We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
10 Bellerine St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$155
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$141
View deal
Vio.com
$131
View deal
Hotels.com$141
Travelocity$141
Priceline$155
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (38)
Room & Suite (48)
Pool & Beach (3)

About

#7 of 19 hotels in Geelong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Perfect Geelong location for all your leisure:business needs ✨4.5 star apartment hotel. Offering rooms and self catering apartments ✨5 min walk to Eastern Beach ✨le Cafe@ R Hotel ✨ Dog Friendly ✨Bike Parking ✨Electric Vehicle Charging
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking garage
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Photo copier / fax In business center
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Arabic
45Reviews0Q+A9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 34
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
aemann wrote a review Nov 2022
Ringwood, Australia249 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
I travelled to Geelong for work and was booked into the R Hotel. I was travelling solo so location and safety is high on my list of priorities. The location is great - within easy walking distance to the waterfront and shopping precinct. Check in was quick and easy. I was checked into a King Room with balcony for the night on level 7. The room was very clean and tidy - the only fault for me was that the desk was rather small and other than the desk chair there was no other seating in the room. It made working from the room quite challenging as the desk was only just deep enough for my laptop and it was directly under the TV. I would suggest that if staying at the hotel for work, you would upgrade to the One Bedroom apartment (was only $10 - $15 extra per night) and have the space to work and also somewhere other than the bed to sit to watch TV after your working day is done. I did find exiting the hotel and accessing the carpark somewhat of a challenge as the lifts in the hotel building proper only access the accommodation areas - the carpark is accessed via the lift in the carpark. Breakfast is available in the cafe next door and can be charged to your room. They had a small and quite simple menu - breakfast wraps and muffins, toasted sandwiches and cakes. Coffee was great - service was quick and staff very friendly. Overall, a really pleasant stay at the R Hotel. When I next return to Geelong for work I will endeavour to have my company book me in again, this time in to the One Bedroom apartment!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a room with park views Upgrade to a one bedroom apartment for only a few extra dollars...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
millsie58 wrote a review Nov 2022
New South Wales, Australia3004 contributions153 helpful votes
We have stayed here a few times now as our son is finishing off his uni course. Unfortunately only discovered this great place recently but highly recommend. We were on the 7th floor on our last stay and whilst the weather was not kind and husband not feeling well we still had a lovely stay. Close to good restaurants and a shopping precinct is only a few minute's walk. Parking is easy and can park on the floor your apartment is so quick to access, bring in bags, etc. Our room was a 1 bedroom, lovely comfy bed, well-appointed bathroom, and lovely kitchen/lounge area. The view was towards the CBD and we could have upgraded to a water view for a higher tariff. Staff are delightful and really helpful and there is a coffee shop within the precinct if you want a coffee, quick breakie etc. The hotel is really popular and is often booked out, alas we are heading to Geelong in a few weeks for son's graduation and can't secure a room. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Upgrade if you want a water view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Phillipa S wrote a review Oct 2022
8 contributions2 helpful votes
I had travelled from England and arrived before check in, tired and weary. The friendly and understanding staff did everything they could to get me into my one bedroom, park view apartment as soon as possible, given my circumstances. I didn't have to wait long and after a coffee and bite to eat in their lovely cafe, I could could check in. The apartment was beautiful, scrupulously clean and well appointed. The bed was huge and super comfy. Large bathroom with great shower, luxury toiletries and fluffy towels. The kitchen included everything that you could possibly need including tea and coffee, coffee pods for the coffee machine, dishwasher tablets, dish soap, tea towel and dish cloth. Even laundry powder for the washing machine. I didn't have to buy any of these essential items as they were regularly topped up during my 8 night stay. Large TV in the lounge area as well as one in the bedroom with on demand cable TV. The balcony was huge with beautiful views and furnished with two chairs and a little table. All staff that I encountered were so helpful, friendly and professional. I will be returning regularly to Geelong and from now on, will only be staying here as it really can't be beaten on every level. The devil is in the detail and this hotel has got everything, completely spot on.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
KstarMelbourne wrote a review Apr 2022
Melbourne, Australia270 contributions74 helpful votes
R Hotel is quite new, giving it an easy advantage over competitors. We booked three rooms (2 x queen, 1 x 1br apartment - all on Level 5) and all three parties were impressed. My room was spacious and comfortable, the bed was exquisite, lovely view from the patio and all the expected hotel room offerings at hand (albeit a bit nicer because so new, like the iron and jug). My friend's 1br apartment only cost a fraction more and was like a luxury apartment, well worth the extra. This is where we gathered for snacks and drinks before heading out. Oh, and it has a big bathtub which was a highlight, too. Everything was meticulously clean and the sliding door to the balcony meant an abundance of fresh sea air. It was an easy wander down the road to the beach and just as easy to walk to the CBD for dinner/drinks. Staff were welcoming, friendly and quick to assist - the service was excellent all round. I only wish we'd stayed longer and I can't wait to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
PhilMalone wrote a review Feb 2022
Footscray, Australia1340 contributions461 helpful votes
This is a great place to stay when visiting Geelong. I only stayed here one night but will be back to stay again in an Ocean View Apartment. Got fantastic views of the Geelong foreshore, harbour and the Yu Yangs. The apartment is well equipped, although the lack of cooling or heating in the bedroom is a negative (there is only one AC and it's located in the lounge room which is very separate and around a hallway from the bedroom - I found the temperature in the lounge room didn't make it around to the bedroom) - the reason I rated it 'very good' as opposed to 'excellent'. The hotel is also a convenient walk from Westfield and a number of restaurants and cafes.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sue J wrote a review Feb 2022
7 contributions3 helpful votes
Great location. Our room was on 6th floor, spotlessly clean with a balcony and a view of the sea. Secure parking. Check in and out was efficient. No complaints at all - quiet overnight. Lovely to stroll along the beach - everything is easily walkable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme Connor, Owner at R Hotel Geelong
Responded 15 Apr 2022
Hi L4026XLsuej Thank you for your lovely review! We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful time at R Hotel Geelong and enjoyed our stunning views - we really do have the best in Geelong. We cannot wait to welcome you back on your next trip to Geelong. Kind regards R Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
barryhoney wrote a review Jan 2022
Melbourne, Australia6 contributions2 helpful votes
This is our 2nd visit to the hotel (our first trip was the first week it opened) and we weren't disappointed - BUT I think we learnt that not all ocean views are created equally. In Room 403A, it’s right on the corner which is great; with some things to note. Only 4 floors high means most of your view is obstructed by the Vue Apartments next door (aircon units and walls mainly), plus you are close to and overlooking Bellerine Street – it gets quite noisy (day and night) with loud cars revving over the speed hump and coach loads of drunks getting dropped off at Austin Park at the weekend. The windows do provide some reduction in noise, but we needed to keep the bedroom window open as it was hot and stuffy. The aircon in the living room was ineffective in other rooms. A freestanding fan (on request) would be beneficial. I`ll be bringing my own next time! However, it’s still a great location, with clean rooms and great amenities. The balcony had a table and 4 chairs, and we spent many a night sitting outside – especially during a storm! The balcony glass and frame could do with a clean though. Staff were great, as always. I was surprised when I asked for a later checkout (I already had 11am, but I needed to hang around for a meeting until 12) and was charged $35 for the hour. Not the end of the world. I will be back, but I will be asking for a higher room next time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ocean View rooms should be higher, and on the corner
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sue S wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
First class check in , Michelle and another lovely girl whose name I forgot ( sorry) were helpful, professional and so accommodating of our requests , an absolute pleasure to be greeted by these friendly staff. Appartment stunning, great views across the park and bay, every amenity you could wish for! Wish we found this place earlier! Will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme Connor, Owner at R Hotel Geelong
Responded 15 Apr 2022
Hi SuesF6357WR Thank you for such a lovely review of your stay at R Hotel Geelong! We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful time with us, and I do agree with you - we have such a strong and friendly team. We cannot wait to welcome you back on your next visit to the beautiful Bellarine. Kind regards R Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nathan L wrote a review Jan 2022
6 contributions5 helpful votes
Never stay here..... My "ocean view room" was just looking at aircon vents. Ask for a higher room and told everyone was checked above us, dispute the next customer checking in 1 hour later getter a higher floor
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme Connor, Owner at R Hotel Geelong
Responded 24 Jan 2022
Good Morning Nathan Thank you for taking the time to review R Hotel Geelong. It is extremely disappointing to see that we did not meet your expectations and also that the photo you uploaded was not fully reflective of the apartment you stayed in for your first night. The apartment from the lounge-living area and balcony on the north western side has views of Bellerine Street, overlooking the park and views out toward the bay. It is great to see that the staff did attend to your concerns when you raised them with us and moved you to another apartment, on a higher level the following day. We trust you are enjoying your time with us and if we can be of any further assistance, please let the team know. All the Best R Hotel Geelong
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmeliaJac wrote a review Jan 2022
Sydney, Australia234 contributions114 helpful votes
+1
Finally...it's nice to have a choice of hotel accommodation in Geelong CBD, and the R Hotel makes a welcome addition to the scene. Previously called the Ritz, the building sat derelict for many years and has now being revamped into boutique serviced apartments over nine levels. We stayed in a one-bedroom park view apartment, which had a view over Bellerine Street and towards Eastern Beach and Austin Park. The apartment was beautifully clean and maintained, minimal contemporary style (although I felt the sofa was too firm and not that comfortable). The apartment was quite spacious with a separate bedroom with a king size bed and the apartment had ample power outlets, which I don’t often find in most apartments we stay at. The hotel also has dog friendly apartments which is fantastic. The bedroom itself had concealed sliding doors on both sides, which meant you could open up the bedroom to the living area or close off as needed. The kitchenette had limited crockery (basically two of everything, which meant every time you needed a plate, cup or glass it either had to be hand washed or go into the one-drawer integrated dishwasher). The integrated fridge was a good size encompassing a good size freezer which you don’t often find in serviced apartments (it came in handy for Xmas). The small balcony which was large enough for the two of us, had a small outdoor setting, the balcony doors however did not have a fly screen which meant when we accidently left the balcony door open for a few minutes, we were pestered with bugs (and one very pesky mosquito)! Thankfully, the reception staff came to our rescue and sprayed the irritating bugs away. Always thankful for double glazed windows and doors, we couldn’t hear any noise from the inside when the doors were closed. The drapes on the windows were a good quality, well-made with a block-out lining, and hung really well on the windows (no gaping gaps). The bathroom was spacious with sufficient cupboard and drawer space for storage of personal items, and there was a concealed laundry within the bathroom with a washing machine and clothes dryer, both of which worked really well. However, the bathroom wasn’t directly attached to the bedroom, as it runs off the hallway and its about 8 meters from the bedroom. On the first night of our stay we found it quite warm sleeping as there were no air conditioning vents or overhead fan in the bedroom, and the air conditioner was preset to stop at an undesired time. We were however, able to reset the air conditioner and have a reasonably comfortable sleep for the remainder of our stay. We also had complimentary car parking, and access to the car park is via a one-way street, which meant you basically have to drive around the block to access the one-way street to get to the car park, but it’s not too difficult. Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, especially the reception staff who were on duty the first couple of nights of our stay. There’s also a lovely little cafe next door to the hotel which you can enter via the reception area. Highly recommend the cafe for a great coffee and breakfast. We liked the hotel, however I hope that the hotel can do something about the crockery situation and hopefully provide free-standing fans for the bedroom (or....install overhead ceiling fans) for future guests!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme Connor, Owner at R Hotel Geelong
Responded 24 Jan 2022
Hi AmeLiaJAc, Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at R Hotel Geelong! We have noted your comments regarding the crockery and cutlery and agree we could do a lot better. Unfortunately with regard to the fans we did raise this with the builder during construction and was advised that it was not possible . Looking forward to welcoming you again. Warm Regards, R Hotel Geelong Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$135 - US$235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaCity of Greater GeelongGeelong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
128
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

R HOTEL GEELONG - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about R Hotel Geelong
Which popular attractions are close to R Hotel Geelong?
Nearby attractions include The Carousel (0.3 km), Steampacket Gardens (0.4 km), and Westfield Geelong (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at R Hotel Geelong?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at R Hotel Geelong?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at R Hotel Geelong?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at R Hotel Geelong?
Yes, a parking garage and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to R Hotel Geelong?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eastern Spice, Cafe Go, and Rook : Sri Lankan Fusion.
Does R Hotel Geelong have airport transportation?
Yes, R Hotel Geelong offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is R Hotel Geelong located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Geelong.
Are any cleaning services offered at R Hotel Geelong?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at R Hotel Geelong?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at R Hotel Geelong?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Arabic.