We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella Vista Motel

Overview
511-513 Gladstone Road, Gisborne 4010 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Free Airport Transportation
Room Service
4 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
76
52
6
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
76
52
6
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews studio room french press guest laundry hot weather bathroom sink the main road clean tidy new owners no air conditioning busy road handy location comfortable bed on arrival first floor two nights one night stay visiting gisborne
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff at the Bella Vista Motel are friendly and have great local knowledge of restaurants and activities. The Motel rooms are on the small side, however they are fully equipped with all the standard amenities and the rooms are clean and tidy.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank capitalfoodie
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We had a studio room which was very well appointed, maybe a little on the small side but I knew it was a studio when I booked & it certainly met our needs for our stay. Lovely & clean & warm & a very warm...More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank 202shelleyb
Response from Frik_B123, Owner at Bella Vista MotelResponded 27 August 2018

Hello Shelley, Thank you for your review, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay (and at least part of the laundry process!) and hope you enjoyed your trip around the magnificent East Coast. Kind regards, Frik & Marise

Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Was a very nice business stay, and accomodate special requests without hesitation which was nice. Good internet, good TV, nice to have a bed and couch given the smaller size of the room. Kitchenette facilities were ok, only one microwaveable dish was provided for cooking...More

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank coreynz87
Response from Frik_B123, Owner at Bella Vista MotelResponded 2 May 2018

Hello Corey, Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities but it is always disappointing to hear that noise from an adjacent unit was an issue. While we can't do anything about the size...More

Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Worst motel in NZ. Group of guests partying and shouting and swearing and playing loud music next to and outside our room all night until 3.30am. No sleep. Management doesn't care. Says this organisation are regular guests at motel but 90% of guests are well...More

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank CapitaineKiwi
Response from Frik_B123, Owner at Bella Vista MotelResponded 15 April 2018

Dear Ross, I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. However, there are quite a few inaccuracies contained in your review, and we would like to address those. The comfort of our guests is our number one priority. This is what I...More

Reviewed 25 February 2018

This was our second stay at Bella Vista. There are new owners since we'd been in 2015, but the new owners are also great people, very helpful and pleasant. I stayed in a smaller room, but it was nicely appointed. A small "kitchen" area had...More

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Holden236
Response from Frik_B123, Owner at Bella Vista MotelResponded 21 March 2018

Hello dear reviewer, Thank you for the comprehensive review and your kind words. We understand that the rooms tend to heat up when Gisborne is hot (and this was a particularly hot summer) and we're sorry to hear that you did not have a comfortable...More

View more reviews
About
Description
The Bella Vista Motel in Gisborne is an award winning modern 4 star (Qualmark assessed) property with 18 units. Situated on Gisborne's main road, we are a 2-3 minute drive away from the central business district, More the Gisborne Airport, the Gisborne industrial area, the Gisborne Park Golf Club, Botanical gardens and the magnificent Midway and Waikanae beaches. Our excellent location and facilities will ensure that you have an enjoyable stay, be it for business or leisure. We offer unlimited free WiFi throughout the complex and you can enjoy a cooked, health or continental breakfast before you get going. Our location, set back from the road, ensures a good night's rest. We pride ourselves on customer service and our ability to meet our guests' individual needs. We look forward to welcoming you at Bella Vista Gisborne. Frik and Marise. Proudly part of the Nationwide Bella Vista Accommodation Network Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Spa
Airport Transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Golf Course
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Microwave
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Hotel Style
Luxury
,
Business
,
Romantic
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Hotel Style
Luxury
,
Business
,
Romantic
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
18
Price range
US$88 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Hotel class
Hotel Style
Luxury
,
Business
,
Romantic
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
18
Price range
US$88 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Photos
Traveler (5)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 26 nearby hotels
White Heron Motor Lodge
51 reviews
.21 km away
Teal Motor Lodge
51 reviews
.22 km away
Flying Nun Backpackers
31 reviews
.53 km away
Colonial on Gladstone
35 reviews
1.15 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 95 nearby restaurants
Tamarind
586 reviews
.79 km away
Bollywood Star Indian Tandoori Restaurant
204 reviews
.82 km away
Sofra Turkish Cafe
82 reviews
1.35 km away
Neighborhood Pizzeria
27 reviews
1.16 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 43 nearby attractions
Sunshine Brewery
48 reviews
1.43 km away
Gisborne i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
49 reviews
1.41 km away
Gisborne Cycle Tour Company
8 reviews
1.19 km away
Gisborne i-SITE Mini Golf
17 reviews
1.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Judith L
11 November 2018|
Answer
Response from Shelley B |
I’m not sure if it is a dog friendly motel. The owners had dogs themselves so you may want to check with them.
0
Votes
dollfin95
16 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Frik_B123 | Property representative |
Hello Tia, The prices are per studio and based on 2 people sharing a room. Regards, Eric Barbier
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Upstairs rooms may have more privacy and less noise."
Holden236
25 Feb 2018
Read review
"The 2 bed suites are much more spacious for keeping luggage out of the way"
alang684
7 Nov 2017
Read review
"Ground floor convenient"
GrantS1507
5 Nov 2017
Read review
"Motel is easy to find and there was no road noise"
ianfoster2016
19 Jul 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing