We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
40 Waimea Road, Nelson 7010 New Zealand
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
US$67
US$65
View deal
SAVE US$2
Free cancellation until 08/05/21
Travelocity
Booking.com
ZenHotels.comUS$67
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (49)
Dining (9)
Videos (1)

About

#10 of 42 hotels in Nelson
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
477Reviews0Q+A90Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 275
  • 150
  • 32
  • 13
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bob R wrote a review 12 Apr
Auckland, New Zealand31 contributions10 helpful votes
Staff at reception were excellent. Room was average. Service was a daily experience of things missed and things forgotten. No towels one day, not cleaned another and so on. Reception staff always put things right and were positive and polite but each day there was something not quite right. Nothing too bad but irritating nonetheless.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Rogers, General Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review and feedback Bob R. I am very sorry to read that there were multiple issues in regards to the servicing of your room during your stay. Your comments have been passed on to the head of housekeeping and the housekeeping team to be looked into. We want to provide a great experience for all of our guests.
Read more
Dewendra S wrote a review 9 Apr
Auckland Central, New Zealand13 contributions3 helpful votes
Very neat and tidy. We stayed in an Apartment which was spacious with nice bathroom. Nice restaurant onsite - had breakfast, swimming pool - we didn't use. Friendly staff. Handy location to City and back to Airport.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Toby Munro, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Nelson
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you Dewendra S, We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Lisa C wrote a review 7 Apr
Wellington, New Zealand82 contributions19 helpful votes
We stayed here for 4 nights over Easter. We are a family of 4, with 2 teenagers, and stayed in a 1 bedroom. The kids slept in the lounge. The unit was very spacious with a lovely deck looking out over the pool and city glimpses. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. We had lovely, friendly service from all of the staff. We didn't use the pool but lots of people looked to be enjoying it. Lovely takeaway coffee from the onsite restaurant. We would very happily stay here again. Very close to Nelson CBD, you can walk to the shops and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The 1 bedroom unit above the reception area is great.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Toby Munro, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Nelson
Responded 5 days ago
Hello Lisa C, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Read more
BLane1992 wrote a review 5 Apr
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
I like this place, however this time the room I had wasn’t the best. The TVs were outdated and couldn’t support my chrome cast to enable me to watch Netflix etc, with newer TVs this hotel will be perfect. Most places I stay have smart TVs which are good quality and also have Netflix built in. Time for an update guys, other than that food was great and the staff were great!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Rogers, General Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review and feedback BLane1992. Glad to hear that you enjoyed dining at our restaurant Flames on 40! Your feedback regarding the TV's will be taken on board and passed on to the board of directors.
Read more
Jane wrote a review 5 Apr
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I was disappointed that the rate we booked 4 months before our stay was more expensive than the rate on the day we arrived. When I mentioned this, no offer was made to adjust the rate. However, the 4 bedroom unit we stayed in was very nice. Clean, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms and everything we required was provided. As the hotel is on a busy road and our unit was road frontage, there was considerable road noise. However this did not affect being able to sleep. The noise from the restaurant downstairs did not affect us either. I was travelling in a group of 8 adults,
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Rogers, General Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review and feedback janeymhieb. Unfortunately the rates do change constantly, even day to day and we must honour the rate that the room was booked at. Very glad to read that you enjoyed the 4 Bedroom Apartment you were in with your group.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$52 - US$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
leisure hotel nelson
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Inn Nelson
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandNelson-Tasman RegionNelson
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hotel Nelson
Which popular attractions are close to The Hotel Nelson?
Nearby attractions include Nelson Saturday Market (1.0 km), Nelson Provincial Museum (0.9 km), and Jens Hansen Gold and Silversmith (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hotel Nelson?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Hotel Nelson?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hotel Nelson?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hotel Nelson?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paasha, Harry's Hawker House & Bar, and Hopgoods.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Hotel Nelson?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Hotel Nelson located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Nelson.