Palms City Resort

Palms City Resort

Traveler (387)
Panorama of the Executive Villa with Outdoor Spa at the Palms City Resort
360
Panoramas (15)
Palms City Resort
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#3 of 36 hotels in Darwin
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to our tropical resort, where nature and luxury come together to create an unforgettable experience. Our resort boasts extensive gardens filled with vibrant flora, providing a serene oasis for our guests to relax and unwind. Immerse yourself in the beauty of our lush surroundings while enjoying all the amenities our resort has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Vending machine
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino, Indonesian and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:CHECK AVAILABILITY, BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!

Location

64 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800 Australia
1,362Review9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 524
  • 581
  • 168
  • 54
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Storteller792552 wrote a review Aug 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have read people stating how wonderful this place is hell what a dump. This is the second time we have stayed here, this time we rented a garden bungalow, let’s start with check in, no real issues there, on entering our room we were a little dumbfounded at the lack of a decent kitchenette instead what we got was a two burner electric cook top an extremely small fridge and bugger all cupboard space, oh yeah a microwave, kettle & toaster (which blew up). Under the sink was one fry pan and one pot. The frypan pot kettle & toaster were purchased at BigW yep found the tags. Moving on to the rest of the room, the TV was positioned so high as to make watching it a bit of a neck breaker, and on the first night we discovered it was not attached to the very poor WiFi. On inquiry we were told to use our own WiFi😳. There was only one very old chair in the room, we asked for another one only to be to,d it was one chair per room. During our rather extended stay not once did any of the staff bother to clean the bathroom, I tried to keep it hygienic but for the money this mob charges, this should be done for you. They offer a buffet breakfast, which is charged at $18 per person, we tried it once and that was more than enough, the food was stone cold, for goodness sake the food warmers were not even plugged in, as for the quality don’t bother, very very poor. They have a nice pool area with a tiki bar, which when you consider just how expensive Darwin can be, the drink prices are alright. Another issue for this place is the noise factor, being right behind Mitchell Street from Thursday onwards be prepared for extremely noisy music echoing from a nearby night club. I noticed a lady complained about people smoking, well tuff luck, you do have a verandah and yes you can smoke on those, You are provided with a Sunbeam electric BBQ, which is a good thing especially if you want to cook a meal. This place is so badly furnished in all aspects and so worn out that the amount charged for accommodation is a disgrace. I had an issue where one day early in in our stay we rang the front office at 5pm and asked why we had not had anyone service our room, we were told that they had, really we had been there all day, the bins were full the bed had not been made and the floor needed vacuuming, this became the trend here, really poor service, obviously once they had your money they could care less after that. Probably the one big positive to this place is it is centrally located but that is also its negative. Unless they do massive upgrades we will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Taryn Hughes, Other at Palms City Resort
Responded Sep 19, 2022
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are a 3.5 star property and have operated under this classification for many years. If this has been advertised anywhere incorrectly, if you can please inform us so we can correct this. The room is fit out with a kitchenette which is by definition "a small cooking area, which usually has a refrigerator and a microwave, but may have other appliances". As you have mentioned in Villa style accommodation we also supply a kettle, toaster and two burner stove in addition to the BBQ located on the balcony. We have found this offering sufficient for most of our guests. It is unfortunate the toaster “blew up” during your stay but if this was bought to our attention at the time I’m sure we would have replaced this for you. Unfortunately a lot of our suppliers have experienced stock shortages post Covid so occasionally we do need to replace items from other sources. Our housekeeping team service all rooms daily (unless a do not disturb sign has been posted by the guest) and this is a light service. A full service is offered every fourth day during a stay which includes changing the bed etc. I will however pass your feedback on to our housekeeping team to ensure we are meeting guest expectations. We do offer a buffet breakfast and our Bain Marie's stay plugged in at all times but we will investigate why the food was cold on the day you dined. As we are located in the city close to lots of Darwin’s best restaurants etc. there is the possibility of noise external from the resort. Our staff do monitor this with a decibel monitor and if the volume reaches over the accepted levels we do contact the venues that this noise is coming from to ensure the disruptions to our guests are minimal. Smoking is allowed in outdoor areas of the resort (excluding the pool and outdoor café area). We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and hope our response sheds some light on the issues you have raised.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John keen wrote a review Jul 2022
San Remo, Australia
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great rooms with good beds and water pressure, good pool with small pool bar ,although the closed in area a bit small, could do with Moore seats. ,friendly and helpful staff , breakfast buffet was quite nice , a short walk to Main Street and restaurants,
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AussieBecs wrote a review Jan 2022
Melbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a place - as close a you can get to feeling like being in Bali without actually leaving the country. We had a garden villa and a hotel room opposite for our kids - it gave us plenty of space with the kids not being far away.
The landscaping that made you forget you were in a city, loved the BBQs on the villa patio and the well appointed kitchenette. Thoughtful touches like pool towels, insect spray and cutlery and crockery made it feel like home.
Each hotel room also had their own outdoor table and chairs. Couldn’t recommend this place more!

