Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments

3-5 Rawson St, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223 Australia
KI Kangaroo, unique to the island
Traveler (19)
Bathroom
Room & Suite (7)
Seal Beach
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 4 hotels in Kingscote
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Kingscote? Then look no further than Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments, a charming hotel that brings the best of Kingscote to your doorstep.

Rooms at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments provide air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a kitchenette, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

You can also enjoy a pool while staying at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments.

While staying in Kingscote, you can check out a popular seafood restaurant like Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods, which is serving up some great dishes.

Should time allow, Fine Art Kangaroo Island is a popular attraction that is within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments as you experience everything Kingscote has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Conference facilities
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
76Reviews0Q+A13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 35
  • 30
  • 8
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Roam10084 wrote a review Jul 2006
Temecula, CA5 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and our daughter spent two nights at Acacia Apartments the first week of July, 2006. Deidre is the owner and made us feel welcome from the first moment. We loved how nice and clean the rooms were and really appreciated the kitchen. The feel was more of staying in a friends guest house. You will be treated like family. On our last day, Deidre picked us up at our room and managed to squeeze in a little mini tour on our way to the airport. We vacation/holiday frequently and have not had such warm, personal service anywhere.
The island itself is just remarkable. We took a tour with Sealink, Marc was our guide...he was great. Given that we only had a day and a half, the tour was a good way to hit the high lights. I would also recommend the Kangaroo Island Marine Tour with Andrew. We saw dolphins and fur seals, and would have gone snorkelling with the dolphins had it not been so cold. Go to the pelican feed in Kingscote at 5 p.m. and the Aquarium/Penguin tour at 7 p.m. These are both excellent. The deli/bookstore in Kingscote serves a great omelet.
Kangaroo Island is very relaxing and absolutely unique. We only wish it were closer to California, we'd be back every year.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EarlyElkins wrote a review Feb 2012
Chicago, Illinois34 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I spent several days exploring Kangaroo Island. The first few nights we stayed on the west end but needed a place that was closer to the ferry terminal for our trip back to the mainland. We called Deidre on short notice and she was very welcoming. When we pulled up her dog was bouncing around and being friendly. Deidre was very helpful and talked to us like we'd know each other for years. She even called into town to the hotel and reserved us a table for "schnitzel night". We thought this was a joke but once we arrived and ordered and saw other groups of tourists get turned away we realized this is a big deal in Kingcote.

