
We leave from the Scandic Aulanko tomorrow morning (20.4.22). I have decided to wrote my review now as nothing will change my opinion between now and leaving. Now, after reading the reviews commenting on the decor etc, I understand and somewhat agree. However, for the price, location and what it offers inside and around.... I won't be complaining about it. We came as part of our honeymoon/wife's birthday. We chose this hotel as it wasn't far from our home in Helsinki but also because of the stunning nature around it. And it is stunning! There are a couple of things I'd suggest for the future like toilet brushes in every room. Have someone just hoover the children's playroom carpet daily and remove the trash that others have left in there. Would take 3 mins maximum. Maybe a kettle in every room? I do have many pro's. The staff. The cleaning staff were fantastic and everytime I had asked for something they dropped what they were doing and immediately helped me. With a smile may I add. Good little team you have there! The staff at the spa were lovely also. The two ladies rectified an issue I had with the bowling, due to another guest and I was more than satisfied after. The staff that welcomed us and catered for us at breakfast each morning and the one meal we attended were also lovely. The room was spacious enough for the 3 of us. It was quiet. Well aired. Had a bath (which they made sure we had. My wife is pregnant). Comfy beds. Nice view. We don't go on holiday to spend all our time in the room. We go to get out and enjoy what's around. Life is far too short to worry about the decor etc. Lost time that will never be found again. And we did explore. You have the beautiful Aulanko nature reserve a beautiful 1.5km walk away with its commanding tower and amazing view points. You also have lovely lakes to walk around. A riding school which let's you greet and pet the horses, sheep and feed the rabbits free of charge...just so much to do with zero cost. If you're a nature lover, it's for you. There is a playground and mini golf along with a tree adventure park on the grounds. Tennis courts too and golf. You'll not be bored. I forgot the spa. Loved it. Simple. Will be back one day I hope.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If coming by the bus, beware. Sundays there is only one bus an hour but it does take you right...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Marjaana-71 wrote a review Mar 2022
Seinajoki, Finland1 contribution
An old hotel in need of renovation. was mold in the bathroom. The bed was narrow and poor sleep. The pool bar was not open, which was disappointing. The pools and saunas were basic good. Located in a beautiful location.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
sjute wrote a review Mar 2022
Helsinki, Finland60 contributions12 helpful votes
Ew, just ew. Disgusting, dirty, worn out, old, sloppy. There is just few words to describe the hotel. In the room everything looked so old and dirty that you really didn’t want to touch anything. It felt disgusting to sleep in the room especially when on the morning my sheet had come a bit off and I saw how yellow the matterss was.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Things to avoid: the whole hotel
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Aulanko, Other at Scandic Aulanko
Responded 28 Mar 2022
Hi, Thanks for sharing your hotel experience with us, it helps us improve and get even better at what we do. We’re sad to hear that you were not satisfied. As your guest experience is really important to us, we’ve already taken several actions to ensure that it won’t happen in the future. All the best
Read more
jian wrote a review Feb 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Many years ago visited this place during the team building session, at which time the place left a deep impression on me. In the recent couple of years, I got fascinated with the view-tower in Aulanko. To catch the aurora borealis, we put up in this hotel again this February, as it is so convenient to visit the watch tower from the hotel, Lucky enough we were able to cath the northern lights this time. This hotel is also located next to the lake, boasts a SPA. Hämeenlinna is also a city with history and ancient stories. It is worthy of a visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$120 - US$145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel rantasipi aulanko
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Spa Hotel Rantasipi Aulanko
LOCATION
FinlandTavastia ProperHameenlinna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
246
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Aulanko
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Aulanko?
Nearby attractions include Museo Militaria (2.1 km), Noora's Wine Bar (3.2 km), and Getaway Hämeenlinna (2.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Aulanko?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Aulanko?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Scandic Aulanko?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Aulanko?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Gingerbread House, Ravintola Uoma, and Popino.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Aulanko?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Scandic Aulanko?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Scandic Aulanko offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scandic Aulanko?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Swedish and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to Scandic Aulanko?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Birthplace of Jean Sibelius (3.1 km), Linnan Kasarmit (2.0 km), and Keisarinmänty (2.9 km).
Does Scandic Aulanko have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.