We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

The Gateway Inn Newcastle

Save
Share
Cnr Industrial Drive & William St Mayfield, Newcastle, New South Wales 2304 Australia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (31)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 02/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Gateway Inn Newcastle
Updated 02/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 26 hotels in Newcastle
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Guests at The Gateway Inn, Newcastle want for nothing during their stay. Boasting a comprehensive range of services and facilities adjacent to our fully serviced leagues club, Wests Mayfield makes The Gateway Inn the ultimate accommodation venue whether in Newcastle on business, leisure of an overnight stay and park (3 storey car park) for Newcastle Airport flights.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Taxi service
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
On-demand movies
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
236Reviews2Q+A52Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 79
  • 107
  • 26
  • 11
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
sanjay r wrote a review 3 Jan
1 contribution
Very disappointed with Customer service. First night of our vacation got ruined, all because staff who gave us a rate failed to inform night manager. The night staff then gave us very hard time and left us stranded outside the hotel for 2 hours. He was so unhelpful he did not bother to contact staff to confirm what arrangements we had. I briefed this to another manager next morning and he said he'd give me a call few hours later, haven't heard from him Terrible customer service. Avoid this place at any cost
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ali Hnaien, General Manager at The Gateway Inn Newcastle
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you Sanjar for your feedback and taking the time to speak with me to clarify the incident. Hopefully I will welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Fuba T wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions
We had an issue with room initially however reception offered us the room move immediately which was a relief. We like the fact that the issue was rectified promptly which lot of other hotel lacks these days. Thanks for the front desk team specially Hanna! We enjoyed our new room and our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ali Hnaien, General Manager at The Gateway Inn Newcastle
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your nice review I will pass on your comments to Hannah.
Read more
Rachel W wrote a review Jun 2021
Sydney, Australia2 contributions
I guess I didn't read enough of the reviews - I just saw the overall good rating and positive ones up top and so I booked. I booked directly as the inn's website wasn't working and think I paid top price too. I arrived at night (was difficult, google maps constantly took me past the entrance) and didn't realize my room was so close to the road. I didn't get any sleep at all, the trucks changing gears and braking on the road was just so noisy. Really surprised considering the positive reviews. I wouldn't stay here again for that reason. Otherwise I don't really have any complaints - the room was nice and clean, the decor nice. The bed not the most comfortable but ok.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Ali Hnaien, General Manager at The Gateway Inn Newcastle
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the review. We appreciate your feedback.
Read more
speaktruly wrote a review Feb 2021
australia687 contributions117 helpful votes
Spent 2 nights here on our way South and found it entirely to our liking. Only a short drive into the City Center but more important for us was Free Parking and next door to the Wests Club where we could have dinner and a few drinks and not worry about driving. Breakfast was also there with a good variety to select from at a reasonable price. Prior to brekkie in our room was a cuppa with Free Bikkies being a nice touch. Our room was pretty big with a comfy firm huge bed and Bay sit in window overlooking the sports field away from the Main road Traffic. Spacious Bathroom with double end shower. All was neat , clean and tidy at a very fair price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: At the rear away from the main road
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ali Hnaien, General Manager at The Gateway Inn Newcastle
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your great review. Hope to see you back soon.
Read more
AlexHawkins_13 wrote a review Feb 2021
Sydney, Australia8 contributions3 helpful votes
Good view and overall a good room although a bit small. There was no water pressure in the shower at all. I feel like I have t had a shower in 2 days. The air con was very noisy, sounds like a freight train in your room. I couldn’t sleep without it on because the room was very stuffy.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Ali Hnaien, General Manager at The Gateway Inn Newcastle
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you Alex for your feedback.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastleNewcastle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
93
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Gateway Inn Newcastle
Which popular attractions are close to The Gateway Inn Newcastle?
Nearby attractions include Forever Christmas (0.9 km) and Coliseum Antiques (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Gateway Inn Newcastle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at The Gateway Inn Newcastle?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Gateway Inn Newcastle?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Gateway Inn Newcastle?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Gateway Inn Newcastle?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ruan Kao Thai, The Cricketers Arms, and Vincent's at the Coliseum.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Gateway Inn Newcastle?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Gateway Inn Newcastle have airport transportation?
Yes, The Gateway Inn Newcastle offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Gateway Inn Newcastle?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Gateway Inn Newcastle offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Gateway Inn Newcastle?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nobbys Head and Breakwall (5.7 km), Shepherds Hill Fort (5.7 km), and Railway Carriage Shed (5.0 km).