The rooms have all the amenities you would need to spend time on the island. The bathrooms are spacious, the kitchen stocked with things like milk and butter and tea. There is a tv and free movies from the front desk. Although we didn't use the pool house I did explore that and the surrounding grounds on the property and they are beautiful. It is quiet and peaceful and Diedre could not be a better host.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoySandlapper wrote a review Feb 2011
Charleston, South Carolina184 contributions127 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Acacia Apartments are somewhat pricy, but I think most accommodations on Kangaroo Island are pricy. Our apartment was a large two bedroom apartment with very comfortable furniture. The kitchen was large. Parking is right outside the door.
We really had no complaints, but if you want to be within walking distance of restaurants and have a view of the ocean, you might be happier at the Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kingscote (the newer section). These looked quite nice when we drove by.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2010
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marty R wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently took our 3 grandchildren ages (10, 8 & 6) to KI, the accommodation looked excellent, hence we booked for 4 nights. Upon entry, we realised all was not as promised, like stepping back in time, going back to the “mission brown” era. Doilies, tablecloths, quilted bedspreads, you name it. The Indoor pool, no heating as promised, spa empty and not working, roof of pool area badly damaged consequent from some previous storm, were assured it May be fixed before our arrival, sadly not the case. The entire complex in desperate need of essential repairs, paint, general tidying of overgrown garden and rubbish removal. Approx 1hr after our departure we received a phone call from host as to why the white towels were filthy, how was she going to get them clean, red towels had holes in them, what were we going to do about them. We calmly explained to her, our apartment never had red towels, however, she insisted we did. Sadly very disappointed, looked so promising.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deidre Morrison, Owner at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Responded Nov 30, 2020
I'm glad that you said you'd enjoyed KI, and that the pool was also enjoyed by those really lovely grandchildren. Dear M, I did apologise that the pool roof damage was still unfixed, explaining that we had been unable to have that work done as the tradespeople who were to replace the alsinite sheets were all absorbed with rebuilding the huge amount of houses lost in the bushfire.. The pool was cool, only having solar heating until plumbers could attend.I do apologise that we were unable to achieve the warmth hoped for. This morning, a returning guest said on leaving that they love the apartments and the excellence of cleaning and presentation, and that they would be back. I trust that you too found other attributes helpful, including the special rate given The garden is lovely at the moment, especially the blooming roses, foxgloves and daisies. I'm sorry that there was miscommunication about towels. We've never had red towels. .We did ring to say you had left your ipad behind, so that you would have a chance to return and retrieve it, and I remember asking your family what the dark red staining on several towels was, hoping to be able to treat and remove the stains. Im sorry to hear that you were upset about this and would have liked to be able to explain in person. You will remember that we did not charge for this. We appreciate our guests and try to ensure that expectations are more than met. Kind regards Deidre
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VerityBiscuit wrote a review Aug 2020
Herts47 contributions59 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My timing couldn't have been worse really, I arrived on a Friday in Jan and the wildfires really kicked off that night, I only had 2 days on KI and they were a write-off. So it was a surreal and upsetting time to be on KI, I didn't really see anything and some lives were lost while I was there.
The apartment was old fashioned but spacious. The kitchen wasn't as well equipped as required and the basics I would have expected weren't provided. It wasn't as secure as I would have liked either.
But the host was really lovely and helpful. Although my check in should have been about lunchtime, I arrived a bit early and then a sign get being put up on reception telling me it was delayed, so I think I had to wait about 90 mins or so before I was able to check in, because she was helping other people (who weren't paying guests). Very nice of her but please prioritise me and then help them find alternative accommodation, as I'm the one paying for your service.
So KI wasn't a massive success, but if it wasn't for the wildfires this accommodation would've been perfectly adequate for a couple of days.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deidre Morrison, Owner at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Responded Aug 20, 2020
Hi Verity Thank you for your comments.. You have just made a review in August for January? I looked for you but had no check in on the 4th Jan, so you must have been in a group? I am sad that it was such a difficult time, with stranded tourists, homeless residents, and closed sights. Very stressful time for everyone. Please, if you return, always let me know if there is anything you need. The kitchen is well equipped, but we are always adding or upgrading something :) Check in time is 2pm. Had we not been able to finish cleaning for an early checkin? i wouldn't usually keep anyone waiting longer thabn necessary, so I may have been on the phone and I remember it was difficult getting through to Sealik and provisers as quickly as usual, but evem only 5 mins or so. I did purpose-build a federation style ground floor accommodation, with Rosewood linen, which I still love. It probably is old fashioned a bit like me, but a classic. The swimming pool and gardens are often appreciated as well. We are all gradually getting back to normal. Some things are not open again yet, but Seal Bay, Flinders Chase,Parndana Wildlife Park, all the usual beach areas, and most other sites are open and doing well. I'd love to see you again some day. But I bought more Rosewood:) Kind regards Deidre
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jil_33 wrote a review Jun 2013
Adelaide, Australia63 contributions53 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The apartments are large but need some attention. They are very dated but would not take alot to at least strip off 10 to 15 years or so. Need to update the linens. Get rid of the coloured and florals for bedding, go to good quality whites. Get rid of the blankets and bedspreads, people expect nice fresh clean bedding, blankets etc DONT cut it any more. Use quilts with either quilt covers or sheets encasing them.
We stay in alot of apartments around the country and I have never checked in to find used scorers and dish cloth's before, this is unacceptable. Sinks should be cleaned, with a cream cleanser, not just wiped or dried over. i just cleaned it with dish liquid and it was shining! The kitchen and bathroom, as well as the unit tiled floors could have been cleaner, not hard to do.
Could be updated too by removing all the very old fashioned curtains (1980's English style florals etc) double blinds would work well. We were glad it was not too cold whilst there as we only has one small air con which really struggled to keep the chill off when it wasn't really all that cold.
We were expecting better following the earlier reviews on this property, I could forgive the fact that the property is dated but for the cleanliness not being what it should/could.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from wildlifewhisperer, Owner at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Responded Apr 4, 2016
Thank you for your thoughts. I am glad that you enjoyed the roomy apartments Yes, we do have Rosewood linen, which is a cottage pattern, but quite classical. I too have stayed at some places which have a blanket, cotton weave or quilt encased in sheets, and it is modern, but on asking many guests, the great majority said they prefer the blankets and bedspreads, and electric blankets. All bedding is clean. We wash blankets and bedspreads, and ensure that each apartment is clean. I understand that you may have found that someone had not used a product to shine the sink well enough, but each sink is properly cleaned and cloth polished . Each floor is vacuumed and mopped every time we clean and re-set the apartment. The floor tiles do not have a high polish, chosen for a natural look and safety. Acacia is New Federation style, really, and is 19 years old. I like all white, as well, but we do use the Rosewood by choice. The curtains and pelmets ensure almost total blackout if customers choose to sleep in, or rest during the day.That too was a choice to allow proper rest if on a well earned break :) We also provide a lounge suite and dining suite and fully equipped kitchens, as convenience and comfort are there to enhance your holiday. I trust you enjoyed your tour around our lovely Island. Thank you again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shaun L wrote a review Jul 2015
19 contributions11 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was nice. Value for money. No afternoon tea was provided as advertised. We also had to ask for the complimentary jar of KI honey, and the dvd player did not work and was not fixed or replaced as asked.

