We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
64 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800 Australia
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/13/22
Expedia.com
$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/14/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$105
View deal
Hotels.com$118
Travelocity$118
ZenHotels.com$143
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (354)
360
Panoramas (15)
Videos (6)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 20/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 38 hotels in Darwin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Palms City Resort offers corporate and leisure accommodation conveniently located on the picturesque Esplanade in the heart of Darwin's CBD. There is a choice of Villas with an indoor or outdoor spa, Tropical Villas set in lush gardens, Garden Bungalows and Superior and Standard Hotel Rooms. All the Villas and Bungalows come complete with verandas and electric BBQ's. All accommodation is fully air-conditioned. The resort also boasts a perfectly landscaped swimming pool, guest laundry, conference facilities, limited onsite carparking, 24 reception and complimentary luggage storage. The resorts location is perfect with a 5 - 10 minute walk to CBD restaurants, shopping, the deckchair cinema and new waterfront development. For that truly tropical experience in the Top End, choose Palms City Resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Vending machine
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino, Greek and 8 more
1332Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 505
  • 572
  • 167
  • 54
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Adrian P wrote a review Sep 2022
Noosa, Australia1021 contributions234 helpful votes
We stayed three nights so that we could go to the Mindil Beach Market. We found that all accommodation in Darwin is expensive in July. The standard rooms are small with some noise from adjacent rooms. It looks as though the more expensive Villas are better than the standard rooms. As others have commented, the location is very good.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John keen wrote a review Jul 2022
San Remo, Australia55 contributions11 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Great rooms with good beds and water pressure, good pool with small pool bar ,although the closed in area a bit small, could do with Moore seats. ,friendly and helpful staff , breakfast buffet was quite nice , a short walk to Main Street and restaurants,
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
thepengy wrote a review Sep 2022
Glenelg, Australia432 contributions113 helpful votes
Arrival – We knew we were too early to check in, the lady at reception did check if our room was ready though and as it wasn’t offered to call us when it was ready, which she did so that was a good start. The Room – We had a Garden Bungalow, these are nested amongst the palms and as mentioned before quite small, however we were there for 10 days and once we had stored all our stuff never found the room to be too small, we were generally out and didn’t spend a lot of time in the room. If you are intending to spend a lot of time there is a toaster, microwave kettle and BBQ, we chose to eat at the many bars and restaurants in the area People have commented on noise, we certainly heard none even on Friday/Saturday Nights there is a pub at the rear of the property and maybe the ‘Hotel” rooms that back onto it maybe hear something. My only minor complaint would be the housekeeping, one day they just left 1 clean face washer on the bed and roughly made the bed, so I had to call reception for fresh towels, and to be honest all they did each day was make the bed, vacuum and change the towels, the bathroom was not cleaned once in the 10 days although they did supply plenty of shampoos and soap. The Grounds – The pool is small but beautiful, with about 10 loungers and a few seats, the is also a bar that opens daily 2-6 and two large BBQ’s. We used the pool in the morning, and it was quite peaceful. But the afternoons got very busy. Overall – We loved the grounds and location of the hotel and will definitely stay nowhere else on future visits to Darwin
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taryn Hughes, Other at Palms City Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We love to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We appreciate your feedback on the housekeeping and we will pass this along to the housekeeping team to ensure we meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LF0308 wrote a review Sep 2022
Melbourne90 contributions117 helpful votes
Had a week relaxing at the Palm City Resort. Had a lovely little bungalow set in the tropic gardens with a little deck. Close to everything and all tours picked up a the Hilton around the corner. Lovely pool where everyone mingled and talked. Highly recommend for a trip to Darwin.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Milli M wrote a review Sep 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked a standard room for $320 dollars.. already quite pricey but thought location was great. Was disappointed by the parking behind hotel… is not lock up specially being to close to the city. Our room was a lot smaller then expected and we could easy hear room next door. Bathroom was nice but noticed shower could use a very good scrub… over all resort was very squishy and packed full of rooms for such a small area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a cheaper price when booking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taryn Hughes, Other at Palms City Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Milli, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. Over the dry season prices do increase across all of Darwin and the Top End as this is our peak season. Our parking lot is locked between the hours of 10pm and 6am and we have staff onsite at all times who monitor the security cameras to provide an extra layer of security. I will pass you comments about the shower onto our housekeeping team to ensure we are meeting our guest expectations. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Darwin.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sonja S wrote a review Sep 2022
Melbourne, Australia7 contributions1 helpful vote
Positives: Service - staff are fantastic Location - easy walk to mall, waterfront Tropical garden Negatives High density and noisy No privacy - we could hear our neighbours' music, conversations and even their smoke wafted into our room (and we had the windows closed). Small rooms - The rooms are smaller than they seem to appear online. There's barely room to move.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taryn Hughes, Other at Palms City Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Sonja, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We agree that our location and gardens are wonderful and we have a great team here at Palms City Resort! As we are right in the heart of Darwin, within just a short walk of restaurants etc. there can be some noise in the general area that is out of our control. If fellow guests are creating disturbances our staff are more than happy to address this at the time if we are notified. I would be happy to look into the smoking issue for you if you can please advise which room you were in. Overall, we hope you enjoyed your stay in Darwin.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon E wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
This hotel is in a prime area, the pool was ok! But the customer service leaves a lot to be desired. The breakfast looked lovely but the hot food was always cold. The bathrooms/rooms where not serviced.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taryn Hughes, Other at Palms City Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I'm sorry to hear you felt like the customer service was not up to standard. We certainly strive to provide our guests with a great experience. I will pass your feedback on to our kitchen staff to ensure our buffet is warm at all times. We provide a light service daily with a full service (inclusive of changing bedding etc.) every fourth day. Thank you again and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Darwin.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MSharma wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
The location is very very good. Walking distance to most eateries and spots, right by the very nice seafront. Having said that, the price of standard rooms seems unjustified. There are cheaper places in town with cleaner standard rooms, and nicer aces if you pay a bit more.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taryn Hughes, Other at Palms City Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Our guests certainly do benefit from our location as we are right in the centre of Darwin near all of the restaurants and the Waterfront precinct. Over the dry season, all of Darwin experiences a price increase as the demand for accommodation increases. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Darwin.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Storteller792552 wrote a review Aug 2022
24 contributions9 helpful votes
I have read people stating how wonderful this place is hell what a dump. This is the second time we have stayed here, this time we rented a garden bungalow, let’s start with check in, no real issues there, on entering our room we were a little dumbfounded at the lack of a decent kitchenette instead what we got was a two burner electric cook top an extremely small fridge and bugger all cupboard space, oh yeah a microwave, kettle & toaster (which blew up). Under the sink was one fry pan and one pot. The frypan pot kettle & toaster were purchased at BigW yep found the tags. Moving on to the rest of the room, the TV was positioned so high as to make watching it a bit of a neck breaker, and on the first night we discovered it was not attached to the very poor WiFi. On inquiry we were told to use our own WiFi😳. There was only one very old chair in the room, we asked for another one only to be to,d it was one chair per room. During our rather extended stay not once did any of the staff bother to clean the bathroom, I tried to keep it hygienic but for the money this mob charges, this should be done for you. They offer a buffet breakfast, which is charged at $18 per person, we tried it once and that was more than enough, the food was stone cold, for goodness sake the food warmers were not even plugged in, as for the quality don’t bother, very very poor. They have a nice pool area with a tiki bar, which when you consider just how expensive Darwin can be, the drink prices are alright. Another issue for this place is the noise factor, being right behind Mitchell Street from Thursday onwards be prepared for extremely noisy music echoing from a nearby night club. I noticed a lady complained about people smoking, well tuff luck, you do have a verandah and yes you can smoke on those, You are provided with a Sunbeam electric BBQ, which is a good thing especially if you want to cook a meal. This place is so badly furnished in all aspects and so worn out that the amount charged for accommodation is a disgrace. I had an issue where one day early in in our stay we rang the front office at 5pm and asked why we had not had anyone service our room, we were told that they had, really we had been there all day, the bins were full the bed had not been made and the floor needed vacuuming, this became the trend here, really poor service, obviously once they had your money they could care less after that. Probably the one big positive to this place is it is centrally located but that is also its negative. Unless they do massive upgrades we will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Taryn Hughes, Other at Palms City Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are a 3.5 star property and have operated under this classification for many years. If this has been advertised anywhere incorrectly, if you can please inform us so we can correct this. The room is fit out with a kitchenette which is by definition "a small cooking area, which usually has a refrigerator and a microwave, but may have other appliances". As you have mentioned in Villa style accommodation we also supply a kettle, toaster and two burner stove in addition to the BBQ located on the balcony. We have found this offering sufficient for most of our guests. It is unfortunate the toaster “blew up” during your stay but if this was bought to our attention at the time I’m sure we would have replaced this for you. Unfortunately a lot of our suppliers have experienced stock shortages post Covid so occasionally we do need to replace items from other sources. Our housekeeping team service all rooms daily (unless a do not disturb sign has been posted by the guest) and this is a light service. A full service is offered every fourth day during a stay which includes changing the bed etc. I will however pass your feedback on to our housekeeping team to ensure we are meeting guest expectations. We do offer a buffet breakfast and our Bain Marie's stay plugged in at all times but we will investigate why the food was cold on the day you dined. As we are located in the city close to lots of Darwin’s best restaurants etc. there is the possibility of noise external from the resort. Our staff do monitor this with a decibel monitor and if the volume reaches over the accepted levels we do contact the venues that this noise is coming from to ensure the disruptions to our guests are minimal. Smoking is allowed in outdoor areas of the resort (excluding the pool and outdoor café area). We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and hope our response sheds some light on the issues you have raised.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
car0lewb wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Tropical oasis on the edge of city. Close to all attractions such as bars, restaurants and wharf precinct. We found it very relaxing. Highly recommended for a family or friends holiday. My happy place ☺️ We will be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taryn Hughes, Other at Palms City Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there, Great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us here at Palms City Resort! We absolutely recommend getting the family and friends together for a getaway and we can assist with large group bookings! We look forward to welcoming you back to Palms City Resort again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$82 - US$183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
palms city hotel darwin, palms city darwin
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryTop EndDarwin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
89
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Palms City Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Palms City Resort?
Nearby attractions include Deckchair Cinema (0.3 km), Crocosaurus Cove (0.2 km), and Parliament House (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Palms City Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Palms City Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Palms City Resort?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Palms City Resort?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Palms City Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include PepperBerry Restaurant, Kurt's Cakes, and Phat Mango.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Palms City Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Palms City Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Darwin.
Are any cleaning services offered at Palms City Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Palms City Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Palms City Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Portuguese, Hindi, Thai, Greek, and Indonesian.