The staff were lovely and very attentive - BBQ grill was cleaned the next morning after we had used it (not after we checked out).
Parking was plentiful and I really appreciated the ability to pay a day rate for continued use of the room until our very late night flight.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Taryn Hughes, Other at Palms City Resort
Responded Feb 20, 2022
Thank you for providing some lovely feedback on your stay with us at Palms City Resort. We love hearing that our guests have had an enjoyable stay at our little piece of paradise! We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Kind regards, Palms City Resort Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
U7685FPpaular wrote a review Dec 2020
Stuart Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed before but this time in a superior room as our daughter came up for SA to meet us. It was a great size room for the 3 of us. It is ideally located in the city close to shops, restaurants and pubs. I recommend asking for a room up the stairs (only ground floor and first floor) especially in the wet season to sit on the balcony and watch the storms...maybe with a drink in hand!
Read more
Review collected with Tripadvisor’s Reputation Pro
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Melanie Lewis, General Manager at Palms City Resort
Responded Feb 17, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for your 5 star review - this means so much as does your repeat custom! I love your suggestion for our balconies use! I have forward on your comments to the entire team. We all look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards Melanie Lewis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brooke S wrote a review Jan 2022
Sydney, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I highly recommend this beautiful tropical oasis in the heart of Darwin city. GREAT, friendly and helpful staff with exceptional customer service around the clock. Room was cleaned everyday and with such love and consideration, leaving little guest notes and rolling the hand towels to make it feel more homely. It's their attention to detail that I cherished, 10/10 for their hard work and effort over the busy Christmas period.

Lovely garden bungalow, with perfect airconditioning and fast working internet.

I loved the Darwin vibe of having access to my own private BBQ and the pool is literally like taking a fresh swim under a waterfall. Enjoyed being there very much and couldn’t recommend this place more highly. It was perfect to walk to all the cafes and restaurants surrounding the hotel and we got to see the spectacular sunset every night as it's backed onto the Esplanade. PERFECT for that morning balmy walk.

Stayed here 6 times now and the place only better and better, stayed at many places in Darwin but we always keep coming back to the Palms City Resort.

Thanks again Palm City for making our wet season Christmas memorable.

See you soon!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Taryn Hughes, Other at Palms City Resort
Responded Jan 6, 2022
Thank you for your kind words Brooke! We love receiving such fantastic feedback about our property and staff and will ensure this is passed onto all departments. We pride ourselves on offering something a little different and we thank you for continuing to return to Palms City Resort. We look forward to having you stay again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen R wrote a review Mar 2021
Penrith, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We came in late at 9 pm our plane flight was late. We checked in and went up 17 stairs to our room . When we walked in the room had a musky locked up smell. There were one dbl bed and one single bed. The room was really small. It was very70s and out dated. Dark brown carpet we didnt have breakfast in the resort they didnt cater for any meals. We had to walk across the strert around the corner to a cafe which they gave us little vouchers to go over to the cafe each morning. Even that didnt cater for breakfast very well a very small variety of choices. They did have a pool below. Which thank god they had a time limit at night as there were some really loud guest around 10pm at night.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Taryn Hughes, Other at Palms City Resort
Responded Apr 6, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay! We apologize that our cafe was being refurbished at the time of your stay, it will be re-opened in the coming weeks with a wider breakfast range for you to enjoy on your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Darwin. Kind Regards, Palms City Resort Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thepengy wrote a review Sep 2022
Glenelg, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrival – We knew we were too early to check in, the lady at reception did check if our room was ready though and as it wasn’t offered to call us when it was ready, which she did so that was a good start.