The receptionist at the desk was eager but seemingly distracted. They just seemed disorganized.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from wildlifewhisperer, Owner at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Dear Mr L I am glad you enjoyed our apartment, which we always present spotlessly clean, and try it make it home for our guests. I am sorry we were disorganized with the placing of our honey and afternoon tea plate. I do hope you enjoyed the warm from he oven muffin platter the next day on my return. It was lovely to meet you all. The receptionist had turned the TV set off and thought it would then re-boot. I found the problem the next morning…the port at the back of the set had been damaged. We purchased a new Blue Ray player and HDMI cable the next morning, so all is now fixed. If you would like to stay again, I would be happy to give you a complimentary free day, and bake some more yummy muffins. Kind regards Deidre
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MARC B wrote a review Aug 2014
Adelaide, Australia19 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 3 nights in an apartment with 2 bedrooms with my wife and 2 kids. Deirdre (owner) was great and even baked a cake for us on the first night. She regularly checked on us. Location was good - Kingscote is small so you are only 2 mins from everything. If we went back we would definitely stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shirlbur wrote a review Nov 2012
Mannum, Australia77 contributions51 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights and were very comfortable. The rooms are very large, and were very clean with everything provided. Only negatives were that we had some workers staying in the next room to us on the first night, and they were quite noisy as they were outside talking and smoking. Also, the apartment smelt of vanilla, because they had one of those smelly things you plug into a power point. It was over-powering on entry and it took us awhile to work out where the smell was coming from. Once we discovered it, we unplugged it, and it was fine from then on. Very comfortable bed with electric blanket, digital TV and free wireless internet. Some of the decor is a little dated and needs replacing, but overall we were very happy with the accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave B wrote a review Jul 2012
Adelaide, Australia30 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a three day/four night package to Kangaroo Island and the accommodation part of the deal was at the Acacia Apartments in Kingscote. We were in Room #1, which is a two bedroom apartment (one queen bed in one bedroom and three single beds in the second bedroom).

Our stay was in winter, which meant the rooms were a little cold but there was a reverse cycle AC unit in the main living area that warmed the apartment and the electric blankets came in handy. The apartment has a full kitchen and we were provided with complimentary basic breakfast provisions for the first morning.

The apartments are close to the shore, but some distance from the main part of Kingscote. In summer it would be a nice walk to the centre of town. The kids enjoyed the large indoor (heated) pool.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Lumiere2042 wrote a tip May 2017
Sydney, Australia49 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 1 has good light from kitchen side and views of the sunset."
Read full review
David G wrote a tip Apr 2017
Australia44 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All seem quiet with good access."
Read full review
Taz N wrote a tip Aug 2016
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"beautiful accomadation , well equipt , well maintained"
Read full review
LisaMH101 wrote a tip Jan 2016
Brisbane, Australia2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the apartments are good"
Read full review
michael s wrote a tip Dec 2014
Richmond, Virginia20 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Apartment 1 is wheelchair accessible."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kingscote area.
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaKangaroo IslandKingscote
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KANGAROO ISLAND ACACIA APARTMENTS - Hotel Reviews (Kingscote, Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Fine Art Kangaroo Island (0.8 km), Hope Cottage (0.5 km), and Kangaroo Island Gallery (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cactus - Coffee, Food, Bar, Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods, and Bella Cafe Restaurant & Pizza Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Reeves Point Historical Site (1.1 km) and Old Wisanger School (4.4 km).
Is Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Kingscote HotelsKingscote Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KingscoteHotels near Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars