We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
347 Hunter St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300 Australia
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (34)
Room & Suite (18)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 27/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Clarendon Hotel
Updated 27/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 26 hotels in Newcastle
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Clarendon Hotel offers comfortable, 4-star boutique accommodation and is situated in the City Centre, the heart of Newcastle’s business and cultural district. Clarendon Hotel combines charming service, great food, and an art deco bar to create a contemporary, relaxed atmosphere. Our sought after location places guests within a five minute walk of the Harbour and Honeysuckle District. The Light Rail station is just a few minutes’ from the front door, and Civic Theatre is located right around the corner. On the weekends Clarendon is a lively entertainment venue, featuring live music on Friday and Saturday evenings. Our staff pride themselves on their superb customer service, ensuring that all guests of Clarendon Hotel feel welcomed and relaxed, so that they feel at home whether it’s for a night away or a longer stay. Parking at a secure parking station can be pre-arranged prior to check-in at an additional cost.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
ATM on site
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Restaurant
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / closet
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct!
569Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 223
  • 247
  • 55
  • 26
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bunny6000 wrote a review 13 Jan
Cessnock, Australia55 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed here as we had a wedding to attend at a nearby hotel. Lily at reception is a gem and was very helpful throughout the whole process. The food was great and the drinks were reasonably priced. The bar staff were friendly also. The hotel is a little dated but reasonably clean and the room was a good size. I am a cleaner so I am probably a bit more fussy than some but I did find the bathroom needed more attention. The shower screens hadn’t been cleaned properly and some of the wall tiles needed going over and the tiles around the basin area could do with a good wipe over also. There is no parking on site and the parking station is about a 7 min walk but you can get your parking ticket validated at the hotel so it was $20 overnight. Would recommend for those on a budget and wanting to be in the central area of Newcastle without stretching the budget. We would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: We were in the rooms overlooking Hunter Street - good view from there and the windows were double...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Clarendon Hotel, Owner at Clarendon Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for leaving us this great, detailed review! We really appreciate your kind words and your feedback. We hope to have you again in Newcastle very soon!
Read more
Tracey G wrote a review Oct 2020
Long Jetty, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favorite
My husband I stayed at The Clarendon and were so pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious and very clean. Nice big shower plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Bed was super comfy, the room was surprisingly quiet for such a central location. Staff were super friendly and extremely helpful when we were looking for suggestions on a restaurant for dinner. Due to the weather we were not able to do as much as I had planned so we will be heading back to Newcastle again and both agree would stay at The Clarendon again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Clarendon Hotel, Owner at Clarendon Hotel
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Hi there, Tracey, we really appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is such a shame about the weather over the weekend. We would love to have you back again when the sun is fully shining and you are able to appreciate all that Newcastle has to offer!
Read more
Cobadii wrote a review Nov 2021
Tuggerah, Australia35 contributions11 helpful votes
Had a great experience staying at this hotel. Staff were super lovely and helpful. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Our water pressure could have been better and the hot water took a while to heat in our room but my friends staying on the opposite side had great water pressure and temperature. Nice bar and restaurant below. Will definitely stay here again. Thanks to Lily for all the help and for being so friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Clarendon Hotel, Owner at Clarendon Hotel
Responded 22 Nov 2021
Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We appreciate your comments on the water pressure and will have our staff investigate this further. We very much look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Newcastle. All the best, until next time!
Read more
El350 wrote a review Nov 2021
Stroud, Australia14 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Clarendon as we were going to an event at the Civic Theatre, which is right next door. It is a lovely wee hotel and the room was very spacious and comfortable. The wine list by the glass was excellent and the beer garden a lovely place to sit out and relax with a drink. It was also great value.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Clarendon Hotel, Owner at Clarendon Hotel
Responded 19 Nov 2021
Thanks for your lovely review! We are so glad to hear you were able to make the most of our central location and enjoy the items on our wine list. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Newcastle.
Read more
Kara S wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Went to have dinner in the city and decided to stay so we could enjoy our night and have breakfast the next day. Its location is very convenient to local restaurants/ waterfronts and the well-priced parking on Argyle street. The staff were very helpful and nice, the room was spacious and the bathroom was very clean. our room had a balcony that went over the bars mezzanine and while the soundproof glass did cut down a lot of the noise from the outside bar it was still too loud to go to sleep ( and i like listening to music to sleep) - it is a bar so just be aware of this on weekends. The mattress in the room we were in was sunken and very uncomfortable but this could be just that room due for an update.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: avoid mezzanine facing rooms for less noise
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Clarendon Hotel, Owner at Clarendon Hotel
Responded 17 Oct 2021
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We hope you enjoyed your date night. We appreciate the feedback!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
clarendon hotel newcastle
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastleNewcastle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clarendon Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Clarendon Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Newcastle Museum (0.1 km), Escape Reality - Escape Rooms Newcastle (0.3 km), and Newcastle Art Gallery (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clarendon Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Clarendon Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Clarendon Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Clarendon Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clarendon Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wil & Sons, Meet, and Blue Door Cafe.
Are there any historical sites close to Clarendon Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nobbys Head and Breakwall (1.6 km), Shepherds Hill Fort (0.9 km), and Railway Carriage Shed (0.6 km).
Is Clarendon Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.