The Room – We had a Garden Bungalow, these are nested amongst the palms and as mentioned before quite small, however we were there for 10 days and once we had stored all our stuff never found the room to be too small, we were generally out and didn’t spend a lot of time in the room. If you are intending to spend a lot of time there is a toaster, microwave kettle and BBQ, we chose to eat at the many bars and restaurants in the area
People have commented on noise, we certainly heard none even on Friday/Saturday Nights there is a pub at the rear of the property and maybe the ‘Hotel” rooms that back onto it maybe hear something.
My only minor complaint would be the housekeeping, one day they just left 1 clean face washer on the bed and roughly made the bed, so I had to call reception for fresh towels, and to be honest all they did each day was make the bed, vacuum and change the towels, the bathroom was not cleaned once in the 10 days although they did supply plenty of shampoos and soap.

The Grounds – The pool is small but beautiful, with about 10 loungers and a few seats, the is also a bar that opens daily 2-6 and two large BBQ’s. We used the pool in the morning, and it was quite peaceful. But the afternoons got very busy.

Overall – We loved the grounds and location of the hotel and will definitely stay nowhere else on future visits to Darwin
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Taryn Hughes, Other at Palms City Resort
Responded Sep 19, 2022
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We love to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We appreciate your feedback on the housekeeping and we will pass this along to the housekeeping team to ensure we meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
suzanne8D wrote a review May 2022
Perth, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Palms Resort is a fantastic low-rise hotel in the centre of Darwin. Unlike anything else in the CBD area, the Palms Resort is a breath of fresh air. From the first phone contact with Jade from reception to our check out 4 days later, we loved it. They have very reasonably priced various levels of accommodation from motel type rooms, bungalows, villas, a lovely pool, all in a compact lush tropical garden in an excellent CBD location. Level easy walking distance to lots of shops, restaurants, bars, the waterfront and esplanade. We booked a villa that included onsite parking and although the villa was not overly large it had everything we needed, including an outdoor deck area with table and chairs and a BBQ all in a private garden setting. We saw a great cross section of all ages of people staying at the property and we almost feel hesitant to tell anyone how good the Palms Resort is in comparison to other properties we looked at in the Darwin CBD area because we loved it and will definitely want to stay there when we return to Darwin and just hope they are not fully booked when that time comes.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Loved the Villa but could have easily stayed in a bungalow.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Taryn Hughes, Other at Palms City Resort
Responded May 26, 2022
Hi Suzanne, Thank you so much for your kind words. We love to hear our guests have had a great time and will ensure to pass on your feedback to Jade. Thank you for staying with us at Palms City Resort and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suzanne O wrote a review Dec 2020
Gold Coast, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a mid-range tourist hotel consisting of 2 wings of 2 storey hotel rooms wrapped around a tight cluster of villas set in tropical gardens. The rooms were compact and nicely upgraded.
The location is ideal with the park across the esplanade and the shops, pub & supermarket just a street behind. Parking spaces however are limited and we had to park on the street one nigh.
All the staff were absolutely excellent on both our stays here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Melanie Lewis, General Manager at Palms City Resort
Responded Feb 17, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Your description of the property is very accurate and your kind words regarding the team have been passed on! We look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards Melanie Lewis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sylvia wrote a review Oct 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There was a confusion in their booking system so our booking revealed as cancelled, however the lady helped us to upgrade the room, also gave us complimentary BF and a meal voucher to apologize for the inconvenience.
Next day, another receptionist Miss. C tried to say No to complimentary BF when I organized it for the next morning, then aggressively told me that "You already got the upgrade room which didn't even charged you the extra, do you know how much our villa cost per night? it's $235. She (the receptionist at check-in) shouldn't gave to you any of these. "
I was thinking OMG!!! is she real?? is she talking to me as my boss or what?
Finally when I spoke up to myself, she started to bring the excuse that she complained about her staff, not me. Then she tried to organized the free BF for the next day, but I'm sorry you already ruined our stay and we decided to check out early night before the checking out date.
We didn't asked you any upgrade or meal voucher, that was all given from your side then tried to accuse me as a free bee hunter. If there was miscommunication between your staffs, please sort them out in the back room instead of telling your customers off on their faces.
All we needed for the last 2 nights staying is relax and refresh ourselves but we only experienced uncomfortable at the end.

Overall, just that staff was rude (others are very helpful and friendly) otherwise the resort and pool area is good enough for the price.
I won't come back though with this unwelcoming experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Palms City Resort
Responded Oct 28, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Palms City Resort. I am very sorry there was confusion with your booking on arrival and our Duty Manager who checked you in went above and beyond in an attempt to rectify it for you. At the time it was believed you had booked a package including breakfast and dinner voucher. Once we were able to confirm with the 3rd party it was discovered you had only booked and paid for accommodation only. The correction was not meant to upset your stay just to let you know only accommodation had been booked (and therefore no further meals would be provided free of charge). The front team at the resort has a great reputation for their friendly and professional service and I do apologise this was not your experience. I do hope that you will return in the future to experience the relaxation the resort can offer. Kind Regards, Melanie Lewis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Elizabeth T
Brisbane, Australia60 contributions29 helpful votes
Use the Airport shuttle, you can buy your ticket at the airport once you arrive.
JMRammy asked a question Oct 2019
5 contributions8 helpful votes
Does this hotel have a bar?
Answer from Elizabeth T
Brisbane, Australia60 contributions29 helpful votes
No bar but lots of bars on Mitchell Street.
Answer from sssg
Whangarei, New Zealand57 contributions30 helpful votes
We stayed here 10 days ago and yes people were smoking outside at the tables but didnt notice the smell in our room. We were only there really to sleep.
Joseph B asked a question Jun 2018
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Are there tv's in the rooms
Answer from Jessica_nz2
Christchurch, New Zealand215 contributions69 helpful votes
Superior hotel room did. It was mounted high on a bracket just out from the wall. I think if you tried to stretch you could just touch it, that's how high it was
Darwin5 contributions
Hello Heidi, Our "Executive Villas with Spa" is the name of the room type. We have both indoor spa baths and outdoor plunge spas in this room type so please specify outdoor spa when booking. :-)
Kate M wrote a tip Jun 22
Sydney, Australia26 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for a garden bungalow. "
Read full review
Jeff S wrote a tip Apr 2024
Perth, Australia1,590 contribution221 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just stay here. Nowhere else!"
Read full review
Ken wrote a tip Sep 2023
Port Macquarie, Australia39 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They have secure parking but don’t park under the trees. The bats will make a mess of your car. Book early for best deals."
Read full review
2wombats wrote a tip Aug 2023
Australia396 contributions114 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to avoid school holidays."
Read full review
Snowmumyub wrote a tip Aug 2023
Melbourne36 contributions25 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great pool , but get there early as it fills during the afternoon, I guess it's something to do with the Pool Bar!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Darwin area.
PRICE RANGE
₱8,648 - ₱14,296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
palms city hotel darwin, palms city darwin
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryTop EndDarwin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
89
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PALMS CITY RESORT - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Darwin, Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Palms City Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Palms City Resort?
Nearby attractions include Deckchair Cinema (0.3 km), Crocosaurus Cove (0.4 km), and Parliament House (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Palms City Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Palms City Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Palms City Resort?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Palms City Resort?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Palms City Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include PepperBerry Restaurant, Kurt's Cakes, and The Rabbit Hole.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Palms City Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Palms City Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Darwin.
Are any cleaning services offered at Palms City Resort?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Palms City Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Palms City Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Indonesian, Filipino, and Nepali.
All Darwin HotelsDarwin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DarwinHotels near Palms City Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars